$298 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 22, 2014

Hotel Commonwealth

4 stars
500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
75 reviews
Fenway Fun

Great staff from the door man to the front desk -pleasant , attentive and helpful . Very spacious... See full review

  • Rowe Boy
  • Aug 3, 2014
Solid 4 star choice

This is a very highly rated 4 star hotel that provides a 4.5 star experience. The staff and rooms... See full review

  • Jaga
  • Jul 29, 2014
Stylish, spacious guest rooms two blocks from Fenway Park
Boston Red Sox baseball fans might find a view of historic Fenway Park from an extra-spacious guest room at Hotel Commonwealth. Two blocks from the games, this independent Back Bay boutique hotel offers gracious service and an elegant atmosphere. Past the fresh flowers in the lobby, choose from two distinctive restaurants, peruse the DVD lending library or splurge on an in-room spa treatment. Shoppers can browse the Commonwealth Shops then stroll to upscale Newbury Street. Beneath the hotel, a subway whisks riders to top Boston attractions. 
Highlights

  • Two blocks from Fenway Park and above the Kenmore Square "T" station
  • Work out in the fitness center or book a massage
  • Complimentary Internet access throughout the hotel
  • Classic, oversized guest rooms are pet-friendly
  • Two restaurants open late, with one featuring the longest marble bar in Boston

Rooms
Designer accents fill 149 expansive and sophisticated rooms and suites at Hotel Commonwealth, from bath amenities by Fresh to blankets by Peacock Alley. All beds are a Serta Perfect Sleeper pillow-top king or queen with Italian linens and down comforters. Don a Frette bathrobe and reach for a bedtime book by a Boston author from the in-room library or admire views of Kenmore Square or Fenway Park. A charging station, flat-panel TV, strong cell phone reception and complimentary wired and wireless Internet access satisfy high-tech guests. Enjoy in-room refreshments and 24-hour room service.
Features
Two excellent restaurants at Hotel Commonwealth entice diners from miles around. Try the brasserie menu and talked-about cocktails on the longest marble bar in Boston at Eastern Standard. The grand raw bar at Island Creek Oyster Bar changes daily. A half mile from Boston University, the hotel also sits near nightclubs and a House of Blues on Landsdowne Street. Request a free shoeshine or book daily laundry service and valet parking (fees apply). Stop at the lobby counter for a hot cup of coffee. Those with a dog can arrange pet sitting, grooming, walking and even a pet massage (fees apply). 
Transportation

  • Boston Logan International Airport (5.8 mi/9.4 km)
  • T.F. Green Airport (54.4 mi/87.5 km)
  • Manchester-Boston Regional Airport (54.7 mi/88.1 km)
  • Above the Kenmore "T" subway station

Attractions

  • Fenway Park (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Museum of Fine Arts (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Boston Public Gardens (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Harvard Square (3.2 mi/5.2 km)
  • Boston Convention Center (4.6 mi/2.9 km)

Business

  • Free in-room wired Internet access and hotel-wide Wi-Fi
  • 24-hour business center
  • Meeting space for up to 300 people, including a fireside boardroom

Hotel Map

42.3488 -71.095
Area served
Boston, Back Bay, Fenway, Cambridge, Brookline
Nearby airports
Boston Logan International
Area description
Discover Hotel Commonwealth, a luxury boutique hotel offering elegance and style in downtown Boston Massachusetts. The grand cornerstone of Boston's Kenmore Square, Hotel Commonwealth features gracious hospitality with classic style

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Commonwealth also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Commonwealth Rooms

Kenmore Room
These cozy rooms (350 sq. ft) feature a King sized bed, 32 inch Panasonic LCD HD television with DVD/CD player, complimentary internet access, sitting area and large writing desk.
Fenway Room
Enjoy a large deluxe room (470 sq. ft.) with a direct view of Fenway Park, home of the Boston Red Sox. Featuring one King or two Queen sized beds, a sitting area, and a large writing desk. These guestrooms are perfect for a weekend getaway
Commonwealth Room
Pamper yourself in a Parlor Suite (515 sq. ft.) with a direct view of historic Commonwealth Avenue. These luxurious Boston accommodations feature a king sized bed along with a large sitting area that may be closed off with drapes, fully stocked mini bar, an old world inspired writing desk, two 32 Panasonic LCD HD televisions with DVD / CD player and a state of the art telecommunications system.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Fenway Park: 0.2 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 0.4 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 0.9 mi
  • Trinity Church: 1 mi
  • Agganis Arena: 1.2 mi
  • Copley Square: 1.3 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 1.5 mi
  • Boston Common: 1.5 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 1.6 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 1.7 mi
  • African Meeting House: 1.7 mi
  • Fenway Park: 0.2 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 0.4 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 0.9 mi
  • Trinity Church: 1 mi
  • Agganis Arena: 1.2 mi
  • Copley Square: 1.3 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 1.5 mi
  • Boston Common: 1.5 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 1.6 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 1.7 mi
  • African Meeting House: 1.7 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 2.1 mi
  • TD Garden: 2.1 mi
  • TD Banknorth Garden: 2.1 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 2.1 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 2.1 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 2.1 mi
  • Boston Children's Museum: 2.3 mi
  • The Paul Revere House: 2.4 mi
  • Old North Church: 2.4 mi
  • Convention and Exhibition Center: 2.5 mi
  • Bunker Hill Monument: 2.6 mi
  • USS Constitution Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Charlestown Navy Yard: 2.9 mi
  • Cruiseport Boston: 3.1 mi
  • Arnold Arboretum: 3.8 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Castle Island: 4.4 mi

Dining

Eastern Standard Brasserie
The Hotel Commonwealth's award-winning Eastern Standard Brasserie serves European and New England favorites; a seasonal terrace overlooks Kenmore Square.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Plan your next Boston area business meeting, wedding reception or social gathering at Hotel Commonwealth, hosting superior private events for up to 300 guests. Managing the details from planning through flawless execution, our corporate and social event specialists at Hotel Commonwealth will ensure your event excellence every step of the way. Hotel Commonwealth features a complete array of flexible and creative function space solutions for your private event, from an elaborate ballroom to an upscale boardroom overlooking Boston's historic Kenmore Square.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (75)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Commonwealth

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
75 out of 75
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.9
Room comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

99% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kimi I
Claremont NH
Jan 8, 2014

Great!

Absolutely loved it, perfect location! The staff was very friendly and helpful. We went to a show at HOB and it was right down the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dPod
Greensboro, NC
Jan 3, 2014

New Years in Boston

My wife and I stayed here for a New Years trip. The hotel was fantastic. Clean, very luxurious, and the location was fabulous. The green line has a stop right under the hotel. From there you can get anywhere in the city relatively painlessly. The hotel also has three restaurants located in the hotel. All were good, though the one is more of a chill lounge (great for a late night stack and drink). We will definitely stay here again on our next visit to Boston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kimi I
Claremont NH
Dec 10, 2013

House of Blues Concert

The Hotel Commonwealth was everything we expected and more. The staff was hospitable and friendly. Even before our stay I had emailed with a few requests and they covered them all. Had a Fenway room, paid a bit extra for it but I think it was worth it. We're big Red Sox fans and the 5th floor room had a great view of the park and a few special Fenway touches. Right across from House of Blues, which was where we were seeing a show, so the location could not have been better. Easy access to a T station as well. Will definitely be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
thomaswhi61
Kildare Ireland
Dec 10, 2013

have a nice stay

when in Boston why not stay at the Hotel Commomwealth, for location it is fantastic, Kenmore subway stop is directly outside the front door giving you 10 minutes to Park street on Boston Common. Rooms are beautiful and spacious, staff from Jeff the concierge to Tim the Bellboy? and the reception staff made us feel welcome from the time the taxi from the airport stopped outside the door. If your a sports fan, Fenway park is right behind the hotel. Well worth the time to check this hotel out

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Prudential and Copley square centres are within a 10min walk from hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Howard st
Los Angeles. CA
Oct 22, 2013

Howard Steinberg

I was not happy. I was bumped from the Commonwealth to the Lenox. Small rooms in need of upgrades. Paint peeling from furniture. Bathroom way too small

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Orangemax
Memphis, Tennessee
Oct 8, 2013

Boston

Great Hotel Clean Perfect central location Walk to Fenway

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
primaveras
connecticut
Aug 19, 2013

Our New Go-to Hotel in Boston

We were greeted with a big hello and "Welcome to Boston!" as we got out of our car and the valet rushed up to meet us. At check-in we were asked if wanted to upgrade to a junior suite for a small fee, we agreed, accepted our glasses of champagne and headed up to our room. The room was generous in size considering we were in the middle of Boston where hotel rooms are typically smaller. We had a pleasant view looking out on Commonwealth Avenue, the room had a beautiful new bathroom, mini bar, and comfy bed. The staff was outstanding in every encounter. I feel like we found our new go-to hotel in Boston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to Fenway for a Redsox game.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vitus
Boston, MA
Jul 18, 2013

Loved it!

The staff are so friendly and helpful. We loved the room, it was beautiful, comfortable and clean. Excellent location to restaurants and public transportation and Fenway Park!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Island Creek Oyster Bar is one of the best restaurants in the city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Another good day
New York State
May 11, 2013

Boston Strong

Great Kenmore Square location, across from T Station and Fenway. Attentive doormen who always welcomed us back, overnight valet parking ($43.00 US for overnight) with quick turn around time at check out and helpful local directions. Upgraded to junior suite by friendly front desk staff, room was attractive, clean and quiet even on 2nd floor facing busy Commonwealth Ave. Ate at newest Legal Seafood Harborside - great food and service in noisy festive setting with spectacular waterfront views. We will definitely return to this hotel as we have found a great home base in Boston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Isabelle Stewart Gardner Museum and Boston Museum of Fine Arts within walking distance of hotel through beautiful park in full Spring bloom of early May.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Patriots Day Travelers
Boston, Mass
Apr 17, 2013

exceptional staff and location

We chose the commonwealth due to its reputation and location and we were not disappointed. We were looking forward to a Boston getaway over Patriots Day - attending the Red Sox game and cheering on our friends for the Boston marathon. The Commonwealth was the perfect location. Our beautiful room overlooked the race course at the 25 mile mark. We had an exceptional dinner at Eastern Standard -one of the restaurants at the hotel as well as coffee and cinnamon rolls to go in the morning. When the horrible events of the day unfolded, the hotel became a safe refuge for many runners who were stranded and the service & care extended by the hotel staff was admirable. Our trip was cut short by the events of the day, but I look forward to returning under happier circumstances in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search