$255 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

Lenox Hotel

4 stars
61 Exeter St, Boston, MA 02116
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.7
out of 5
330 reviews
Perfect occasion

We wanted to visit Boston as neither of us had been previously. We chose the Lenox based on reviews... See full review

  • UK1sttimevisitor
  • Jun 21, 2014
My new favorite Boston hotel

Great hotel in a perfect Back Bay location - near trains, Copley Square, Mapparium, and so much... See full review

  • Time for ME
  • Apr 17, 2014
The Lenox Hotel is designated as one of the Historic Hotels of America, as well as being an outstanding' green' venue with sustainability practices and recycling initiatives. Since 1900, luxurious European-themed accommodations have hosted rich and famous guests, including jazz legend Duke Ellington. Classic elegance characterizes the rooms - from the Executive King and Queen with fireplaces, to the Penthouse and Judy Garland Suites - while artwork adorns the walls of the Lenox restaurant, City Table. Sample seasonal New England cuisine before sipping cocktails whipped up inside the intimate City Bar.
Key facts
  • 214 guestrooms
  • Suites: Judy Garland Suite, Back Bay Suite, Penthouse Suites, and Junior Suites
  • Pets: Dogs weighing 20 pounds or less are allowed (additional charges apply, refer to hotel pet policy)
  • 5 conference/event spaces
  • 11 floors
  • Gym
  • Bars and restaurants: City Table, Solas and City Bar cocktail lounge
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi in guest rooms and public areas
  • ATM in lower lobby
  • 24-hour room and front desk service
Neighborhood
The Lenox Hotel resides in Boston's gorgeous Back Bay neighborhood, home to international dining, unique shopping and distinctive architecture. Set next door to the Boston Public Library the second largest public library in the country's book lovers can take in the stacks before visiting Fenway Park (home of the Red Sox), or enjoying a picnic at Boston Common or the Boston Public Garden.
Hints and tips
Corner rooms tend to be a bit larger, and some are equipped with real fireplaces.

The Lenox Hotel also offers several allergen-free rooms on the 11th floor, so you can book carefully cleaned and filtered accommodations.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Lenox Hotel Rooms

Superior Double Double
Our lovely Superior rooms with two full-sized double beds are well appointed for business and leisure travelers alike. Many of these rooms boast breathtaking city views of Boston's historic Back Bay. Each accommodation features a dedicated work area with full writing desks, Herman Miller Aeron ergonomic chairs, complimentary wireless internet, Bose digital AM/FM clock radios with MP3 docking stations and flat screen televisions. Our guests will enjoy pillow top mattresses with luxurious bedding, a full marble bathroom with Aveda bath amenities, plush terry bathrobes and nightly turndown service. Every feature is thoughtfully placed to make the experience at the Lenox a memorable and comfortable one.
Superior King
These beautifully appointed rooms boast breathtaking city views of Boston's historic Back Bay. Each accommodation features a dedicated work area with full writing desks, Herman Miller Aeron ergonomic chairs, complimentary wireless internet, Bose digital AM/FM clock radios with MP3 docking stations and flat screen televisions. Our guests will enjoy pillow top mattresses with luxurious bedding, a full marble bathroom with Aveda bath amenities, plush terry bathrobes and nightly turndown service. Every feature is thoughtfully placed to make the experience at the Lenox a memorable and comfortable one.
Junior Suite King
Our spacious Junior Suites offer a king-sized bed, comfortable living area with sofa seating. Many of these rooms boast breathtaking city views of Boston's historic Back Bay. Each accommodation features a dedicated work area with full writing desks, Herman Miller Aeron ergonomic chairs, complimentary wireless internet, Bose digital AM/FM clock radios with MP3 docking stations and flat screen televisions. Our guests will enjoy pillow top mattresses with luxurious bedding, a full marble bathroom with Aveda bath amenities, plush terry bathrobes and nightly turndown service. Every feature is thoughtfully placed to make the experience at the Lenox a memorable and comfortable one.
Junior Suite Double Double
Our elegantly appointed spacious corner rooms with two full-sized double beds are well appointed for business and leisure travelers alike. Many of these rooms boast breathtaking city views of Boston's historic Back Bay. Each accommodation features a dedicated work area with full writing desks, Herman Miller Aeron ergonomic chairs, complimentary wireless internet, Bose digital AM/FM clock radios with MP3 docking stations and flat screen televisions. Our guests will enjoy pillow top mattresses with luxurious bedding, a full marble bathroom with Aveda bath amenities, plush terry bathrobes and nightly turndown service. Every feature is thoughtfully placed to make the experience at the Lenox a memorable and comfortable one.
Classic
Our warm Classic rooms are well appointed for business and leisure travelers alike. Many of these rooms boast breathtaking city views of Boston's historic Back Bay. Each accommodation features a dedicated work area with full writing desks, Herman Miller Aeron ergonomic chairs, complimentary wireless internet, Bose digital AM/FM clock radios with MP3 docking stations and flat screen televisions. Our guests will enjoy pillow top mattresses with luxurious bedding, a marble bathroom with Aveda bath amenities, plush terry bathrobes and nightly turndown service. Every feature is thoughtfully placed to make the experience at the Lenox a memorable and comfortable one.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Lenox Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

42.3491 -71.0794
Area served
Back Bay Boston
Nearby airports
Boston Logan International Airport
Area description
Located off Copley Square on the corner of Boylston and Exeter streets, The Lenox is ideally situated in the heart of Boston.

Nearby points of interest

  • Boston Public Library: 0.1 mi
  • Trinity Church: 0.2 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.2 mi
  • Copley Square: 0.5 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 0.5 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 0.6 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.8 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.8 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 0.9 mi
  • Fenway Park: 0.9 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.9 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • African Meeting House: 1 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 1.3 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 0.1 mi
  • Trinity Church: 0.2 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.2 mi
  • Copley Square: 0.5 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 0.5 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 0.6 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.8 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.8 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 0.9 mi
  • Fenway Park: 0.9 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.9 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • African Meeting House: 1 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 1.3 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 1.4 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 1.4 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 1.4 mi
  • TD Garden: 1.5 mi
  • TD Banknorth Garden: 1.5 mi
  • Boston Children's Museum: 1.5 mi
  • The Paul Revere House: 1.7 mi
  • Convention and Exhibition Center: 1.7 mi
  • Old North Church: 1.7 mi
  • Agganis Arena: 2 mi
  • USS Constitution Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Bunker Hill Monument: 2.1 mi
  • Charlestown Navy Yard: 2.3 mi
  • Cruiseport Boston: 2.3 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Castle Island: 3.6 mi
  • Arnold Arboretum: 4.2 mi

Dining

City Table
Executive Chef Dennis Wilson creates contemporary American cuisine with a casual approach and an emphasis on fresh and organic ingredients. Serving breakfast and dinner daily, City-Table features a private dining area resting beneath a gold leaf ceiling which is available for parties, business meetings, events, and private dining for up to 32 guests.
City -Bar
An intimate hotel bar and gathering spot that offers a variety of beverages including classic and one-of-a-kind martinis, single malts, ports, and liqueurs, as well as a selection of Infusions Diabolique. With a truly sophisticated atmosphere, City-Bar is an ideal place for pre-dinner or after work cocktails, with a selection of small plates inspired by City-Table's menu.
Solas
Solas means comfort in Gaelic and comfort is exactly what you will find along with a lot of Irish "good fun". Solas, a Boston pub with an Irish soul shows it's Irish influences in the architectural styles and the furnishings.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Whether it's a meeting for 10 or 300, The Lenox can accommodate in style. Its six function rooms, most with natural light and most located conveniently on the second floor, each has a unique style and appeal...and all evoke a sense of warmth and intimacy.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (330)

Ratings and reviews for Lenox Hotel

Overall score

4.7 / 5
5.01.0
330 out of 330
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Lenox Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nickway
Just outside of Birmingham, Alabama
Oct 13, 2009

A nice way to spend an autum weekend

We enjoyed our trip to the Lenox Hotel very much but only after changing rooms! The room we were assigned was very small, cramped, DARK, depressing and the bed was abysmal! We asked the front desk personnel if we could move and they accommodated us immediately. We were transferred to a new room, same class of room but a much better location away from the elevators. The bed in our room (301) was like sleeping on a brick bat! No padding, no luxury sheets, nothing! After we were moved to room (707) it was like night and day! Much quieter, the bedding was suburb and the overall experience was greatly enhanced because we were not hassled about our request to move. Turn down service every night, fresh towels, chocolates and lights on when we returned to the room. The concierge service was very good. We would rate our experience at the Lenox as a 9.5 out of 10. Thanks for asking our opinion.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Lenox Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stephen173
UK
Nov 6, 2013

Perfect Place in a perfect place

The Lenox was a real find for us. A touch of luxury with plenty of fun. We happened to stay there the week that the Boston Red Sox won the Baseball World series at home for the first time in almost a hundred years. The hotel celebrated this all week, as well as keeping us well informed about the winning parade that passed right outside. Even without the excitement of the game- the hotel hit all the right spots (with the exception of the pillows- even their most supportive pillow wasn't like ours at home- so we bought a couple in the store next door- problem solved). Don't miss The Prudential centre either- it's right next door, and the bar 'The Top of The Hub' gives the best views of Boston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Lenox Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hilltopfwb
Fuquay-Varina, NC, USA
Jan 2, 2012

Excellent Location and Staff

As soon as we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by Kelly and she was awesome! She acclimated us to the area and what to do. The staff continued the same level of service throughout the trip. Location was perfect and convenient. My only negative was that the bed was so-so. I will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Lenox Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Roanoke
Dec 1, 2008

Very good hotel, great location, bathroom small

The Lenox Hotel in Boston was a very good hotel overall. The location is great as it is located less than one block to the subway and the Prudential and Boyleston, Newbury St shopping areas. The room was very nice and the beds were really comfortable. The only drawback was that the bathroom was a little small and there was no coffee maker in the room. They did serve free coffee in the lobby but I like to not have to change out of my PJs in the morning before my coffee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Lenox Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charleston
Sep 2, 2008

location

the lenox has great location, rooms are nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

everything is nearby that you would want, food, parks shopping.

Review of Lenox Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Reviewer 10022
Business
New York, NY
Mar 2, 2012

Clean, nice, great staff, great location

I didn't see a gym or other facilities in the hotel, so I can't comment. The bar/restaurant in the hotel is great. The staff was so friendly and helpful. The location is right downtown. The walls are a little thin so you can hear people in the hallway, but everything was so clean, nicely decorated, and convenient, it was the perfect stay. I only gave it 4 out of 5 for amenities because I don't think they have a pool. Also, the rooms are expensive. This is not a family place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Lenox Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sweden
Aug 18, 2009

Great rooms, great location.

We had a very pleasant stay at the Lenox which is conveniently located. Tried out the great fitnessroom as well as the reasonably priced roomservice. The only small remark would be that parking is about $40 a night in Boston. But still, this was a great stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Lenox Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Long Beach, CA
Jul 8, 2009

great location, friendly but small room

Loved the hotel and its location. The room was very small. I would stay there again but with larger room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Lenox Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oklahoma City, OK
May 28, 2009

Great location in Back Bay Boston!

The hotel is old, so the rooms are fairly small. Our room had a very large walk-in closet, which was very nice. We were also hoping for a beautiful view out of our window, instead it was obstructed and you couldn't see anyting. The concierge desk was extremely helpful in giving us ideas of places to eat and visit, and the best way to get there. We had also asked for a queen size bed, but it was more like a full size. We are used to sleeping on a king bed, so this made sleeping comfortably very difficult. The location of the hotel is great! It is within walking distance of a lot of restaurants, shopping, and it is about a 20 minute walk to Fenway Park. It is also close to subway access, which made getting to other parts of Boston very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you take the side exit out of the hotel and go across the street you will see a restaurant called Uno's. We ate here four times. The food was great, and the prices were much more reasonable than what we had paid at some of the other places we ate. They have a restaurant side, and across from it is the bar area with several t.v.'s. The atmosphere was great! Also, about two blocks from the hotel on Commonwealth Avenue (next to Marshall's)is a place called City Sports. The concierge told us about this place, and we were really glad he did. They have Boston Red Sox merchandise at cheaper prices than what you will pay at the stores by the ball park. The selection is not as big, but the prices are cheaper. The staff was friendly, and it was a great place to shop!

Review of Lenox Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Walnut Creek, CA
Jul 31, 2008

great location

The hotel's location is its best asset! The hotel's restaurants were good and there are many great restaurants in the area. The staff was friendly and comfortable. The concierge service was excellent! The only drawback, really, was the loud air-conditioner, which made sleeping well difficult.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The menace in the city transportation was the taxi-drivers who constantly talk on the phone. We refused to get into a cab where the driver would not stop talking. It is rude and unsafe.

Back to menu Return to top