$252 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 4, 2015 Check-out: Apr 7, 2015

Hotel Commonwealth

4 stars
View map of 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
81 reviews
Great trip!

Right next to Fenway! What an unbelievable weekend!!! See full review

  • Andrew S.
  • Mar 11, 2015
February in Boston

The four nights spent at the Hotel Commonwealth were very pleasant. The room was clean and much... See full review

  • TS
  • Mar 2, 2015
Stylish, spacious guest rooms two blocks from Fenway Park
Boston Red Sox baseball fans might find a view of historic Fenway Park from an extra-spacious guest room at Hotel Commonwealth. Two blocks from the games, this independent Back Bay boutique hotel offers gracious service and an elegant atmosphere. Past the fresh flowers in the lobby, choose from two distinctive restaurants, peruse the DVD lending library or splurge on an in-room spa treatment. Shoppers can browse the Commonwealth Shops then stroll to upscale Newbury Street. Beneath the hotel, a subway whisks riders to top Boston attractions. 
Highlights

  • Two blocks from Fenway Park and above the Kenmore Square "T" station
  • Work out in the fitness center or book a massage
  • Complimentary Internet access throughout the hotel
  • Classic, oversized guest rooms are pet-friendly
  • Two restaurants open late, with one featuring the longest marble bar in Boston

Rooms
Designer accents fill 149 expansive and sophisticated rooms and suites at Hotel Commonwealth, from bath amenities by Fresh to blankets by Peacock Alley. All beds are a Serta Perfect Sleeper pillow-top king or queen with Italian linens and down comforters. Don a Frette bathrobe and reach for a bedtime book by a Boston author from the in-room library or admire views of Kenmore Square or Fenway Park. A charging station, flat-panel TV, strong cell phone reception and complimentary wired and wireless Internet access satisfy high-tech guests. Enjoy in-room refreshments and 24-hour room service.
Features
Two excellent restaurants at Hotel Commonwealth entice diners from miles around. Try the brasserie menu and talked-about cocktails on the longest marble bar in Boston at Eastern Standard. The grand raw bar at Island Creek Oyster Bar changes daily. A half mile from Boston University, the hotel also sits near nightclubs and a House of Blues on Landsdowne Street. Request a free shoeshine or book daily laundry service and valet parking (fees apply). Stop at the lobby counter for a hot cup of coffee. Those with a dog can arrange pet sitting, grooming, walking and even a pet massage (fees apply). 
Transportation

  • Boston Logan International Airport (5.8 mi/9.4 km)
  • T.F. Green Airport (54.4 mi/87.5 km)
  • Manchester-Boston Regional Airport (54.7 mi/88.1 km)
  • Above the Kenmore "T" subway station

Attractions

  • Fenway Park (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Museum of Fine Arts (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Boston Public Gardens (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Harvard Square (3.2 mi/5.2 km)
  • Boston Convention Center (4.6 mi/2.9 km)

Business

  • Free in-room wired Internet access and hotel-wide Wi-Fi
  • 24-hour business center
  • Meeting space for up to 300 people, including a fireside boardroom

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Commonwealth also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Hotel Commonwealth Rooms

Kenmore Room
These cozy rooms (350 sq. ft) feature a King sized bed, 32 inch Panasonic LCD HD television with DVD/CD player, complimentary internet access, sitting area and large writing desk.
Fenway Room
Enjoy a large deluxe room (470 sq. ft.) with a direct view of Fenway Park, home of the Boston Red Sox. Featuring one King or two Queen sized beds, a sitting area, and a large writing desk. These guestrooms are perfect for a weekend getaway
Commonwealth Room
Pamper yourself in a Parlor Suite (515 sq. ft.) with a direct view of historic Commonwealth Avenue. These luxurious Boston accommodations feature a king sized bed along with a large sitting area that may be closed off with drapes, fully stocked mini bar, an old world inspired writing desk, two 32 Panasonic LCD HD televisions with DVD / CD player and a state of the art telecommunications system.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Fenway Park: 0.2 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 0.4 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 0.9 mi
  • Trinity Church: 1 mi
  • Agganis Arena: 1.2 mi
  • Copley Square: 1.3 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 1.5 mi
  • Boston Common: 1.5 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 1.6 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 1.7 mi
  • African Meeting House: 1.7 mi
  • Fenway Park: 0.2 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 0.4 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 0.9 mi
  • Trinity Church: 1 mi
  • Agganis Arena: 1.2 mi
  • Copley Square: 1.3 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 1.5 mi
  • Boston Common: 1.5 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 1.6 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 1.7 mi
  • African Meeting House: 1.7 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 2.1 mi
  • TD Garden: 2.1 mi
  • TD Banknorth Garden: 2.1 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 2.1 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 2.1 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 2.1 mi
  • Boston Children's Museum: 2.3 mi
  • The Paul Revere House: 2.4 mi
  • Old North Church: 2.4 mi
  • Convention and Exhibition Center: 2.5 mi
  • Bunker Hill Monument: 2.6 mi
  • USS Constitution Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Charlestown Navy Yard: 2.9 mi
  • Cruiseport Boston: 3.1 mi
  • Arnold Arboretum: 3.8 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Castle Island: 4.4 mi

Dining

Eastern Standard Brasserie
The Hotel Commonwealth's award-winning Eastern Standard Brasserie serves European and New England favorites; a seasonal terrace overlooks Kenmore Square.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Plan your next Boston area business meeting, wedding reception or social gathering at Hotel Commonwealth, hosting superior private events for up to 300 guests. Managing the details from planning through flawless execution, our corporate and social event specialists at Hotel Commonwealth will ensure your event excellence every step of the way. Hotel Commonwealth features a complete array of flexible and creative function space solutions for your private event, from an elaborate ballroom to an upscale boardroom overlooking Boston's historic Kenmore Square.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Commonwealth

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 81
Amenities:
4.6
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.5

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TS
Business
N/A
Mar 2, 2015

February in Boston

The four nights spent at the Hotel Commonwealth were very pleasant. The room was clean and much more spacious than I was expecting. Features were updated (32" Smart TV, bedside tablet, plenty of outlets for my own gadgets, anti-fog mirror in the bathroom). The staff was courteous and friendly, even as I checked in very late due to a flight delay. It was a shame the lobby was still under renovation, it gave the entry a lesser quality feel, though I am sure that once construction is complete the new lobby will really impress. The location could not have been better, a T stop right outside the front door. Plus, it is still within walking distance of very cool restaurants and shops. The only downside to my stay was the strange cold draft coming through my room. It was flowing from the hallway towards the window, but I couldn't feel anything strange in the hall. All in all, it was a very pleasant stay. I would stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Cooke's
Business
Northshore, MA
Dec 5, 2014

Fantastic Birthday Weekend Getaway

The Hotel Commonwealth is everything that it describes itself to be - elegant and dedicated to customer service. It's location, in the heart of the Fenway, provides easy access to all restaurants and universities within walking distance. We thank you for a pleasant stay and will be back in the future. Greg and Loretta Cooke

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Oh Jugs
Business
NE Ohio
Nov 24, 2014

Outstanding service!

A first-rate hotel in nearly every respect. Convenient location for Boston U. access, complete with a nice selection of restaurants in the Kenmore Square area. But for us, the best feature was the staff. In a busy hotel, the front desk and concierge recognized us and provided personal service and advice that was most helpful. We would gladly return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit the Island Creek Oyster Bar that is attached to the hotel. Outstanding raw shellfish menu - Be aware, it's upscale (but worth it).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rowe Boy
Business
Falmouth Maine
Aug 3, 2014

Fenway Fun

Great staff from the door man to the front desk -pleasant , attentive and helpful . Very spacious rooms and incredibly comfortable bed. The facility is in excellent condition and rich in feel and function. The location is a 5 minute walk from Fenway Park and 1 minute from the subway. If your going to a Ref Sox game there is no better spot to stay. Also very close on foot or subway to many great Boston spots. All of this has kept me coming back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Utb040713
Business
Dallas, Texas
Aug 1, 2014

Great hotel in an excellent location

I stayed here in a Fenway room with my fiancée for 4 nights. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the location was excellent (100 ft away from the subway stop, close to quite a few places to eat, a 5 minute walk from Fenway). The room looked brand new and was very clean. Two relatively small issues with the hotel: The room had a very strong seafood smell to it the entire duration of our stay. We got used to it after a while, though. My theory is that the return air for the A/C was picking up the smells from the oyster bar downstairs, but I'm not sure. The water pressure in the shower was pretty low, and the shower ran out of hot water quickly, so we had to space our showers out if we both wanted warm water. Overall it was a very nice hotel, but the hotel can be very pricey during the week, so it might not be the best value depending on when you stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bohunk53
Business
oma ne
Jul 6, 2014

5th anniversary

I have to start with checking in. Fast, helpful and most of all enjoyed what they do. . This hotel has it all. Close to newberry str. great shopping and wonderful restaurants. If baseball fans 10 min walk tops. Down from there trolley pickup, highly recommend the way to see city. If stay at hotel commomwealth get free harbor cruise and boston tea party with trollie purchase. Hotel restaurants are some of the best places to eat. Bed comfy . Rooms very clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

oyster are wonderful in both restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
S Jones
Business
Donaldsonville, LA
Jun 29, 2014

Welcomed like we were at home.

Nick, the concierge, was wonderful from when we checked in to every time we left and came back. The location was great. We walked out the front door and the subway was less than 1/2 a block away without having to cross the street. Complimentary refrigerator, coffeemaker, and microwave for the asking. The tablet next to the bed was wonderful and made a laptop unnecessary. What a surprise when we looked out the window by the elevators and could see into fenway parkk. Convenient to many restaurants, even inside the hotel, and everything else was just a subway ride away. We didn't use the trolley but it looked like it would have been very convenient. Purchased a Charlie ticket at the airport and used it to get to the hotel and four and five times a day after that. Bed was so comfortable, it was like sleeping on a cloud. Very quiet area, great for sleeping. Felt safe in all areas that we explored and we were all over town. What a treasure - so glad that we got it through this website.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Newberry Street was wonderful as far as restaurants and shopping'. Newberry Street is one to two stops away from the Kenmore stop. Two restaurants in hotel. . The 7-11 was right next to the hotel where we could get fresh fruit but it closed for renovations the second day we were there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
soxandpats1
Business
boston, ma
Feb 17, 2014

great couples getaway

staff was very helpful, location is great. all 3 on -site restaurants were terrific. would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kimi I
Business
Claremont NH
Jan 8, 2014

Great!

Absolutely loved it, perfect location! The staff was very friendly and helpful. We went to a show at HOB and it was right down the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dPod
Business
Greensboro, NC
Jan 3, 2014

New Years in Boston

My wife and I stayed here for a New Years trip. The hotel was fantastic. Clean, very luxurious, and the location was fabulous. The green line has a stop right under the hotel. From there you can get anywhere in the city relatively painlessly. The hotel also has three restaurants located in the hotel. All were good, though the one is more of a chill lounge (great for a late night stack and drink). We will definitely stay here again on our next visit to Boston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top