$177 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
155 Portland Street, Boston, MA 02114
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
73 reviews
nidht away

beautiful boutique hote great location and staff FAntastic See full review

  • bricker1
  • Aug 18, 2014
Wil definitely stay again

Our son's two favorite things are sports and history, so Boston was a great spring break location.... See full review

  • Hubcitypeaches
  • Apr 10, 2014
Eco-friendly, unique four-star property in downtown Boston
Onyx Hotel, a AAA four diamond, four-star boutique hotel sits on a charming side street in the heart of downtown Boston near many top sites like Faneuil Hall, TD Garden and the Freedom Trail. An eco-friendly, pet-friendly property, the Onyx offers upscale sophistication throughout the hotel. Begin the day with complimentary coffee and tea and mingle in the evening at a wine hour hosted in the lobby's living room. Enjoy a 24-hour fitness center, complimentary overnight shoe shine, 24-hour room service and full concierge services.
Highlights
  • AAA four diamond rating
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • 24-hour parking with in and out privileges (fees apply)
  • Evening wine hour, plus complimentary coffee and tea service
  • Hi-speed Wi-Fi throughout hotel (fees apply in rooms)
Rooms

Contemporary design, beautiful wood furniture and bold colors grace the hotel's 112 airy, eco-friendly guest rooms and suites. Almost 100 percent of rooms are non-smoking. Rooms include a 37-inch flat-screen TV with cable and WebTV, iHome iPod docking station, clock radio and a fully-stocked honor bar with gourmet treats and drinks. Sink into plush beds with high thread-count sheets and comforters. Bathrooms feature Gilchrist and Soames bath products, terrycloth robes and hairdryers. Lock laptops in the in-room safe. Guests also enjoy one of the most pet-friendly hotels around.

Features
Tucked away on a charming side street in the heart of downtown Boston, the Onyx Hotel offers sophisticated comfort at an affordable price. Enjoy personalized attention with full concierge and business services. Take advantage of complimentary Wi-Fi through the Kimpton InTouch Guest Loyalty Program. Savor complimentary morning coffee and tea service and evening wine tastings in the cozy lobby living room. Get shoes shined overnight at no charge, read the morning paper (local or national) and dine at the Ruby Room for eclectic American fare and quality cocktails or in the privacy of your room via 24-hour room service.

Transportation
  • Hynes Convention Center (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Logan International Airport (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
Attractions
  • TD Garden (next door)
  • Faneuil Hall/Quincy Market (.4 mi/.6 km)
  • Bunker Hill (.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Harvard University (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
Business
  • 500 square-foot meeting room
  • Wireless high-speed Internet access

Hotel Map

42.3643 -71.0614
Nearby airports
General Edward Lawrence Logan Intl Airport, (BOS), 3.00, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Double Double Deluxe Room with 2
Double Double Deluxe Room with 2 Double Beds, 280 Sq. Ft., Bigelow amenities.
Accessible King Deluxe Room with
Accessible King Deluxe Room with 1 Bed communication features avail 280 Sq. Ft.
King Deluxe Room
King Deluxe Room with 1 King Bed, 280 Sq. Ft., iHome, Bigelow amenities.
King Premier Room w 1 King Bed
King Premier Room with 1 King Bed, 325 Sq. Ft., iHome, Bigelow amenities.
ADA Double Double Deluxe w Roll
Accessible Double Double Deluxe Room with 2 Beds, roll in shower, 280 Sq. Ft.
Accessible Double Double Room
Accessible Double Double Room 2 Double Beds - 280 Sq. Ft.-accessible tub communication features available-

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Bathroom telephone
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms
Trouser press

Nearby points of interest

  • TD Garden: 0.1 mi
  • TD Banknorth Garden: 0.1 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.4 mi
  • Old North Church: 0.4 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 0.4 mi
  • The Paul Revere House: 0.4 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 0.4 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.5 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.6 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.7 mi
  • USS Constitution Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Bunker Hill Monument: 0.8 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • TD Garden: 0.1 mi
  • TD Banknorth Garden: 0.1 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.4 mi
  • Old North Church: 0.4 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 0.4 mi
  • The Paul Revere House: 0.4 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 0.4 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.5 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.6 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.7 mi
  • USS Constitution Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Bunker Hill Monument: 0.8 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Charlestown Navy Yard: 0.9 mi
  • Boston Children's Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Trinity Church: 1.2 mi
  • Copley Square: 1.3 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 1.3 mi
  • Convention and Exhibition Center: 1.5 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 1.6 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 1.9 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 2 mi
  • Cruiseport Boston: 2 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 2 mi
  • Fenway Park: 2.2 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 2.4 mi
  • Agganis Arena: 3 mi
  • Castle Island: 3.1 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Arnold Arboretum: 5.6 mi

Dining

Ruby Room
Enjoy specialty cocktails tantalizing appetizers or a light dinner in this cool urban setting. The 45-seat Ruby Room serves a European-style breakfast buffet and is also open for dinner and drinks daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (73)

Ratings and reviews for Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 73
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jstira
Wilmington, MA
Feb 24, 2014

Great Stay

I booked this hotel for my sister's birthday and it was everything we wanted it to be, clean, great staff and close to fanueil which was where we were going out. Two other great things were they were offering free wine from 5-6 AND they allow pets! We loved the Onyx <3

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Pets are allowed!

Review of Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Consigliere Davide
Lewiston, NY
Jun 21, 2010

Contempory and Amazing

Hotel was amazing clean and the staff was friendly. The rooms offered robes and many other amenities. Location was pretty prime, and it's right by TD garden if you are there for a sporting event which I was not. Quincy Market and Newbury which are amazing for shopping are within 15 minutes if you take the T. Went to the Sam Adams' brewery too, which was free and it took about 20-25mins taking the T. The beds are very comfortable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
syracuse,ny
Aug 11, 2009

Good Hotel

Very nice hotel. I enjoyed my stay and will be back,\.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Scottishtildeaf
Dover De
Dec 13, 2010

Hidden Gem

This by far was one of the best hotel stays in America. We were greeted instantly at the door, allowed to check in early, given all the information on sites to see and places to eat. The free wine hour was a must do! Rooms were clean and modern! Perfect for young professionals!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
foster, RI
Mar 11, 2011

chic and sexy!

I was in towm for a concert and the hotel was the perfect place to kick off the night. Sexy and chic!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Porters next door to Onyx

Review of Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
theone092001
Washington, DC
Mar 24, 2014

Good for an urban hotel

Not a ton of amenities, and a somewhat out of the way location, but close to the North Station T stop and from there the rest of Boston. Rooms are pretty small, but not surprising for a downtown hotel. Still had space at reasonable rates less than two weeks before Anime Boston, when many hotels were pushing up their rates, although it isn't particularly close to the Hynes convention center (although it's on the same T line, which is a flat rate regardless of distance traveled).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
K8monster
Baltimore, md
Sep 25, 2012

Quick trip for some baseball

I love kimpton hotels, and I've stayed at several in different cities. The Onyx is a veery basic Kimpton, no extra frills, but the location in Boston's North Side neighborhood is walking distance to the T and a variety of touristy places. Even on crutches, it was easy to get around. Because I was on crutches, the staff seemed extra helpful in assisting with requests I would normally handle myself: calling cabs, making reservations, etc. The only issue I had, which I'm sure was an oversight on my part, was that the continental breakfast was not complimentary. In fact it was $15, and because I had trouble carrying things (and there was no one obvious on staff to help) I ended up paying $15 for an apple and an English muffin. Perhaps there was a sign I missed, though I'm pretty observant, but additional signage would've been extremely appreciated. Otherwise, sign up for the kimpton in touch program and enjoy staying at Kimpton hotels everywhere!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Sign up for Kimpton In Touch rewards for free wifi in the hotel.

Review of Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super Cherry
Bloomington, Indiana
Jan 22, 2013

Convinient and Nice

The service people are really nice! And all the paintings and decorations are so cool! The location of the hotel is good too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jcirig
Connecticut
Mar 20, 2013

The best!

The amenities are basic, but the hotel was unreal! The staff was unbelievably friendly and helpful! The location could not have been any better!!!! It was a great experience and I would recommend this hotel to anyone! I will definitely be returning!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Military vacationer
Del Rio, TX
Jun 29, 2009

Great for Boston touring

Great service by friendly staff. Helpful in changing rooms when number of people changed - even offered to move our stuff for us! Excellent location - we were able to walk everywhere! Highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search