$125 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 26, 2014

The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

4 stars
50 Park Plaza at Arlington Street, Boston, MA 02116
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
687 reviews
Exceptional Hotel - Great Location

Great hotel. Great location. Very nice staff. A perfect stay! See full review

  • TravelertoDC
  • Sep 24, 2014
Close to Arlington Station

Ideal location in the Back Bay. 1 block from the green line Arlington Station. 1 subway stop from... See full review

  • Dr Jon OB
  • Sep 9, 2014
The Boston Park Plaza Hotel is designated as one of the Historic Hotels of America. This elegant hotel occupies a triangular block, which contributes to the unique appearance of both the exterior and the guestrooms themselves. The hotel features eight on-site restaurants that cater to a wide range of tastes. Dining options include a steakhouse, a seafood restaurant, a lounge, a casual eatery, a pub and more. For a truly luxurious experience, consider booking one of the refurbished Tower Level Rooms on the top floor. These rooms feature upgraded amenities, complimentary Wi-Fi, Tower Level Lounge access and other special perks.
Key facts
  • 1,054 guestrooms
  • 15 floors
  • 8 restaurants
  • Conference and event spaces: 39 rooms
  • Gym
  • Wi-Fi available (fees may apply)
  • 24-hour desk service
  • Pets allowed
Neighborhood
The Boston Park Plaza Hotel rests at the heart of historic Back Bay, a neighborhood known for its well-preserved architecture and popular shopping destinations. The area features several scenic parks, including Boston Common and the Boston Public Garden. The theater district is also part of the hotel's surroundings. Several restaurants, stores and historic sites are within easy walking distance of the hotel.
Hints and tips
To avoid street noise, ask for a room on a higher floor; guests can still enjoy a dazzling view of the street from the third or fourth floor.

Boston is always a busy city, so interior rooms are a good option for very light sleepers.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

42.3513 -71.0704
Area served
Boston, Back Bay, Cambridge
Nearby airports
Boston Logan International Airport-3 miles
Area description
With an unsurpassed Boston address, The Boston Park Plaza Hotel is located only 3 miles from Logan International Airport and only 200 yards from the nation's first public parks, Boston Common & the Public Garden. The hotel is easily accessible to shopping along world renowned Newbury Street, Faneuil Hall Marketplace, the Theatre & Financial Districts and most historic landmarks.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Boston Park Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Boston Park Plaza Hotel Rooms

Standard 1 Queen
Comfortable for two,Queen rooms come with a recently upgraded mattress, Keurig Coffee maker, 37" Flat Panel HDTV and Sony Clock Alarm radio. Traditional decor with cherry-wood furnishings. High-speed Internet access (surcharge). Cable TV with pay movies. Windows open.
Standard - 2 Doubles
Two double beds. Traditional decor with cherry-wood furnishings. High-speed Internet access (surcharge). Voice mail. Cable TV with pay movies. Windows open
Deluxe King
Spacious for two guests, the Deluxe rooms come with a recently upgraded mattresses, Keurig Coffee maker, sofa chairs, coffee table, 37" Flat Panel HDTV and Sony Clock Alarm radio. Traditional decor with cherry-wood furnishings. High-speed Internet access (surcharge). Voice mail. Cable TV with pay movies. Windows open.
Deluxe Double
2 double beds.Traditional decor with cherry-wood furnishings. High-speed Internet access (surcharge). Voice mail. Cable TV with pay movies. Windows open.
Standard 1 King bed
Comfortable for two,King rooms come with a recently upgraded mattress, Keurig Coffee maker, 37" Flat Panel HDTV and Sony Clock Alarm radio.300 square feet. Traditional decor with cherry-wood furnishings. High-speed Internet access (surcharge). Cable TV with pay movies. Windows open.
Junior Suite
One king bed or one queen bed. Traditional decor with cherry-wood furnishings. Sitting area with desk. High-speed Internet access (surcharge), voice mail. Cable TV with pay movies. Windows open. Small refrigerator on request

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Trinity Church: 0.3 mi
  • Copley Square: 0.3 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.3 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 0.4 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.4 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.5 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.7 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.7 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 0.9 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 0.9 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 1 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 1 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 1 mi
  • Trinity Church: 0.3 mi
  • Copley Square: 0.3 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.3 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 0.4 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.4 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.5 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.7 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.7 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 0.9 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 0.9 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 1 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 1 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 1 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 1 mi
  • Boston Children's Museum: 1.1 mi
  • TD Garden: 1.1 mi
  • TD Banknorth Garden: 1.1 mi
  • The Paul Revere House: 1.2 mi
  • Convention and Exhibition Center: 1.3 mi
  • Old North Church: 1.3 mi
  • Fenway Park: 1.4 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.5 mi
  • USS Constitution Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Bunker Hill Monument: 1.8 mi
  • Cruiseport Boston: 1.9 mi
  • Charlestown Navy Yard: 1.9 mi
  • Agganis Arena: 2.4 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Castle Island: 3.2 mi
  • Arnold Arboretum: 4.6 mi

Dining

Statler Lounge
Statler Lounge - food & drink with personality melds contemporary American cuisine designed for sampling and sharing with an extensive list of wines by the pour and creative cocktails. The executive chef has created a menu that offers innovative small plates that compliment and celebrate the relationship between food & drink. He uses textures, flavors, colors and special ingredients to give his food its own distinct personality. Statler Lounge serves breakfast, lunch and dinner options and is located in the Grand Lobby to the right of the Main Entrance.
The Melting Pot - A Fondue Restaurant
The Melting Pot is a memorable and interactive 4-course dining experience where patrons can "dip into something different." Following a creamy cheese fondue and lively salad,guests choose from flavorful fondue cooking styles and a variety of entres including filet mignon, lobster, chicken, shrimp, salmon and more. Dessert features mouth-watering chocolate fondue served with fresh fruit and cakes. Located next to the Valet Entrance in the hotel's Grand Lobby.
Au Bon Pain
From its roots in Boston, Au Bon Pain has grown to become a cornerstone of the urban scene. Not just a coffee shop, but a bakery and lunch place too. Every selection can be personalized to accommodate all tastes and preferences. Located in adjoining 20 Park Plaza.
In-Room Dining
Available seven days a week 6 AM - 2 PM and 3 PM to 11 PM
McCormick & Schmick's Seafood Restaurant
McCormick & Schmick's classic menu features over 40 varieties of fresh fish and seafood,flown in daily. In addition to delicious seafood from local shores and both coasts, menu highlights include: tempting pasta, poultry and beef specialties. Located next to the Valet Entrance in the hotel's Grand Lobby.
M.J. O'Connor's Irish Pub
One of the best looking Irish bars in the city - M.J. O'Connor's eclectic Irish food, spirits, warm friendly atmosphere and beautiful hand crafted woodwork & murals makes this authentic upscale Irish pub one of Boston's best. A solid beer selection is complemented by a fully stocked bar. Its central location makes M.J. O'Connor's a popular place for an after-work drink. Located in adjoining 20 Park Plaza.
Smith & Wollensky
Smith & Wollensky Boston is located across the street from The Boston Park Plaza Hotel in the historic Park Plaza Castle. Smith & Wollensky Boston features prime steaks, an extensive wine selection, stunning dcor and exceptional service for which each Smith & Wollensky is famous for. Smith & Wollensky Boston serves the traditional Smith & Wollensky menu, including dry-aged steaks and desserts prepared in-house by award winning pastry chefs.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Boston Park Plaza Hotel- Official hotel of the Boston Red Sox, a multi-recipient of the Pinnacle Award for Successful Meetings, is the perfect setting for your next social or business event. The hotel hosts up to 65,000 square feet of flexible function space that can accommodate large groups of 2,000 to a more intimate setting of 20.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (687)

Ratings and reviews for The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
687 out of 687
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kelljo
Southampton NY
Feb 23, 2014

College search

My daughter and I stayed at the Park Plaza on our visit to Northeastern College tour. The staff was polite and friendly. The hotel is beautiful and clean. The petite suite was just what we needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trevor 609
Business
Long Beach Island, NJ
Sep 3, 2014

Mostly good. Some disappointments

The staff was mostly friendly but there were one or two behind the registration desk that had some challenges with people skills. The room was clean enough and the bed was very comfortable. Some of the amenities were oversold though. A builder's grade shower head and an equally cheap hand held don't count as dual shower heads in my book. Many of the other bathroom fixtures were low quality and in need of updating. Even when clean, the stains on the toilet made it look dirty for example. It may have been unique to our room since it was a handicap accessible room - which we had not requested. Also, I have grown to expect a microwave and mini-fridge in hotel rooms. Ours had neither. I asked at the desk about that, and they had a fridge sent up free of charge. All that said, the room was spacious enough, with ample storage. The bed really was comfortable. The A/C worked fine (probably could have stored meat in the room if we turned it all the way down). With one or two odd exceptions, the staff was friendly. The cleaning staff was nearly invisible and stealthy. The location couldn't have been better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We assumed the seafood restaurant in the building would be even more expensive that Boston is as a rule, and didn't even look at the menu until we were leaving. It turns out to be rather affordable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mimi from Portland
Business
Portland, OR
Sep 3, 2014

Exactly what I was looking for!

My boyfriend and I were looking for a last-minute getaway to Boston just for fun, since we had never been there before. After doing tons of research, I found the Park Plaza Hotel online, and it seemed perfect for what we were looking for: great downtown location, lower budget, cool historic vibe. We absolutely loved the hotel! Our flight came in early, so we made our way there on the free Silver Line bus from Logan Airport. The bus dropped us off downtown and it was just a nice, pleasant walk to the hotel. The staff was very friendly and our room was ready hours early, so we were able to check in and put away our baggage before going exploring. The room was older, but it was not as small as I was expecting after reading the reviews. We had a king-size bed and a great view at the lowest price available. Our view was very nice too, overlooking the city. My one disappointment was that there was no hair dryer in the room. There was a coffee maker in the room with free coffee and to-go cups, though, which was awesome. It saved us some money in the mornings. The location of the hotel is absolutely perfect. We grabbed some pastries from Au Bon Pain for breakfast and were able to either walk to take the Metro everywhere we wanted to go for our 3-day jaunt around the city. I only have two complaints about the hotel: 1.) It is so big that there are always people coming and going, so the elevators can get full pretty easily 2.) We had some very annoying, loud people staying in the next room on Saturday night; however, just as I was about to complain, I heard a knock on their door and they ended up quieting down (I assume the hotel talked to them) Overall, wonderful experience at the Park Plaza! It was way cheaper than other places nearby, and we didn't have to stay at Motel 6 or out by the airport and away from the excitement. I would definitely recommend this for those who in town more for the sights than for just sitting around a luxurious, expensive hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

There was a nice, easy coffee maker in the room with free coffee and to-go cups. It saved us some money in the mornings.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mike from MA
Business
Boston, MA
Sep 2, 2014

Boston Stay

The rooms were slightly outdated. With the Park Plaza it seems that you are paying for the name and not much more. The AC didn't work well in the room and the decor needed updating. The room was clean and the staff were friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RaZan
Business
Austin, TX
Sep 1, 2014

Excellent choice for a short stay in Boston

Considering how much hotels go for in Boston these days, and the location, we got it for a steal. Upon check-in, our room wasn't ready so we were upgraded to a deluxe room instead. I found the room, lobby and other common areas to be extremely clean and well kept. Every interaction I had with the staff was positive and I found everyone - from the front desk to bellmen to the housekeepers - extremely approachable and helpful. Honestly, I wasn't sure what to expect after reading some of these reviews and I was very pleasantly surprised. And you really can't beat the location. The hotel is 1/2 a block from the swan boats at the Boston Commons, and a 1 minute walk to the Arlington T station. There are restaurants all around the hotel and the area felt very safe. I took one star off for charging $12.50/day for internet - I do feel a hotel of this caliber should provide it for free. I still would highly recommend this hotel to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

1 block from the Swan Boats, and a short walk to Frog Pond and the carousel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bipps86
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Sep 1, 2014

First trip to Boston--what a GREAT location!

We were in Boston over Labor Day weekend, and without knowing what a "good location" was, we booked a room at the Park Plaza. When we got there we were pleasantly surprised. It is within walking distance to many great bars (including Cheers), restaurants (definitely try SkipJack's Seafood for a meal--a little pricey but SO good!), and historic attractions. You pay for parking, but there is a garage directly across from the hotel (about $20 for 12 hours). Overall we loved the Back Bay area and if we hadn't just bought our house in Ohio we would have considered moving! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Right along Newbury Street there is a ton of shopping!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cheri not a super mom
Business
Louisville ky
Aug 31, 2014

It was a great stay for the price we were happy

We had a great experience! We r disappointed at the rates for October we will not be able to stay then! One other concern would be make sure your concierges r really in the right position? There is a women that should not be assisting your guest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jimmyb75
Business
california
Aug 28, 2014

very nice hotel

The king bed was soft and the tv has good channels. All the staff was helpful and the valets were really impressive.the only complaint is no free wi fi

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ahibrahim
Business
Amherst, MA
Aug 26, 2014

Awesome Hotel and I got a free upgrade

The Hotel is very elegant and I was happy to get an upgrade as an Orb*tz member!! The upgraded room was spacious and very comfortable for my wife, baby daughter and I. The toilet was a bit small and the door didn't close easily because it can get stuck with the toilet seat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Headu
Business
Bucks County, PA
Aug 26, 2014

Great location, average experience

I used to live in the Boston area and was visiting with my family (kids 9 and 7) so the location was perfect for walking everywhere we wanted to go, but the hotel itself needs work. We stayed during the week, but because there was a conference in town there was always a line for the elevators to go up to our room. Also, we were told we had the last two-bed room available when we inquired about changing our room due to a musty smell. They offered to spray the room with Febreze but we declined because we didn't want the kids inhaling that instead. Overall it was a decent deal for an otherwise very expensive hotel in the summer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The kids really enjoyed the Boston Tea Party museum

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The DuPrees
Business
Charleston, South Carolina
Aug 25, 2014

Quick day trip to Boston

Great convenient place to stay in Boston. Prices well below other hotels in the back Bay Area, but did not seem " budget" in the slightest.. Will definitely stay again next time we are In Boston

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

North end

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top