$335 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 1, 2015 Check-out: Jul 4, 2015

Taj Boston

5 stars
View map of 15 Arlington Street, Boston, Massachusetts, 02116, Boston, MA 02116

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Taj Boston

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
69 out of 69
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.9
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Taj Boston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ManhattanWilliam
New York, New York
Dec 7, 2012

Just As It Should Be....

I'll admit, after having enjoyed this place as The Ritz and knowing what this hotel meant to Boston for my lifetime, and having read so many negative comments, I was very reluctant to stay here, notwithstanding the very good rates offered when compared to other properties. I'm going to confirm my reluctance as unfounded! We all know the location, which no one could dispute as anything other than perfect, however walking into the lobby from Arlington St STILL feels special, this is a beautifully designed and maintained hotel. Likewise my room is very fine indeed, the bed is extremely comfortable and it exudes luxury. For the rate I'm paying it's an absolute steal. My only comment would be that it seems cool even when working the thermostat but I did NOT call to ask about this as I enjoy a cool room so I'm noting but not criticizing it. The Bar meanwhile is perfection, old school perfection. Unlike The Four Seasons which I have always loved, they have mercifully NOT installed a tv here! The waiters seem to have been here forever, heaven bless them! They know their jobs well! So naysayers begone. Taj is doing a fine job with the dear old girl.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Taj Boston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
The Woodlands, Texas
Oct 26, 2010

Always a great place to stay in Boston.

Was a great hotel as the Ritz-Carlton and is a great hotel as the Taj. Only complaint was that I could not get the room cooled down, even with the AC on and down all the way and the windows open. Couple of lights did not work, but did not spend that much time in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Taj Boston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston
Aug 9, 2010

Great

Best location in Boston. Sunday brunch on the roof is not to be missed, we live locally and it makes for a great mini-getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Taj Boston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MA
May 31, 2010

Great Service, Great Quality

They have very good service, respectful staff, great location and a good selection of services.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Right on Newbury Street in Boston, can't get any better.

Review of Taj Boston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
shopper's Mom
Business
NC
Apr 21, 2010

Perfect location for Boston Marahton

The Taj sits at the edge of Boston Commons. You can go out the door and be strolling in the most beautiful park in Boston in just moments. Springtime is just absolutely beautiful! With a slightly longer stroll you can go to the North End and the historic Fanueil Hall area. Perfect location for shopping and learning about the history of Boston. Our trip was centered around the Boston Marathon. Perfect for us because it was very near bus pick up for runners and only a few blocks to walk after the race. Very important detail after running 26 miles!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Taj Boston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marathon Mama
Business
Naperville, IL
Apr 20, 2010

Great Place to Stay

The staff at the Taj was wonderful! There was always someone around to answer questions, help with your needs or just say hello. The location was perfect! I was there to run the Boston Marathon and the Taj was just a block from the finish. For sight seeing and restaurants there was a lot that was within walking distance and the T station was right there on the corner. It was a bit pricey for me but the [...] discount was helpful. It is unfortunate that hotels have to charge for internet, as even when you are on vacation your work still calls. There was a daily fee of $10.25. The only inconvenience for me was lack of a coffeemaker in the room and no coffee available in the lobby. You could get hot coffee at the cafe. They had a sign that said they charged $3.25 a cup, but they always just gave me the cup of coffee. Coffee in the morning to your room was $18. A bit pricey for a simple product. Great place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Legal Seafoods, just a couple of blocks away. Wonderful!

Review of Taj Boston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DC
Apr 5, 2010

lost it's luster

I had stayed at the Ritz Carlton several times before it became the Taj. I am amazed at the service drop off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Taj Boston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Framingham, MA
Mar 26, 2010

A great night out at the Taj Boston

I work in Boston and live in the suburbs and sometimes when we have concerts and such to go to we get a room and spend the night. The Taj was the best place we've stayed yet. Park Plaza is a bit old, the Lenox is quaint and a beautiful building but small (for about the same money as the Taj). We saw Nora Jones at the Wang Center, had desert at Finale and ate breakfast at the Four Seasons. We walked everywhere. We did take the Green Line E train two stops from Arlington to the Pru to walk to and from Giacomo's in the quaint South End for dinner. But we later walked to the Pru from the Taj and it took us about 15 minutes down Newbury St and though Copley Square. Qur room, its closets and our two room bathroom was absolutely huge. It seemed much bigger than described. Loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Taj Boston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Zsebi
Business
NH
Jan 2, 2010

First night at the Boston Taj Hotel

We stayed at the hotel because of its location and had the most pleasant experience. Staff was very helpful. Room was as expected. Breakfast was outstanding. Enjoyed every bit of it. Summary: excellent value even for the prize.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent Chinese at East Ocean City

Review of Taj Boston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Dec 6, 2009

Boston landmark

Concierge had great restaurant suggestions Beautiful room, which was a free upgrade to put us close to children Wish we had known coffee was available in lobby in the morning

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La Voile Boston Brasserie is a great, low-key French restaurant that is a 10-minute walk from the hotel. Also, Artu on Beacon Hill is intimate and has great, traditional Italian food.

Review of Taj Boston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
BOCA RATON, FL
Dec 2, 2009

KJAKSDF

SO GOOD!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top