$278 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 26, 2014 Check-out: Aug 27, 2014

Hotel Commonwealth

4 stars
500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
102 reviews
5th anniversary

I have to start with checking in. Fast, helpful and most of all enjoyed what they do. . This hotel... See full review

  • bohunk53
  • Jul 6, 2014
Welcomed like we were at home.

Nick, the concierge, was wonderful from when we checked in to every time we left and came back. The... See full review

  • S Jones
  • Jun 29, 2014
Stylish, spacious guest rooms two blocks from Fenway Park
Boston Red Sox baseball fans might find a view of historic Fenway Park from an extra-spacious guest room at Hotel Commonwealth. Two blocks from the games, this independent Back Bay boutique hotel offers gracious service and an elegant atmosphere. Past the fresh flowers in the lobby, choose from two distinctive restaurants, peruse the DVD lending library or splurge on an in-room spa treatment. Shoppers can browse the Commonwealth Shops then stroll to upscale Newbury Street. Beneath the hotel, a subway whisks riders to top Boston attractions. 
Highlights

  • Two blocks from Fenway Park and above the Kenmore Square "T" station
  • Work out in the fitness center or book a massage
  • Complimentary Internet access throughout the hotel
  • Classic, oversized guest rooms are pet-friendly
  • Two restaurants open late, with one featuring the longest marble bar in Boston

Rooms
Designer accents fill 149 expansive and sophisticated rooms and suites at Hotel Commonwealth, from bath amenities by Fresh to blankets by Peacock Alley. All beds are a Serta Perfect Sleeper pillow-top king or queen with Italian linens and down comforters. Don a Frette bathrobe and reach for a bedtime book by a Boston author from the in-room library or admire views of Kenmore Square or Fenway Park. A charging station, flat-panel TV, strong cell phone reception and complimentary wired and wireless Internet access satisfy high-tech guests. Enjoy in-room refreshments and 24-hour room service.
Features
Two excellent restaurants at Hotel Commonwealth entice diners from miles around. Try the brasserie menu and talked-about cocktails on the longest marble bar in Boston at Eastern Standard. The grand raw bar at Island Creek Oyster Bar changes daily. A half mile from Boston University, the hotel also sits near nightclubs and a House of Blues on Landsdowne Street. Request a free shoeshine or book daily laundry service and valet parking (fees apply). Stop at the lobby counter for a hot cup of coffee. Those with a dog can arrange pet sitting, grooming, walking and even a pet massage (fees apply). 
Transportation

  • Boston Logan International Airport (5.8 mi/9.4 km)
  • T.F. Green Airport (54.4 mi/87.5 km)
  • Manchester-Boston Regional Airport (54.7 mi/88.1 km)
  • Above the Kenmore "T" subway station

Attractions

  • Fenway Park (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Museum of Fine Arts (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Boston Public Gardens (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Harvard Square (3.2 mi/5.2 km)
  • Boston Convention Center (4.6 mi/2.9 km)

Business

  • Free in-room wired Internet access and hotel-wide Wi-Fi
  • 24-hour business center
  • Meeting space for up to 300 people, including a fireside boardroom

Hotel Commonwealth Rooms

Kenmore Room
These cozy rooms (350 sq. ft) feature a King sized bed, 32 inch Panasonic LCD HD television with DVD/CD player, complimentary internet access, sitting area and large writing desk.
Fenway Room
Enjoy a large deluxe room (470 sq. ft.) with a direct view of Fenway Park, home of the Boston Red Sox. Featuring one King or two Queen sized beds, a sitting area, and a large writing desk. These guestrooms are perfect for a weekend getaway
Commonwealth Room
Pamper yourself in a Parlor Suite (515 sq. ft.) with a direct view of historic Commonwealth Avenue. These luxurious Boston accommodations feature a king sized bed along with a large sitting area that may be closed off with drapes, fully stocked mini bar, an old world inspired writing desk, two 32 Panasonic LCD HD televisions with DVD / CD player and a state of the art telecommunications system.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Commonwealth also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

42.3488 -71.095
Area served
Boston, Back Bay, Fenway, Cambridge, Brookline
Nearby airports
Boston Logan International
Area description
Discover Hotel Commonwealth, a luxury boutique hotel offering elegance and style in downtown Boston Massachusetts. The grand cornerstone of Boston's Kenmore Square, Hotel Commonwealth features gracious hospitality with classic style

Nearby points of interest

  • Fenway Park: 0.2 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 0.4 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 0.9 mi
  • Trinity Church: 1 mi
  • Agganis Arena: 1.2 mi
  • Copley Square: 1.3 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 1.5 mi
  • Boston Common: 1.5 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 1.6 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 1.7 mi
  • African Meeting House: 1.7 mi
  • Fenway Park: 0.2 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 0.4 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 0.9 mi
  • Trinity Church: 1 mi
  • Agganis Arena: 1.2 mi
  • Copley Square: 1.3 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 1.5 mi
  • Boston Common: 1.5 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 1.6 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 1.7 mi
  • African Meeting House: 1.7 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 2.1 mi
  • TD Garden: 2.1 mi
  • TD Banknorth Garden: 2.1 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 2.1 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 2.1 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 2.1 mi
  • Boston Children's Museum: 2.3 mi
  • The Paul Revere House: 2.4 mi
  • Old North Church: 2.4 mi
  • Convention and Exhibition Center: 2.5 mi
  • Bunker Hill Monument: 2.6 mi
  • USS Constitution Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Charlestown Navy Yard: 2.9 mi
  • Cruiseport Boston: 3.1 mi
  • Arnold Arboretum: 3.8 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Castle Island: 4.4 mi

Dining

Eastern Standard Brasserie
The Hotel Commonwealth's award-winning Eastern Standard Brasserie serves European and New England favorites; a seasonal terrace overlooks Kenmore Square.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Plan your next Boston area business meeting, wedding reception or social gathering at Hotel Commonwealth, hosting superior private events for up to 300 guests. Managing the details from planning through flawless execution, our corporate and social event specialists at Hotel Commonwealth will ensure your event excellence every step of the way. Hotel Commonwealth features a complete array of flexible and creative function space solutions for your private event, from an elaborate ballroom to an upscale boardroom overlooking Boston's historic Kenmore Square.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (102)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Commonwealth

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
102 out of 102
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.9
Room comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

99% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Howard st
Los Angeles. CA
Oct 22, 2013

Howard Steinberg

I was not happy. I was bumped from the Commonwealth to the Lenox. Small rooms in need of upgrades. Paint peeling from furniture. Bathroom way too small

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
New England Fan
Westchester County,NY
May 25, 2012

Great location for Fenway and shopping

For our first overnight stay in Boston, this was a good choice. The rooms were immaculate and updated. The staff was very friendly and couldn't do enough for you. The attached restaurant, Eastern Standard was very good. The proximity to Fenway Park was awesome for baseball fans and the walk to Newbury St. for shopping and dining was ideal. Our only complaint was the view of I-90 from our room. Fenway was in the backdrop, but so was the traffic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If it is your first trip to Boston, walk over to Fenway and take the Old Time Trolley Tour.

Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
PA
May 8, 2009

Lovely Hotel

Wonderful experience. Very convenient to Dana Farber Cancer Center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lykthzu
north suburbs, chicago
Oct 31, 2010

great location for B U parents

every thing went very well. We did not have any special needs but were well taken care of. The room was lovely and spacious and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

T stop is only a few steps away

Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jen0310
New Hampshire
Sep 18, 2011

First Upper Tier Hotel Stay

This was mine and my fiancé's first stay at a fairly expensive hotel. We did not know what to expect and picked this hotel solely because of its close proximity to the House of Blues (we had a concert that night). Aside from being unaccustomed to valet parking (we drove around for a bit trying to figure out where to park) we had no difficulty at this hotel. The staff was extremely outgoing and ready to accommodate any of our needs. The doormen are also great at remembering faces. It gave a nice personal touch to a large hotel. The hotel room was very clean aside from a few dirty spots on the sheets and pillow case. Before the concert we ordered dinner from the room and was surprised at how promptly it was delivered (maybe 30 minutes). Breakfast the following morning was also delivered right on time. I ran into a few surprises on my bill (minibar charges even though we did not touch the food items and drinks listed). I addressed these issues while checking out and the items in question were automatically taken off our account. Overall it was a great stay and I would definitely go back. Prime location in Kenmore square with the T running right below.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Mar 7, 2011

Not a great value, but a great hotel.

Make no bones about it, this place is expensive...on average you are probably going to pay about $30 or so more than you would at Back Bay...however, it's one of the only hotels in the city that has two queen beds, it is a better value that some of the other luxury brands in the city, and you cannot beat it's location...just above Kenmore station (literally...just above it), meaning it's a stone's throw away from Fenway Park. The room and bathroom is big, amble in size, and the beds are comfy...if you have the money to spend, this place is very highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

You are very close to Fenway, and Landsdowne street where they have recently opened a couple of clubs, a Lucky Strike, and a House of Blues.

Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kimi I
Claremont NH
Dec 10, 2013

House of Blues Concert

The Hotel Commonwealth was everything we expected and more. The staff was hospitable and friendly. Even before our stay I had emailed with a few requests and they covered them all. Had a Fenway room, paid a bit extra for it but I think it was worth it. We're big Red Sox fans and the 5th floor room had a great view of the park and a few special Fenway touches. Right across from House of Blues, which was where we were seeing a show, so the location could not have been better. Easy access to a T station as well. Will definitely be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jen0310
New Hampshire
Sep 18, 2011

First Upper Tier Hotel Stay

This was mine and my fiancé's first stay at a fairly expensive hotel. We did not know what to expect and picked this hotel solely because of its close proximity to the House of Blues (we had a concert that night). Aside from being unaccustomed to valet parking (we drove around for a bit trying to figure out where to park) we had no difficulty at this hotel. The staff was extremely outgoing and ready to accommodate any of our needs. The doormen are also great at remembering faces. It gave a nice personal touch to a large hotel. The hotel room was very clean aside from a few dirty spots on the sheets and pillow case. Before the concert we ordered dinner from the room and was surprised at how promptly it was delivered (maybe 30 minutes). Breakfast the following morning was also delivered right on time. I ran into a few surprises on my bill (minibar charges even though we did not touch the food items and drinks listed). I addressed these issues while checking out and the items in question were automatically taken off our account. Overall it was a great stay and I would definitely go back. Prime location in Kenmore square with the T running right below.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Jul 3, 2010

Excellent location and facility!

This is our second stay at The Commonwealth. We found a spotless room and excellent service from the staff. This trip we had more time to explore the city and enjoy the restaurants. The concierge gave us excellent recommendations for dining and suggestions for interesting day trips. The hotel is walking distance from Fenway Park and and an easy train (T) ride to many of Boston's sights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Public transportation in Boston is excellent. We saved ourselves taxi rides in city traffic and long walks by taking the "T" to points of interest. You can purchase multiple-day passes at the airport train stop. During the summer there are staffed information booths in the main "T" stops.

Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bettendorf, IA
Jun 3, 2010

Lovely Stay at Hotel Commonwealth!

We spent five days in Boston. Our objective was to help our daughter move from one location to another, do a little sight seeing and have a few nice meals together. I must say the restaurant attached to the hotel, Eastern Standard, was wonderful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top