$259 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 30, 2015 Check-out: Jul 31, 2015

Hotel 140

3 stars
View map of 140 Clarendon St, Boston, MA 2116

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel 140

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
79 out of 79
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego CA
Oct 30, 2009

no-frills value

The price was right. The location was good. But it is a converted "Y" so rather spartan, yet clean and good service. Continental breakfast was sub-standard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Doyle Collection convert
Business
New York, NY
Oct 26, 2009

not what I bargained for

Beats sleeping in the car, but only by degrees! On arrival, my reservation couldn't be located in the hotel system. Ultimately it was found, but indicated that my stay was for January 2010, not October 2009. It took 1/2 hour to unravel that mystery. The guest room, while outwardly clean, had an unpleasant odor. Most annoying, the only available "closet" measured about 3 ft high by 2 ft wide, barely space enough for hanging clothes. The shower stall was so compact that I, a slim person, couldn't raise my arms without bumping open the door or dislodging the shower caddy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Saved by proximity to great shopping along Newbury Street.

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NORMLBOB
Business
Washington D.C.
Sep 15, 2009

Very Personal

In town for two Red Sox Games. The staff knew immediatley our purpose in town. They voluteered transportation tips B4 we even asked. Site at one time was exclusively a YWCA. It still retains a certain level of its roots. We were two extroverted men. After one evening the staff had adopted us as the two fish out of water. If you want to be ignored and anonymous do not stay here. If you enjoy a staff who really adapts to your personality over the course of 2-3 days this is the place.....real small, few rooms....they really do know and evaluate all of their guests needs every day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Central location. Closest T-station...Block and a 1/2(St. James St.)...Next door to Hancock Building...1 block from Copley Sq. and 10 minutes From south side of Commons.

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
East Coast
Sep 9, 2009

Nice Hotel!

Great location. Right downtown. Parking is validated. Good size room. Nice amenities for the location and price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lezardo
Business
France
Aug 31, 2009

Good location, very bad breakfast

The location is good : 20min walk from Boston Public Garden and the Historic District. The room are quite small (it's a former YWCA) and noisy. Any sound in the corridor will wake you up. The worst experience in this hotel is the breakfast. On weekends, it consists in a box of Dunkin Donuts laid on a table so that everyone helps himself. During weekdays, the café on premises is open but if you take the breakfast-included package you can only order a muffin and a coffee. It's better (and cheaper) to go to a nearby coffee shop (there is a Dunkin Donuts next door and a Finagles Bagels 5min away). We also experienced problems with the elevator (the door would not close and therefore the second elevator door would not open since one was already at the floor). There were some conference organized so that all staff attention was focused on participants leaving us helpless. A decent hotel where to go if no better available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
(Not a) Bostonian
Business
Miami, FL
Aug 18, 2009

Hostel-like Hotel

This hotel, only 4 years old (as a hotel), is a converted office building dating back to 1929 and is the original "Young Women's Christian Academy (YWCA)". Because the building is historic, the hotel is not able to advertise itself on the exterior of the building, which made it difficult for me to locate it. This led me to circle the block 2x before calling to find out why I could not locate the hotel, even though I was at the right address. The second problem is related to the first. Because this is a historic building, the hotel has not been able to create an entrance drive. The only way to arrive by vehicle is to park in the adjacent parking garage and walk with your luggage down the sidewalk to the non-descript entrance. The lobby is small, but nice, with friendly staff. However, once you go up to your floor, you are again reminded that this is not originally a hotel. The hallway is much like that of an office building, with a cold, business feel. The rooms are small, hostel-like accomodations, remniscent of dorm rooms. I found a pack of gum and a half full cup in my room, probably left there by the hospitality staff. Otherwise, the room was reasonably clean. Location is great. Price is great. So great, in fact, was the price, that I could overlook the other dissatisfying facets of the place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Aurora, IL
Aug 5, 2009

Price and location are the two pros.

I got what I expected. The room was the size of a college dorm room, except with upgraded Ikea-esque fixtures and basic furnishings. Was only in town for one night so didn't need much. Bed was fine, pillows could have been better. Not much construction work being done across the street that night so was not disturbed by any sounds. Free (wired) internet worked great. Hotel 140 validates parking in the parking garage next door (100 Clarendon).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of bars and restaurants to choose from on Boylston St. and Columbus Ave. East end of Columbus is the Theater District. Short walk to the Prudential Center which has a bunch of shops as well.

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maine
Jul 31, 2009

location

I booked my room with Orbitz, and was very dissappointed when I checked in to find that there was only one bed. I had been charged for a room with 2 beds, I showed this to the person at the front desk, and she was unwilling to change my room because they were booked. She said that I had a commonwealth room, which is one bed with a rollaway, and she said it was orbitz fault that was the way they reserved for me.If I had of gotten what I had paid for, I would have been fine, and it seems like I had no choice but to stay there as the city was booked.Im not sure who is at fault, but Im sure I will never book with Orbitz again, and I will never stay at hotel 140 it was a rip off

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The prudential center is close by, also newbury street

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis
Jul 20, 2009

A great place to stay

Great affordable place to stay with easy access (one block away) to Copley business and shopping area. Staff was very pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Head over the the Prudential Shopping plaza. Many, Many great restaurants and stores to shop at.

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Derry , NH
Jul 19, 2009

Anniversity nite

Nacy went out of her way to make sure we had the best experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sage's Mordern Italian Rest . on Washington St.

Back to menu Return to top