$128 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 26, 2014 Check-out: Oct 27, 2014

The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

4 stars
50 Park Plaza at Arlington Street, Boston, MA 02116
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
684 reviews
Exceptional Hotel - Great Location

Great hotel. Great location. Very nice staff. A perfect stay! See full review

  • TravelertoDC
  • Sep 24, 2014
Close to Arlington Station

Ideal location in the Back Bay. 1 block from the green line Arlington Station. 1 subway stop from... See full review

  • Dr Jon OB
  • Sep 9, 2014
The Boston Park Plaza Hotel is designated as one of the Historic Hotels of America. This elegant hotel occupies a triangular block, which contributes to the unique appearance of both the exterior and the guestrooms themselves. The hotel features eight on-site restaurants that cater to a wide range of tastes. Dining options include a steakhouse, a seafood restaurant, a lounge, a casual eatery, a pub and more. For a truly luxurious experience, consider booking one of the refurbished Tower Level Rooms on the top floor. These rooms feature upgraded amenities, complimentary Wi-Fi, Tower Level Lounge access and other special perks.
Key facts
  • 1,054 guestrooms
  • 15 floors
  • 8 restaurants
  • Conference and event spaces: 39 rooms
  • Gym
  • Wi-Fi available (fees may apply)
  • 24-hour desk service
  • Pets allowed
Neighborhood
The Boston Park Plaza Hotel rests at the heart of historic Back Bay, a neighborhood known for its well-preserved architecture and popular shopping destinations. The area features several scenic parks, including Boston Common and the Boston Public Garden. The theater district is also part of the hotel's surroundings. Several restaurants, stores and historic sites are within easy walking distance of the hotel.
Hints and tips
To avoid street noise, ask for a room on a higher floor; guests can still enjoy a dazzling view of the street from the third or fourth floor.

Boston is always a busy city, so interior rooms are a good option for very light sleepers.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

42.3513 -71.0704
Area served
Boston, Back Bay, Cambridge
Nearby airports
Boston Logan International Airport-3 miles
Area description
With an unsurpassed Boston address, The Boston Park Plaza Hotel is located only 3 miles from Logan International Airport and only 200 yards from the nation's first public parks, Boston Common & the Public Garden. The hotel is easily accessible to shopping along world renowned Newbury Street, Faneuil Hall Marketplace, the Theatre & Financial Districts and most historic landmarks.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Boston Park Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Boston Park Plaza Hotel Rooms

Standard 1 Queen
Comfortable for two,Queen rooms come with a recently upgraded mattress, Keurig Coffee maker, 37" Flat Panel HDTV and Sony Clock Alarm radio. Traditional decor with cherry-wood furnishings. High-speed Internet access (surcharge). Cable TV with pay movies. Windows open.
Standard - 2 Doubles
Two double beds. Traditional decor with cherry-wood furnishings. High-speed Internet access (surcharge). Voice mail. Cable TV with pay movies. Windows open
Deluxe King
Spacious for two guests, the Deluxe rooms come with a recently upgraded mattresses, Keurig Coffee maker, sofa chairs, coffee table, 37" Flat Panel HDTV and Sony Clock Alarm radio. Traditional decor with cherry-wood furnishings. High-speed Internet access (surcharge). Voice mail. Cable TV with pay movies. Windows open.
Deluxe Double
2 double beds.Traditional decor with cherry-wood furnishings. High-speed Internet access (surcharge). Voice mail. Cable TV with pay movies. Windows open.
Standard 1 King bed
Comfortable for two,King rooms come with a recently upgraded mattress, Keurig Coffee maker, 37" Flat Panel HDTV and Sony Clock Alarm radio.300 square feet. Traditional decor with cherry-wood furnishings. High-speed Internet access (surcharge). Cable TV with pay movies. Windows open.
Junior Suite
One king bed or one queen bed. Traditional decor with cherry-wood furnishings. Sitting area with desk. High-speed Internet access (surcharge), voice mail. Cable TV with pay movies. Windows open. Small refrigerator on request

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Trinity Church: 0.3 mi
  • Copley Square: 0.3 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.3 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 0.4 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.4 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.5 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.7 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.7 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 0.9 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 0.9 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 1 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 1 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 1 mi
  • Trinity Church: 0.3 mi
  • Copley Square: 0.3 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.3 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 0.4 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.4 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.5 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.7 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.7 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 0.9 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 0.9 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 1 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 1 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 1 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 1 mi
  • Boston Children's Museum: 1.1 mi
  • TD Garden: 1.1 mi
  • TD Banknorth Garden: 1.1 mi
  • The Paul Revere House: 1.2 mi
  • Convention and Exhibition Center: 1.3 mi
  • Old North Church: 1.3 mi
  • Fenway Park: 1.4 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.5 mi
  • USS Constitution Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Bunker Hill Monument: 1.8 mi
  • Cruiseport Boston: 1.9 mi
  • Charlestown Navy Yard: 1.9 mi
  • Agganis Arena: 2.4 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Castle Island: 3.2 mi
  • Arnold Arboretum: 4.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Boston Park Plaza Hotel- Official hotel of the Boston Red Sox, a multi-recipient of the Pinnacle Award for Successful Meetings, is the perfect setting for your next social or business event. The hotel hosts up to 65,000 square feet of flexible function space that can accommodate large groups of 2,000 to a more intimate setting of 20.

Dining

Statler Lounge
Statler Lounge - food & drink with personality melds contemporary American cuisine designed for sampling and sharing with an extensive list of wines by the pour and creative cocktails. The executive chef has created a menu that offers innovative small plates that compliment and celebrate the relationship between food & drink. He uses textures, flavors, colors and special ingredients to give his food its own distinct personality. Statler Lounge serves breakfast, lunch and dinner options and is located in the Grand Lobby to the right of the Main Entrance.
The Melting Pot - A Fondue Restaurant
The Melting Pot is a memorable and interactive 4-course dining experience where patrons can "dip into something different." Following a creamy cheese fondue and lively salad,guests choose from flavorful fondue cooking styles and a variety of entres including filet mignon, lobster, chicken, shrimp, salmon and more. Dessert features mouth-watering chocolate fondue served with fresh fruit and cakes. Located next to the Valet Entrance in the hotel's Grand Lobby.
Au Bon Pain
From its roots in Boston, Au Bon Pain has grown to become a cornerstone of the urban scene. Not just a coffee shop, but a bakery and lunch place too. Every selection can be personalized to accommodate all tastes and preferences. Located in adjoining 20 Park Plaza.
In-Room Dining
Available seven days a week 6 AM - 2 PM and 3 PM to 11 PM
McCormick & Schmick's Seafood Restaurant
McCormick & Schmick's classic menu features over 40 varieties of fresh fish and seafood,flown in daily. In addition to delicious seafood from local shores and both coasts, menu highlights include: tempting pasta, poultry and beef specialties. Located next to the Valet Entrance in the hotel's Grand Lobby.
M.J. O'Connor's Irish Pub
One of the best looking Irish bars in the city - M.J. O'Connor's eclectic Irish food, spirits, warm friendly atmosphere and beautiful hand crafted woodwork & murals makes this authentic upscale Irish pub one of Boston's best. A solid beer selection is complemented by a fully stocked bar. Its central location makes M.J. O'Connor's a popular place for an after-work drink. Located in adjoining 20 Park Plaza.
Smith & Wollensky
Smith & Wollensky Boston is located across the street from The Boston Park Plaza Hotel in the historic Park Plaza Castle. Smith & Wollensky Boston features prime steaks, an extensive wine selection, stunning dcor and exceptional service for which each Smith & Wollensky is famous for. Smith & Wollensky Boston serves the traditional Smith & Wollensky menu, including dry-aged steaks and desserts prepared in-house by award winning pastry chefs.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (684)

Ratings and reviews for The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
684 out of 684
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TomTomTommy
Business
Palo Alto, CA, USA
Jan 24, 2012

Nice week-end

Location is ideal to visit Boston. The Park Plaza is definitely a very good value. It has the charm of an old palace. Staff was great. They can help with anything so you only have to think about how you're going to enjoy the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tarek
Business
NJ
Jan 24, 2012

Business Trip

Nice hotel. Rooms are a bit small. Enjoyed my trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
peripethetic
Business
Virginia, USA
Jan 24, 2012

Great Value

Old, big, hotel which hasn't been renovated in a long time, but it is clean, and comfortable, and is in a great location, with all the service of a big name hotel, for a very reasonable price. I try to stay here when visiting downtown Boston, if I have to pay out of pocket.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
S. evans
Business
Hermosa Beach, CA, USA
Jan 23, 2012

Can't beat the location.

My mom and I stayed here when I was visiting colleges in Boston. The location was just on the Common and ridiculously close to the Arlington T stop, which let me tell you is a BIG plus. The only downsides to the place were no free wifi, $12.50 for 24 hours..no thanks. Go to Au Bon Pain next door for the wifi hot spot. No free breakfast, but lots of affordable places around downtown. Really comfortable rooms and an older hotel so it had some character. We were there for 2 nights and overall it was still very ideal. I'd stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Legal Seafood had incredible food and is about a 2 minute walk from the hotel. A little on the pricey side, but great portions and THE BEST Boston Cream Pie, that they get from Finale next door. A muuust.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carrollco Traveler
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jan 22, 2012

Best hotel in a very long trip east!

After 3 dys in Chicago, 3 in NY/NJ, the Boston Park Plaza was a welcome respite and treat for my last 3 days on the road. Excellent location, clean room and wonderfully helpful concierge made it a very enjoyable stay. Helped me ferret out train schedules, when to cab, when to walk, and where to go -- will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

High end Mexican restaurant called TICO's nearby was a special treat -- try the serrano pepper dish :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stanka
Business
Columbia, South Carolina
Jan 20, 2012

King Holiday travel

Everything was superb! I loved the room service and the location I was in was very convenient. Peaceful environment and was able to sleep well. Also had a nice souvenir store on the first floor. I had everything I needed at the Hotel and didn't have any concerns about anything lacking. A great experience, look forward to staying at the Boston Park Plaza again when I return to Boston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jguerriero
Business
New Jersey, USA
Jan 19, 2012

Comfortable Stay

Nice hotel in the heart of Boston. A Great location with good restaurants in walking distance. The staff was very nice and helpful. They also have a lounge within the hotel with one of the best burgers ive ever eaten!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of good restaurants in the area, so choose wisely!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Jan 17, 2012

I would be embarrassed to work here.

Oh, Hannah at the front desk, if you had just not fought me on the free breakfast, I probably would have just moved on unhappily and not bothered to write this review. This is an old hotel, so I was ready for the small room and postage stamp sized bathroom; no problem. What I was not prepared for was how God-awful the customer service is at this hotel, how dirty and dingy the room was, and the drunks screaming in the hallway at 3am which the hotel did nothing about. As I said, I was highly irritated, but I would have probably sulked away with my mouth shut, had it not been for 2 incidents which just topped off the whole experience. I booked online and went down to pick up my free breakfast vouchers (supposed to get free breakfast when you book online). My pal Hannah refused to honor the special because I didn't click the right spot or some such nonsense. I probably could have kept fighting in, made a stink and got the free breakfast, but I don't beg. I make enough money to buy my own breakfast, but that's not the point, is it? Second, as I am checking out after my second night, my wife gets cornered by one of the lobby attendants and chastised for about 5 minutes because we had used one of the baggage carts to bring down our luggage. Seriously? Let me tell you how bad these guys are: This is the first hotel I have stayed in where the bellmen stand inside and watch you struggle with the door and your luggage and don't move to help. We stood around for 10 minutes waiting for someone to help us with our bags, but the attendants were nowhere to be found (which is why we took a cart and loaded it ourselves). To then find one of these idiots lecturing your wife when you walk back over from the front desk was enough to make my blood boil! I have stayed in many hotels in my 30 years, ranging from Motel Sixes in small towns to 5 star resort hotels in Lisbon, Rio, and New York. This was, without question the most angry I have ever been about a hotel experience. I have a proposition for management: Please contact me and I will be happy to come in and spend a few days as a consultant. I myself am a business manager, and could easily correct many of your glaringly obvious problems.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't fall for the "free breakfast if you book online" Judging from reviews on Google, I'm not the only person who was given the run around. I think the idea is, offer it, and then refuse it unless they have no pride and beg for it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Imose
Business
Los Angeles, California
Jan 17, 2012

Fantastic weekend getaway

Location was awesome. Courteous staff. Bathroom was too small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
leoleo
Business
California, USA
Jan 17, 2012

cold!

A little down at heel, this one. Windows that look into the other rooms across the way meant keeping the blinds down all the time. It was a cold week in Boston and the heating in the hotel wasn't up to the task. More importantly, I was part of a large conference centre group, and I think everyone showered at the same time of day -- and I awoke one morning to a *cold shower*!! I'm afraid the absence of hot water at 7 am in a hotel in the middle of winter is a dealbreaker. The staff were friendly enough, but were not willing to offer me any refund for the inconvenience. Also, note that wireless internet is approximately $13/day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top