$128 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

4 stars
50 Park Plaza at Arlington Street, Boston, MA 02116
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
649 reviews
Perfect spot in Boston

We would stay at the Park Plaza every time we go to Boston. It's in a great location: we walked to... See full review

  • ALMDMC
  • Aug 16, 2014
One big problem….

We arrived very late at night & were sent to a room so small we couldn't walk past each other! And... See full review

  • Micki Poo
  • Jul 31, 2014
The Boston Park Plaza Hotel is designated as one of the Historic Hotels of America. This elegant hotel occupies a triangular block, which contributes to the unique appearance of both the exterior and the guestrooms themselves. The hotel features eight on-site restaurants that cater to a wide range of tastes. Dining options include a steakhouse, a seafood restaurant, a lounge, a casual eatery, a pub and more. For a truly luxurious experience, consider booking one of the refurbished Tower Level Rooms on the top floor. These rooms feature upgraded amenities, complimentary Wi-Fi, Tower Level Lounge access and other special perks.
Key facts
  • 1,054 guestrooms
  • 15 floors
  • 8 restaurants
  • Conference and event spaces: 39 rooms
  • Gym
  • Wi-Fi available (fees may apply)
  • 24-hour desk service
  • Pets allowed
Neighborhood
The Boston Park Plaza Hotel rests at the heart of historic Back Bay, a neighborhood known for its well-preserved architecture and popular shopping destinations. The area features several scenic parks, including Boston Common and the Boston Public Garden. The theater district is also part of the hotel's surroundings. Several restaurants, stores and historic sites are within easy walking distance of the hotel.
Hints and tips
To avoid street noise, ask for a room on a higher floor; guests can still enjoy a dazzling view of the street from the third or fourth floor.

Boston is always a busy city, so interior rooms are a good option for very light sleepers.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

42.3513 -71.0704
Area served
Boston, Back Bay, Cambridge
Nearby airports
Boston Logan International Airport-3 miles
Area description
With an unsurpassed Boston address, The Boston Park Plaza Hotel is located only 3 miles from Logan International Airport and only 200 yards from the nation's first public parks, Boston Common & the Public Garden. The hotel is easily accessible to shopping along world renowned Newbury Street, Faneuil Hall Marketplace, the Theatre & Financial Districts and most historic landmarks.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Boston Park Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

The Boston Park Plaza Hotel Rooms

Standard 1 Queen
Comfortable for two,Queen rooms come with a recently upgraded mattress, Keurig Coffee maker, 37" Flat Panel HDTV and Sony Clock Alarm radio. Traditional decor with cherry-wood furnishings. High-speed Internet access (surcharge). Cable TV with pay movies. Windows open.
Standard - 2 Doubles
Two double beds. Traditional decor with cherry-wood furnishings. High-speed Internet access (surcharge). Voice mail. Cable TV with pay movies. Windows open
Deluxe King
Spacious for two guests, the Deluxe rooms come with a recently upgraded mattresses, Keurig Coffee maker, sofa chairs, coffee table, 37" Flat Panel HDTV and Sony Clock Alarm radio. Traditional decor with cherry-wood furnishings. High-speed Internet access (surcharge). Voice mail. Cable TV with pay movies. Windows open.
Deluxe Double
2 double beds.Traditional decor with cherry-wood furnishings. High-speed Internet access (surcharge). Voice mail. Cable TV with pay movies. Windows open.
Standard 1 King bed
Comfortable for two,King rooms come with a recently upgraded mattress, Keurig Coffee maker, 37" Flat Panel HDTV and Sony Clock Alarm radio.300 square feet. Traditional decor with cherry-wood furnishings. High-speed Internet access (surcharge). Cable TV with pay movies. Windows open.
Junior Suite
One king bed or one queen bed. Traditional decor with cherry-wood furnishings. Sitting area with desk. High-speed Internet access (surcharge), voice mail. Cable TV with pay movies. Windows open. Small refrigerator on request

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Trinity Church: 0.3 mi
  • Copley Square: 0.3 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.3 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 0.4 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.4 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.5 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.7 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.7 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 0.9 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 0.9 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 1 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 1 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 1 mi
  • Trinity Church: 0.3 mi
  • Copley Square: 0.3 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.3 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 0.4 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.4 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.5 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.7 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.7 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 0.9 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 0.9 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 1 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 1 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 1 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 1 mi
  • Boston Children's Museum: 1.1 mi
  • TD Garden: 1.1 mi
  • TD Banknorth Garden: 1.1 mi
  • The Paul Revere House: 1.2 mi
  • Convention and Exhibition Center: 1.3 mi
  • Old North Church: 1.3 mi
  • Fenway Park: 1.4 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.5 mi
  • USS Constitution Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Bunker Hill Monument: 1.8 mi
  • Cruiseport Boston: 1.9 mi
  • Charlestown Navy Yard: 1.9 mi
  • Agganis Arena: 2.4 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Castle Island: 3.2 mi
  • Arnold Arboretum: 4.6 mi

Dining

Statler Lounge
Statler Lounge - food & drink with personality melds contemporary American cuisine designed for sampling and sharing with an extensive list of wines by the pour and creative cocktails. The executive chef has created a menu that offers innovative small plates that compliment and celebrate the relationship between food & drink. He uses textures, flavors, colors and special ingredients to give his food its own distinct personality. Statler Lounge serves breakfast, lunch and dinner options and is located in the Grand Lobby to the right of the Main Entrance.
The Melting Pot - A Fondue Restaurant
The Melting Pot is a memorable and interactive 4-course dining experience where patrons can "dip into something different." Following a creamy cheese fondue and lively salad,guests choose from flavorful fondue cooking styles and a variety of entres including filet mignon, lobster, chicken, shrimp, salmon and more. Dessert features mouth-watering chocolate fondue served with fresh fruit and cakes. Located next to the Valet Entrance in the hotel's Grand Lobby.
Au Bon Pain
From its roots in Boston, Au Bon Pain has grown to become a cornerstone of the urban scene. Not just a coffee shop, but a bakery and lunch place too. Every selection can be personalized to accommodate all tastes and preferences. Located in adjoining 20 Park Plaza.
In-Room Dining
Available seven days a week 6 AM - 2 PM and 3 PM to 11 PM
McCormick & Schmick's Seafood Restaurant
McCormick & Schmick's classic menu features over 40 varieties of fresh fish and seafood,flown in daily. In addition to delicious seafood from local shores and both coasts, menu highlights include: tempting pasta, poultry and beef specialties. Located next to the Valet Entrance in the hotel's Grand Lobby.
M.J. O'Connor's Irish Pub
One of the best looking Irish bars in the city - M.J. O'Connor's eclectic Irish food, spirits, warm friendly atmosphere and beautiful hand crafted woodwork & murals makes this authentic upscale Irish pub one of Boston's best. A solid beer selection is complemented by a fully stocked bar. Its central location makes M.J. O'Connor's a popular place for an after-work drink. Located in adjoining 20 Park Plaza.
Smith & Wollensky
Smith & Wollensky Boston is located across the street from The Boston Park Plaza Hotel in the historic Park Plaza Castle. Smith & Wollensky Boston features prime steaks, an extensive wine selection, stunning dcor and exceptional service for which each Smith & Wollensky is famous for. Smith & Wollensky Boston serves the traditional Smith & Wollensky menu, including dry-aged steaks and desserts prepared in-house by award winning pastry chefs.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Boston Park Plaza Hotel- Official hotel of the Boston Red Sox, a multi-recipient of the Pinnacle Award for Successful Meetings, is the perfect setting for your next social or business event. The hotel hosts up to 65,000 square feet of flexible function space that can accommodate large groups of 2,000 to a more intimate setting of 20.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (649)

Ratings and reviews for The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
649 out of 649
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ddt13
Charleston, SC
Nov 18, 2013

Small room allows well-priced stay in a wonderful area

I was looking for a nice, clean room for a one-night stay, but didn't want to pay an astronomical amount. I felt downright lucky when I found this small room with a full-size bed and smaller bathroom at a discounted price. It was all I needed for the night! The location could not have been better for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

1 Mile walk from beautiful public park or Copley Shopping Center and the Prudential Tower.

Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
S SOSA
SAN ANTONIO, TX
Jul 8, 2014

Not what I expected

Was at this hotel 3 yrs ago & it was beautiful with huge mirrors & chandeliers in lobby as it has been for many years giving it that grand look when you walk in. This past week it now looks drab as they are remodeling it trying to give it a modern look. They covered up the mirrors replaced the chanaliers with some ugly light fixtures. Not to mention the room we got had old rickety furniture covering chips and scratches with a bad job of furniture marker and the bathroom had old ugly tile on floor yuck & rust in corners. Never come back again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the Legal Seafood restaurant. They have them all over Boston and food is delicious

Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
rsadriev
Austin, TX
Jul 3, 2014

Very small and dirty room

Very bad service, booked king size bed 300 sq feet room and they gave me 150 sq feed double bed room. I've also found a used soap in the shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
von Winkelbaum
Maryland
Apr 26, 2014

Avoid

Lousy hotel, ranks at par w/ Holiday Inn/Eko in Lagos, Nigeria in the 1980s. very small room, bath in particular in great need of refurbishing. In terms of $$$/quality, one of the worst I've stayed in during 40 years of travel. Maybe the one who gave it four stars either (I# got some special room; or #ii# mixed up this hotel w/ e.g. Mandarin #excellent); or ......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
kind spirited
Business
London
Mar 31, 2014

shoe box

no wardrobe - not even a coat hook in desperately old room. Bathroom? I could not even fit in the shower. It was like they had cut a normal room into 4 and missed out on most basic ingredients. 4 star? If they stole 2 of them from somewhere - then yes. Simply disgraceful. Would i recommend to a friend - I wouldn't recommend to a homeless dog.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disgruntled Student
Columbia Maryland
Mar 24, 2014

Fraud

Room 9011 is not a room that should be given to anyone who pays the amount I payed. I payed for a standard queen room, and when I arrived, the room was noisy (elevators heard through the wall), the bed was a FULL not a QUEEN and the shower was only two feet wide and five feet long (!!), when it was advertised as having a bathtub. This was not a hotel room, it was a closet. Luckily I was able to change rooms the next day, thanks to the guest services staff - but I was still very displeased and frankly cheated my first night at the Boston Park Plaza. 2/10 - would not recommend. That said, the guest service staff were great and accommodating, and the maintenance and housekeeping staff were superb. Perhaps, I just got unlucky. Please consider your customers next time you put them in room 9011, and by that I mean, refrain from giving anyone that room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TravelertoDC
Business
NY, NY
Feb 26, 2014

Awful noisy terrible hotel stay

Awful hotel stay. Hotel was hosting thousands of students as part of a conference they were hosting. My room was between 2 hotel rooms that EACH had FOUR students. There was a lot of noise in the hallway too. Why would they put a business customer between two rooms with kids?? Awful. Staff was noisy too. Hallways are not NASCAR tracks. Keep it quiet!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
GFish
Portland, Oregon
Jan 20, 2014

What a dump

Smallest room I have ever stayed in, with smallest shower cubicle ever invented. Decor is very shabby, this is not a 4 star hotel, I have stayed in more comfortable 1 star places. I will never stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
John the potter
Boston
Oct 20, 2013

A very disappointing experience at the Park Plaza hotel

On arrival at the hotel we were told at reception that there was no record of our booking; no sympathy was shown to us. We stood a long time before they let us have a room, and as they took our credit card we did not know wether we would have to pay again. It is only 24 hours later when we went to ask if we could stay that they said everything was ok. No apology. The room was supposedly an "upgrade" for the trouble on arrival: very small and tired looking, with a tiny, antiquated shower room, and central heating radiator not working. We are appalled by the standards of this hotel, far too expensive, and with indifferent staff. We had booked for 9 nights. What a fiasco!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We found the Legal seafoods restaurants excellent and good value

Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
young professional12115
hartford ct
Sep 29, 2013

gave away my room

Never got to stay because they gave away my room, got me another room at a nearby hotel. Instead of a top floor large king I was promised I got a mid level two bed. Not as romantic as I was hoping for. Be careful if you rent a room from here, make sure they hold your reservation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DIsappointed Wedding
Boston
Jul 24, 2013

Terrible Wedding Location. STAY AWAY

The ballrooms are beautiful. However, the guest rooms are pretty standard and nothing that grand. I was expecting more. This review is specifically about Boston Park Plaza Hotel and using it as a venue for your wedding. Though beautiful, the hotel service in reservation, catering and banquet departments are terrible. We just had a 500+ person wedding where we rented out all the ballrooms and paid for over 15 guest rooms, despite such a large contract the service was horrendous. They initially messed up on our dates. The point of contact for our event changed several times - to the point where we literally had no idea who was helping us orchestrate this large event. Only after 5 voicemails and 3 emails did we finally get someone to reply. And now even after the event we are having a terrible time as they are incorrectly charging our credit cards, despite several phone calls to clarify the matter. No consistency in staff and nobody follows through. If you can avoid having your wedding here, please do so. Spare yourself the migraine. A wedding is stressful enough. You don't want the added stress of having a hotel which you are paying a huge premium to, to give you POOR service. Extremely disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top

Change search