$158 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 11, 2014

The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

4 stars
50 Park Plaza at Arlington Street, Boston, MA 02116
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
689 reviews
Perfect

This hotel has a really good location, everything is near. The only downside is that the hotel does... See full review

  • Wudy
  • Jul 4, 2014
boston overnight

We often stay at Park Plaza, primarily because of its location and because it is a great value for... See full review

  • J and F from RI
  • Jun 15, 2014
The Boston Park Plaza Hotel is designated as one of the Historic Hotels of America. This elegant hotel occupies a triangular block, which contributes to the unique appearance of both the exterior and the guestrooms themselves. The hotel features eight on-site restaurants that cater to a wide range of tastes. Dining options include a steakhouse, a seafood restaurant, a lounge, a casual eatery, a pub and more. For a truly luxurious experience, consider booking one of the refurbished Tower Level Rooms on the top floor. These rooms feature upgraded amenities, complimentary Wi-Fi, Tower Level Lounge access and other special perks.
Key facts
  • 1,054 guestrooms
  • 15 floors
  • 8 restaurants
  • Conference and event spaces: 39 rooms
  • Gym
  • Wi-Fi available (fees may apply)
  • 24-hour desk service
  • Pets allowed
Neighborhood
The Boston Park Plaza Hotel rests at the heart of historic Back Bay, a neighborhood known for its well-preserved architecture and popular shopping destinations. The area features several scenic parks, including Boston Common and the Boston Public Garden. The theater district is also part of the hotel's surroundings. Several restaurants, stores and historic sites are within easy walking distance of the hotel.
Hints and tips
To avoid street noise, ask for a room on a higher floor; guests can still enjoy a dazzling view of the street from the third or fourth floor.

Boston is always a busy city, so interior rooms are a good option for very light sleepers.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

42.3513 -71.0704
Area served
Boston, Back Bay, Cambridge
Nearby airports
Boston Logan International Airport-3 miles
Area description
With an unsurpassed Boston address, The Boston Park Plaza Hotel is located only 3 miles from Logan International Airport and only 200 yards from the nation's first public parks, Boston Common & the Public Garden. The hotel is easily accessible to shopping along world renowned Newbury Street, Faneuil Hall Marketplace, the Theatre & Financial Districts and most historic landmarks.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Boston Park Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

The Boston Park Plaza Hotel Rooms

Standard 1 King bed
Comfortable for two,King rooms come with a recently upgraded mattress, Keurig Coffee maker, 37" Flat Panel HDTV and Sony Clock Alarm radio.300 square feet. Traditional decor with cherry-wood furnishings. High-speed Internet access (surcharge). Cable TV with pay movies. Windows open.
Tower Concierge Level
Features upgraded linens & bath amenities, a marble bathroom, guest robes, 37'' Flat Panel HDTV and complimentary Continental Breakfast & evening Hors D'oeuvres in the Concierge Lounge
Junior Suite
One king bed or one queen bed. 400 square feet. Traditional decor with cherry-wood furnishings. Sitting area with desk. High-speed Internet access (surcharge), voice mail. Cable TV with pay movies. Windows open. Small refrigerator on request
Standard 1 Queen
Comfortable for two,Queen rooms come with a recently upgraded mattress, Keurig Coffee maker, 37" Flat Panel HDTV and Sony Clock Alarm radio.300 square feet. Traditional decor with cherry-wood furnishings. High-speed Internet access (surcharge). Cable TV with pay movies. Windows open.
Standard - 2 Doubles
Two double beds. 300 square feet. Traditional decor with cherry-wood furnishings. High-speed Internet access (surcharge). Voice mail. Cable TV with pay movies. Windows open
Deluxe King
Spacious for two guests, the Deluxe rooms come with a recently upgraded mattresses, Keurig Coffee maker, sofa chairs, coffee table, 37" Flat Panel HDTV and Sony Clock Alarm radio.375 square feet. Traditional decor with cherry-wood furnishings. High-speed Internet access (surcharge). Voice mail. Cable TV with pay movies. Windows open.
Deluxe Double
2 double beds. 375 square feet. Traditional decor with cherry-wood furnishings. High-speed Internet access (surcharge). Voice mail. Cable TV with pay movies. Windows open.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Trinity Church: 0.3 mi
  • Copley Square: 0.3 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.3 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 0.4 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.4 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.5 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.7 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.7 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 0.9 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 0.9 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 1 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 1 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 1 mi
  • Trinity Church: 0.3 mi
  • Copley Square: 0.3 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.3 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 0.4 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.4 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.5 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.7 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.7 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 0.9 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 0.9 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 1 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 1 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 1 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 1 mi
  • Boston Children's Museum: 1.1 mi
  • TD Garden: 1.1 mi
  • TD Banknorth Garden: 1.1 mi
  • The Paul Revere House: 1.2 mi
  • Convention and Exhibition Center: 1.3 mi
  • Old North Church: 1.3 mi
  • Fenway Park: 1.4 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.5 mi
  • USS Constitution Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Bunker Hill Monument: 1.8 mi
  • Cruiseport Boston: 1.9 mi
  • Charlestown Navy Yard: 1.9 mi
  • Agganis Arena: 2.4 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Castle Island: 3.2 mi
  • Arnold Arboretum: 4.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Boston Park Plaza Hotel- Official hotel of the Boston Red Sox, a multi-recipient of the Pinnacle Award for Successful Meetings, is the perfect setting for your next social or business event. The hotel hosts up to 65,000 square feet of flexible function space that can accommodate large groups of 2,000 to a more intimate setting of 20.

Dining

M.J. O'Connor's Irish Pub
One of the best looking Irish bars in the city - M.J. O'Connor's eclectic Irish food, spirits, warm friendly atmosphere and beautiful hand crafted woodwork & murals makes this authentic upscale Irish pub one of Boston's best. A solid beer selection is complemented by a fully stocked bar. Its central location makes M.J. O'Connor's a popular place for an after-work drink. Located in adjoining 20 Park Plaza.
Smith & Wollensky
Smith & Wollensky Boston is located across the street from The Boston Park Plaza Hotel in the historic Park Plaza Castle. Smith & Wollensky Boston features prime steaks, an extensive wine selection, stunning dcor and exceptional service for which each Smith & Wollensky is famous for. Smith & Wollensky Boston serves the traditional Smith & Wollensky menu, including dry-aged steaks and desserts prepared in-house by award winning pastry chefs.
Statler Lounge
Statler Lounge - food & drink with personality melds contemporary American cuisine designed for sampling and sharing with an extensive list of wines by the pour and creative cocktails. The executive chef has created a menu that offers innovative small plates that compliment and celebrate the relationship between food & drink. He uses textures, flavors, colors and special ingredients to give his food its own distinct personality. Statler Lounge serves breakfast, lunch and dinner options and is located in the Grand Lobby to the right of the Main Entrance.
The Melting Pot - A Fondue Restaurant
The Melting Pot is a memorable and interactive 4-course dining experience where patrons can "dip into something different." Following a creamy cheese fondue and lively salad,guests choose from flavorful fondue cooking styles and a variety of entres including filet mignon, lobster, chicken, shrimp, salmon and more. Dessert features mouth-watering chocolate fondue served with fresh fruit and cakes. Located next to the Valet Entrance in the hotel's Grand Lobby.
Au Bon Pain
From its roots in Boston, Au Bon Pain has grown to become a cornerstone of the urban scene. Not just a coffee shop, but a bakery and lunch place too. Every selection can be personalized to accommodate all tastes and preferences. Located in adjoining 20 Park Plaza.
In-Room Dining
Available seven days a week 6 AM - 2 PM and 3 PM to 11 PM
McCormick & Schmick's Seafood Restaurant
McCormick & Schmick's classic menu features over 40 varieties of fresh fish and seafood,flown in daily. In addition to delicious seafood from local shores and both coasts, menu highlights include: tempting pasta, poultry and beef specialties. Located next to the Valet Entrance in the hotel's Grand Lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (689)

Ratings and reviews for The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
689 out of 689
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Elaine from New Haven
New Haven, CT
Sep 8, 2013

Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Great location. Can't believe we had such a nice room for a very low price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park at the Motor Mart garage, just across the street. $31 for overnight parking at Motor Mart, while hotel valet parking is $46.

Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TravelertoDC
Business
NY, NY
Feb 26, 2014

Awful noisy terrible hotel stay

Awful hotel stay. Hotel was hosting thousands of students as part of a conference they were hosting. My room was between 2 hotel rooms that EACH had FOUR students. There was a lot of noise in the hallway too. Why would they put a business customer between two rooms with kids?? Awful. Staff was noisy too. Hallways are not NASCAR tracks. Keep it quiet!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DIsappointed Wedding
Boston
Jul 24, 2013

Terrible Wedding Location. STAY AWAY

The ballrooms are beautiful. However, the guest rooms are pretty standard and nothing that grand. I was expecting more. This review is specifically about Boston Park Plaza Hotel and using it as a venue for your wedding. Though beautiful, the hotel service in reservation, catering and banquet departments are terrible. We just had a 500+ person wedding where we rented out all the ballrooms and paid for over 15 guest rooms, despite such a large contract the service was horrendous. They initially messed up on our dates. The point of contact for our event changed several times - to the point where we literally had no idea who was helping us orchestrate this large event. Only after 5 voicemails and 3 emails did we finally get someone to reply. And now even after the event we are having a terrible time as they are incorrectly charging our credit cards, despite several phone calls to clarify the matter. No consistency in staff and nobody follows through. If you can avoid having your wedding here, please do so. Spare yourself the migraine. A wedding is stressful enough. You don't want the added stress of having a hotel which you are paying a huge premium to, to give you POOR service. Extremely disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ackeck
Rutland, VT
Jun 23, 2013

Greatly disappointed

We arrived at 2:30 and were told rooms not ready til 3PM. They took our cell phone # and said they would call us when the room was ready, We never received a call. Our room # was 617. It was nothing like the pictures and writeup on your site. the room was old, small, dirty. There were multiple electrical plugs in outlets using exteders. Bathroom was small and outdated. Website offered free grab and go breakfast. (Coffee and danish) When we asked about this we were asked what room we were in. When we said 617 they said ohh no not for "that" floor. Very disappointed with your site. I have photos but need to down load from phone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
sjn0358
San Diego, CA, USA
Dec 31, 2011

Terrible Twice!

I had stayed here once before and the first time was not terrible, but it definitely was not great. Room was a little dingy, no view but there were two full bathrooms which is very nice! It was summer the first time I stayed at this hotel, this past time was in December 2011. I do not remember being uncomfortable during my first visit but this last time was unbearable. We arrived in the room and it was really warm in the room so we figured we would turn the heat down as low as it could go while we left for dinner expecting it to be a comfortable temperature when we got back. When we returned it was still blaring hot so we turned the heat off. May I mention it was probably a high of 30 degrees outside. The windows only opened about a foot and we were on the inside of the building so we got no breeze. I contacted someone about it because after trying to tolerate it none of us could sleep due to the heat. They said they knew and there was nothing they could do about it. So I paid for a room that was nothing special and was so EXTREMELY uncomfortable that neither of us could sleep. Sorry I gave you two tries and I will not be returning to your hotel. The only nice part is the location but it is not worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
traveltwelve
Wisconsin, USA
Apr 18, 2012

Not my type of hotel

Rooms are tight and the service was not acceptable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
young professional12115
hartford ct
Sep 29, 2013

gave away my room

Never got to stay because they gave away my room, got me another room at a nearby hotel. Instead of a top floor large king I was promised I got a mid level two bed. Not as romantic as I was hoping for. Be careful if you rent a room from here, make sure they hold your reservation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disgruntled Student
Columbia Maryland
Mar 24, 2014

Fraud

Room 9011 is not a room that should be given to anyone who pays the amount I payed. I payed for a standard queen room, and when I arrived, the room was noisy (elevators heard through the wall), the bed was a FULL not a QUEEN and the shower was only two feet wide and five feet long (!!), when it was advertised as having a bathtub. This was not a hotel room, it was a closet. Luckily I was able to change rooms the next day, thanks to the guest services staff - but I was still very displeased and frankly cheated my first night at the Boston Park Plaza. 2/10 - would not recommend. That said, the guest service staff were great and accommodating, and the maintenance and housekeeping staff were superb. Perhaps, I just got unlucky. Please consider your customers next time you put them in room 9011, and by that I mean, refrain from giving anyone that room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
buffalo ny
Jul 12, 2011

wait for room ready for 5 hours

sleeping

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hance
Concord, New Hampshire
May 27, 2013

very awful

Bad service, they even charge for WIFI and wine opener. The service is so bad, i will never go to this hotel again in my life!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Red3
Naples, FL, USA
Mar 27, 2012

Horrible Experience

Horrible experience. I went there for peace and quiet and I got none of that - any of the nights I stayed. There was a convention with Kids there the entire weekend and multiple people had to contact security and nothing was done about it. The first night I was there the running in the hallways and screaming went until 4:30am. They provided no help tp me because I "purchased these tickets through a third party". One person even went as far as to tell me I got the room at a subtacially discounted price. So that is why I had to deal with loud abnoxious children, because the room was less than usual?? I will never stay there again no matter what the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top