$215 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 28, 2015 Check-out: Jun 29, 2015

Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 155 Portland Street, Boston, MA 02114

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
79 out of 79
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Suzie Q.
Business
Hampden, Me
May 4, 2011

Perfect location

Traveling on business with my spouse, the Onyx was a great location for the short walk to the financial district. We also enjoyed shopping at the nearby Faneuil Hall and dinner at the Union Oyster House. The room was small but comfortable and the shower was hot with plenty of pressure. I would recommend the Onyx Hotel to others. You can even relax before dinner with a glass of wine (or two) which is complimentary. We really enjoyed ourselves.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
David Jenkins
Business
Charlotte NC
Mar 25, 2011

Superb Hotel, and Even Better Staff

Stayed for four nights and regretted having to leave. Very comfortable and slightly quirky room, great location, but the staff were the best part of my visit, very sociable without being overbearing. In a city full of great hotels, this is the one where you'll feel most at home. Convenience store, Subway, REAL pizza, steakhouse all within a small block and an easy walk to all the North End Italian restaurants, subway (the underground train kind) nearbye.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Boston is a walking city. Cabs are everywhere but take the time to walk to your downtown destination, it's a beautiful town.

Review of Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
foster, RI
Mar 11, 2011

chic and sexy!

I was in towm for a concert and the hotel was the perfect place to kick off the night. Sexy and chic!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Porters next door to Onyx

Review of Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto, ON
Feb 18, 2011

Great location

Our flight was early arriving and the hotel was very accomadating with a room long before check in. This is a great location to stay if you are attending any event at the TD Bank North, very short walk. As well, great access to subway, trains, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto, ON
Feb 18, 2011

Great location

Our flight was early arriving and the hotel was very accomadating with a room long before check in. This is a great location to stay if you are attending any event at the TD Bank North, very short walk. As well, great access to subway, trains, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Danbury CT
Jan 29, 2011

as advertised

We didn't spend much time in the room itself but the room was clean, the bed was comfortable, no complaints about the room at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

We were not prepared for the overnight parking fee of $42. If I was to stay at this hotel again I think it would have been worth trying to find another place to park overnight. Also there is a great little bar next door to the hotel called Porters. I would reccomnd trying their twice cooked fries, they made for a delicious appetizer.

Review of Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bangor, Maine
Jan 18, 2011

Onyx Hotel

Went to Boston overnight to go to a Celtic game. Perfect location to the Garden if your travel is taking you there. Very close proximity especially with young children in the cold to walk. Very nice hotel, small rooms like all downtown Boston. Easy in and out of the city. Grocery around the corner. Helpful staff. Valet was good but expensive $42 plus tip for the night. But worth it and they were quick.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dr Joe
Business
Syracuse, NY
Jan 4, 2011

Excellent Hotel, excellent location!!

We came to see a Celtics game so this hotel was PERFECT! Very comfortable. We went sightseeing at the NorthEnd, Fanueil Hall and also very much enjoyed seeing the Kennedy Presidential Library.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to basketball arena

Review of Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Displaced Hipster
Business
New Jersey
Dec 31, 2010

A place to be

Very gracious when we first pulled up, I was flustered and recently lost (If you're coming off 93, take the Storrow dr exit, follow signs for MA28, turn right BEFORE the Nashua rd light, follow around TD garden, left on Merrimac and YES you can make a left on to Valenti but the sign is hard to read.) Nice room, nice bathroom. We were checking out cultural stuff, museums, cheap eats, music etc. so the location wasn't that great but it would be perfect for someone in town for a Celtics game. However, the T was right there so it was really not a prob.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking distance to N End Italian joints, but make a reservation in advance, many have online res. forms on their websites. We went to Amici Forno.

Review of Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Scottishtildeaf
Business
Dover De
Dec 13, 2010

Hidden Gem

This by far was one of the best hotel stays in America. We were greeted instantly at the door, allowed to check in early, given all the information on sites to see and places to eat. The free wine hour was a must do! Rooms were clean and modern! Perfect for young professionals!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top