$178 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 24, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

InterContinental BOSTON

5 stars
510 Atlantic Avenue, Boston, MA 02210
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
113 reviews
Great hotel in safe area

I ended up getting a great deal on Cheap Tickets for this hotel. Hotel is near South Station, great... See full review

  • Mrs Orock
  • Dec 1, 2014
Great hotel made by great people

Some people think that a hotel is just a place to crash at the end of the day. I have a tendency to... See full review

  • CknFun
  • Sep 16, 2014
Enjoy the blend of Boston's rich historical background with its sleepless financial district, at the riverfront InterContinental Boston. The hotel offers a contemporary stay on the very site of the original Boston Tea Party, with blue glass defining the look and feel of the hotel, and chic restaurants like Sushi-Teq offering a unique mix of sushi and tequila tasting. There's a welcome shot of red in the decor at RumBa Bar, its private Champagne Bar resembling a Moulin Rouge-style boudoir. Work out in front of that endless skyline at the fitness room, or embark on your own adventure in the hotel's 2-acre herb gardens, possibly settling at the continental-style plaza with a glass of house red in hand.
Key facts
  • 424 guestrooms
  • 38 suites
  • Pool
  • 3 restaurants: Miel Brasserie Provencale, Sushi-Teq, Five-10 Waterfront
  • 2 bars/lounges: Vodkaba, RumBa
  • 3 ballrooms
  • 9 conference rooms
  • Gift shop
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • Currency exchange
  • 24-hour room service
  • 24-hour front desk
  • Pets allowed (hotel policy and fees may apply)
  • Smoke-free property
Neighborhood
Located right in the midst of the city financial district, the hotel is also within reach of the historic sights of the brick-lined Freedom Trail, with a starting point at Boston Common, less than a mile's walk away. Down at the waterfront, visitors can also marvel at the living Amazon rainforest and pacific reef exhibits at the New England Aquarium. It's in this area that you'll also find some of the city's freshest seafood offerings, in places like Legal Sea Foods. For culture-heads, a trip across Fort Point Channel leads to the Institute of Contemporary Arts.
Hints and tips
For those who prefer more silence than sound while on holiday, the rooms facing the waterfront offer the quietest stay.

Don't miss the delicious hot canapes served during cocktail hour at the hotel's lively Club Lounge or, if you're after something a little more 'street,' Quincy Market is worth a visit both for the design of the old market buildings and the grazing opportunities with everything from hot bagels to frozen yogurt.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed InterContinental BOSTON also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Live entertainment
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Cellular telephone rental
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
DVD player
TV
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Boston Children's Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 0.4 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 0.5 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Convention and Exhibition Center: 0.7 mi
  • The Paul Revere House: 0.7 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.7 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.7 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.8 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.8 mi
  • Old North Church: 0.9 mi
  • TD Garden: 0.9 mi
  • TD Banknorth Garden: 1 mi
  • Boston Children's Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 0.4 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 0.5 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Convention and Exhibition Center: 0.7 mi
  • The Paul Revere House: 0.7 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.7 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.7 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.8 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.8 mi
  • Old North Church: 0.9 mi
  • TD Garden: 0.9 mi
  • TD Banknorth Garden: 1 mi
  • Copley Square: 1 mi
  • Cruiseport Boston: 1.2 mi
  • Trinity Church: 1.2 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 1.3 mi
  • USS Constitution Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Charlestown Navy Yard: 1.5 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 1.6 mi
  • Bunker Hill Monument: 1.6 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 1.8 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 1.9 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 1.9 mi
  • Fenway Park: 2.3 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 2.3 mi
  • Castle Island: 2.4 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Agganis Arena: 3.3 mi
  • Arnold Arboretum: 5.3 mi

Dining

Neptune Oyster
A mecca for oyster lovers, this fabulous North End seafood spot is what you always dreamed of. From the warm, butter smothered lobster rolls to rib eyes, there is a dish for everyone at this intimate restaurant staffed with professionals catering to a jov
Parish Cafe and Bar
Famous chefs from around Boston have each created a sandwich for this casual and fun restaurant and bar, located steps from the Public Garden. In the warmer months, the patio is a beautiful spot for lunch and dinner.
Trade Boston
Located one block from the hotel, Trade is a casual neighborhood restaurant from celebrated chef Jody Adams. Trade's small plates, flatbreads, main courses, sides and desserts feature local ingredients and big flavours.
Blue Dragon
Located in the heart of Fort Point Channel,Blue Dragon is a comfortable, neighborhood place to simply hang out, have a drink and enjoy some incredible food. The tapas style menu adds Ming's east west twist to many pub favourites. The bar is well stocked w
RumBa Rum and Champagne Bar
RumBa pays tribute to the legends and lore of the historic rum trade period in a sophisticated rum-themed cocktail bar serving an international collection of distilled rums and deliciously bold appetizers. Our private Champagne Lounge, discreetly hidden b
Sushi-Teq
East meets west at Sushi-Teq, our lively and chic sushi bar. Sushi-Teq takes cultural fusion up a notch by combining innovative and traditional sushi and sashimi with vintage tequilas, margaritas and specialty cocktails. Our renowned sushi chefs use only
Miel "Brasserie Provençale"
Unique among Boston dining spots, Miel "Brasserie Provençale" is Boston's first Provence themed brasserie. Celebrating the organic wonders and intoxicating flavours of France's fascinating Côte d'Azur region, our fine dining restaurant focuses on herbs, l

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (113)

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental BOSTON

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
113 out of 113
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental BOSTON

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mike frequent traveler
Business
Boston MA
May 23, 2012

started good but ended badly

good location, friendly staff, but would not stay there again as they charged $15 per day for WIFI. Rip off!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental BOSTON

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando
Aug 12, 2008

expensive, not quaint or updated

i was surprised that this hotel was so expensive for it's location and the fact that it hasn't been updated. the hotel was on the water front but overlooked a docking area for commercial ships and it was in serious disrepair. the hotel was very big and more of a convention hotel than a tourist location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

the shopping and dining area was a long walk from the hotel as was all the tourist attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental BOSTON

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn
Jul 10, 2008

Not up to its reputation

When I first arrived in my room, the bed sheets were dirty with spots, the past guests' id cards were still in the room. I requested a change of room. This took an extra 1/2 hr of my time. The dining waiters were inexperienced. 2 out of the 4 days, my family's breakfast orders came out wrong. The check was given to us while we were still eating our meal. In summary, the hotel's housekeeping department needs to be re-trained and more expereinced waiters need to be hired.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental BOSTON

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
IN THE SERVICE BIZ
Business
District of Columbia
Sep 9, 2010

ContraContinental

My boyfriend and I were going to visit my brother and his wife in Somerville (so we were near metro)but wanted a gettaway at the same time. So we decided that a more luxurious, restful hotel accomendation with river view would be important.[...] The room was decent but the view was mostly of the lower roof and if you turned to the 'right' could see the water..the bed was a 'small king'. We came back in evening and had dinner in the hotel, outside by the water which was nice. The waiter [...] was unfriendly and 'short' with us thought the restaurant was not busy.Our food and wine were decent. In the evening back in the room (about 10 pm)I noticed that all pillows were down feathered. I am allergic and had to call for synthetic. After waiting an hour (to go o bed) I called again and they sent 2 up. We left breakfast order on door. It was on time in mornng. But we had soggy toast and light brown (cold) liquid to the room. We had to call for hot, dark coffee and extra toasted bread. After our day out on Boston we returned to room and found that we had left 'do not disturb' (my fault) light on and so room, bed, towels, were all undone, uncleaned and breakfast tray not removed.This was aprox. 4:15 pm. We called and they reinerated what we already knew and said that 'they would see when someone would be available to come up' I told them that we understood and planned on an early dinner and walk and would like the room cleaned while we did so. We waited until 6 pm and called again. The 'gentleman' was quite snippy and reminded me that it was my fault that the rooom had not been cleaned and that he was not sure when it could be done. We came back to the room at 9:05 pm after dining by water at hotel restaurant for 2cd night and taking a procrastination walk just to stall. The room was unmade and I called again. He said taht we were on list but that issues were taken in order of call. I called him back after trying not to get upset but we had wanted a special evening (we had spent lots of time and $ in their hotel retaurant) and now wanted some privacy and peace and not to wait any longer. He said that someone would be coming up to clean(it was now almost 10 pm) I told him that we wanted to be brought to another room and he said he would need to check w/ a manager on duty. He called back and a very nice employee brought our things to another room. Obviously too much time wasted the night before w/ pillows and this night for a fresh room. Decisions were not made timely or with customers happiness in mind. Not the peaceful setting for romatic evening we wanted. We once again ordered breakfast for 6 am. it was on time. But I would never reccommend this hotel. They never offered any compensation (something like breakfast) or at minumum an apology. PS...the first room had sprayed toothpaste on mirror and sides of sink. ICK

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental BOSTON

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Anypasture, TX
Aug 30, 2009

Poor management

For this 1st class name hotel, look like people that work there were hired from the street..we keep having problems with the room and bills that charged to us which were not from us..also they kept put wrong name in our room. We hope they did not try to add any charge from s.o. else to our credit card after checkout. Another things are with the room price we paid, there is no amenities like coffee maker in the room..no free internet..everything you needs will have to pay extra with high price like internet $6 for 15 min. use...parking $39 for each time we park...morning coffee..needs to go downstairs to purchase...etc.. Also the hotel is across from the fire station so expect to hear the siren everyday..even in high floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure don't rent a car..couple of blocks from subway/train south station.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental BOSTON

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
1111111
Business
New Jersey, USA
Jul 1, 2014

Lacked service

My husband and I stayed here for one night. When we got to our room there were two double beds. I called the front desk and requested a king bed. The room we had faced the city and was an ok view. The front desk preceded to tell me that it was the way I booked And I kept telling him I was never given the option to choose. You would think that seeing a couple they would at least ask at the front desk. After some debate the front desk gentlemen told me to wait in the hall and not touch anything in the room. He came up and escorted us to a different room, opened the door and left immediately. When we opened the curtains we were blocked by another building and view of a roof. It was awful. The bed was also not comfortable for a 4 star hotel and the prices they charge. I like the intercontinental brand and have stayed in other locations but this one lacked service all around. Not happy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental BOSTON

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
the world boss
Business
atlanta
Aug 14, 2012

Couple getaway

The Internet at this hotel was not free, which really bothered us

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental BOSTON

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lqqd
Business
Naples, fl
Sep 24, 2012

Good location not too confortable

Hotel is good but Doesn't qualify on confort to be an Intercontinental I've been in 3 stars with better matreses and pillows. Not even coffe on loby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Quincy MarquetH

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental BOSTON

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Biz guy123
Business
New York
Jan 12, 2013

Very nice hotel but not helpful to business traveler

Hotel charges a high service for having a package delivered. Also charges ridiculously high per page charge for printing. Business center only open until 11. The rooms are great but the business amenities are terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental BOSTON

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BostonVisitor
Business
Los Angeles
Sep 13, 2009

Hotel Review

We were promised a room with a king bed but after spending all day walking in the city we were told that the room would not be available until the next day. When we discussed this with the manager, a room miraculously appeared. Not very happy with the checkin staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top