$203 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
155 Portland Street, Boston, MA 02114
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
106 reviews
Wil definitely stay again

Our son's two favorite things are sports and history, so Boston was a great spring break location.... See full review

  • Hubcitypeaches
  • Apr 10, 2014
Great Stay

I booked this hotel for my sister's birthday and it was everything we wanted it to be, clean, great... See full review

  • jstira
  • Feb 24, 2014
Eco-friendly, unique four-star property in downtown Boston
Onyx Hotel, a AAA four diamond, four-star boutique hotel sits on a charming side street in the heart of downtown Boston near many top sites like Faneuil Hall, TD Garden and the Freedom Trail. An eco-friendly, pet-friendly property, the Onyx offers upscale sophistication throughout the hotel. Begin the day with complimentary coffee and tea and mingle in the evening at a wine hour hosted in the lobby's living room. Enjoy a 24-hour fitness center, complimentary overnight shoe shine, 24-hour room service and full concierge services.
Highlights
  • AAA four diamond rating
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • 24-hour parking with in and out privileges (fees apply)
  • Evening wine hour, plus complimentary coffee and tea service
  • Hi-speed Wi-Fi throughout hotel (fees apply in rooms)
Rooms

Contemporary design, beautiful wood furniture and bold colors grace the hotel's 112 airy, eco-friendly guest rooms and suites. Almost 100 percent of rooms are non-smoking. Rooms include a 37-inch flat-screen TV with cable and WebTV, iHome iPod docking station, clock radio and a fully-stocked honor bar with gourmet treats and drinks. Sink into plush beds with high thread-count sheets and comforters. Bathrooms feature Gilchrist and Soames bath products, terrycloth robes and hairdryers. Lock laptops in the in-room safe. Guests also enjoy one of the most pet-friendly hotels around.

Features
Tucked away on a charming side street in the heart of downtown Boston, the Onyx Hotel offers sophisticated comfort at an affordable price. Enjoy personalized attention with full concierge and business services. Take advantage of complimentary Wi-Fi through the Kimpton InTouch Guest Loyalty Program. Savor complimentary morning coffee and tea service and evening wine tastings in the cozy lobby living room. Get shoes shined overnight at no charge, read the morning paper (local or national) and dine at the Ruby Room for eclectic American fare and quality cocktails or in the privacy of your room via 24-hour room service.

Transportation
  • Hynes Convention Center (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Logan International Airport (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
Attractions
  • TD Garden (next door)
  • Faneuil Hall/Quincy Market (.4 mi/.6 km)
  • Bunker Hill (.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Harvard University (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
Business
  • 500 square-foot meeting room
  • Wireless high-speed Internet access

Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Double Double Deluxe Room with 2
Double Double Deluxe Room with 2 Double Beds, 280 Sq. Ft., Bigelow amenities.
Accessible King Deluxe Room with
Accessible King Deluxe Room with 1 Bed communication features avail 280 Sq. Ft.
King Deluxe Room
King Deluxe Room with 1 King Bed, 280 Sq. Ft., iHome, Bigelow amenities.
King Premier Room w 1 King Bed
King Premier Room with 1 King Bed, 325 Sq. Ft., iHome, Bigelow amenities.
ADA Double Double Deluxe w Roll
Accessible Double Double Deluxe Room with 2 Beds, roll in shower, 280 Sq. Ft.
Accessible Double Double Room
Accessible Double Double Room 2 Double Beds - 280 Sq. Ft.-accessible tub communication features available-

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Bathroom telephone
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms
Trouser press

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

42.3643 -71.0614
Nearby airports
General Edward Lawrence Logan Intl Airport, (BOS), 3.00, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • TD Garden: 0.1 mi
  • TD Banknorth Garden: 0.1 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.4 mi
  • Old North Church: 0.4 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 0.4 mi
  • The Paul Revere House: 0.4 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 0.4 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.5 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.6 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.7 mi
  • USS Constitution Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Bunker Hill Monument: 0.8 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • TD Garden: 0.1 mi
  • TD Banknorth Garden: 0.1 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.4 mi
  • Old North Church: 0.4 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 0.4 mi
  • The Paul Revere House: 0.4 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 0.4 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.5 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.6 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.7 mi
  • USS Constitution Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Bunker Hill Monument: 0.8 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Charlestown Navy Yard: 0.9 mi
  • Boston Children's Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Trinity Church: 1.2 mi
  • Copley Square: 1.3 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 1.3 mi
  • Convention and Exhibition Center: 1.5 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 1.6 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 1.9 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 2 mi
  • Cruiseport Boston: 2 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 2 mi
  • Fenway Park: 2.2 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 2.4 mi
  • Agganis Arena: 3 mi
  • Castle Island: 3.1 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Arnold Arboretum: 5.6 mi

Dining

Ruby Room
Enjoy specialty cocktails tantalizing appetizers or a light dinner in this cool urban setting. The 45-seat Ruby Room serves a European-style breakfast buffet and is also open for dinner and drinks daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (106)

Ratings and reviews for Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
106 out of 106
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Scottishtildeaf
Dover De
Dec 13, 2010

Hidden Gem

This by far was one of the best hotel stays in America. We were greeted instantly at the door, allowed to check in early, given all the information on sites to see and places to eat. The free wine hour was a must do! Rooms were clean and modern! Perfect for young professionals!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Nova Scotia, Canada
Nov 30, 2010

Beautiful and close to everything!

The hotel is wonderful and close to everywhere you could possibly want to go in Boston! We were specifically in town for a Boston Celtic's game and the Gardens were less than a block away. It was also very close to great restaurants, pubs, shopping, and other attractions. The only reason that I wouldn't give the hotel four stars is because the rooms were very small (but beautiful!).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Nova Scotia, Canada
Nov 30, 2010

Beautiful and close to everything!

The hotel is wonderful and close to everywhere you could possibly want to go in Boston! We were specifically in town for a Boston Celtic's game and the Gardens were less than a block away. It was also very close to great restaurants, pubs, shopping, and other attractions. The only reason that I wouldn't give the hotel four stars is because the rooms were very small (but beautiful!).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Adare
Pittsburgh pa
Nov 28, 2010

Great stay

We were able to walk to many if the historical sites right from our hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel has a nice hotel bar and Is close to Boston night life. We would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Anyone can walk the freedom trail to the North Church. We were able to get a tour of the church for a small fee. Just ask the people in the gift shop about the tours.

Review of Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Adare
Pittsburgh pa
Nov 28, 2010

Great stay

We were able to walk to many if the historical sites right from our hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel has a nice hotel bar and Is close to Boston night life. We would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Anyone can walk the freedom trail to the North Church. We were able to get a tour of the church for a small fee. Just ask the people in the gift shop about the tours.

Review of Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LS & BS
Salt Lake City, UT
Nov 24, 2010

Great accommodations and location

We enjoyed dinner at the nearby Neptune Oyster Bar, followed by a relaxing evening in our cozy, comfortable room. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the location was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the lobster dinner at Neptune Oyster Bar.

Review of Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LS & BS
Salt Lake City, UT
Nov 24, 2010

Great accommodations and location

We enjoyed dinner at the nearby Neptune Oyster Bar, followed by a relaxing evening in our cozy, comfortable room. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the location was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the lobster dinner at Neptune Oyster Bar.

Review of Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
san diego, ca
Nov 15, 2010

onyx stay

Great location. Close to everything including historical sites, restaurants, and td garden. Small but comfortable room. The only drawback is that our bedroom light had to be turned on in order for the bathroom light to work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
san diego, ca
Nov 15, 2010

onyx stay

Great location. Close to everything including historical sites, restaurants, and td garden. Small but comfortable room. The only drawback is that our bedroom light had to be turned on in order for the bathroom light to work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ny
Sep 27, 2010

Onyx hotel good choice

I was going to Boston for a medical meeting - great accomodation for my pet, and my spouse also was able to walk to all major points of interest as it was located in the heart of everything. Service was great. Gym is small with no work out equipment except dumbells, but good cardio equipment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top