$138 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 4, 2014 Check-out: May 5, 2014

The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

4 stars
50 Park Plaza at Arlington Street, Boston, MA 02116
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
531 reviews
Excellent hotel right in the heart of downtown

Beautiful hotel with full amenities, walking distance from everything. Great experience overall See full review

  • andkob
  • Mar 27, 2014
Perfect location

Good value and perfect location. We booked hotel last minutes. Got them and worked out really well. See full review

  • Philly1981
  • Mar 26, 2014
Elegance and convenience in the heart of Boston's Back Bay
This notable Back Bay hotel is a Historic Hotel of America and has long stood as an icon of this affluent neighborhood. Built as the Statler Hotel in 1927, it is within blocks of upscale shopping at Newbury Street and Copley Plaza and just 200 yards from Boston Common and Public Gardens. The hotel's convenient location grants visitors easy access to many of Boston's most popular attractions, including the Charles River, Faneuil Hall, various theaters and the Boston Children's Museum.
Highlights
  • Historic hotel in the Back Bay
  • Nine restaurants serving eclectic cuisine, including seafood at McCormick & Schmick's
  • Complimentary fitness center
  • Valet parking and self-service parking across the street (fees apply)
Rooms
The 1,053 guestrooms and suites are appointed with contemporary, comfortable furnishings, allowing for a relaxing respite from the bustling city. Most rooms offer views of the city, king- or queen-sized beds with Simmons Beautyrest pillowtop mattresses (some have double beds as well), and all include in-room safes and high-speed Internet access (fees apply). There are 39 suites of varying size and the exclusive Towers Level houses 80 refurbished guestrooms with marble bathrooms, upgraded amenities, cotton bathrobes and complimentary Wi-Fi.
Features
The hotel is one of the most recognizable buildings in Boston. Earth tones, wide columns, marble floors and exquisite carpets dot the lobby. Guests can dine in nine distinct restaurants, from the casual Au Bon Pain and Ben & Jerry's to the more upscale Smith & Wollensky or Statler Lounge. A 24-hour complimentary fitness center allows guests access to an in-hotel gym while all-day in-room dining is available seven days a week from 6 AM to 2 PM and 3 PM to 11 PM.
Transportation
  • Logan International Airport (3 mi)
  • Closest train stops: Green Line (Arlington) and Orange Line (Back Bay)
  • Hynes Convention Center (1 mi)
Attractions
  • Public Garden & swan boats (1 block)
  • Newbury Street (2 blocks)
  • Faneuil Hall-Quincy Market (1 mi/1.4 km)
  • Fenway Park (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
Business

  • Multi-recipient of the Pinnacle Award for Successful Meetings
  • 39 meeting rooms
  • 65,000 square feet of functional meeting space
  • 24-hour business center
  • This is the #1 booking hotel in Boston

The Boston Park Plaza Hotel Rooms

Standard 1 King bed
Comfortable for two,King rooms come with a recently upgraded mattress, Keurig Coffee maker, 37" Flat Panel HDTV and Sony Clock Alarm radio.300 square feet. Traditional decor with cherry-wood furnishings. High-speed Internet access (surcharge). Cable TV with pay movies. Windows open.
Tower Concierge Level
Features upgraded linens & bath amenities, a marble bathroom, guest robes, 37'' Flat Panel HDTV and complimentary Continental Breakfast & evening Hors D'oeuvres in the Concierge Lounge
Junior Suite
One king bed or one queen bed. 400 square feet. Traditional decor with cherry-wood furnishings. Sitting area with desk. High-speed Internet access (surcharge), voice mail. Cable TV with pay movies. Windows open. Small refrigerator on request
Standard 1 Queen
Comfortable for two,Queen rooms come with a recently upgraded mattress, Keurig Coffee maker, 37" Flat Panel HDTV and Sony Clock Alarm radio.300 square feet. Traditional decor with cherry-wood furnishings. High-speed Internet access (surcharge). Cable TV with pay movies. Windows open.
Standard - 2 Doubles
Two double beds. 300 square feet. Traditional decor with cherry-wood furnishings. High-speed Internet access (surcharge). Voice mail. Cable TV with pay movies. Windows open
Deluxe King
Spacious for two guests, the Deluxe rooms come with a recently upgraded mattresses, Keurig Coffee maker, sofa chairs, coffee table, 37" Flat Panel HDTV and Sony Clock Alarm radio.375 square feet. Traditional decor with cherry-wood furnishings. High-speed Internet access (surcharge). Voice mail. Cable TV with pay movies. Windows open.
Deluxe Double
2 double beds. 375 square feet. Traditional decor with cherry-wood furnishings. High-speed Internet access (surcharge). Voice mail. Cable TV with pay movies. Windows open.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Boston Park Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

42.3513 -71.0704
Area served
Boston, Back Bay, Cambridge
Nearby airports
Boston Logan International Airport-3 miles
Area description
With an unsurpassed Boston address, The Boston Park Plaza Hotel is located only 3 miles from Logan International Airport and only 200 yards from the nation's first public parks, Boston Common & the Public Garden. The hotel is easily accessible to shopping along world renowned Newbury Street, Faneuil Hall Marketplace, the Theatre & Financial Districts and most historic landmarks.

Nearby points of interest

  • Trinity Church: 0.3 mi
  • Copley Square: 0.3 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.3 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 0.4 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.4 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.5 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.7 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.7 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 0.9 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 0.9 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 1 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 1 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 1 mi
  • Trinity Church: 0.3 mi
  • Copley Square: 0.3 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.3 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 0.4 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.4 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.5 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.7 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.7 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 0.9 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 0.9 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 1 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 1 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 1 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 1 mi
  • Boston Children's Museum: 1.1 mi
  • TD Garden: 1.1 mi
  • TD Banknorth Garden: 1.1 mi
  • The Paul Revere House: 1.2 mi
  • Convention and Exhibition Center: 1.3 mi
  • Old North Church: 1.3 mi
  • Fenway Park: 1.4 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.5 mi
  • USS Constitution Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Bunker Hill Monument: 1.8 mi
  • Cruiseport Boston: 1.9 mi
  • Charlestown Navy Yard: 1.9 mi
  • Agganis Arena: 2.4 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Castle Island: 3.2 mi
  • Arnold Arboretum: 4.6 mi

Dining

M.J. O'Connor's Irish Pub
One of the best looking Irish bars in the city - M.J. O'Connor's eclectic Irish food, spirits, warm friendly atmosphere and beautiful hand crafted woodwork & murals makes this authentic upscale Irish pub one of Boston's best. A solid beer selection is complemented by a fully stocked bar. Its central location makes M.J. O'Connor's a popular place for an after-work drink. Located in adjoining 20 Park Plaza.
Smith & Wollensky
Smith & Wollensky Boston is located across the street from The Boston Park Plaza Hotel in the historic Park Plaza Castle. Smith & Wollensky Boston features prime steaks, an extensive wine selection, stunning dcor and exceptional service for which each Smith & Wollensky is famous for. Smith & Wollensky Boston serves the traditional Smith & Wollensky menu, including dry-aged steaks and desserts prepared in-house by award winning pastry chefs.
Statler Lounge
Statler Lounge - food & drink with personality melds contemporary American cuisine designed for sampling and sharing with an extensive list of wines by the pour and creative cocktails. The executive chef has created a menu that offers innovative small plates that compliment and celebrate the relationship between food & drink. He uses textures, flavors, colors and special ingredients to give his food its own distinct personality. Statler Lounge serves breakfast, lunch and dinner options and is located in the Grand Lobby to the right of the Main Entrance.
The Melting Pot - A Fondue Restaurant
The Melting Pot is a memorable and interactive 4-course dining experience where patrons can "dip into something different." Following a creamy cheese fondue and lively salad,guests choose from flavorful fondue cooking styles and a variety of entres including filet mignon, lobster, chicken, shrimp, salmon and more. Dessert features mouth-watering chocolate fondue served with fresh fruit and cakes. Located next to the Valet Entrance in the hotel's Grand Lobby.
Au Bon Pain
From its roots in Boston, Au Bon Pain has grown to become a cornerstone of the urban scene. Not just a coffee shop, but a bakery and lunch place too. Every selection can be personalized to accommodate all tastes and preferences. Located in adjoining 20 Park Plaza.
In-Room Dining
Available seven days a week 6 AM - 2 PM and 3 PM to 11 PM
McCormick & Schmick's Seafood Restaurant
McCormick & Schmick's classic menu features over 40 varieties of fresh fish and seafood,flown in daily. In addition to delicious seafood from local shores and both coasts, menu highlights include: tempting pasta, poultry and beef specialties. Located next to the Valet Entrance in the hotel's Grand Lobby.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Boston Park Plaza Hotel- Official hotel of the Boston Red Sox, a multi-recipient of the Pinnacle Award for Successful Meetings, is the perfect setting for your next social or business event. The hotel hosts up to 65,000 square feet of flexible function space that can accommodate large groups of 2,000 to a more intimate setting of 20.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (531)

Ratings and reviews for The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
531 out of 531
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Sha girl
Mass.
Jan 19, 2014

one night visit

We attended the theater, visited the Institue of Contrmporary Art, walked the city to some favorite places, and shopped just a little. We like the Park Plaza but there were a couple of large conferences and the front desk staff seemed overwhelmed and were not as pleasant as the staff at the hotel we stayed in the previous night. Outstanding location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Usually great theater in Boston. MTA (transportation) can get you to any destination quickly.

Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
RR25
Atlanta
Jan 18, 2014

Great location

Great value. Check in staff was paralyzed by a computer glitch and couldn;t check in anyone!!!! Once past that, amazing deal for $100. A little bit of faded glory, but the location is awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
my wife
airport
Jan 13, 2014

everything was great

I had a great experience , great location...everything was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Shikahatamu
Boston area
Jan 11, 2014

A super location and good value, but...

From the start...valet easy, parking overnight high even for Boston. Check in took a long time tho there were a 4 other senior staff talking nearby. Gave me a room with someone in it. Had to take the time for a do over which was inconvenient for a number of reasons. Carrying luggage up/down and around etc. Hotel food expensive, again even for Boston. Room was comfortable and value undeniable for city and location. Had a great visit even with shortcomings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Drop off luggage and park at the Boston Common garage and you'll save a bundle. Walk to hotel is short and lovely.

Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
JKimbo
Business
St. Louis
Jan 10, 2014

Nice Hotel

Great location, friendly, nice staff. Room was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
New year New York
New York, NY
Jan 9, 2014

You're paying for location, not comfort

I arrived at the Boston Park Plaza last night and I was shocked. Having stayed here eight years ago, I remember the hotel as high end and glamorous. Unfortunately, that has changed dramatically. The rooms look like they haven't been touched in at least that long. The paint on the walls is peeling, the furnishings and floors are dirty to the point of discomfort and everything from the amenities to the decor is the bare minimum. I think the Boston Park Plaza is living off of its location and former glory. The accommodations are much closer to those of an airport motel, not of a 4-star hotel. Bottom line, this is way too much to be paying for this hotel, especially in an area with plenty of competition. This hotel should get 2.5 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Jennifet
connecticut
Jan 6, 2014

daycation

Great location. Centrally located. Very nice. Would revisit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Millennial Travelers
New York, NY
Jan 6, 2014

Great deal for an overnight trip; easy access to Fenway

We didn't spend much time in the hotel, but the time we did was excellent. The check-in was efficient and the breakfast service was great. The bell hops also conveniently watched our bags when we were leaving since we only wanted to step out for a few minutes - as opposed to going through the formal process where they spend 10 minutes ticketing your bag even though you'll only be gone for 5. I had booked the deal online and given we didn't plan to spend much time in the hotel, I was more than happy to reserve a junior room with a full size bed and shower at the reduced rate of only $79 (which is unheard of for a 2-star hotel in downtown Boston, let alone a hotel of this caliber.) To our surprise, we checked into a gorgeous room with a king-sized bed with a full bath. The extra room was unexpected, but more than appreciated!! We were in town to see an event at Fenway Park and although we are both very familiar with the city of Boston, it would have been too cold to walk the ~1.5 miles. Luckily, the hotel is steps away from the Arlington T stop on the green line, which significantly reduces the need to take unnecessary cabs. Kenmore is a few stops away so we were at Fenway in 10 min. My only complaint would be that wireless internet cost $13 for the night, which seemed a little steep considering I travel often for work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Chauduh
Fullerton, CA
Jan 5, 2014

Southern California Perspective

The Boston Park Plaza was the perfect hotel for our trip. My wife and I were visiting from So Cal and we had a friend from New Jersey join us on the trip. It is in a very convenient location and within walking distance to everything. In addition, the restaurant options nearby were great! The room was up-to-date and very comfortable. In addition, the hotel staff was very friendly. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Boston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chinatown is a few blocks away and offers different types of cuisines at affordable price.

Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Emma likes to travel
Troy, NY
Jan 5, 2014

Great location

We bought the non-refundable reservation option so we wound up driving to Boston in a massive snowstorm. The bitter cold and snow kept us from walking the city as much as we would have liked, but the location in back bay was great- close to multiple T stops, restaurants, etc. Our room was small but comfortable. Two small complaints-they charged for wifi, and provided zero discount on the very expensive parking garages nearby. Given the ubiquity of wifi connections, charging for it at a four star hotel strikes me as incredibly cheap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top