$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 29, 2014

Hyatt Regency Boston

4 stars
One Ave de Lafayette, BOSTON, MA 02111
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
259 reviews
Great stay

Weekend getaway, surprise suite, free valet parking. Great stay See full review

  • Scottie Do
  • Mar 10, 2014
Exceeded our expectations

The Hyatt Regency was centrally located to a T stop and put us in a perfect location to access all... See full review

  • Kelly in Carolina
  • Feb 19, 2014

The Hyatt Regency Boston hotel offers modern amenities in the historic heart of Boston. Large windows offer spectacular views of the waterfront and the dome of the Massachusetts State House, allowing guests some of the city's best sights without having to leave their rooms. This hotel is conveniently connected to a Macy's department store, so visitors can do some shopping without having to wander too far away. Many of the city's finest attractions are actually within walking distance of the Hyatt Regency Boston. The hotel is big on pets and families, so feel free to bring the kids, both two- and four-legged.

Key facts

  • 502 guestrooms
  • 19 suites
  • Conference and event spaces: 23 rooms
  • 22 floors
  • Indoor pool
  • Saunas and eucalyptus steam room
  • Gym
  • 3 restaurants
  • Gift shop
  • Wi-Fi available (fees may apply)
  • ATM and currency exchange
  • 24-hour desk service
  • Pets allowed (under 50-pounds, fees may apply)

Neighborhood

The Hyatt Regency Boston offers a convenient base for your trip to Massachusetts' capital. Downtown Boston provides a wide selection of restaurants, shops, historic sites and other attractions. The shopping district, the theater district and the financial district are all within walking distance of the Hyatt Regency.

Hints and tips

Corner rooms tend to offer much more space than other guest rooms. There are other buildings nearby, so rooms on higher floors offer a better view of the city, in addition to being quieter than rooms on lower floors.

Large guest parties in town for a conference, convention or other event can book interconnecting rooms. This may also be a good option for families.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hyatt Regency Boston also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hyatt Regency Boston Rooms

Deluxe
High floor room with City Views, with a king or 2 twin beds, spacious work area, designer lamp, AC, multi media television showing latest blockbuster movies, i-pod station, large bathroom with power shower and bath.
Standard
Elegantly appointed guestroom with a king or 2 twin beds with a coffee maker, in room movies, voice mail, umbrella, iron, ironing board bathrobes and full bath amenities.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Golf
Jogging track
Tennis
Play ground
Racquetball courts
Boating
Scuba diving
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
Airline desk
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Video checkout
Gift shop
Copy service
Currency exchange
News stand
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
White board
Conference suite
Computer rental
Easel
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub
Trouser press

Nearby points of interest

  • Boston Chinatown: 0.1 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.3 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 0.4 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.4 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.5 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 0.5 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Copley Square: 0.6 mi
  • Boston Children's Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Trinity Church: 0.7 mi
  • The Paul Revere House: 0.8 mi
  • TD Garden: 0.8 mi
  • TD Banknorth Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 0.1 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.3 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 0.4 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.4 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.5 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 0.5 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Copley Square: 0.6 mi
  • Boston Children's Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Trinity Church: 0.7 mi
  • The Paul Revere House: 0.8 mi
  • TD Garden: 0.8 mi
  • TD Banknorth Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 0.9 mi
  • Old North Church: 0.9 mi
  • Convention and Exhibition Center: 1 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 1.1 mi
  • USS Constitution Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 1.4 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 1.4 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 1.5 mi
  • Bunker Hill Monument: 1.6 mi
  • Cruiseport Boston: 1.6 mi
  • Charlestown Navy Yard: 1.6 mi
  • Fenway Park: 1.9 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.9 mi
  • Castle Island: 2.8 mi
  • Agganis Arena: 2.9 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum: 3 mi
  • Arnold Arboretum: 5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (259)

Ratings and reviews for Hyatt Regency Boston

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
259 out of 259
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hyatt Regency Boston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
kmgrady
Business
Kingston, NH, USA
Jan 16, 2012

Great location, Terrible service.

I could have gotten better service at Motel 6. In my four day stay house keeping came twice and only cleaned the room once. I called and requested house keeping while I was out on the town, they called back to confirm they were on their way... hours later I returned and house keeping was JUST getting there making me sit in the hallway for 20 minutes. I also left my car in the Valet lot the entire trip, well come to find out Valet lost my car and made my wife walk around to help them find it. Mind you it was about 7degrees outside. Room service came twice also, the first time I ordered a small 15 dollar pizza which came burnt. I requested a new one get sent and it did, but this time not cooked completely. The second time I ordered room service I waited an hour for a salad and an ice cream. I finally called and they never put in my order. On top of this I got charge 10dollars for two waters out of the mini fridge in the room, but they locked the mini fridge the first night of our stay and never had the chance to get anything out of it. If you stay, get your own information about things to do as the staff was surprisingly uneducated about the area. I am generally not one to complain but this trip was for my honeymoon and I could have spent the same ridiculous amount of money for a nicer place to stay. Shame on me for not doing my research.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Boston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbia, MD
Jun 15, 2010

Hyatt Regency Boston = AWFUL!

This hotel was awful. I have no idea how it is considered a four star hotel. Even the layout of the hotel is an inconvenience. You have to get on an elevator from the garage level to get to the lobby and then walk across the reception desk to get into a different elevator that goes to the rooms. First, THERE IS NO FREE INTERNET IN THE ROOMS! There is a $9.99 charge for a single day of internet. Even the "business center" which is usually complimentary requires a credit card swipe before you can even begin your session on the computer. I have never heard of a 4 start hotel nickel and diming its customers like that. Even McDonald's and local coffee shops offer free wi-fi and you are telling me I can't use the internet for free after paying $100+ per night to stay there? Second, the shower head in the bathroom was loose/broken so the water was pointed down the wall of the shower instead of into the tub. I had to hold the shower head up to rinse myself after lathering with soap. I try not to pack too many liquids when I travel via airplane so the hotel shampoo/conditioner/soap is important. The one at the Hyatt Regency Boston smelled like the blue deoderant solution that is used in porta-potties and made me gag. I had to go out and buy my own soap/shampoo because I could not handle the smell. Finally, there is the issue with the fridge. It comes completely stocked with water, beer, wine, candy...etc. Sounds great, until you accidentally move something and it is IMMEDIATELY charged to your room. I had Mike's Pastries I wanted to keep but there is no room and I was almost charged $94.00 in incidentals because I moved things around to make room for my pastry box. Parking is $32.00/day. Do not get a rental when visitng here! Everything is within walking distance so it is just a waste of money. The only good thing about my stay at the Hyatt was the location. Everything else left much to be desired. Very disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are just visiting the city for less than 2 weeks, I would advise NOT to get a rental car. Parking is ridiculously expensive and everything is within walking distance so a rental is really unneccessary.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Boston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington D.C.
Jul 5, 2010

Not worth the price, save your money

Where to begin - I stayed for a couple of nights, and I am from Boston so I know the area and location. I paid an extra 60 dollars/night for business package - which the hotel staff had no idea what it was at the time. It included internet access. When I called the front desk because I was having problems logging in, the RUDE woman who answered told me that "obviously" I need to pay for an account, but I was not be charged. "Its just easier that way." Needless to say, when I did check out, I was charged for it. The top sheets had a series of red stains, probably from food, on the white sheets. The walls are really thin, I am glad I brought ear plugs, which only helped a little bit. The bathrooms have NO VENT or switch to turn on the vent. So, my first night, I took a hot shower and set off the fire alarm. No hotel staff called my room to ask or explain what happened. It stayed on for 10-15 minutes. I called the front desk and they rudely told me "yeah, we know." What else - no vending machines, so it was $2.75 for a pepsi at the lobby. I am from Boston originally, so I know $2.75 is ridiculous. The beginning of my second day they finally figured out what their business package was, so I got some envelope under the door with coupons they probably just printed that morning, of course, after day one it was no use. Towels were dirty - and if I wasn't there for business, I'd really have had a discussion with management, but I hadn't the time - plus, where to begin. I just wanted to enjoy my time out of that hotel. Never staying again - I have vowed whenever I have to visit Boston again - to stay anywhere else. I paid way too much for what amounted to Super 8 motel service, or worse.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Boston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
dc
Jul 29, 2009

Miserable!

The exit procedure from this hotel was AWFUL! You have to take one elevator down to the lobby (2nd floor) and a second elevator down to the street level. You will spend half your time waiting for elevators. Half the time, several of the elevators were out of service which further complicated matters. This was an awful experience for me (business traveler). Lots of loud singles partying into the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Boston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fayetteville, NC
Aug 14, 2009

Bad Experience at the Hyatt Boston

I was expecting a lot more from this hotel since it was a part of the Hyatt chain. I found staff (besides the doormen, who were always polite) to be very rude and unhelful. Our room was fine and pretty spacious. However I was traveling with two other people and we only had two double beds. When I requested a roll out bed, the hotel informed me that they could not put an extra bed in the room as it was a fire violation in Boston. They were very abrupt and unapologetic about it. Nowhere on their website does the hotel state this information. And they did not try to compensate for the lack of it in any way. We found the beds to be uncomfortable and the pillows old and capable of giving neck cramps. The bathroom was nice and very spacious but the hotel's water pressure was horrible. Showers tended to last a long time as you were constantly hopping out because the water would turn scaldingly hot in the middle of your shower. Beware of the gift shop, which charges $4 for a bottle of iced tea and has employees that will not even look at you as they ring up your purchase. The hotel was in an ugly part of town with no real dining or shopping options nearby. Positives included close proximity to the T, a Boston Common Coffe Co. only a few blocks away, and self check-out. Overall a very disappointing experience from a well-known hotel brand. I would not stay at a Hyatt Regency again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Boston

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kasandra
Business
Florida
May 23, 2012

Over price

Staff are not very helpful.not impressed .never go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Boston

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
eme1
Business
boston mass
Oct 16, 2012

Surprisingly displeased

Our room was really only comparable to many two star hotels we have stayed at in the boston area. First, our desk phone didn't work properly. The TV was blurry and snowy and offered very few choices. There was no balcony which is always a nice add at a four star. The AC started making noises in the middle of the night. Overall, the room lacked the luster we had hoped for given the amount of money we paid. Also, at check out time a server went to get us change for a $20 but never returned. The front desk made that good however. Overall, on the good side, the staff was great to us and we enjoyed a great room service breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Boston

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bogdan T
Business
Los Angeles California
Oct 29, 2012

Good location, under expectations

This is not what I expected from Hyatt Hotels. The room is modest, the furniture is cheap, the pillows like rocks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Oceanair Restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Boston

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SNP995
Business
New Oxford, PA
Oct 19, 2009

Not Impressed

My boyfriend and I took a trip earlier this year and paid half as much as we did here, but had a much better experience. We arrived at the hotel at 2:30 pm and were informed 1 of the 2 rooms we requested were not available because they had a full house the night before and were not able to get the room ready in time for us. And, they were not able to give us adjacent rooms as we requested...we didn't even have rooms on the same floor. Upon entering our room, I noticed a dead bug on the floor under the bathroom sink. Surprisingly, the bug was still there at the end of our 8 day stay, just pushed further back toward the wall. I commend the hotels efforts to become more green and limit refilling the linens on a daily basis, but they took the dirty linens and did not replace them. We ran out of toilet paper twice during our stay and had no spare rolls in the room. There is no ventilation in the bathroom as well. Their so-called "spa" is two rooms dedicated to massage in their fitness center and their massage therapists are not even Hyatt therapist, it is a 3rd party company they contract to do massage. The mini-bar is outrageous and unfortunately, being in the financial district, most places are closed on the weekends and require you to leave the area to find a good places to eat. Avenue One has good food and is somewhat reasonable but would not be realistic to eat at everyday. When making plans to leave, we asked the Concierge to assist us in reserving a taxi van for our trip back to the airport. We were informed that this could not happen, but we would be able to get a taxi outside the front doors upon our departure or could take the T. Good thing we were not depending on a taxi because leaving the hotel at 6 am on a Sunday morning...there are no taxis. O.k. maybe there was one, but that was for the seven people who were waiting. And even with that, the cab driver refused people with large luggage bags because he said he didn't have room. So we took the T. Which I would suggest to anyone else who plans on leaving the hotel on the weekend. It was only 2 bucks per person. Needless to say, I would not consider this hotel luxurious like their website likes to brag that it is, [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Unless you eat at Avenue One, plan on a decent walk to find a good place to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Boston

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KAFSIN
Business
Mississauga, Ontario
Apr 27, 2011

Feel Cold

Feel cold...., no greeting for quiet a price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top