$188 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 155 Portland Street, Boston, MA 02114

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
74 out of 74
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
T.R Slick
Business
Milwaukee, WI, USA
Dec 1, 2011

Balmy Boston

My husband and I decided to spend a few days in Boston to see the sights. Chose the Kimpton because of location and value. We arrived at the Kimpton totally exhausted to find the staff warm, hospitable and the hotel totally comfortable. We grabbed a complimentary glass of wine and headed to our room which exceeded our expectations. Wonderful linens, comfortable mattress, cozy and perfect for our three night stay. All shifts of staff were extremely helpful and gave us suggestions on restaurants, local transportation and tourist sights. We would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

It is a short walk to Little Italy where I ate the best Italian meal of my life at Limoncellos, the house specialty.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chelsey
Business
Jacksonville, FL, USA
Oct 11, 2011

Very Small!

Good experience just wasn't worth the money. The room was really small but the staff was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Canal street is just 2 blocks away. great for sports fans!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JosephM
Business
Ocean, New Jersey, USA
Sep 21, 2011

Family visit

In addition to the enjoyable visit to see my daughter, the hotel location is perfect to experience downtown Boston. Located close, but not smack in the middle of traffic and crowds. I'll stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of resturants, and night life by the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tripp
Business
Nashua, NH, USA
Aug 16, 2011

Great Style

Perfect location, staff was friendly and super helpful. Shower was a little screwy, all that came out was extremely hot water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Tons of restuarants and bars all around!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ct
Jul 24, 2011

Great hotel

Best hotel I have stayed at in Boston thus far! Close to a T stop and if you want night life there are bars and food right on the street!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pennsylvania
Jun 27, 2011

Great People!!

Though I travelled own business, I watched how the people at the front desk handled all people from weary business travellers to families on vacation and all were handled well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Juanna
Business
Charlotte, NC
May 22, 2011

Great Stay

In town for my daughter's college graduation. Wonderful hotel, very, very, nice staff. Will stay at this hotel again and recommend to family and friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Convenient to most shopping, dining and historical attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Suzie Q.
Business
Hampden, Me
May 4, 2011

Perfect location

Traveling on business with my spouse, the Onyx was a great location for the short walk to the financial district. We also enjoyed shopping at the nearby Faneuil Hall and dinner at the Union Oyster House. The room was small but comfortable and the shower was hot with plenty of pressure. I would recommend the Onyx Hotel to others. You can even relax before dinner with a glass of wine (or two) which is complimentary. We really enjoyed ourselves.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
David Jenkins
Business
Charlotte NC
Mar 25, 2011

Superb Hotel, and Even Better Staff

Stayed for four nights and regretted having to leave. Very comfortable and slightly quirky room, great location, but the staff were the best part of my visit, very sociable without being overbearing. In a city full of great hotels, this is the one where you'll feel most at home. Convenience store, Subway, REAL pizza, steakhouse all within a small block and an easy walk to all the North End Italian restaurants, subway (the underground train kind) nearbye.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Boston is a walking city. Cabs are everywhere but take the time to walk to your downtown destination, it's a beautiful town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
foster, RI
Mar 11, 2011

chic and sexy!

I was in towm for a concert and the hotel was the perfect place to kick off the night. Sexy and chic!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Porters next door to Onyx

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top