$195 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 4, 2015 Check-out: Apr 7, 2015

Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 155 Portland Street, Boston, MA 02114

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
73 out of 73
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Danbury CT
Jan 29, 2011

as advertised

We didn't spend much time in the room itself but the room was clean, the bed was comfortable, no complaints about the room at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

We were not prepared for the overnight parking fee of $42. If I was to stay at this hotel again I think it would have been worth trying to find another place to park overnight. Also there is a great little bar next door to the hotel called Porters. I would reccomnd trying their twice cooked fries, they made for a delicious appetizer.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bangor, Maine
Jan 18, 2011

Onyx Hotel

Went to Boston overnight to go to a Celtic game. Perfect location to the Garden if your travel is taking you there. Very close proximity especially with young children in the cold to walk. Very nice hotel, small rooms like all downtown Boston. Easy in and out of the city. Grocery around the corner. Helpful staff. Valet was good but expensive $42 plus tip for the night. But worth it and they were quick.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dr Joe
Business
Syracuse, NY
Jan 4, 2011

Excellent Hotel, excellent location!!

We came to see a Celtics game so this hotel was PERFECT! Very comfortable. We went sightseeing at the NorthEnd, Fanueil Hall and also very much enjoyed seeing the Kennedy Presidential Library.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to basketball arena

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Displaced Hipster
Business
New Jersey
Dec 31, 2010

A place to be

Very gracious when we first pulled up, I was flustered and recently lost (If you're coming off 93, take the Storrow dr exit, follow signs for MA28, turn right BEFORE the Nashua rd light, follow around TD garden, left on Merrimac and YES you can make a left on to Valenti but the sign is hard to read.) Nice room, nice bathroom. We were checking out cultural stuff, museums, cheap eats, music etc. so the location wasn't that great but it would be perfect for someone in town for a Celtics game. However, the T was right there so it was really not a prob.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking distance to N End Italian joints, but make a reservation in advance, many have online res. forms on their websites. We went to Amici Forno.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Scottishtildeaf
Business
Dover De
Dec 13, 2010

Hidden Gem

This by far was one of the best hotel stays in America. We were greeted instantly at the door, allowed to check in early, given all the information on sites to see and places to eat. The free wine hour was a must do! Rooms were clean and modern! Perfect for young professionals!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nova Scotia, Canada
Nov 30, 2010

Beautiful and close to everything!

The hotel is wonderful and close to everywhere you could possibly want to go in Boston! We were specifically in town for a Boston Celtic's game and the Gardens were less than a block away. It was also very close to great restaurants, pubs, shopping, and other attractions. The only reason that I wouldn't give the hotel four stars is because the rooms were very small (but beautiful!).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Adare
Business
Pittsburgh pa
Nov 28, 2010

Great stay

We were able to walk to many if the historical sites right from our hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel has a nice hotel bar and Is close to Boston night life. We would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Anyone can walk the freedom trail to the North Church. We were able to get a tour of the church for a small fee. Just ask the people in the gift shop about the tours.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LS & BS
Business
Salt Lake City, UT
Nov 24, 2010

Great accommodations and location

We enjoyed dinner at the nearby Neptune Oyster Bar, followed by a relaxing evening in our cozy, comfortable room. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the location was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the lobster dinner at Neptune Oyster Bar.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san diego, ca
Nov 15, 2010

onyx stay

Great location. Close to everything including historical sites, restaurants, and td garden. Small but comfortable room. The only drawback is that our bedroom light had to be turned on in order for the bathroom light to work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ny
Sep 27, 2010

Onyx hotel good choice

I was going to Boston for a medical meeting - great accomodation for my pet, and my spouse also was able to walk to all major points of interest as it was located in the heart of everything. Service was great. Gym is small with no work out equipment except dumbells, but good cardio equipment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top