$189 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 26, 2014

InterContinental BOSTON

5 stars
510 Atlantic Avenue, Boston, MA 02210
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
112 reviews
Great hotel made by great people

Some people think that a hotel is just a place to crash at the end of the day. I have a tendency to... See full review

  • CknFun
  • Sep 16, 2014
Very fine hotel

all around outstanding-Food was good, location great for Boston, Room was outstanding and staff was... See full review

  • Artie Chicago Traveler
  • Jul 5, 2014
Enjoy the blend of Boston's rich historical background with its sleepless financial district, at the riverfront InterContinental Boston. The hotel offers a contemporary stay on the very site of the original Boston Tea Party, with blue glass defining the look and feel of the hotel, and chic restaurants like Sushi-Teq offering a unique mix of sushi and tequila tasting. There's a welcome shot of red in the decor at RumBa Bar, its private Champagne Bar resembling a Moulin Rouge-style boudoir. Work out in front of that endless skyline at the fitness room, or embark on your own adventure in the hotel's 2-acre herb gardens, possibly settling at the continental-style plaza with a glass of house red in hand.
Key facts
  • 424 guestrooms
  • 38 suites
  • Pool
  • 3 restaurants: Miel Brasserie Provencale, Sushi-Teq, Five-10 Waterfront
  • 2 bars/lounges: Vodkaba, RumBa
  • 3 ballrooms
  • 9 conference rooms
  • Gift shop
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • Currency exchange
  • 24-hour room service
  • 24-hour front desk
  • Pets allowed (hotel policy and fees may apply)
  • Smoke-free property
Neighborhood
Located right in the midst of the city financial district, the hotel is also within reach of the historic sights of the brick-lined Freedom Trail, with a starting point at Boston Common, less than a mile's walk away. Down at the waterfront, visitors can also marvel at the living Amazon rainforest and pacific reef exhibits at the New England Aquarium. It's in this area that you'll also find some of the city's freshest seafood offerings, in places like Legal Sea Foods. For culture-heads, a trip across Fort Point Channel leads to the Institute of Contemporary Arts.
Hints and tips
For those who prefer more silence than sound while on holiday, the rooms facing the waterfront offer the quietest stay.

Don't miss the delicious hot canapes served during cocktail hour at the hotel's lively Club Lounge or, if you're after something a little more 'street,' Quincy Market is worth a visit both for the design of the old market buildings and the grazing opportunities with everything from hot bagels to frozen yogurt.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

42.3539 -71.053
Nearby airports
Boston Logan International Airport, (BOS), 2.10, MI;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed InterContinental BOSTON also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Live entertainment
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Cellular telephone rental
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
DVD player
TV
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Boston Children's Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 0.4 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 0.5 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Convention and Exhibition Center: 0.7 mi
  • The Paul Revere House: 0.7 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.7 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.7 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.8 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.8 mi
  • Old North Church: 0.9 mi
  • TD Garden: 0.9 mi
  • TD Banknorth Garden: 1 mi
  • Boston Children's Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 0.4 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 0.5 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Convention and Exhibition Center: 0.7 mi
  • The Paul Revere House: 0.7 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.7 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.7 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.8 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.8 mi
  • Old North Church: 0.9 mi
  • TD Garden: 0.9 mi
  • TD Banknorth Garden: 1 mi
  • Copley Square: 1 mi
  • Cruiseport Boston: 1.2 mi
  • Trinity Church: 1.2 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 1.3 mi
  • USS Constitution Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Charlestown Navy Yard: 1.5 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 1.6 mi
  • Bunker Hill Monument: 1.6 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 1.8 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 1.9 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 1.9 mi
  • Fenway Park: 2.3 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 2.3 mi
  • Castle Island: 2.4 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Agganis Arena: 3.3 mi
  • Arnold Arboretum: 5.3 mi

Dining

Neptune Oyster
A mecca for oyster lovers, this fabulous North End seafood spot is what you always dreamed of. From the warm, butter smothered lobster rolls to rib eyes, there is a dish for everyone at this intimate restaurant staffed with professionals catering to a jov
Parish Cafe and Bar
Famous chefs from around Boston have each created a sandwich for this casual and fun restaurant and bar, located steps from the Public Garden. In the warmer months, the patio is a beautiful spot for lunch and dinner.
Trade Boston
Located one block from the hotel, Trade is a casual neighborhood restaurant from celebrated chef Jody Adams. Trade's small plates, flatbreads, main courses, sides and desserts feature local ingredients and big flavours.
Blue Dragon
Located in the heart of Fort Point Channel,Blue Dragon is a comfortable, neighborhood place to simply hang out, have a drink and enjoy some incredible food. The tapas style menu adds Ming's east west twist to many pub favourites. The bar is well stocked w
RumBa Rum and Champagne Bar
RumBa pays tribute to the legends and lore of the historic rum trade period in a sophisticated rum-themed cocktail bar serving an international collection of distilled rums and deliciously bold appetizers. Our private Champagne Lounge, discreetly hidden b
Sushi-Teq
East meets west at Sushi-Teq, our lively and chic sushi bar. Sushi-Teq takes cultural fusion up a notch by combining innovative and traditional sushi and sashimi with vintage tequilas, margaritas and specialty cocktails. Our renowned sushi chefs use only
Miel "Brasserie Provençale"
Unique among Boston dining spots, Miel "Brasserie Provençale" is Boston's first Provence themed brasserie. Celebrating the organic wonders and intoxicating flavours of France's fascinating Côte d'Azur region, our fine dining restaurant focuses on herbs, l

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (112)

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental BOSTON

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
112 out of 112
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental BOSTON

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Whitby
Aug 9, 2008

One of Boston's Best!

This was only our second time in a 5 star location. The rooms were just beautiful. The location was very convenient to many attractions. The pool and fitness area was clean and very new. Probably because of the 5 star billing the dining areas, while very nice were also expensive. My only complaint would be the room view I was given (it was of a construction site next door). My fellow travelers however had excellent room views.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the subway to get around. It is very close and inexpensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental BOSTON

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Morgantown, WV
Jul 13, 2008

Great Location

This hotel was centrally located. It made walking through Boston a breeze. The view from the hotel was awesome. We could over look the Boston harbor. The site of the hotel was the actual place the Boston Tea Party occurred. The room was very modern. The bathroom opened up to the room. I was able to sit in the very large tub and look out into the harbor. Awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The freedom trail was just a short walk from the hotel. Along with great restaurants and markets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental BOSTON

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn
Jul 10, 2008

Not up to its reputation

When I first arrived in my room, the bed sheets were dirty with spots, the past guests' id cards were still in the room. I requested a change of room. This took an extra 1/2 hr of my time. The dining waiters were inexperienced. 2 out of the 4 days, my family's breakfast orders came out wrong. The check was given to us while we were still eating our meal. In summary, the hotel's housekeeping department needs to be re-trained and more expereinced waiters need to be hired.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental BOSTON

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newark
Jul 6, 2008

My review of InterContinental BOSTON

Our experience with the Boston Intercontinental was every bit as much as we had expected after viewing the pre-view video, but then some. The room was large and lavish. We particularly loved the hugh desk in front of the wrap-around windows with a spectacular view of Boston.The king-sized bed with down comforter and fabulous sheets reminded us of what one would expect to find in Europe.The staff was like no other hotel that I've ever found in the U.S.After finding out that our luggage was lost by the airline,they immediately delivered a bag filled with toiletries. The pool and spa, as well as the exercise room, were fantastic.Being located on the harbor,transportation by water taxi to and from the airport is extremely efficient and reasonably.Because of it's close proximity to most tourist attractions,shopping, and restaurants,we were able to walk most anywhere that we needed to go. This hotel has got to be one of Boston's finest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Aquarium and the Whale-watch should be a must see. It's on the harbour, within a few short blocks from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental BOSTON

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbia
Jun 22, 2008

Loved it

Beautiful hotel. Staff was great. Room was not ready but stored our bags while we went to lunch and call my cell phone when room was available. Wonderful room-outstanding view. Bathroom was outstanding. Location was perfect for what we had to do while in Boston. Conceige very helpful with suggestions/reservations for dinner and arranging for a car to the airport. Had drinks in the bar and breakfast on the patio-service and food (both places) excellent. Hotel is pricey but lived up to all it promised (stayed at expensive hotels that I could not wait to get out of). Wanted to take the bed & pillows with me. Already planning my next trip back. Will stay here for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Wonderful dining, historic spots, shopping all within a short walk. Short cab ride to Newberry Street boutique's. In the financial district so easy for business.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental BOSTON

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bristol
Jun 21, 2008

Attractive for all travelers

Our large sized room overlooked the new Greenwayin Boston and was convenient to all that we wished to do :the Fish Pier, Quincy Market and historical properties, i.e. Custom House, Old State House, North End, all of which are easily reached walking along the pleasant Greenway. After touring and shopping, it was a pleasure to return to the Intercontinental Hotel with its outstanding bathroom area:big glassed shower, separate tub, terry robe,complete assortment of quality bath preoducts. I look forward to staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the Bar menu at McCormick&Schmick in Quincy Mkt between 3:30 and 6:00--great value,good grub

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental BOSTON

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Jun 21, 2008

Exceptional value

I couldn't believe that we found this hotel cheaper than some of the other options. It was beautiful -- very clean and well maintained, and in a great location (close to South Station) which made it convenient for travel throughout the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is close to the Aquarium.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental BOSTON

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 17, 2008

My review of InterContinental BOSTON

The room was very spacious & comfortable. The bathroom was also very nice with extremely large tub & shower. Good location on the waterfront. Concierge also very helpful & friendly. Only complaint was no complimentary coffee nor coffemaker availble in room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental BOSTON

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grand Rapids
Jun 11, 2008

Elegant

This hotel was fabulous. The only negative thing I could say is that the restaurants were whether pricy and not many options to choose from. Other then that our room was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You should try the little cafe a short walk from the hotel called Rudi's. They make an amazing breakfast and change their menu daily.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental BOSTON

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 10, 2008

Centrally located & very pretty

The Intercontinental Hotel was located within walking distance of many sights and was also quite close to subway station. The staff was helpful & courteous. Hotel & room decor was beautiful & comfortable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Boston Common, Fenieull Hall, shopping, and many wonderful restaurants were all within walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top