$298 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 9, 2015 Check-out: Aug 10, 2015

Hotel Commonwealth

4 stars
View map of 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Commonwealth

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
77 out of 77
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.9
Comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

99% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ern57
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Feb 21, 2012

Perfect to visit Boston University

Everyone is so friendly, you get the personal attention that you use to get in so many traditional hotels. WIFI is included in your room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Xavi30
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Feb 1, 2012

Emergency trip

This hotel is nice , the staff very helpfull The location is great you can feel safe even late night !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JH000
Business
NY
Dec 30, 2011

Hotel Commonwealth

Very clean rooms. Helpful staff. Very close to Fenway. Not too close to other popular area attractions but you can jump on the subway right outside the hotel. Parking costs 42 dollars a night. Hotel restaurants are excellent. Eastern Standard was more impressive than the Oyster Bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Empty Nesting Mom
Business
Hudson Valley, New York
Nov 7, 2011

Best Hotel

From the doormen who tirelessly hailed cabs and opened doors with a smile, the friendly and efficient check in person, the sparkling lobby, elevators, and hallways, and our exquisite large room with the best amenities, this hotel offers it all with style and perfection. We would not hesitate staying here the next time we're in Boston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bertucci's Restaurant is across the street from the Commonwealth, a 5 minute walk -- easy, affordable dinner.

Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Paola83
Business
Ciudad de México, DF, México
Oct 24, 2011

Great location

Staff members are great, always looking for ways to make your vacations more pleasant. The hotel has a great location, as it is near to train stations, and two blocks away from Fenway Park. In addition, the restaurants located at each side of the hotel have great menus and the option for late dinning

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Exploring
Business
Charlotte, NC, USA
Oct 17, 2011

Well located, well appointed spot to see Boston

Hotel Commonwealth is a beautiful hotel in Kenmore Square. It is a 10 min walk from the heart of Newbury St and very close to the Citgo sign and Fenway. You can get on the T right outside the hotel and go pretty much anywhere. The rooms are very comfortable with a few extra surprises such as Boston themed books, cell phone charging docks and upscale toiletries. The rooms are great places to unwind and relax after a day running around the city. There are some good restaurants nearby, but some have to be searched out. India Quality is highly recommended. I enjoyed getting quick, fresh bites at Cafe 472.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The sign outside India Quality claims it was voted the best Indian food in Boston...apparently it is true! Despite it's humble appearance my local friends were raving about the place.

Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bp travlr
Business
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Oct 3, 2011

wonderful all-around experience

the hotel is very convenient to the T, has two connected wonderful restaurants with bars, relatively close to back bay and an easy T ride everywhere else including north end, where we went one night. staff was friendly helpful and attentive. we stayed in a basic room which was very nice and clean. we stayed to visit child at BC, it can be a bit of long T ride to BC!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Island Creek Oyster Bar dining was special and convenient and staff was wonderful.

Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jen0310
Business
New Hampshire
Sep 18, 2011

First Upper Tier Hotel Stay

This was mine and my fiancé's first stay at a fairly expensive hotel. We did not know what to expect and picked this hotel solely because of its close proximity to the House of Blues (we had a concert that night). Aside from being unaccustomed to valet parking (we drove around for a bit trying to figure out where to park) we had no difficulty at this hotel. The staff was extremely outgoing and ready to accommodate any of our needs. The doormen are also great at remembering faces. It gave a nice personal touch to a large hotel. The hotel room was very clean aside from a few dirty spots on the sheets and pillow case. Before the concert we ordered dinner from the room and was surprised at how promptly it was delivered (maybe 30 minutes). Breakfast the following morning was also delivered right on time. I ran into a few surprises on my bill (minibar charges even though we did not touch the food items and drinks listed). I addressed these issues while checking out and the items in question were automatically taken off our account. Overall it was a great stay and I would definitely go back. Prime location in Kenmore square with the T running right below.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Guido
Business
Burke, VA, USA
Aug 23, 2011

Great hotel

Really enjoyed staying at this hotel. Room was top notch, very clean, extremely helpful staff. Hotel is located a little outside of the downtown area, but there's a subway station just outside the hotel entrance (Kenmore Station on the green line) from which you can get anywhere very easily. Restaurant in the hotel (Eastern Standard) is a bit pricey, but excellent for both dinner and breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you take the subway (the "T") to the section of the city called the "North End" there are many excellent Italian Restaurants within a short walk of the T station. We dined at Lucia's on Hanover Street and it was fabulous. Dinner for two including wine and dessert, tax and tip ran us $98. Not cheap, I know, but it was first rate and the food and service were both outstanding.

Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Newlywed Andrea
Business
Annapolis, MD
Aug 8, 2011

The Perfect Wedding Night in Boston

I had gotten married at 10 am in Providence and my new husband and I were lucky enough to score tickets to the Red Sox/Yankees game at Fenway Park, so the Hotel Commonwealth was a great choice. Literally, just a couple blocks from Fenway. Easily checked in and my husband mentioned how excited we were to be here as it was our wedding night! The front desk staff were personable and attentive. Went to the game, came back and, to our surprise, there were truffles and champagne along with a congratulatory note for us, thanking us for choosing to stay with them for our wedding night. How thoughtful! We ordered room service (which was by far some of the best room service food I've ever had). The person who took the order noted that my husband had blown his voice yelling at the game (Go Sox!) and sent up a Keurig with tea pods to soothe his throat. Comfy, clean bed and room. Loved the Fresh toiletries. I will never stay anywhere else in Boston. Cannot thank them enough for helping us have an unforgettably amazing wedding night. Kudos!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top