$181 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 25, 2015 Check-out: Apr 28, 2015

Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 155 Portland Street, Boston, MA 02114

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
74 out of 74
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SoRo
Maine
Jul 14, 2012

Quick Boston Getaway

Wonderful staff, location in West End convenient to T, North End restuarants and all of Boston, We loved the Onynx. Great deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super Cherry
Business
Bloomington, Indiana
Jan 22, 2013

Convinient and Nice

The service people are really nice! And all the paintings and decorations are so cool! The location of the hotel is good too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Celtics Eddie
Business
Boston
Dec 10, 2012

Romantic night

It was my birthday and my girlfriend planed a night to the Celtics then stayed at the onyx hotel. It was an amazing night. I could not ask for more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
K8monster
Business
Baltimore, md
Sep 25, 2012

Quick trip for some baseball

I love kimpton hotels, and I've stayed at several in different cities. The Onyx is a veery basic Kimpton, no extra frills, but the location in Boston's North Side neighborhood is walking distance to the T and a variety of touristy places. Even on crutches, it was easy to get around. Because I was on crutches, the staff seemed extra helpful in assisting with requests I would normally handle myself: calling cabs, making reservations, etc. The only issue I had, which I'm sure was an oversight on my part, was that the continental breakfast was not complimentary. In fact it was $15, and because I had trouble carrying things (and there was no one obvious on staff to help) I ended up paying $15 for an apple and an English muffin. Perhaps there was a sign I missed, though I'm pretty observant, but additional signage would've been extremely appreciated. Otherwise, sign up for the kimpton in touch program and enjoy staying at Kimpton hotels everywhere!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Sign up for Kimpton In Touch rewards for free wifi in the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
McPherson Square
Business
New York, NY
Aug 20, 2012

Great hotel for work or fun

Living up to the Kimpton brand, this hotel is a solid choice. It is a little more utilitarian than some Kimptons but still very nice. And, if you're into walking, you can get to many Boston attractions on foot. The staff was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JPierre
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 22, 2012

Overnight Stay

Super clean room. Friendly front desk clerks. Comfortable bed. Was exactly what I expected. Enjoyed my stay. Also loved being able to listen to my iPod on the iHome in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SoRo
Business
Maine
Jul 14, 2012

Quick Boston Getaway

Wonderful staff, location in West End convenient to T, North End restuarants and all of Boston, We loved the Onynx. Great deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LT. SCOTT
Business
DECATUR, GA.
Jul 8, 2012

LT. SCOTT

GREAT LOCATION, AND THE STAFF WERE ALWAYS HELPFUL. WINE HOUR FROM 5PM TO 6 PM WAS A PLUS. LT. SCOTT

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Olivia Pope
Business
San Diego, CA
Apr 8, 2012

Fantastic getaway

Absolutely one of the best experiences I have had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mrs.DH
Business
Concord, NH
Feb 24, 2012

Weekend getaway with my husband

Very friendly, allowed us to check in even though we were an hour early, also very helpful when asking for a nice place to eat and everything is within walking distance!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Onyx, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TandI
Business
Greenwich, CT, USA
Jan 30, 2012

Quick overnight for a concert

Booked for an overnight to see a concert at TD Garden Center. Staff was knowledge and very pleasant. Room was clean and comfortable. Cool modern style throughout. Price seemed a little high. Overall really enjoyed the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top