$278 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 26, 2014 Check-out: Aug 27, 2014

Hotel Commonwealth

4 stars
500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
102 reviews
5th anniversary

I have to start with checking in. Fast, helpful and most of all enjoyed what they do. . This hotel... See full review

  • bohunk53
  • Jul 6, 2014
Welcomed like we were at home.

Nick, the concierge, was wonderful from when we checked in to every time we left and came back. The... See full review

  • S Jones
  • Jun 29, 2014
Stylish, spacious guest rooms two blocks from Fenway Park
Boston Red Sox baseball fans might find a view of historic Fenway Park from an extra-spacious guest room at Hotel Commonwealth. Two blocks from the games, this independent Back Bay boutique hotel offers gracious service and an elegant atmosphere. Past the fresh flowers in the lobby, choose from two distinctive restaurants, peruse the DVD lending library or splurge on an in-room spa treatment. Shoppers can browse the Commonwealth Shops then stroll to upscale Newbury Street. Beneath the hotel, a subway whisks riders to top Boston attractions. 
Highlights

  • Two blocks from Fenway Park and above the Kenmore Square "T" station
  • Work out in the fitness center or book a massage
  • Complimentary Internet access throughout the hotel
  • Classic, oversized guest rooms are pet-friendly
  • Two restaurants open late, with one featuring the longest marble bar in Boston

Rooms
Designer accents fill 149 expansive and sophisticated rooms and suites at Hotel Commonwealth, from bath amenities by Fresh to blankets by Peacock Alley. All beds are a Serta Perfect Sleeper pillow-top king or queen with Italian linens and down comforters. Don a Frette bathrobe and reach for a bedtime book by a Boston author from the in-room library or admire views of Kenmore Square or Fenway Park. A charging station, flat-panel TV, strong cell phone reception and complimentary wired and wireless Internet access satisfy high-tech guests. Enjoy in-room refreshments and 24-hour room service.
Features
Two excellent restaurants at Hotel Commonwealth entice diners from miles around. Try the brasserie menu and talked-about cocktails on the longest marble bar in Boston at Eastern Standard. The grand raw bar at Island Creek Oyster Bar changes daily. A half mile from Boston University, the hotel also sits near nightclubs and a House of Blues on Landsdowne Street. Request a free shoeshine or book daily laundry service and valet parking (fees apply). Stop at the lobby counter for a hot cup of coffee. Those with a dog can arrange pet sitting, grooming, walking and even a pet massage (fees apply). 
Transportation

  • Boston Logan International Airport (5.8 mi/9.4 km)
  • T.F. Green Airport (54.4 mi/87.5 km)
  • Manchester-Boston Regional Airport (54.7 mi/88.1 km)
  • Above the Kenmore "T" subway station

Attractions

  • Fenway Park (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Museum of Fine Arts (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Boston Public Gardens (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Harvard Square (3.2 mi/5.2 km)
  • Boston Convention Center (4.6 mi/2.9 km)

Business

  • Free in-room wired Internet access and hotel-wide Wi-Fi
  • 24-hour business center
  • Meeting space for up to 300 people, including a fireside boardroom

Hotel Commonwealth Rooms

Kenmore Room
These cozy rooms (350 sq. ft) feature a King sized bed, 32 inch Panasonic LCD HD television with DVD/CD player, complimentary internet access, sitting area and large writing desk.
Fenway Room
Enjoy a large deluxe room (470 sq. ft.) with a direct view of Fenway Park, home of the Boston Red Sox. Featuring one King or two Queen sized beds, a sitting area, and a large writing desk. These guestrooms are perfect for a weekend getaway
Commonwealth Room
Pamper yourself in a Parlor Suite (515 sq. ft.) with a direct view of historic Commonwealth Avenue. These luxurious Boston accommodations feature a king sized bed along with a large sitting area that may be closed off with drapes, fully stocked mini bar, an old world inspired writing desk, two 32 Panasonic LCD HD televisions with DVD / CD player and a state of the art telecommunications system.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Commonwealth also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

42.3488 -71.095
Area served
Boston, Back Bay, Fenway, Cambridge, Brookline
Nearby airports
Boston Logan International
Area description
Discover Hotel Commonwealth, a luxury boutique hotel offering elegance and style in downtown Boston Massachusetts. The grand cornerstone of Boston's Kenmore Square, Hotel Commonwealth features gracious hospitality with classic style

Nearby points of interest

  • Fenway Park: 0.2 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 0.4 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 0.9 mi
  • Trinity Church: 1 mi
  • Agganis Arena: 1.2 mi
  • Copley Square: 1.3 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 1.5 mi
  • Boston Common: 1.5 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 1.6 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 1.7 mi
  • African Meeting House: 1.7 mi
  • Fenway Park: 0.2 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 0.4 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 0.9 mi
  • Trinity Church: 1 mi
  • Agganis Arena: 1.2 mi
  • Copley Square: 1.3 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 1.5 mi
  • Boston Common: 1.5 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 1.6 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 1.7 mi
  • African Meeting House: 1.7 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 2.1 mi
  • TD Garden: 2.1 mi
  • TD Banknorth Garden: 2.1 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 2.1 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 2.1 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 2.1 mi
  • Boston Children's Museum: 2.3 mi
  • The Paul Revere House: 2.4 mi
  • Old North Church: 2.4 mi
  • Convention and Exhibition Center: 2.5 mi
  • Bunker Hill Monument: 2.6 mi
  • USS Constitution Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Charlestown Navy Yard: 2.9 mi
  • Cruiseport Boston: 3.1 mi
  • Arnold Arboretum: 3.8 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Castle Island: 4.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Plan your next Boston area business meeting, wedding reception or social gathering at Hotel Commonwealth, hosting superior private events for up to 300 guests. Managing the details from planning through flawless execution, our corporate and social event specialists at Hotel Commonwealth will ensure your event excellence every step of the way. Hotel Commonwealth features a complete array of flexible and creative function space solutions for your private event, from an elaborate ballroom to an upscale boardroom overlooking Boston's historic Kenmore Square.

Dining

Eastern Standard Brasserie
The Hotel Commonwealth's award-winning Eastern Standard Brasserie serves European and New England favorites; a seasonal terrace overlooks Kenmore Square.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (102)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Commonwealth

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
102 out of 102
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.9
Room comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

99% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Skalis
MA
Jan 13, 2013

One of the best

Nice, clean and comfy, great staff and good restaurant. One of the best hotels as far as comfort and style. The restaurant is more casual than we expected which is fine 90% of the time, however this was a special celebration for us and we found the menu a bit simple and the acoustic and music too load. Not a complaint just a comment for someone looking for more of an intimate fine dining experience. Location is fine. We would come back to both hotel and restaurant

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Boguchi
Seattle
Oct 5, 2012

Classy and Comfortable. A Tad Stuffy

Gorgeous building and fabulous room. Parking was $42 a night which is outrageous. Staff were friendly and a tad cool, not overly helpful and seemed bothered by simple questions. HOWEVER, this was a lovely, relaxing, elegant hotel and super location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Newberry Street is just plain fun!

Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
funkyasian
NYC
Sep 17, 2012

great first trip to boston!!

we arrived before noon and thought we'd had to drop our stuff at the bell desk and start our day without having checked in...but upon arriving, the front desk staff quickly found us a room, and got us in without any issues. the concierge was super helpful with directions and what to do. we had forgotten our toothbrushes and after calling the front desk, the housekeeping staff delivered within 10 minutes!!!! the view was great...even though i'm a die hard yankees fan, the view of fenway was definitely nice. the Green T stop is right next door to the hotel, for the added convenience of travel around the city. we're definitely staying here next time we find ourselves in the area!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stipeified
Burlington, VT
Aug 22, 2012

Our favorite in Boston

My husband and I have stayed at the Hotel Commonwealth a couple times now and have enjoyed it thoroughly both times. The staff are very accommodating and helpful. In a world where customer service is often a thing of the past, the Hotel Commonwealth does it well! The restaurants connected to the hotel are all excellent and they will assist you with reservations. In addition, the bar below the hotel was full one night, but we were able to get drinks to bring back up to our room to enjoy. The hotel is just a few blocks away from Newbury St. and lots of great shopping. This time around we had a few snafus with our room--the desk chair was ripped and the stuff was coming out a bit, and the ipod/radio remote system was not identifying our ipods. We did alert the staff about this and I'm sure they will be fixed. Overall, though, great stay both times!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chico Chuck
Chico, CA
Aug 19, 2012

Great trip!

In Boston with wife to attend Bruce Springsteen concert. Hotel is very short walk to Fenway Park. Location couldn't be better for any event at Fenway. Also the MTA stop is literally next door. A convenient, fast, and inexpensive way to get around Boston. We used it to zip to the Freedom Trail, waterfront, JFK Library and Museum, Boston College, etc. Neighborhood has many nice sidewalk cafe's, nightclubs, and we felt safe walking around in the evening. We loved the hotel and staff were great too. Value? We were pleased with the room rate during our week stay except for the night of the concert during which the price doubled. Such is life - supply and demand. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LA RedSox Fan
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 8, 2012

RedSox Getaway

Awesome location for anyone looking to take in a true RedSox experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Debl
CT
Aug 4, 2012

Very convenient for Fenway & BU

Nice rooms, great staff. It would have gotten 5 stars IF they'd had a coffeemaker in the room, or at least coffee available in the lobby before 7 AM! The Eastern Standard restaurant for dinner was great. If you're see a ball game or visiting BU it's in a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pwcscc
Knoxville, TN
Jun 1, 2012

Perfect for a luxurious stay near Fenway

I can see why they have the number 1 rating. We simply have no complaints whatsoever. We would gladly stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to Fenway.

Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
New England Fan
Westchester County,NY
May 25, 2012

Great location for Fenway and shopping

For our first overnight stay in Boston, this was a good choice. The rooms were immaculate and updated. The staff was very friendly and couldn't do enough for you. The attached restaurant, Eastern Standard was very good. The proximity to Fenway Park was awesome for baseball fans and the walk to Newbury St. for shopping and dining was ideal. Our only complaint was the view of I-90 from our room. Fenway was in the backdrop, but so was the traffic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If it is your first trip to Boston, walk over to Fenway and take the Old Time Trolley Tour.

Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KayTH
NH
May 14, 2012

Red Sox visit

Excellent location when staying over following a Red Sox game, loved Zinga! Great shopping location. Pricey, though, no in room coffee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top