$202 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 155 Portland Street, Boston, MA 02114

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
78 out of 78
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
theone092001
Business
Washington, DC
Mar 24, 2014

Good for an urban hotel

Not a ton of amenities, and a somewhat out of the way location, but close to the North Station T stop and from there the rest of Boston. Rooms are pretty small, but not surprising for a downtown hotel. Still had space at reasonable rates less than two weeks before Anime Boston, when many hotels were pushing up their rates, although it isn't particularly close to the Hynes convention center (although it's on the same T line, which is a flat rate regardless of distance traveled).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tanner01
Business
Coralville, IA
Mar 25, 2014

Beautiful Boston Boutique Hotel

Took a chance on booking the Onyx and glad we did. Terrific location (around the corner from the subway), can walk to great restaurants. The hotel and staff were wonderful. We didn't figure out how to get internet until the last night's stay, and the wine hour was great. Will definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mike's Pastry...wonderful pastries for a late night dessert

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Iowa City, IA
May 4, 2009

Onyx

Over all very good. Most of the staff was very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto, ON
Feb 18, 2011

Great location

Our flight was early arriving and the hotel was very accomadating with a room long before check in. This is a great location to stay if you are attending any event at the TD Bank North, very short walk. As well, great access to subway, trains, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Suzie Q.
Business
Hampden, Me
May 4, 2011

Perfect location

Traveling on business with my spouse, the Onyx was a great location for the short walk to the financial district. We also enjoyed shopping at the nearby Faneuil Hall and dinner at the Union Oyster House. The room was small but comfortable and the shower was hot with plenty of pressure. I would recommend the Onyx Hotel to others. You can even relax before dinner with a glass of wine (or two) which is complimentary. We really enjoyed ourselves.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
T.R Slick
Business
Milwaukee, WI, USA
Dec 1, 2011

Balmy Boston

My husband and I decided to spend a few days in Boston to see the sights. Chose the Kimpton because of location and value. We arrived at the Kimpton totally exhausted to find the staff warm, hospitable and the hotel totally comfortable. We grabbed a complimentary glass of wine and headed to our room which exceeded our expectations. Wonderful linens, comfortable mattress, cozy and perfect for our three night stay. All shifts of staff were extremely helpful and gave us suggestions on restaurants, local transportation and tourist sights. We would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

It is a short walk to Little Italy where I ate the best Italian meal of my life at Limoncellos, the house specialty.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JPierre
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 22, 2012

Overnight Stay

Super clean room. Friendly front desk clerks. Comfortable bed. Was exactly what I expected. Enjoyed my stay. Also loved being able to listen to my iPod on the iHome in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
McPherson Square
Business
New York, NY
Aug 20, 2012

Great hotel for work or fun

Living up to the Kimpton brand, this hotel is a solid choice. It is a little more utilitarian than some Kimptons but still very nice. And, if you're into walking, you can get to many Boston attractions on foot. The staff was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
K8monster
Business
Baltimore, md
Sep 25, 2012

Quick trip for some baseball

I love kimpton hotels, and I've stayed at several in different cities. The Onyx is a veery basic Kimpton, no extra frills, but the location in Boston's North Side neighborhood is walking distance to the T and a variety of touristy places. Even on crutches, it was easy to get around. Because I was on crutches, the staff seemed extra helpful in assisting with requests I would normally handle myself: calling cabs, making reservations, etc. The only issue I had, which I'm sure was an oversight on my part, was that the continental breakfast was not complimentary. In fact it was $15, and because I had trouble carrying things (and there was no one obvious on staff to help) I ended up paying $15 for an apple and an English muffin. Perhaps there was a sign I missed, though I'm pretty observant, but additional signage would've been extremely appreciated. Otherwise, sign up for the kimpton in touch program and enjoy staying at Kimpton hotels everywhere!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Sign up for Kimpton In Touch rewards for free wifi in the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Celtics Eddie
Business
Boston
Dec 10, 2012

Romantic night

It was my birthday and my girlfriend planed a night to the Celtics then stayed at the onyx hotel. It was an amazing night. I could not ask for more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top