$188 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 155 Portland Street, Boston, MA 02114

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
80 out of 80
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super Cherry
Business
Bloomington, Indiana
Jan 22, 2013

Convinient and Nice

The service people are really nice! And all the paintings and decorations are so cool! The location of the hotel is good too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jcirig
Business
Connecticut
Mar 20, 2013

The best!

The amenities are basic, but the hotel was unreal! The staff was unbelievably friendly and helpful! The location could not have been any better!!!! It was a great experience and I would recommend this hotel to anyone! I will definitely be returning!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Schoo
Business
Brooklyn
Apr 3, 2013

Great location

Very close to airport and Cambridge. On a back street where there are a few bars ... so request a room in the back. Bathroom needs more hooks for towels once used: there was only one. Nice robes and bath products. Rooms ending in 1 and 2 are very close so ask for something over #5 that is also away from the elevators. Why are doors in hotels never soundproof? We cold hear people in the hall easily but that's probably all hotels. Great staff!! and Really good organic free coffee in the lobby every morning. The room service food was not good and, as usual, very expensive. Then they add 18% gratuity on that. Luckily there is an Au Bon Pain across the street but only open weekdays.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

HUNGRY MOTHER rest. in Cambridge.

Review of Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rugdog
Business
Tempe. Arizona
Jun 12, 2013

In downtown Boston, convenient location, close to T, eateries around.

We needed a place to stay while attending a graduation in Cambridge, and though the Onyx is in Boston, we got there quickly by taxi ($20) from the airport, were close to the T's Green Line and steps away from Boston's historic quarters, all around. The staff was very welcoming and friendly, the room was snug but very comfortable and quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
alexandra12345
Business
boston ma
Dec 4, 2013

OK

the room was small. the people were niice the people were friendly it was close to the TD garden

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bigdan
Business
somers point, NJ
May 29, 2009

good time

Hotel was very nice and service was very good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Displaced Hipster
Business
New Jersey
Dec 31, 2010

A place to be

Very gracious when we first pulled up, I was flustered and recently lost (If you're coming off 93, take the Storrow dr exit, follow signs for MA28, turn right BEFORE the Nashua rd light, follow around TD garden, left on Merrimac and YES you can make a left on to Valenti but the sign is hard to read.) Nice room, nice bathroom. We were checking out cultural stuff, museums, cheap eats, music etc. so the location wasn't that great but it would be perfect for someone in town for a Celtics game. However, the T was right there so it was really not a prob.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking distance to N End Italian joints, but make a reservation in advance, many have online res. forms on their websites. We went to Amici Forno.

Review of Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
May 4, 2008

Friendly staff

The staff were great; we live locally but wanted to stay in Boston overnight for an event. We had the hotel car take us to the North End, the driver's recommendation for dinner was a better value than expected and exactly the small, authentic italian restaurant we were looking for. Also, the car was quite comparable to a taxi fare but more convenient. We spent our late evening in the hotel bar and really enjoyed the modern atmosphere and the bartender's creativity. The room was very comfortable for the two of us; the bed was huge and so soft and the room was really quiet even though we were next to the elevator. Everything was exceptionally clean and new. When we checked our car in at the front desk the staff told me I should just leave it in the garage until we checked out to avoid some kind of hassle with retrieving it, but we ended up taking the car out several times over the course of the evening without a problem or additional charges. We could have parked nearby for $20, but no ins and outs... Our other criticism is the nickel and diming. We stayed at this hotel hoping to have a romantic evening in Boston, which was achieved, but at every glance in our room there was something tempting with a price tag on it. Why do I want to look at a glass case of potato chips at the end of my bed? But we managed to block the advertising out... We will probably stay here again, maybe with friends. It is convenient to the North End and it was an overall enjoyable experience. Modern and sophisticated and boutiquey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a bistro on the corner, and the North End is very close.

Review of Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ny
Sep 27, 2010

Onyx hotel good choice

I was going to Boston for a medical meeting - great accomodation for my pet, and my spouse also was able to walk to all major points of interest as it was located in the heart of everything. Service was great. Gym is small with no work out equipment except dumbells, but good cardio equipment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Juanna
Business
Charlotte, NC
May 22, 2011

Great Stay

In town for my daughter's college graduation. Wonderful hotel, very, very, nice staff. Will stay at this hotel again and recommend to family and friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Convenient to most shopping, dining and historical attractions.

Back to menu Return to top