$278 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 25, 2015

Hotel Commonwealth

4 stars
View map of 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Commonwealth

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
82 out of 82
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.9
Comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

99% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jaga
Business
London, england
Jul 29, 2014

Solid 4 star choice

This is a very highly rated 4 star hotel that provides a 4.5 star experience. The staff and rooms are excellent. The restaurants are very good and the whole stay was very satisfactory. Just a couple of small criticisms. There is no pool....and this is a big negative in summer in boston with kids. Location is good but not great. Next to Kenmore Metro but for walking and tourist locations I would suggest near the Common or in the heart of Back Bay.....unless visiting Fenway park for which it is an excellent location. The place has a myriad of different demographics from school parties to older couples to families......all wanting to experience the number one TA hotel in Boston. Is it worth it's rating....probably yes....but remember it is a 4 star that offers a 4.5 experience. If you want a 5 star experience it may disappoint.....if you want excellent value I would strongly recommend providing my caveats above do not deter you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

McDonalds, 7 eleven and Starbucks conveniently next door. Uburgers and 2-3 other casual restaurants across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bohunk53
Business
oma ne
Jul 6, 2014

5th anniversary

I have to start with checking in. Fast, helpful and most of all enjoyed what they do. . This hotel has it all. Close to newberry str. great shopping and wonderful restaurants. If baseball fans 10 min walk tops. Down from there trolley pickup, highly recommend the way to see city. If stay at hotel commomwealth get free harbor cruise and boston tea party with trollie purchase. Hotel restaurants are some of the best places to eat. Bed comfy . Rooms very clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

oyster are wonderful in both restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
S Jones
Business
Donaldsonville, LA
Jun 29, 2014

Welcomed like we were at home.

Nick, the concierge, was wonderful from when we checked in to every time we left and came back. The location was great. We walked out the front door and the subway was less than 1/2 a block away without having to cross the street. Complimentary refrigerator, coffeemaker, and microwave for the asking. The tablet next to the bed was wonderful and made a laptop unnecessary. What a surprise when we looked out the window by the elevators and could see into fenway parkk. Convenient to many restaurants, even inside the hotel, and everything else was just a subway ride away. We didn't use the trolley but it looked like it would have been very convenient. Purchased a Charlie ticket at the airport and used it to get to the hotel and four and five times a day after that. Bed was so comfortable, it was like sleeping on a cloud. Very quiet area, great for sleeping. Felt safe in all areas that we explored and we were all over town. What a treasure - so glad that we got it through this website.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Newberry Street was wonderful as far as restaurants and shopping'. Newberry Street is one to two stops away from the Kenmore stop. Two restaurants in hotel. . The 7-11 was right next to the hotel where we could get fresh fruit but it closed for renovations the second day we were there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Grandpa Pro
Business
New Jersey
Apr 24, 2014

Yankee fans

This hotel could not have worked out any better for 2 Yankee fans in town for a baseball game. Everything was exceptional, especially the staff. I would recommend this hotel without any reservations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Fenway Park

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
William and Mary Student
Business
Williamsburg, Virginia
Mar 9, 2014

Perfect hotel experience

Right from check-in, the hotel staff was helpful and friendly. The hotel itself is a beautiful building, inside and out, as is the room where I stayed (a junior suite, only a minor upgrade from a standard room). It's conveniently located right next to Boston University (where I was visiting), the Kenmore T Station, and lots of shops on Commonwealth Avenue. The room was clean, comfortable, and very large for the price. Take it from an experienced traveler: this is absolutely the best hotel experience I have ever had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Kenmore Station is literally 50 feet from the hotel's door. Easy access to the entire city via the T is at any guest's fingertips.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mhpmhp
Business
Litchfield CT
Feb 21, 2014

Good location.

Hotel is right on the green line. Close to Fenway, MIT , newberry and boyleston streets. Good restaurant right inside the same building -- Eastern Standard. Rooms are spacious and tastefully furnished. B No clutter. Free wifi. Plenty of plugs for recharging all the gadgets Bathroom seemed recently upgraded. Clean and bright. Lots of glass shelves to stow your stuff. Staff very pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make your reservation early. This place fills up.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
soxandpats1
Business
boston, ma
Feb 17, 2014

great couples getaway

staff was very helpful, location is great. all 3 on -site restaurants were terrific. would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kimi I
Business
Claremont NH
Jan 8, 2014

Great!

Absolutely loved it, perfect location! The staff was very friendly and helpful. We went to a show at HOB and it was right down the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dPod
Business
Greensboro, NC
Jan 3, 2014

New Years in Boston

My wife and I stayed here for a New Years trip. The hotel was fantastic. Clean, very luxurious, and the location was fabulous. The green line has a stop right under the hotel. From there you can get anywhere in the city relatively painlessly. The hotel also has three restaurants located in the hotel. All were good, though the one is more of a chill lounge (great for a late night stack and drink). We will definitely stay here again on our next visit to Boston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kimi I
Business
Claremont NH
Dec 10, 2013

House of Blues Concert

The Hotel Commonwealth was everything we expected and more. The staff was hospitable and friendly. Even before our stay I had emailed with a few requests and they covered them all. Had a Fenway room, paid a bit extra for it but I think it was worth it. We're big Red Sox fans and the 5th floor room had a great view of the park and a few special Fenway touches. Right across from House of Blues, which was where we were seeing a show, so the location could not have been better. Easy access to a T station as well. Will definitely be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top