$199 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Hotel 140

3 stars
View map of 140 Clarendon St, Boston, MA 2116

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel 140

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
82 out of 82
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Apr 15, 2010

Good location and value

Great location 1 block from a T station. Felt like I was staying in a clean, basic dorm room (with a bathroom in the room), rather than in a full-service hotel. Still, it was an excellent value for a Boston hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
One More Child To Go
Business
NJ
Apr 2, 2010

Downhill dip from last year

I loved staying in this hotel last year for college visits - it was very clean, ideally located and cheap. This year was not as good - they staff didn't clean the shower above 5' - soap scum, hairs and something that might have been mildew. To add insult to injury, when I mentioned it to the hotel clerk on the 2nd morning, nothing happened. When I checked out I mentioned it again & apparently caught the person responsible for supervising the cleaning staff. She did say they'd switched cleaning services. I hope they change back quickly. Note this hotel really doesn't have amenities other than a TV, iron in room and alledgedly a fitness room (we never used it). It aggravated my daughter that it didn't have a full-length mirror but the price is the really nice thing here. Beds are firm & comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Krzz83
Business
Buffalo, NY
Mar 25, 2010

Convenient and affordable in Boston

I was disappointed only in the fact that I called ahead and was told that the rooms had mini fridges in them, only to arrive and see that I did not have one in my room. [...] Finally, on the day I checked out, my key card stopped working before the official check out time and I had to get it reactivated at the front desk, which was inconvenient as I was leaving.Other than those problems, I found the hotel location to be convenient and the price very reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Feeling Ripped Off Guy
Business
New York
Mar 23, 2010

Smelt Like a Hospital and Was Ugly

The place smelled like a nursing home, and the wide corridors by the elevators made me think it might have been. Room furniture was almost disposable in quality. An enormous wobbly headboard/shelf hung over us. The windows did not open, but blackened my hands when I touched them. Bad. Also, since my girlfriend JUST got out of the hospital, she had a panic attack and wanted to leave. Of course, it tired her out and then she fell asleep. We checked in at midnight, left at 7:00 and oh yeah, someone kicked off her rear view mirror where we parked on the street. Icing on the cake...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is close to a CVS where we bought tape to fix her broken car mirror.

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Craigster
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Mar 19, 2010

Good Night

Everything was great once I was in the Hotel. The only thing I feel that would have bettered my experience is if you received some warning of where to park. They have you park in a garage next to the hotel and you dont have the slightest Idea of where to park. Also there was nothing that stated your hotel was here other than the address.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

It is right next to the train station that goes right to TD bank North Garden for a fair rate.

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City, NY
Mar 10, 2010

Disrespectful.

They were rude, talked down to me, and pretended like this was the only hotel that I could book in Boston. The only good thing about it was the location. I did not feel welcome and I would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Ice Skating in the Boston Common was a LOT of fun! $12 per person (including skate rentals!)

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jazo
Business
NH
Feb 21, 2010

Great location for the price

Convenient and comfotable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maine
Feb 18, 2010

Odd duck out of water

Newly renovated former YWCA. Great location. Nice and clean. Plain and small room. No facial tissues. Second elevator usually out of service. Very friendly staff. Complained 3 times about ridiculously low water pressure in the shower, but no change; took twice as long to shower as usual, and never sure if I got all the soap off with the tiny water flow. High speed Internet was by cable connection (provided) but available for only one computer at a time. If the shower worked, I would have been happy, as I like odd hotels that are quiet and comfortable; but this odd duck was out of water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get the 7-day pass on the "T" and enjoy Boston's great public transit system, including the boat to the USS Constitution.

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maine
Feb 18, 2010

Odd duck out of water

Newly renovated former YWCA. Great location. Nice and clean. Plain and small room. No facial tissues. Second elevator usually out of service. Very friendly staff. Complained 3 times about ridiculously low water pressure in the shower, but no change; took twice as long to shower as usual, and never sure if I got all the soap off with the tiny water flow. High speed Internet was by cable connection (provided) but available for only one computer at a time. If the shower worked, I would have been happy, as I like odd hotels that are quiet and comfortable; but this odd duck was out of water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get the 7-day pass on the "T" and enjoy Boston's great public transit system, including the boat to the USS Constitution.

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte
Feb 10, 2010

Good Enough....

This hotel was fine. But that's it. Just fine. If you're traveling alone, know you're not going to spend much time in the room, and want to stay in a great part of the city cheaply, then this is your place. if you want amenities, spacious rooms, and quiet (the noise from the street below was a bit much at times), then this isn't your place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top