$288 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 23, 2014 Check-out: Oct 24, 2014

Hotel 140

3 stars
140 Clarendon St, Boston, MA 2116
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
74 reviews
Delightful stay

I was warmly greeted upon arrival and assigned a delightful room that was very charming and fun... See full review

  • GBailey
  • Jun 2, 2013
Hotel 140

Great location. Staff was friendly and the room was clean. No complaints at all. See full review

  • Traveling on business11
  • Sep 18, 2014
Affordable accommodations in a historic building near Copley Square
Located in the heart of the Back Bay, this discount boutique hotel offers European-style accommodations in a historic building that used to house the nation's first YMCA. Hotel 140 has easy access to the trendy South End, Hynes Convention Center and Copley Square. Complimentary wireless Internet access is available throughout the hotel. The hotel is home to the Lyric Stage Company theater and Stuart Street Grill. Groups find modest meeting facilities and guests have access to an adequate fitness center.
Highlights
  • Building is on the National Register of Historic Places
  • Stuart Street Grill serves inexpensive, fresh breakfast and lunch
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel
  • The Lyric Stage Company theater located onsite
Rooms

Following a full renovation in 2005, Hotel 140 features bright European-style accommodations with decorative fireplaces. Comfortable rooms feature mostly double beds, but some feature king and queen beds. Some suites can sleep up to eight guests and come with full kitchens. Private bathrooms have Neutrogena products and hair dryers.

Features
Housed in the nation's first YMCA building, Hotel 140 has received a spot on the National Register of Historic Places. This convenient location offers great value in the Back Bay. The grand entrance opens onto two spacious lobbies adorned with marble flooring, natural light and a sweeping staircase. The Kumba Library plays host to functions and meetings, while a modest on-site workout facility lets guests stay fit. The Stuart Street Grill offers breakfast and lunch and an on-site flower shop is an added perk.
Transportation
  • Hynes Convention Center (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Logan International Airport (3.5 mi/5.7 km)
Attractions
  • Public Garden & swan boats (.3 mi/.6 km)
  • Newberry Street (.4 mi/.7 km)
  • Beacon Hill (.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Harvard Square (1.7 mi/2.8 km)
Business
  • Kumba Library offers approximately 1,350 square feet
  • 3 separate meeting spaces
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi throughout hotel

Hotel Map

42.3485 -71.0742
Nearby airports
General Edward Lawrence Logan Intl Airport, (BOS), 5.00, MI, W; Manchester Airport, (MHT), 54.00, MI, N;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel 140 also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel 140 Rooms

Deluxe
Two full - Two full - this room features two -2- pillow top beds complimentary high speed internet. Refrigerator. Cable TV. Iron and ironing board hair dryer cable television complimentary local calls and voice mail.
Standard
Description not provided
Standard
Full - One full bed - one full size bed with a pillow top mattress. Complimentary high speed internet. Refrigerator. Cable TV. Iron and ironing board hair dryer cable television complimentary local calls and voice mail.
Superior
Queen - One queen-features one -1- queen pillow top bed. Complimentary high speed internet. Refrigerator. Cable TV. Iron and ironing board hair dryer cable television complimentary local calls and voice mail.
Superior
King - King rooms feature one -1- king Size pillow top bed complimentary high speed internet. Refrigerator. Cable TV. Iron and ironing board hair dryer cable television complimentary local calls and voice mail.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Free local telephone calls
24 hour security
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Copy service
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Trinity Church: 0.1 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Copley Square: 0.2 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.6 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.7 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 0.8 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.8 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.9 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 1.1 mi
  • Fenway Park: 1.2 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 1.2 mi
  • Trinity Church: 0.1 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Copley Square: 0.2 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.6 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.7 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 0.8 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.8 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.9 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 1.1 mi
  • Fenway Park: 1.2 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 1.2 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • Boston Children's Museum: 1.3 mi
  • TD Garden: 1.4 mi
  • TD Banknorth Garden: 1.4 mi
  • Convention and Exhibition Center: 1.5 mi
  • The Paul Revere House: 1.5 mi
  • Old North Church: 1.6 mi
  • USS Constitution Museum: 2 mi
  • Bunker Hill Monument: 2 mi
  • Cruiseport Boston: 2.1 mi
  • Charlestown Navy Yard: 2.2 mi
  • Agganis Arena: 2.3 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum: 3 mi
  • Castle Island: 3.3 mi
  • Arnold Arboretum: 4.3 mi

Dining

Viga Italian Eatery- Opening Spring 2014
When we began in February of 1999- our goal was simply to provide a quality product at a reasonable price with superior customer service. Fourteen years later we remain dedicated to our original goal. At Viga- a passion for perfection is our driving force
Post 390
Post 390 puts a contemporary twist on the traditional tavern experience- with seasonally inspired dishes that reflect Chef Eric Brennans passion for fresh ingredients and unforgettable flavors. On the first floor is the Tavern - a casual but sophisticated
Stephanies On Newbury
Since its opening in 1994- Stephanies has been an institution in the heart of Bostons Back Bay. The upscale Newbury Street location offers shoppers- tourists- business travelers and locals a hearty meal in a cozy banquette or street-side with a perfect vi
28 Degrees
28 Degrees is a offsite lounge and bar. Type of food served is American. 28 Degrees is a blend of extraordinary food superb cocktails soul stirring music and innovative design in the ultimate lounge setting. The menu is meant to compliment the social sett
29 Newbury
29 Newbury is a offsite Lounge or Bar. Type of food served is Contemporary American Continental. 29 Newbury is a trendy Cafe and sophisticated restaurant. The inventive upscale cuisine offers many options at moderate prices. 29 Newbury is definitely a rom

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (74)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel 140

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
7 out of 74
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.6

57% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Don Pedro de las Cuevas
Houston, TX
May 9, 2013

Perfect Location

Location, location, location. OK so there was no pool nor a restaurant. There was no huge lobby with chrystal chandeliers. But I failed to notice those things until we arrived home. They did have a business center, of sorts, so I could print my boarding passes. They could get you a cab out front in record time and the Hotel 140 is located right in between two subway stops each just a short walk from the front door. It is also located a block from Copley Square, and two blocks from Copley Center. The hotel is two blocks from Boyington Street and three blocks from Newbury Street. Both of these streets are loaded with Restaurants, Bars, etc. This was important because we literally ate our way though Boston while we were there. It seemd like we were always planning our next meal while enjoying the meal were were eating. Did I mension that the place has a great location. We walked and road the subway everywhere. The rooms are kinda small with tiny bathrooms, but it is a boutique hotel crammed into the old historic YWCA building. The only true complaint I have is the showers are arranged oddly. The shower heads point directly at the shower door so that you must either enter the shower to turn it on while waiting for the water to heat up or stand outside the door and get soaked when you turn it on. Really bizzar. The hotel staff were available, helpful, and polite. The value was evident when you compared room prices with the other mainstream hotels in the area which were at least twice the price. I can live without a little luxury and a few amenities when I can stay in the middle of all the action, in a nice clean room, at a fraction of the cost of the big box hotels. Highly recommended. I would have given it five stars if it were'nt for that funky shower arrangement.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Any thing you may want from fine dining to an egg on bagel breakfast sandwich are just a short walk from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carlyanded
Valencia, Calif.
Feb 22, 2012

Boston Chowdar

Took the daugther for a college tour trip......it was perfect for us and our kamakazi trip. Only thing missing was their breakfast nook to get us on the road. Closed down for some reason.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
One More Child To Go
NJ
Apr 2, 2010

Downhill dip from last year

I loved staying in this hotel last year for college visits - it was very clean, ideally located and cheap. This year was not as good - they staff didn't clean the shower above 5' - soap scum, hairs and something that might have been mildew. To add insult to injury, when I mentioned it to the hotel clerk on the 2nd morning, nothing happened. When I checked out I mentioned it again & apparently caught the person responsible for supervising the cleaning staff. She did say they'd switched cleaning services. I hope they change back quickly. Note this hotel really doesn't have amenities other than a TV, iron in room and alledgedly a fitness room (we never used it). It aggravated my daughter that it didn't have a full-length mirror but the price is the really nice thing here. Beds are firm & comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Maine
Feb 18, 2010

Odd duck out of water

Newly renovated former YWCA. Great location. Nice and clean. Plain and small room. No facial tissues. Second elevator usually out of service. Very friendly staff. Complained 3 times about ridiculously low water pressure in the shower, but no change; took twice as long to shower as usual, and never sure if I got all the soap off with the tiny water flow. High speed Internet was by cable connection (provided) but available for only one computer at a time. If the shower worked, I would have been happy, as I like odd hotels that are quiet and comfortable; but this odd duck was out of water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get the 7-day pass on the "T" and enjoy Boston's great public transit system, including the boat to the USS Constitution.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hope1tae
GA
Nov 17, 2009

moderate size room

I think the location is really wonderful. Actually, the Hotel 140 is near Back Bay station. If you walk, it takes just a few minutes. In addition, you can get most of sightseeing places easily through MBTA. The room is small, but it was clean. Most of staffs were kind. The unigue drawback is the noisy because our room was near the road. One more thing: This hotel has free Internet connections each room. But, it was hard to find the cable connection as it is located behind bed. In sum, I am satisfied with Hotel 140.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
(Not a) Bostonian
Miami, FL
Aug 18, 2009

Hostel-like Hotel

This hotel, only 4 years old (as a hotel), is a converted office building dating back to 1929 and is the original "Young Women's Christian Academy (YWCA)". Because the building is historic, the hotel is not able to advertise itself on the exterior of the building, which made it difficult for me to locate it. This led me to circle the block 2x before calling to find out why I could not locate the hotel, even though I was at the right address. The second problem is related to the first. Because this is a historic building, the hotel has not been able to create an entrance drive. The only way to arrive by vehicle is to park in the adjacent parking garage and walk with your luggage down the sidewalk to the non-descript entrance. The lobby is small, but nice, with friendly staff. However, once you go up to your floor, you are again reminded that this is not originally a hotel. The hallway is much like that of an office building, with a cold, business feel. The rooms are small, hostel-like accomodations, remniscent of dorm rooms. I found a pack of gum and a half full cup in my room, probably left there by the hospitality staff. Otherwise, the room was reasonably clean. Location is great. Price is great. So great, in fact, was the price, that I could overlook the other dissatisfying facets of the place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Maine
Jul 31, 2009

location

I booked my room with Orbitz, and was very dissappointed when I checked in to find that there was only one bed. I had been charged for a room with 2 beds, I showed this to the person at the front desk, and she was unwilling to change my room because they were booked. She said that I had a commonwealth room, which is one bed with a rollaway, and she said it was orbitz fault that was the way they reserved for me.If I had of gotten what I had paid for, I would have been fine, and it seems like I had no choice but to stay there as the city was booked.Im not sure who is at fault, but Im sure I will never book with Orbitz again, and I will never stay at hotel 140 it was a rip off

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The prudential center is close by, also newbury street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search