$207 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 20, 2015 Check-out: Mar 23, 2015

InterContinental BOSTON

5 stars
View map of 510 Atlantic Avenue, Boston, MA 02210

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
116 reviews
great hotel

centrally located near excellent restaurants really nice hotel for the $ highly suggested See full review

  • drbarry
  • Feb 10, 2015
Excellent hotel. Well worth the splurge!

I treated myself to a room at the Intercontinental after my company's holiday party and was very... See full review

  • Selkie
  • Jan 28, 2015
Enjoy the blend of Boston's rich historical background with its sleepless financial district, at the riverfront InterContinental Boston. The hotel offers a contemporary stay on the very site of the original Boston Tea Party, with blue glass defining the look and feel of the hotel, and chic restaurants like Sushi-Teq offering a unique mix of sushi and tequila tasting. There's a welcome shot of red in the decor at RumBa Bar, its private Champagne Bar resembling a Moulin Rouge-style boudoir. Work out in front of that endless skyline at the fitness room, or embark on your own adventure in the hotel's 2-acre herb gardens, possibly settling at the continental-style plaza with a glass of house red in hand.
Key facts
  • 424 guestrooms
  • 38 suites
  • Pool
  • 3 restaurants: Miel Brasserie Provencale, Sushi-Teq, Five-10 Waterfront
  • 2 bars/lounges: Vodkaba, RumBa
  • 3 ballrooms
  • 9 conference rooms
  • Gift shop
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • Currency exchange
  • 24-hour room service
  • 24-hour front desk
  • Pets allowed (hotel policy and fees may apply)
  • Smoke-free property
Neighborhood
Located right in the midst of the city financial district, the hotel is also within reach of the historic sights of the brick-lined Freedom Trail, with a starting point at Boston Common, less than a mile's walk away. Down at the waterfront, visitors can also marvel at the living Amazon rainforest and pacific reef exhibits at the New England Aquarium. It's in this area that you'll also find some of the city's freshest seafood offerings, in places like Legal Sea Foods. For culture-heads, a trip across Fort Point Channel leads to the Institute of Contemporary Arts.
Hints and tips
For those who prefer more silence than sound while on holiday, the rooms facing the waterfront offer the quietest stay.

Don't miss the delicious hot canapes served during cocktail hour at the hotel's lively Club Lounge or, if you're after something a little more 'street,' Quincy Market is worth a visit both for the design of the old market buildings and the grazing opportunities with everything from hot bagels to frozen yogurt.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed InterContinental BOSTON also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Live entertainment
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Cellular telephone rental
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
DVD player
TV
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Boston Children's Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 0.4 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 0.5 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Convention and Exhibition Center: 0.7 mi
  • The Paul Revere House: 0.7 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.7 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.7 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.8 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.8 mi
  • Old North Church: 0.9 mi
  • TD Garden: 0.9 mi
  • TD Banknorth Garden: 1 mi
  • Boston Children's Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 0.4 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 0.5 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Convention and Exhibition Center: 0.7 mi
  • The Paul Revere House: 0.7 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.7 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.7 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.8 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.8 mi
  • Old North Church: 0.9 mi
  • TD Garden: 0.9 mi
  • TD Banknorth Garden: 1 mi
  • Copley Square: 1 mi
  • Cruiseport Boston: 1.2 mi
  • Trinity Church: 1.2 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 1.3 mi
  • USS Constitution Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Charlestown Navy Yard: 1.5 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 1.6 mi
  • Bunker Hill Monument: 1.6 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 1.8 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 1.9 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 1.9 mi
  • Fenway Park: 2.3 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 2.3 mi
  • Castle Island: 2.4 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Agganis Arena: 3.3 mi
  • Arnold Arboretum: 5.3 mi

Dining

Neptune Oyster
A mecca for oyster lovers, this fabulous North End seafood spot is what you always dreamed of. From the warm, butter smothered lobster rolls to rib eyes, there is a dish for everyone at this intimate restaurant staffed with professionals catering to a jov
Parish Cafe and Bar
Famous chefs from around Boston have each created a sandwich for this casual and fun restaurant and bar, located steps from the Public Garden. In the warmer months, the patio is a beautiful spot for lunch and dinner.
Trade Boston
Located one block from the hotel, Trade is a casual neighborhood restaurant from celebrated chef Jody Adams. Trade's small plates, flatbreads, main courses, sides and desserts feature local ingredients and big flavours.
Blue Dragon
Located in the heart of Fort Point Channel,Blue Dragon is a comfortable, neighborhood place to simply hang out, have a drink and enjoy some incredible food. The tapas style menu adds Ming's east west twist to many pub favourites. The bar is well stocked w
RumBa Rum and Champagne Bar
RumBa pays tribute to the legends and lore of the historic rum trade period in a sophisticated rum-themed cocktail bar serving an international collection of distilled rums and deliciously bold appetizers. Our private Champagne Lounge, discreetly hidden b
Sushi-Teq
East meets west at Sushi-Teq, our lively and chic sushi bar. Sushi-Teq takes cultural fusion up a notch by combining innovative and traditional sushi and sashimi with vintage tequilas, margaritas and specialty cocktails. Our renowned sushi chefs use only
Miel "Brasserie Provençale"
Unique among Boston dining spots, Miel "Brasserie Provençale" is Boston's first Provence themed brasserie. Celebrating the organic wonders and intoxicating flavours of France's fascinating Côte d'Azur region, our fine dining restaurant focuses on herbs, l

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (116)

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental BOSTON

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
116 out of 116
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental BOSTON

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hockeymom*2
Business
Boston, ma
Apr 21, 2011

The Staff was Great!

Hotel Staff was great! " Waterview" left alot to be desired. Accomodations were wonderful other than view...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location for Great Dining..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental BOSTON

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Apr 17, 2011

5th Aniversary

The water view was not what we expected. The service was very good. The bed was comfortable. The prices were very high, the food was less than fair. The bar was good and that food was much better than our breakfast although the waiter was very good and better that the over cooked eggs. All in all we enjoyed our stay. The concierge was the best part of our stay at the hotel. They were bery nice and helpful .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Ball Game. All though it was very cold and they lost.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental BOSTON

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dr. Stan
Business
Fullerton, CA
Apr 13, 2011

very nice family location

very nice access to the aquarium and the historic sites of the North End. Great access to the T to get anywhere in downtown. Worth the money to upgrade to the club level. Very nice breakfast and plenty of free food and drinks at the end of the day

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental BOSTON

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Boston trip 2010
Business
Boynton Beach, FL
Dec 19, 2010

Escape the heat - Boston 2010

Great location - Close to everything! Friendly and helpful staff. Comfortable rooms. Not a fan of sliding window in the bathroom that overlooks bedroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Hotel Concierges were extremely helpful. Save time and money and ask them for suggestions on where to go in Boston.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental BOSTON

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston ma
Nov 14, 2010

Weekend Getaway

We were able yo check in early, and check out late, which was great. We walked the city, attended Blue Man group show and had a fabulous dinner at Umbria which the concierge reccomended and arranged. The hotel staff was great. The servers in the hotels restaurant was another story - horrible!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Parking at the hotel costs us $70! 40 for the first 24 hours and 30 for the next three. Just over the bridge on seaport blvd are lots that cost $25

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental BOSTON

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jacksoncage
Business
Dublin Ireland
Nov 12, 2010

Fantastic Hotel

Fantastic Hotel. staff were very helpful at all times. food in the hotel was excellent (maybe a little expensive) Rooms were spotless. Close to all ameneties.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental BOSTON

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Disappointed Joe
Business
Tucson, AZ
Oct 18, 2010

Nice hotel but not a 5 star.

In order to be a 5 star hotel it is all in the details. That was what was lacking at the InterContinental. I made my reservation over a month and a half ago for a King bed room with a harbor view. I paid extra for the harbor view. My wife and I show up and we are told they didn't have any more King bed rooms available. They asked us if we could take a Double bed room for the night and then they would move us to "one of the nicest King bed rooms they had with a great view of the harbor. They also gave us two vouchers for breakfast at the hotel restaurant. The woman at the desk also told us that in the morning after we left the hotel for the day she would have our stuff moved to our new room and everything would be ready when we came back later in the day. So we agreed to this and we stayed in the Double bed room the first night. The next morning we went and got our free breakfast which was wonderful and then got all of our stuff ready for the hotel to switch our room. I went up to the front desk and asked the gentleman at there about the switching to our new room and he had no idea what we were talking about. The woman the night before didn't make any notes in the computer or anywhere discussing what she had told us the hotel was going to do to get us into "one of the nicest King bed rooms" with a great harbor view. After a long discussion with the gentleman at the desk he agreed that he would have our room changed, he had to look at our original reservation to see that we had reserved to get a harbor view King bed room. We told him that our bags were ready to be moved to the new room as soon as they had everything ready. He told me that it was going to be no problem and everything would be taken care of. So we left for the day and didn't make it back until about 6:00pm later that day. When I went to the front desk to find out which room we were in the woman (different than the first woman) again had no idea what we were talking about. No notes made by the first lady or the gentleman about the changes that needed to be made for our room. The woman then goes on to tell me that she didn't think there were any King bed rooms left for that night and she would have to see what she could do. After a few minutes of searching she found a King bed room for us and "it was the last one." I asked if it was one of best King rooms they had and she hesitated and said it did have a harbor view. So we took the room since it was the "last one" and when I got to the room and looked out the window to see our beautiful view I could see a part of the harbor but half of the view was blocked because we were in a corner so anything to our left was just the side of the building. We were on the 8th floor and when I looked down we could also mostly rooftop of another part of the hotel where the roof of the 5th floor extended. So our harbor view was just a sliver of view sandwiched between the building and the roof. It was very disappointing especially since I paid extra for the view. I just couldn't understand why no one made any notes or told anyone else what they were doing with our rooms. Very amateur.The room itself was nice but again the details were not all there. Wear and tear on the furniture and counter tops where moisture was causing the veneer to warp and peal. Not a big deal but again not a 5 star detail you would expect to see. The TV's in both rooms we stayed in had issues and midway through watching a movie one night the TV went out completely. It was just icing on the cake by that time. We were excited about the deal we were able to get from [...] on a downtown Boston 5 star hotel but it wasn't on the same level as the Ritz, the Four Seasons, or a JW Marriot. I would recommend the hotel because of its location and proximity to downtown Boston, but not as a 5 star hotel. It was more along the 3.5 to 4 star range.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Quincy Market is only a short distance from the hotel and has a lot of shopping and dining opportunities.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental BOSTON

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Sep 28, 2010

Looks great. Service eh

Beautiful hotel and in a great location. However, I forgot to pack 4 shirts that were in the closet. I went back to the hotel to see if they could get the shirts for me before my flight and they acted like it was impossible to do. I asked if I could go up there and get it and they said they couldn't let me do that since I checked out already. Supposedly they are going to mail it to me but the person I talked to on the phone didn't seem to understand English so who knows. We had also asked the Concierge where to go for the Freedom Trail, one of the biggest attractions in Boston. He acted like he had never heard of the Freedom Trail. This is the guy guests and out-of-towners are looking to for guidance around the city. Needless to say, they need to do a better job of hiring people with some knowledge of the city and customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Freedom Trail is a must!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental BOSTON

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
IN THE SERVICE BIZ
Business
District of Columbia
Sep 9, 2010

ContraContinental

My boyfriend and I were going to visit my brother and his wife in Somerville (so we were near metro)but wanted a gettaway at the same time. So we decided that a more luxurious, restful hotel accomendation with river view would be important.[...] The room was decent but the view was mostly of the lower roof and if you turned to the 'right' could see the water..the bed was a 'small king'. We came back in evening and had dinner in the hotel, outside by the water which was nice. The waiter [...] was unfriendly and 'short' with us thought the restaurant was not busy.Our food and wine were decent. In the evening back in the room (about 10 pm)I noticed that all pillows were down feathered. I am allergic and had to call for synthetic. After waiting an hour (to go o bed) I called again and they sent 2 up. We left breakfast order on door. It was on time in mornng. But we had soggy toast and light brown (cold) liquid to the room. We had to call for hot, dark coffee and extra toasted bread. After our day out on Boston we returned to room and found that we had left 'do not disturb' (my fault) light on and so room, bed, towels, were all undone, uncleaned and breakfast tray not removed.This was aprox. 4:15 pm. We called and they reinerated what we already knew and said that 'they would see when someone would be available to come up' I told them that we understood and planned on an early dinner and walk and would like the room cleaned while we did so. We waited until 6 pm and called again. The 'gentleman' was quite snippy and reminded me that it was my fault that the rooom had not been cleaned and that he was not sure when it could be done. We came back to the room at 9:05 pm after dining by water at hotel restaurant for 2cd night and taking a procrastination walk just to stall. The room was unmade and I called again. He said taht we were on list but that issues were taken in order of call. I called him back after trying not to get upset but we had wanted a special evening (we had spent lots of time and $ in their hotel retaurant) and now wanted some privacy and peace and not to wait any longer. He said that someone would be coming up to clean(it was now almost 10 pm) I told him that we wanted to be brought to another room and he said he would need to check w/ a manager on duty. He called back and a very nice employee brought our things to another room. Obviously too much time wasted the night before w/ pillows and this night for a fresh room. Decisions were not made timely or with customers happiness in mind. Not the peaceful setting for romatic evening we wanted. We once again ordered breakfast for 6 am. it was on time. But I would never reccommend this hotel. They never offered any compensation (something like breakfast) or at minumum an apology. PS...the first room had sprayed toothpaste on mirror and sides of sink. ICK

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental BOSTON

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
boston
Aug 16, 2010

areosmith and j geils concert

went to j geils and areosmith concert

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top