$298 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 3, 2015

Hotel Commonwealth

4 stars
View map of 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Commonwealth

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
77 out of 77
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.9
Comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

99% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Boguchi
Business
Seattle
Oct 5, 2012

Classy and Comfortable. A Tad Stuffy

Gorgeous building and fabulous room. Parking was $42 a night which is outrageous. Staff were friendly and a tad cool, not overly helpful and seemed bothered by simple questions. HOWEVER, this was a lovely, relaxing, elegant hotel and super location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Newberry Street is just plain fun!

Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
funkyasian
Business
NYC
Sep 17, 2012

great first trip to boston!!

we arrived before noon and thought we'd had to drop our stuff at the bell desk and start our day without having checked in...but upon arriving, the front desk staff quickly found us a room, and got us in without any issues. the concierge was super helpful with directions and what to do. we had forgotten our toothbrushes and after calling the front desk, the housekeeping staff delivered within 10 minutes!!!! the view was great...even though i'm a die hard yankees fan, the view of fenway was definitely nice. the Green T stop is right next door to the hotel, for the added convenience of travel around the city. we're definitely staying here next time we find ourselves in the area!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stipeified
Business
Burlington, VT
Aug 22, 2012

Our favorite in Boston

My husband and I have stayed at the Hotel Commonwealth a couple times now and have enjoyed it thoroughly both times. The staff are very accommodating and helpful. In a world where customer service is often a thing of the past, the Hotel Commonwealth does it well! The restaurants connected to the hotel are all excellent and they will assist you with reservations. In addition, the bar below the hotel was full one night, but we were able to get drinks to bring back up to our room to enjoy. The hotel is just a few blocks away from Newbury St. and lots of great shopping. This time around we had a few snafus with our room--the desk chair was ripped and the stuff was coming out a bit, and the ipod/radio remote system was not identifying our ipods. We did alert the staff about this and I'm sure they will be fixed. Overall, though, great stay both times!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chico Chuck
Business
Chico, CA
Aug 19, 2012

Great trip!

In Boston with wife to attend Bruce Springsteen concert. Hotel is very short walk to Fenway Park. Location couldn't be better for any event at Fenway. Also the MTA stop is literally next door. A convenient, fast, and inexpensive way to get around Boston. We used it to zip to the Freedom Trail, waterfront, JFK Library and Museum, Boston College, etc. Neighborhood has many nice sidewalk cafe's, nightclubs, and we felt safe walking around in the evening. We loved the hotel and staff were great too. Value? We were pleased with the room rate during our week stay except for the night of the concert during which the price doubled. Such is life - supply and demand. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LA RedSox Fan
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 8, 2012

RedSox Getaway

Awesome location for anyone looking to take in a true RedSox experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pwcscc
Business
Knoxville, TN
Jun 1, 2012

Perfect for a luxurious stay near Fenway

I can see why they have the number 1 rating. We simply have no complaints whatsoever. We would gladly stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to Fenway.

Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
New England Fan
Business
Westchester County,NY
May 25, 2012

Great location for Fenway and shopping

For our first overnight stay in Boston, this was a good choice. The rooms were immaculate and updated. The staff was very friendly and couldn't do enough for you. The attached restaurant, Eastern Standard was very good. The proximity to Fenway Park was awesome for baseball fans and the walk to Newbury St. for shopping and dining was ideal. Our only complaint was the view of I-90 from our room. Fenway was in the backdrop, but so was the traffic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If it is your first trip to Boston, walk over to Fenway and take the Old Time Trolley Tour.

Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KayTH
Business
NH
May 14, 2012

Red Sox visit

Excellent location when staying over following a Red Sox game, loved Zinga! Great shopping location. Pricey, though, no in room coffee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
maill
Business
western massachusetts
Mar 7, 2012

visit new grandchild at Beth Isreal Hosp

Wonderful hotel. Very clean, very comfortable room. Very helpful and pleasant staff., From hailing a cab to running to our car for a forgotten umbrella, the staff was exceptional. Have stayed in many hotels but this will be the one we go back too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ARPDAP
Business
Pennsylvania, USA
Mar 4, 2012

Hotel Commonwealth

A beautiful hotel, centrally located for our trip to Boston University. Hotel staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Can't wait to visit again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Eastern Standard restaurant has great food and incredible service.

Back to menu Return to top