$121 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 26, 2014

Hotel 140

3 stars
140 Clarendon St, Boston, MA 2116
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
76 reviews
Delightful stay

I was warmly greeted upon arrival and assigned a delightful room that was very charming and fun... See full review

  • GBailey
  • Jun 2, 2013
Excellent Location - Good Value

Rooms were small - not too many perks - but adequate for a short business trip. See full review

  • MIKENYC
  • Oct 8, 2014
Refreshingly simple- modern accommodations just steps from copley square. Nestled between downtown bostons back bay and south end neighborhoods- hotel140 is surrounded by great shopping- dining- arts- history- and other attractions. Our location is fun and convenient- with easy access to mbta- amtrak- and i-90 -mass pike. All guestrooms at hotel 140 feature flat-screen tvs with cable- phones with voice mail- and complimentary high-speed internet access. Hotel 140 is home of lyric stage theatre and boasts world class dining as neighbors. Many museum tickets and boston sports club passes are available for purchase. This smoke-free hotel is within 3 blocks of boston common- and upscale shopping at copley place mall and newbury street. Short city block from back bay train station. Come discover the convenience and quality that we offer at a price you wouldnt expect in bostons back bay.

Hotel Map

42.3485 -71.0742
Nearby airports
General Edward Lawrence Logan Intl Airport, (BOS), 5.00, MI, W; Manchester Airport, (MHT), 54.00, MI, N;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel 140 also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel 140 Rooms

Deluxe
Two full - Two full - this room features two -2- pillow top beds complimentary high speed internet. Refrigerator. Cable TV. Iron and ironing board hair dryer cable television complimentary local calls and voice mail.
Standard
Description not provided
Standard
Full - One full bed - one full size bed with a pillow top mattress. Complimentary high speed internet. Refrigerator. Cable TV. Iron and ironing board hair dryer cable television complimentary local calls and voice mail.
Superior
Queen - One queen-features one -1- queen pillow top bed. Complimentary high speed internet. Refrigerator. Cable TV. Iron and ironing board hair dryer cable television complimentary local calls and voice mail.
Superior
King - King rooms feature one -1- king Size pillow top bed complimentary high speed internet. Refrigerator. Cable TV. Iron and ironing board hair dryer cable television complimentary local calls and voice mail.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Free local telephone calls
24 hour security
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Copy service
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Trinity Church: 0.1 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Copley Square: 0.2 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.6 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.7 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 0.8 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.8 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.9 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 1.1 mi
  • Fenway Park: 1.2 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 1.2 mi
  • Trinity Church: 0.1 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Copley Square: 0.2 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.6 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.7 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 0.8 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.8 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.9 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 1.1 mi
  • Fenway Park: 1.2 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 1.2 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • Boston Children's Museum: 1.3 mi
  • TD Garden: 1.4 mi
  • TD Banknorth Garden: 1.4 mi
  • Convention and Exhibition Center: 1.5 mi
  • The Paul Revere House: 1.5 mi
  • Old North Church: 1.6 mi
  • USS Constitution Museum: 2 mi
  • Bunker Hill Monument: 2 mi
  • Cruiseport Boston: 2.1 mi
  • Charlestown Navy Yard: 2.2 mi
  • Agganis Arena: 2.3 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum: 3 mi
  • Castle Island: 3.3 mi
  • Arnold Arboretum: 4.3 mi

Dining

Viga Italian Eatery- Opening Spring 2014
When we began in February of 1999- our goal was simply to provide a quality product at a reasonable price with superior customer service. Fourteen years later we remain dedicated to our original goal. At Viga- a passion for perfection is our driving force
Post 390
Post 390 puts a contemporary twist on the traditional tavern experience- with seasonally inspired dishes that reflect Chef Eric Brennans passion for fresh ingredients and unforgettable flavors. On the first floor is the Tavern - a casual but sophisticated
Stephanies On Newbury
Since its opening in 1994- Stephanies has been an institution in the heart of Bostons Back Bay. The upscale Newbury Street location offers shoppers- tourists- business travelers and locals a hearty meal in a cozy banquette or street-side with a perfect vi
28 Degrees
28 Degrees is a offsite lounge and bar. Type of food served is American. 28 Degrees is a blend of extraordinary food superb cocktails soul stirring music and innovative design in the ultimate lounge setting. The menu is meant to compliment the social sett
29 Newbury
29 Newbury is a offsite Lounge or Bar. Type of food served is Contemporary American Continental. 29 Newbury is a trendy Cafe and sophisticated restaurant. The inventive upscale cuisine offers many options at moderate prices. 29 Newbury is definitely a rom

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (76)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel 140

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
29 out of 76
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mrs. Woo
Business
Herndon, VA
Sep 8, 2014

Good find in a great part of Boston!

Our room was quiet, very clean and fit our purpose. It was small, but we weren't there that much during the day. The bathroom was small, but very clean and the shower was great! The air conditioner didn't work when we first arrived, but once we told maintenance it was fixed soon after. The staff could not have been more helpful. The location is superb - two blocks from Copley Square & metro and a half block from Amtrak and the Commuter Rail Line. AND "Flour" (great restaurant) was across the street!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

"Flour" - a pick-up/eat-in bakery and restaurant was just across the street a bit. They had great food! The lines were long, but moved fast! They supplied complimentary ice water while you wait - perfect on our hot day in September!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
A. C. Judge
Business
upstate, NY
Aug 4, 2014

great location and decent value; staff fantastic

Nice, clean boutique hotel in fantastic location. I parked my car next door upon arrival and walked or took public transportation until departure 3 days later. Wonderful staff was accommodating and friendly at all times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Patrick84
Business
Virginia Beach
Apr 5, 2014

Nice getaway

Hotel is ok, great location, can't beat the price. Might get loud during night though as they also offer long term rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Theresa reese
Business
South Plainfield , New Jersey
Jan 2, 2014

Good Deal

I stayed here on New Years Eve. It was one of the cheapest hotels I could find in the location I wanted. The room was extremely small, as well as the stand up shower. The room was very clean otherwise. The staff was also very pleasant and helpful. I would definitely consider staying here again if I need a hotel in that area. It is also about a 5 minute walk from the train station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr. Bee
Business
Northern CA
Sep 27, 2013

Great for a short stay

Very clean room, no bath, but perfectly adequate shower, small and quiet except for flushing toilets. Location was convenient for Copley Station to the museum and Symphone. Helpful and friendly staff. Would definitely stay at 140 again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mistral's very good and Legal Seafoods a fine fish place.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CES from FL
Business
Florida
Sep 19, 2013

Great Location

Its a mixed of hotel & local residents. Each have their own elevators (hotel are the upper floors). Great location (near Pru Center). Its a converted YMCA that offers a great price for the Boston Area. My only issue were the beds which are only full size (not queen) which is very small by today's standards. You can upgrade to two beds like we did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to a lot of fast food places as well as very nice places to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jencool
Business
Milton, MA
Mar 14, 2013

Disappointed!

My boyfriend and I were really looking forward to a night in Boston in the Back Bay. While the entrance was promising and the staff was incredibly nice, the room was a true disappointment. I guess $200 in Back Bay Boston gets one a "not so good" hotel room. The room was incredibly small, had only three channels on the television, and the bathroom was the caliber of a Motel 8 at Back Bay prices! Will never stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mark the Card Shark
Business
Cheshire, CT
Jan 2, 2013

Great hotel for a short stay

Small but clean rooms, great location next to Back Bay station. Reasonably priced, great place to sleep and that's about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MargieM
Business
South Africa
Apr 10, 2012

Incredible value in perfect location

Staff were amazingly friendly and helpful, especially with luggage, which we were allowed to offload early in the morning, before officially checking in. We were offered a free room upgrade on arrival, and could opt for a King or a Twin (2 large beds). I'd have preferred a firmer mattress, but that is absolutely the only fault I could find! The room had heating/aircon and plenty of desk space. Bathroom was huge, with a great shower and tons of hot water; quality toiletries and plenty of towels too. The location was even better than I'd realised - just over the road from the Back Bay subway, and very close to the John Hancock Tower, which is a useful landmark. Apparently the building was once a YWCA, now renovated and upgraded - which may partly explain the superb value. Oh, and it houses an intimate theatre, which gave us a very good performance the night we were there. I'd recommend this hotel unreservedly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The in-house theatre, which allows groups to present plays in an intimate setting. There is also a beautiful old library, for meetings or functions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milford, CT
Jun 21, 2011

Great location

Went to a show. Bathroom needs shelf or table to put toiletries.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Theater district & train station

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top