$176 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 19, 2014 Check-out: Dec 21, 2014

InterContinental BOSTON

5 stars
510 Atlantic Avenue, Boston, MA 02210
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
112 reviews
Great hotel made by great people

Some people think that a hotel is just a place to crash at the end of the day. I have a tendency to... See full review

  • CknFun
  • Sep 16, 2014
Very fine hotel

all around outstanding-Food was good, location great for Boston, Room was outstanding and staff was... See full review

  • Artie Chicago Traveler
  • Jul 5, 2014
Enjoy the blend of Boston's rich historical background with its sleepless financial district, at the riverfront InterContinental Boston. The hotel offers a contemporary stay on the very site of the original Boston Tea Party, with blue glass defining the look and feel of the hotel, and chic restaurants like Sushi-Teq offering a unique mix of sushi and tequila tasting. There's a welcome shot of red in the decor at RumBa Bar, its private Champagne Bar resembling a Moulin Rouge-style boudoir. Work out in front of that endless skyline at the fitness room, or embark on your own adventure in the hotel's 2-acre herb gardens, possibly settling at the continental-style plaza with a glass of house red in hand.
Key facts
  • 424 guestrooms
  • 38 suites
  • Pool
  • 3 restaurants: Miel Brasserie Provencale, Sushi-Teq, Five-10 Waterfront
  • 2 bars/lounges: Vodkaba, RumBa
  • 3 ballrooms
  • 9 conference rooms
  • Gift shop
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • Currency exchange
  • 24-hour room service
  • 24-hour front desk
  • Pets allowed (hotel policy and fees may apply)
  • Smoke-free property
Neighborhood
Located right in the midst of the city financial district, the hotel is also within reach of the historic sights of the brick-lined Freedom Trail, with a starting point at Boston Common, less than a mile's walk away. Down at the waterfront, visitors can also marvel at the living Amazon rainforest and pacific reef exhibits at the New England Aquarium. It's in this area that you'll also find some of the city's freshest seafood offerings, in places like Legal Sea Foods. For culture-heads, a trip across Fort Point Channel leads to the Institute of Contemporary Arts.
Hints and tips
For those who prefer more silence than sound while on holiday, the rooms facing the waterfront offer the quietest stay.

Don't miss the delicious hot canapes served during cocktail hour at the hotel's lively Club Lounge or, if you're after something a little more 'street,' Quincy Market is worth a visit both for the design of the old market buildings and the grazing opportunities with everything from hot bagels to frozen yogurt.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

42.3539 -71.053
Nearby airports
Boston Logan International Airport, (BOS), 2.10, MI;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed InterContinental BOSTON also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Live entertainment
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Cellular telephone rental
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
DVD player
TV
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Boston Children's Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 0.4 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 0.5 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Convention and Exhibition Center: 0.7 mi
  • The Paul Revere House: 0.7 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.7 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.7 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.8 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.8 mi
  • Old North Church: 0.9 mi
  • TD Garden: 0.9 mi
  • TD Banknorth Garden: 1 mi
  • Boston Children's Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 0.4 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 0.5 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Convention and Exhibition Center: 0.7 mi
  • The Paul Revere House: 0.7 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.7 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.7 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.8 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.8 mi
  • Old North Church: 0.9 mi
  • TD Garden: 0.9 mi
  • TD Banknorth Garden: 1 mi
  • Copley Square: 1 mi
  • Cruiseport Boston: 1.2 mi
  • Trinity Church: 1.2 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 1.3 mi
  • USS Constitution Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Charlestown Navy Yard: 1.5 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 1.6 mi
  • Bunker Hill Monument: 1.6 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 1.8 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 1.9 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 1.9 mi
  • Fenway Park: 2.3 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 2.3 mi
  • Castle Island: 2.4 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Agganis Arena: 3.3 mi
  • Arnold Arboretum: 5.3 mi

Dining

Neptune Oyster
A mecca for oyster lovers, this fabulous North End seafood spot is what you always dreamed of. From the warm, butter smothered lobster rolls to rib eyes, there is a dish for everyone at this intimate restaurant staffed with professionals catering to a jov
Parish Cafe and Bar
Famous chefs from around Boston have each created a sandwich for this casual and fun restaurant and bar, located steps from the Public Garden. In the warmer months, the patio is a beautiful spot for lunch and dinner.
Trade Boston
Located one block from the hotel, Trade is a casual neighborhood restaurant from celebrated chef Jody Adams. Trade's small plates, flatbreads, main courses, sides and desserts feature local ingredients and big flavours.
Blue Dragon
Located in the heart of Fort Point Channel,Blue Dragon is a comfortable, neighborhood place to simply hang out, have a drink and enjoy some incredible food. The tapas style menu adds Ming's east west twist to many pub favourites. The bar is well stocked w
RumBa Rum and Champagne Bar
RumBa pays tribute to the legends and lore of the historic rum trade period in a sophisticated rum-themed cocktail bar serving an international collection of distilled rums and deliciously bold appetizers. Our private Champagne Lounge, discreetly hidden b
Sushi-Teq
East meets west at Sushi-Teq, our lively and chic sushi bar. Sushi-Teq takes cultural fusion up a notch by combining innovative and traditional sushi and sashimi with vintage tequilas, margaritas and specialty cocktails. Our renowned sushi chefs use only
Miel "Brasserie Provençale"
Unique among Boston dining spots, Miel "Brasserie Provençale" is Boston's first Provence themed brasserie. Celebrating the organic wonders and intoxicating flavours of France's fascinating Côte d'Azur region, our fine dining restaurant focuses on herbs, l

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (112)

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental BOSTON

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 112
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental BOSTON

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
alb387
Business
New York, NY
Jun 23, 2014

Business Trip

Stayed here over the weekend for 4 days for a business trip. Hotel is very nice, and has that luxurious feel. It's like staying at a Four Seasons, but not really. Amenities are great, the room was fantastic. Really beautiful. I got a waterfront view and the location and views cannot be beat. I really wanted to give this hotel a 5 but the staff/service colored my review. The staff is very cold and doesn't seem to care very much about the clients. I'm pretty easygoing but if you are a hotel of this caliber you must make sure your staff and service is buttoned up. For instance, I got in late, super tired from my flight, and struggling w/ my luggage and the doorman asked me "do you need help with that?" Obviously I do! And isn't that your job anyway to help the clients coming into the hotel and take their luggage? I've just come back from Chicago and stayed at a boutique hotel and their service there is impeccable. The next day, I left for meetings and came back at 3pm and my room still hasn't been cleaned. I called front desk to ask if it will be cleaned and she said yes. 20 minutes later housekeeping knocks and I told her I will leave the room in 15 minutes for another meeting. She gave me attitude and said "so will I. I need to leave in 15 minutes." That was so rude in my opinion. Then they didn't even take out my used coffee cup or replenished my sugar packets and cream, etc. I know these are little things but they matter especially in the early morning when you're rushing to work and need that first cup of coffee. Finally when I was checking out, they told me I had a charge from the bar downstairs when I didn't even visit that bar or ordered any drinks to my room! So annoying! They eventually took my word for it and took out the charge. But it's the little things like that that makes someone's stay frustrating. All in all, I'd recommend for the location, room and amenities but not for the service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street there is a deli called Scali and you can get coffee and breakfast if you don't want to pay for hotel prices. Also across the bridge is the Children's Museum which is a must-see. There's a cute ice cream store on the premises too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental BOSTON

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Olivia M
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Apr 17, 2014

Excellent Service

I stayed at the InterContinental for one night for business and the hotel was beatiful, in a good location, but the service I received was really what would get me to book this hotel again. I ended up coming down with some sort of flu during my stay at the InterContinental, and called down to room service for crackers and ginger ale. The woman that I spoke with was very considerate, and had room service bring up 6-8 glass bottles of ginger ale and crackers in less than 5 minutes. I assumed I would see an additional charge for the $36-$65 added to my bill since the mini bar charged from $6-$8 per bottle of soda...but to my surprise, I was not charged. It's that type of service and consideration of the staff that sets a hotel apart from others. I have recommended this hotel to others staying in Boston and will continue to recommend it due to the service that I received.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental BOSTON

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Very Grateful Phil
Business
Honolulu, HI
Apr 8, 2014

Incredible hotel in Boston

I stayed at the InterContinental while attending a conference in Boston. The hotel was absolutely beautiful. The room was more than I expected for the price and the location was perfect. I do wish the hotel had free WiFi but I was able to use the mobile hot spot feature on my phone with no trouble. I would definitely recommend this hotel in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental BOSTON

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
New England Banker
Business
Burlington, VT
Mar 14, 2014

Business in Boston

Great hotel, location is perfect for dining and connecting to South Station. Overall, I recommend this hotel as a top notch facility.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Dining in the hotel is expensive, but in the middle of the winter, it beats walking the streets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental BOSTON

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J Insurance Man
Business
Fairfax, VA
Jul 24, 2013

Intercontinental

The hotel is in the financial district, with great location for business trips and easy access to Faneuil Hall and other tourist locations. The hotel pool needs to be heated, it was a shock that it wasn't. The room was nice, but not as nice as the price would imply. The staff are nice and helpful, but fail to go above and beyond. A very good hotel, charging an excellent hotel price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Rumbar makes excellen drinks, a bit pricey but worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental BOSTON

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Business visitor
Business
Boston
Feb 10, 2013

Excellent Hotel

Excellent, the rooms are beautiful and the staff were all very friendly and it a beautiful place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental BOSTON

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Biz guy123
Business
New York
Jan 12, 2013

Very nice hotel but not helpful to business traveler

Hotel charges a high service for having a package delivered. Also charges ridiculously high per page charge for printing. Business center only open until 11. The rooms are great but the business amenities are terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental BOSTON

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NanoNina
Business
Minnesota, USA
Sep 29, 2011

Business Stay

The staff at this property was incredibly welcoming and gracious to this first-time visitor to Boston!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental BOSTON

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Frazzeled Traveller
Business
DC
Oct 8, 2009

Boston InterContinental

I would go here again though it is expensive

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental BOSTON

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Busy Bonster
Business
Canada
Jun 27, 2009

Executive type hotel

While the hotel is in a very scenic area and close to the airport, there is little to no shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

This gym is better equipped than some community fitness centres. Exceptional.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top