$106 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 27, 2014 Check-out: Dec 30, 2014

The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

4 stars
50 Park Plaza at Arlington Street, Boston, MA 02116
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
708 reviews
boston visit

Hotel is always great, and was on a great deal. It's close to everywhere in Boston, fairly... See full review

  • Andrew boss
  • Dec 1, 2014
Great family getaway

Was a mazing time good people the room was a little cold cuz the heat broke but beside that... See full review

  • Super cold trip
  • Dec 1, 2014
The Boston Park Plaza Hotel is designated as one of the Historic Hotels of America. This elegant hotel occupies a triangular block, which contributes to the unique appearance of both the exterior and the guestrooms themselves. The hotel features eight on-site restaurants that cater to a wide range of tastes. Dining options include a steakhouse, a seafood restaurant, a lounge, a casual eatery, a pub and more. For a truly luxurious experience, consider booking one of the refurbished Tower Level Rooms on the top floor. These rooms feature upgraded amenities, complimentary Wi-Fi, Tower Level Lounge access and other special perks.
Key facts
  • 1,054 guestrooms
  • 15 floors
  • 8 restaurants
  • Conference and event spaces: 39 rooms
  • Gym
  • Wi-Fi available (fees may apply)
  • 24-hour desk service
  • Pets allowed
Neighborhood
The Boston Park Plaza Hotel rests at the heart of historic Back Bay, a neighborhood known for its well-preserved architecture and popular shopping destinations. The area features several scenic parks, including Boston Common and the Boston Public Garden. The theater district is also part of the hotel's surroundings. Several restaurants, stores and historic sites are within easy walking distance of the hotel.
Hints and tips
To avoid street noise, ask for a room on a higher floor; guests can still enjoy a dazzling view of the street from the third or fourth floor.

Boston is always a busy city, so interior rooms are a good option for very light sleepers.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Boston Park Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Boston Park Plaza Hotel Rooms

Standard 1 Queen
Comfortable for two,Queen rooms come with a recently upgraded mattress, Keurig Coffee maker, 37" Flat Panel HDTV and Sony Clock Alarm radio. Traditional decor with cherry-wood furnishings. High-speed Internet access (surcharge). Cable TV with pay movies. Windows open.
Standard - 2 Doubles
Two double beds. Traditional decor with cherry-wood furnishings. High-speed Internet access (surcharge). Voice mail. Cable TV with pay movies. Windows open
Deluxe King
Spacious for two guests, the Deluxe rooms come with a recently upgraded mattresses, Keurig Coffee maker, sofa chairs, coffee table, 37" Flat Panel HDTV and Sony Clock Alarm radio. Traditional decor with cherry-wood furnishings. High-speed Internet access (surcharge). Voice mail. Cable TV with pay movies. Windows open.
Deluxe Double
2 double beds.Traditional decor with cherry-wood furnishings. High-speed Internet access (surcharge). Voice mail. Cable TV with pay movies. Windows open.
Standard 1 King bed
Comfortable for two,King rooms come with a recently upgraded mattress, Keurig Coffee maker, 37" Flat Panel HDTV and Sony Clock Alarm radio.300 square feet. Traditional decor with cherry-wood furnishings. High-speed Internet access (surcharge). Cable TV with pay movies. Windows open.
Junior Suite
One king bed or one queen bed. Traditional decor with cherry-wood furnishings. Sitting area with desk. High-speed Internet access (surcharge), voice mail. Cable TV with pay movies. Windows open. Small refrigerator on request

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Trinity Church: 0.3 mi
  • Copley Square: 0.3 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.3 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 0.4 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.4 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.5 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.7 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.7 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 0.9 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 0.9 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 1 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 1 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 1 mi
  • Trinity Church: 0.3 mi
  • Copley Square: 0.3 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.3 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 0.4 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.4 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.5 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.7 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.7 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 0.9 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 0.9 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 1 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 1 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 1 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 1 mi
  • Boston Children's Museum: 1.1 mi
  • TD Garden: 1.1 mi
  • TD Banknorth Garden: 1.1 mi
  • The Paul Revere House: 1.2 mi
  • Convention and Exhibition Center: 1.3 mi
  • Old North Church: 1.3 mi
  • Fenway Park: 1.4 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.5 mi
  • USS Constitution Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Bunker Hill Monument: 1.8 mi
  • Cruiseport Boston: 1.9 mi
  • Charlestown Navy Yard: 1.9 mi
  • Agganis Arena: 2.4 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Castle Island: 3.2 mi
  • Arnold Arboretum: 4.6 mi

Dining

Statler Lounge
Statler Lounge - food & drink with personality melds contemporary American cuisine designed for sampling and sharing with an extensive list of wines by the pour and creative cocktails. The executive chef has created a menu that offers innovative small plates that compliment and celebrate the relationship between food & drink. He uses textures, flavors, colors and special ingredients to give his food its own distinct personality. Statler Lounge serves breakfast, lunch and dinner options and is located in the Grand Lobby to the right of the Main Entrance.
The Melting Pot - A Fondue Restaurant
The Melting Pot is a memorable and interactive 4-course dining experience where patrons can "dip into something different." Following a creamy cheese fondue and lively salad,guests choose from flavorful fondue cooking styles and a variety of entres including filet mignon, lobster, chicken, shrimp, salmon and more. Dessert features mouth-watering chocolate fondue served with fresh fruit and cakes. Located next to the Valet Entrance in the hotel's Grand Lobby.
Au Bon Pain
From its roots in Boston, Au Bon Pain has grown to become a cornerstone of the urban scene. Not just a coffee shop, but a bakery and lunch place too. Every selection can be personalized to accommodate all tastes and preferences. Located in adjoining 20 Park Plaza.
In-Room Dining
Available seven days a week 6 AM - 2 PM and 3 PM to 11 PM
McCormick & Schmick's Seafood Restaurant
McCormick & Schmick's classic menu features over 40 varieties of fresh fish and seafood,flown in daily. In addition to delicious seafood from local shores and both coasts, menu highlights include: tempting pasta, poultry and beef specialties. Located next to the Valet Entrance in the hotel's Grand Lobby.
M.J. O'Connor's Irish Pub
One of the best looking Irish bars in the city - M.J. O'Connor's eclectic Irish food, spirits, warm friendly atmosphere and beautiful hand crafted woodwork & murals makes this authentic upscale Irish pub one of Boston's best. A solid beer selection is complemented by a fully stocked bar. Its central location makes M.J. O'Connor's a popular place for an after-work drink. Located in adjoining 20 Park Plaza.
Smith & Wollensky
Smith & Wollensky Boston is located across the street from The Boston Park Plaza Hotel in the historic Park Plaza Castle. Smith & Wollensky Boston features prime steaks, an extensive wine selection, stunning dcor and exceptional service for which each Smith & Wollensky is famous for. Smith & Wollensky Boston serves the traditional Smith & Wollensky menu, including dry-aged steaks and desserts prepared in-house by award winning pastry chefs.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Boston Park Plaza Hotel- Official hotel of the Boston Red Sox, a multi-recipient of the Pinnacle Award for Successful Meetings, is the perfect setting for your next social or business event. The hotel hosts up to 65,000 square feet of flexible function space that can accommodate large groups of 2,000 to a more intimate setting of 20.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (708)

Ratings and reviews for The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
708 out of 708
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Elaine from New Haven
New Haven, CT
Sep 8, 2013

Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Great location. Can't believe we had such a nice room for a very low price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park at the Motor Mart garage, just across the street. $31 for overnight parking at Motor Mart, while hotel valet parking is $46.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mycroft
Business
London, UK
Sep 24, 2011

Grossly overpriced!

The best thing about this hotel is location and they obviously rely on it. The room was small and the furniture damaged and dated. The bathroom fittings were old and looked grubby. It was in desperate need of refurbishmnet or, at least, in need of a lick of paint to cover damaged woodwork. In view of the room rate, to pay extra for wi-fi in the room was irritating and parking was the most expensive I have come across, even in Boston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
sjn0358
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Dec 31, 2011

Terrible Twice!

I had stayed here once before and the first time was not terrible, but it definitely was not great. Room was a little dingy, no view but there were two full bathrooms which is very nice! It was summer the first time I stayed at this hotel, this past time was in December 2011. I do not remember being uncomfortable during my first visit but this last time was unbearable. We arrived in the room and it was really warm in the room so we figured we would turn the heat down as low as it could go while we left for dinner expecting it to be a comfortable temperature when we got back. When we returned it was still blaring hot so we turned the heat off. May I mention it was probably a high of 30 degrees outside. The windows only opened about a foot and we were on the inside of the building so we got no breeze. I contacted someone about it because after trying to tolerate it none of us could sleep due to the heat. They said they knew and there was nothing they could do about it. So I paid for a room that was nothing special and was so EXTREMELY uncomfortable that neither of us could sleep. Sorry I gave you two tries and I will not be returning to your hotel. The only nice part is the location but it is not worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Jan 17, 2012

I would be embarrassed to work here.

Oh, Hannah at the front desk, if you had just not fought me on the free breakfast, I probably would have just moved on unhappily and not bothered to write this review. This is an old hotel, so I was ready for the small room and postage stamp sized bathroom; no problem. What I was not prepared for was how God-awful the customer service is at this hotel, how dirty and dingy the room was, and the drunks screaming in the hallway at 3am which the hotel did nothing about. As I said, I was highly irritated, but I would have probably sulked away with my mouth shut, had it not been for 2 incidents which just topped off the whole experience. I booked online and went down to pick up my free breakfast vouchers (supposed to get free breakfast when you book online). My pal Hannah refused to honor the special because I didn't click the right spot or some such nonsense. I probably could have kept fighting in, made a stink and got the free breakfast, but I don't beg. I make enough money to buy my own breakfast, but that's not the point, is it? Second, as I am checking out after my second night, my wife gets cornered by one of the lobby attendants and chastised for about 5 minutes because we had used one of the baggage carts to bring down our luggage. Seriously? Let me tell you how bad these guys are: This is the first hotel I have stayed in where the bellmen stand inside and watch you struggle with the door and your luggage and don't move to help. We stood around for 10 minutes waiting for someone to help us with our bags, but the attendants were nowhere to be found (which is why we took a cart and loaded it ourselves). To then find one of these idiots lecturing your wife when you walk back over from the front desk was enough to make my blood boil! I have stayed in many hotels in my 30 years, ranging from Motel Sixes in small towns to 5 star resort hotels in Lisbon, Rio, and New York. This was, without question the most angry I have ever been about a hotel experience. I have a proposition for management: Please contact me and I will be happy to come in and spend a few days as a consultant. I myself am a business manager, and could easily correct many of your glaringly obvious problems.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't fall for the "free breakfast if you book online" Judging from reviews on Google, I'm not the only person who was given the run around. I think the idea is, offer it, and then refuse it unless they have no pride and beg for it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
nooo good at all
Business
orlando
Feb 9, 2012

nasty hotel

and expensive for its ameneties and its dirty ,at least some water in the room , rooms so small ,and bed people in reception :((

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Red3
Business
Naples, FL, USA
Mar 27, 2012

Horrible Experience

Horrible experience. I went there for peace and quiet and I got none of that - any of the nights I stayed. There was a convention with Kids there the entire weekend and multiple people had to contact security and nothing was done about it. The first night I was there the running in the hallways and screaming went until 4:30am. They provided no help tp me because I "purchased these tickets through a third party". One person even went as far as to tell me I got the room at a subtacially discounted price. So that is why I had to deal with loud abnoxious children, because the room was less than usual?? I will never stay there again no matter what the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
traveltwelve
Business
Wisconsin, USA
Apr 18, 2012

Not my type of hotel

Rooms are tight and the service was not acceptable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Simi21
Business
Israel
Jul 20, 2012

Business

Smallest room I ever slept in . Next to elevator. Non- stop noise of lift going up and down. Terrible

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jaseem
Business
Boston
Sep 9, 2012

shocked !

I miss most my calls because the network service there is really bad , and I really can't stay in my room because I don't want miss my calls and messages !! And I just went my room to sleep directly ! And after my reservation days end They force me to leave the hotel ! I ask to stay extra days at 10 AM but they answer : actually you most leave within 2 hours ( with serious tune ! And no sorry ! ) And I ask him that I want talk to the manger but he said that you don't have important reason to me the manger !!! And after many request he get angry and he went to the manager which came with mood to fight ! And I ask here why no body tell me before I don't have other place to go now ! But she jus try with engry tune in many ways and deferent ways to approve that it's my mistake and she not gave any sorry and her eyes turn latterly red! And I felt like that is good time to left quick this hotel !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed Guest 101
Business
Moncton NB
Sep 19, 2012

THEFT!! Don't stay here!!!

We stayed here Sept 3 - Sept 5. We parked our Escalade in Valet for 2 nights. When you hand your keys over to Valet you expect the best service possible for your vehicle, after all, you park valet to make sure nothing happens to your vehicle!! When we got the truck back, there was $200US and $150CA STOLEN out of the center console!! We called the hotel to let them know and we had to open a claim for investigation. The Valet Manager said there was only one guy working at that time, so it wouldn't be a problem. When they checked the security cameras, the truck was parked in such a way the view was obstructed! Coincidence?? Unlikely!! They are not taking any responsibility at all for this. This is NOT Customer Service! The Valet company is an outsourced company the hotel uses, and they are not taking responsibility either. You would think paying over $500 a night at this hotel they would have the respect for their guests and ensure there was a positive resolution. SO disappointed. Don't stay here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Traveling JK
Business
NH
Oct 9, 2012

Short stay in Boston

Spent a few nights in Boston, a different hotel each night. Out of all 3 places I stayed the Park Plaza Hotel was easily the most expensive and yet definitely the worst of the bunch. The room was tiny, there were giant chips of paint missing from the ceiling, wallpaper sections unglued and curling up and did I mention how small the room was? Other places I stayed included free WIFI but Park Plaza wanted $13 a day to use theirs. The view from the room was also terrible, our room faced nothing but a brick wall opposite a small alley. Will never be staying at this place again, I consider it a rip off for what they offer compared to how much they charge. Avoid!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top