$176 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 3, 2015 Check-out: Jan 4, 2015

Taj Boston

5 stars
15 Arlington Street, Boston, Massachusetts, 02116, Boston, MA 02116
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
66 reviews
Great Hotel, should be in top 200 of world

From front desk to bar, to restaurant, extremely NATURALLY friendly service. Immediate help when... See full review

  • oscarhep
  • Nov 10, 2014
Confortable

Our 1 night away from the kids was perfect! The beds are so confortable and the shower pressure was... See full review

  • Ms Michellelm
  • Feb 26, 2014
Luxuriously refined classic hotel overlooking Boston's Public Garden

The Taj Boston is one of the city's most desirable hotels with the Public Garden and Boston Common in the backyard and upscale boutiques on Newbury Street out the front door. Since 1927, a stately lobby with refined decor and fine art has welcomed guests. A 2002 multimillion-dollar renovation restored the hotel to its original glory in honor of the Taj's 75th anniversary. Elegant rooms offer twice-daily housekeeping and top-notch amenities. Guests can walk to Copley Place, the theater district and other Boston attractions from this central hotel. The hotel also offers Wi-Fi access for added convenience.

Highlights
  • Historic setting overlooking Boston's Public Garden
  • 2002 multimillion-dollar restoration
  • Mobil four star rating and 2010 Travel + Leisure World's Best award
  • Complimentary car service to financial district
  • Bath, technology and fireplace butlers on staff
Rooms
Stately elegance defines the hotel's 273 guest rooms, including 45 expansive suites with rich wall coverings, lush fabrics and a regal color palette. Plush bedding, comfy terrycloth robes, marble vanities and luxe bath products add to the allure. Guests enjoy twice-daily housekeeping services with evening turndown. Most rooms have views of either the Public Garden or Newbury Street and some suites have wood-burning fireplaces. 
Features

The 2002 multimillion-dollar renovation returned the Taj to its former glory, but amenities still add modern touches. Bath, technology and fireplace butlers on staff provide guests with personal attention, accommodating many needs. A grand lobby greets guests with a rich collection of art and antiques. Enjoy seasonal, local cuisine accented with Italian and French influences at the Cafe or the Bar. Traditional afternoon tea occurs in the Lounge, an elegant drawing room overlooking Newbury Street. A full fitness center allows guests to escape, while private massages deliver relaxation to guest rooms.

Transportation
  • Hynes Convention Center (.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Logan International Airport (4.8 mi/7.7 km)
Attractions
  • Boston Public Garden (adjacent)
  • Chinatown (.4 mi/.7 km)
  • Freedom Trail (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Harvard University (3 mi/4.8 km)
Business
  • More than 18,000 square feet with 15 meeting rooms
  • High-speed Internet  
  • Complimentary car service to financial district
Policies and Fees
Wi-Fi access is complimentary for up to three (3) devices.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Taj Boston also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Taj Boston Rooms

ALL
Description not provided
Premier Park View King Bed
Premier Park View King Bed 410SQFT-38SQMT, Marble Bath,
Deluxe Interior View King Bed,
Deluxe Interior View King Bed, 325 SQFT,30 SQMTmarble bath
Executive Suite King Bed 500 to
Executive Suite King Bed 500 to 800SQFT Most have a fireplace (avail-Nov to Mar) Marble bath, interior view.
Deluxe Interior View 2 Double
Deluxe Interior View 2 Double Beds 325 SQFT,30 SQMT, marble bath
Deluxe City View 2 Double Beds
Deluxe City View 2 Double Beds 325SQFT-30SQMT marble bath,
Deluxe City View King Bed,
Deluxe City View King Bed, 325SQFT,30SQMT, marble bath
Luxury Park Vu Suite King Bed
Luxury Park Vu Suite King Bed,700SQFT 65SQMT, Fireplace (Avail-Nov to Mar) parlor, Marble Bath
Presidential Suite Park View
Presidential Suite Park View King Bed 1540 SQFT/143 SQMT, mini Kitchen
Deluxe Accessible 1 King Bed
Deluxe Accessible 1 King Bed 400 sq. ft - roll-in shower
Park View Suite Queen Bed
Park View Suite Queen Bed 580SQFT-53 SQM Fireplace (avail-Nov to Mar), Parlor area marble bath
Commonwealth Suite Park View 2
Commonwealth Suite Park View 2 Queen bed 1040 SQFT-96 SQMT
Commonwealth City View 2 Queen
Commonwealth City View 2 Queen Beds, View of Commonwealth Blvd
Commonwealth City View King Bed
Commonwealth City View King Bed 500SQFT,46SQMT
Premier Park View 2 Double Beds,
Premier Park View 2 Double Beds, 410SQFT-38SQM, marble bath,

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Children's activities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
FAX
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Computer rental
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Fire place
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Trinity Church: 0.3 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.3 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.4 mi
  • Copley Square: 0.4 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 0.4 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.5 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.6 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.7 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 0.9 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 0.9 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 1 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 1 mi
  • Trinity Church: 0.3 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.3 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.4 mi
  • Copley Square: 0.4 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 0.4 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.5 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.6 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.7 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 0.9 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 0.9 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 1 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 1 mi
  • TD Garden: 1 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 1 mi
  • TD Banknorth Garden: 1.1 mi
  • Boston Children's Museum: 1.1 mi
  • The Paul Revere House: 1.2 mi
  • Old North Church: 1.3 mi
  • Fenway Park: 1.4 mi
  • Convention and Exhibition Center: 1.4 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.5 mi
  • USS Constitution Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Bunker Hill Monument: 1.7 mi
  • Charlestown Navy Yard: 1.9 mi
  • Cruiseport Boston: 2 mi
  • Agganis Arena: 2.4 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Castle Island: 3.3 mi
  • Arnold Arboretum: 4.6 mi

Dining

The Cafe
For over fifty years, this lively spot for power breakfasts, animated luncheons and dining before or after the theatre has remained fashionable. With its wall of windows overlooking the bustle of Newbury Street and vintage photos of celebrated guests, it
The Bar
Since the 1930s when Prohibition was repealed and The Bar opened, it has become one of the worlds most celebrated spots for classic cocktails. The famous martinis and Classic Cocktails are complemented by a light dining menu. A glowing fireplace and
The Lounge
A newly enlarged and enhanced drawing room setting with windows overlooking Newbury Street, The Lounge is ideal for traditional Afternoon Tea or relaxing with a glass of port or champagne. A harpist plays as you enjoy Afternoon Tea Saturday and Sunday

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (66)

Ratings and reviews for Taj Boston

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
66 out of 66
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.9
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Taj Boston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cedik
Business
atlanta ga
Nov 9, 2011

Very nice

i really enjoyed my two night stay. The staff is friendly, charming and made me feel very welcome. The room was very cushy... And it is right where i wanted to be! I will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Taj Boston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Orindatraveler
Business
Orinda, CA, USA
Oct 24, 2011

In Boston for the Head of the Charles Regatta

We loved the location of the Taj. We could walk just a few blocks to transportation, shopping, sights and restaurants. It is in a MOST beautiful and centrally located part of town. The Hotel was elegant, extremely comfortable and well appointed. The staff was friendly and very helpful. We were on a special diet and the restaurant staff accommodated us without a thought.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We asked the concierge about renting bicycles and she told us about Hubway, a point-to-point bike loaner program with three convenient locations near the hotel. It was a great way to see the city and the race course.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Taj Boston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
imim
Business
Tucson, AZ, USA
Oct 16, 2011

Everything about this hotel and our stay was lovely

We thoroughly loved the Taj Boston! The staff was helpful and accommodating. Between middle seats and delayed flights, by the time we arrived from Arizona we were just looking for a great place to eat, relax, and drink a couple local beverages. We didn’t want to walk too far, this was a mother daughter trip and my mom is not as sprite as she used to be. At the same time, we were looking for more entertainment and dining expectations than what was offered close by. The concierge recommended Skip Jacks; two blocks up Newbury and two blocks to the left. It was a popular restaurant and reservations were necessary, nevertheless we were told we could move into the bar and much to our surprise it was a lively happening place filled with energetic people and the best part, we could order anything off the menu! The scallops prepared in skip jack style are to die for, as was the Chowder and bread. We drank locally known beers and had a blast. Since this was our first day of 6 we promised ourselves that we were not leaving until we ate another meal at Skip Jacks. And we did. Back at the Taj we did not encounter a single inappropriate snub or a lack in service. Our morning maid was so kind and accommodated our crazy-lazy jet lag schedule. The first two days we slept till noon and once out of the room we did not return until 10:00pm. A couple times, the evening maid was either just entering our room or walking out. She didn’t want to be in the way. Poor dear, little did she know that my mother knows no stranger. My mother would ask her questions and she’d kindly answer. But it was evident that she did not see it her place to be conversing with the customers. I cannot think of anything more incorrect! If customer service is about being accommodating to the needs of your clients and your talkative clients don’t know a stranger, I saw a kind and accommodating Dawa speak so kindly to my mom, even offering to bring her hot tea; "just tell me", she would say, "and I will be sure you are taken care of at the Taj". "It is important that you enjoy your stay and remember us when you want to return to Boston". What a dear. That was all it took for me. I will return to the Taj Boston, because of the kindness Dawa extended to my mother, the kind Concierge, really the whole experience. The men at the street that hail your taxi or just have a smile for you, help you open the door and lead you in the right direction. Buy the second night we were actually hoping Dawa would be knocking on our door. We of course were looking forward to our chocolates and water as well as see her smile and hear her logical words of strength and wisdom. It is evident that she genuinely enjoys her job. She is a jewel in the Taj crown. A lovely person. The location is close to so much, really. If walking isn’t your thing then the green line is close. I must say, prior to booking I read a few reviews that left me with some concerns, yet due to time, I booked. I later went and read more reviews and I have to say I experienced no problems. I would stay there again and again without reservation. Quick note...the additional fee for a room with a city view was well worth it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Skip Jacks - A must! 52nd floor on the Prudential Building. Go about 2:00pm during a week day, order a drink and a snack and you'll get a spectacular viewing experience!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Taj Boston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
newyork
Business
newyork
Sep 6, 2011

Great location but thats it !

The location was fab, near the park and newbury street full of shops. But the service of the hotel was really ordinary nothing special. The restaurant for breakfast you could feel the staff were tensed and rushing around. Sometimes dropping things on the ground as they were so rushed. The room was, bathroom could have been refurbished as it seem a little old. Bed was very comfortable but was surprised to have to stand on a stool to get on the bed. I thought the hotel was not bad but def overpriced and you paid for the location not the hotel amenities or service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Taj Boston

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
May 8, 2011

Needs updating

My wife and I stayed one night at the Taj for a weekend get-away. For a relatively high priced hotel, we were a little disappointed. This place transported us back to the 1980's, but still showed its age. Next time we will spend the money on a more modern upscale hotel in Back Bay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We had dinner at Mistral. It was fantastic. From the service and the creative menu, to the warm and inviting ambiance, this place was great. The duck is not to be missed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Taj Boston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Concord NH
Feb 28, 2011

Perfect location for romantic weekend

This was a perfect location for a weekend in Boston, walking distance to everything. Lunch in Chinatown, great shopping, walk to the Hancock tower for an awsome view, the best shopping and restaurants on Newbury Street, espresso and pastry in the North End, Comedy clubs and theaters just 2 block away. Hotel room was exquisite, great view of the Public Gardens, service outstanding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Wear practical walking shoes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Taj Boston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dr frank
Business
Boston ma
Jan 1, 2011

Place needs work

No spa.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Newbury street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Taj Boston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
FunSize
Business
Brewer, Maine
Nov 27, 2010

Luxurious

Gorgeous hotel, convenient, great service, loved the room service, staff very eager to please, definitely worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Taj Boston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
The Woodlands, Texas
Oct 26, 2010

Always a great place to stay in Boston.

Was a great hotel as the Ritz-Carlton and is a great hotel as the Taj. Only complaint was that I could not get the room cooled down, even with the AC on and down all the way and the windows open. Couple of lights did not work, but did not spend that much time in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Taj Boston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston
Aug 9, 2010

Great

Best location in Boston. Sunday brunch on the roof is not to be missed, we live locally and it makes for a great mini-getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top