$121 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 26, 2014

Hotel 140

3 stars
140 Clarendon St, Boston, MA 2116
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
76 reviews
Delightful stay

I was warmly greeted upon arrival and assigned a delightful room that was very charming and fun... See full review

  • GBailey
  • Jun 2, 2013
Excellent Location - Good Value

Rooms were small - not too many perks - but adequate for a short business trip. See full review

  • MIKENYC
  • Oct 8, 2014
Affordable accommodations in a historic building near Copley Square
Located in the heart of the Back Bay, this discount boutique hotel offers European-style accommodations in a historic building that used to house the nation's first YMCA. Hotel 140 has easy access to the trendy South End, Hynes Convention Center and Copley Square. Complimentary wireless Internet access is available throughout the hotel. The hotel is home to the Lyric Stage Company theater and Stuart Street Grill. Groups find modest meeting facilities and guests have access to an adequate fitness center.
Highlights
  • Building is on the National Register of Historic Places
  • Stuart Street Grill serves inexpensive, fresh breakfast and lunch
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel
  • The Lyric Stage Company theater located onsite
Rooms

Following a full renovation in 2005, Hotel 140 features bright European-style accommodations with decorative fireplaces. Comfortable rooms feature mostly double beds, but some feature king and queen beds. Some suites can sleep up to eight guests and come with full kitchens. Private bathrooms have Neutrogena products and hair dryers.

Features
Housed in the nation's first YMCA building, Hotel 140 has received a spot on the National Register of Historic Places. This convenient location offers great value in the Back Bay. The grand entrance opens onto two spacious lobbies adorned with marble flooring, natural light and a sweeping staircase. The Kumba Library plays host to functions and meetings, while a modest on-site workout facility lets guests stay fit. The Stuart Street Grill offers breakfast and lunch and an on-site flower shop is an added perk.
Transportation
  • Hynes Convention Center (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Logan International Airport (3.5 mi/5.7 km)
Attractions
  • Public Garden & swan boats (.3 mi/.6 km)
  • Newberry Street (.4 mi/.7 km)
  • Beacon Hill (.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Harvard Square (1.7 mi/2.8 km)
Business
  • Kumba Library offers approximately 1,350 square feet
  • 3 separate meeting spaces
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi throughout hotel

Hotel Map

42.3485 -71.0742
Nearby airports
General Edward Lawrence Logan Intl Airport, (BOS), 5.00, MI, W; Manchester Airport, (MHT), 54.00, MI, N;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel 140 also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel 140 Rooms

Deluxe
Two full - Two full - this room features two -2- pillow top beds complimentary high speed internet. Refrigerator. Cable TV. Iron and ironing board hair dryer cable television complimentary local calls and voice mail.
Standard
Description not provided
Standard
Full - One full bed - one full size bed with a pillow top mattress. Complimentary high speed internet. Refrigerator. Cable TV. Iron and ironing board hair dryer cable television complimentary local calls and voice mail.
Superior
Queen - One queen-features one -1- queen pillow top bed. Complimentary high speed internet. Refrigerator. Cable TV. Iron and ironing board hair dryer cable television complimentary local calls and voice mail.
Superior
King - King rooms feature one -1- king Size pillow top bed complimentary high speed internet. Refrigerator. Cable TV. Iron and ironing board hair dryer cable television complimentary local calls and voice mail.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Free local telephone calls
24 hour security
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Copy service
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Trinity Church: 0.1 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Copley Square: 0.2 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.6 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.7 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 0.8 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.8 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.9 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 1.1 mi
  • Fenway Park: 1.2 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 1.2 mi
  • Trinity Church: 0.1 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Copley Square: 0.2 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.6 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.7 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 0.8 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.8 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.9 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 1.1 mi
  • Fenway Park: 1.2 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 1.2 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • Boston Children's Museum: 1.3 mi
  • TD Garden: 1.4 mi
  • TD Banknorth Garden: 1.4 mi
  • Convention and Exhibition Center: 1.5 mi
  • The Paul Revere House: 1.5 mi
  • Old North Church: 1.6 mi
  • USS Constitution Museum: 2 mi
  • Bunker Hill Monument: 2 mi
  • Cruiseport Boston: 2.1 mi
  • Charlestown Navy Yard: 2.2 mi
  • Agganis Arena: 2.3 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum: 3 mi
  • Castle Island: 3.3 mi
  • Arnold Arboretum: 4.3 mi

Dining

Viga Italian Eatery- Opening Spring 2014
When we began in February of 1999- our goal was simply to provide a quality product at a reasonable price with superior customer service. Fourteen years later we remain dedicated to our original goal. At Viga- a passion for perfection is our driving force
Post 390
Post 390 puts a contemporary twist on the traditional tavern experience- with seasonally inspired dishes that reflect Chef Eric Brennans passion for fresh ingredients and unforgettable flavors. On the first floor is the Tavern - a casual but sophisticated
Stephanies On Newbury
Since its opening in 1994- Stephanies has been an institution in the heart of Bostons Back Bay. The upscale Newbury Street location offers shoppers- tourists- business travelers and locals a hearty meal in a cozy banquette or street-side with a perfect vi
28 Degrees
28 Degrees is a offsite lounge and bar. Type of food served is American. 28 Degrees is a blend of extraordinary food superb cocktails soul stirring music and innovative design in the ultimate lounge setting. The menu is meant to compliment the social sett
29 Newbury
29 Newbury is a offsite Lounge or Bar. Type of food served is Contemporary American Continental. 29 Newbury is a trendy Cafe and sophisticated restaurant. The inventive upscale cuisine offers many options at moderate prices. 29 Newbury is definitely a rom

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (76)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel 140

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
76 out of 76
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Casey D, Lover of Convenience
Business
Bristol, CT
Feb 6, 2010

Perfect location and the perfect room

We had dinner reservations and tickets to a comdey show at Nicks Comedy house. We found the location of Hotel 140 to be perfect. It was only a 10 minute walk from where we were going for the evening so we parked our car in the garage next door. We even got a reduced rate for parking from the hotel. The hotel was very friendly and presentable. The young women working the front desk was very curteous and helpful. She gave us walking directions to our desitation for the evening. The room was clean and modern. The window din't have much of a view but it brightened up the room and made it seem not so small. There was a computer room and small gym on the floor we were staying and a fridge and tv in the room. There was a restaurant attached to the hotel that servered a wide variety of breakfast lunch and dinner items. Kind of a diner feel. The hotel felt secure, you had to use your room key to use the elevator to your floor. The only thing we didn't like is the room did not have an interior lock on the door. That being said, we will probably stay here on our next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh
May 11, 2009

DC

It was a quick stay but the service was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arlington, TX
May 12, 2009

Comfortable, clean, convenient

This is a no-frills hotel that had everything I needed for a business trip. It was clean, comfortable, and conveniently located about 2 blocks from the conference hotel where I would have paid twice the price. A map of where things were located in the hotel would have been helpful and an explanation of the elevator key system. I really liked being able to open the window in my room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss the Skywalk at Prudential Tower. It's a great place to start your tour of Boston if you've never been there before.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milford, CT
Jun 21, 2011

Great location

Went to a show. Bathroom needs shelf or table to put toiletries.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Theater district & train station

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NOYB
Jan 10, 2011

A basic hotel in a fantastic location

I was a little wary at first because so many reviews were bad but I really liked it. It is true that it is not a luxury hotel and it does indeed have a dorm feel to it but the room was clean and everything was in working order. I really didn't need anything more than that. It was great to be a block and half off of Copley Square. Every place I need to go was in walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oakville, CT
May 26, 2009

Great location for price.

Great stay for the price paid. Very execptional stay at this hotel. Deff would do it again and most likely will. Great location on the strip and in the middle of Boston which makes easy walk to ANYWHERE. I really enjoyed this stay and cannot wait to come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Prudential Center. Everything is on the strip and EVERYTHING is within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mrs. Woo
Business
Herndon, VA
Sep 8, 2014

Good find in a great part of Boston!

Our room was quiet, very clean and fit our purpose. It was small, but we weren't there that much during the day. The bathroom was small, but very clean and the shower was great! The air conditioner didn't work when we first arrived, but once we told maintenance it was fixed soon after. The staff could not have been more helpful. The location is superb - two blocks from Copley Square & metro and a half block from Amtrak and the Commuter Rail Line. AND "Flour" (great restaurant) was across the street!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

"Flour" - a pick-up/eat-in bakery and restaurant was just across the street a bit. They had great food! The lines were long, but moved fast! They supplied complimentary ice water while you wait - perfect on our hot day in September!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling on business11
Business
Providence, RI
Sep 18, 2014

Hotel 140

Great location. Staff was friendly and the room was clean. No complaints at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MIKENYC
Business
NYC
Oct 8, 2014

Excellent Location - Good Value

Rooms were small - not too many perks - but adequate for a short business trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Flour Bakery & Café - great place - try the chia pudding. Coda Bar & Kitchen - good place for a late bite.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MargieM
Business
South Africa
Apr 10, 2012

Incredible value in perfect location

Staff were amazingly friendly and helpful, especially with luggage, which we were allowed to offload early in the morning, before officially checking in. We were offered a free room upgrade on arrival, and could opt for a King or a Twin (2 large beds). I'd have preferred a firmer mattress, but that is absolutely the only fault I could find! The room had heating/aircon and plenty of desk space. Bathroom was huge, with a great shower and tons of hot water; quality toiletries and plenty of towels too. The location was even better than I'd realised - just over the road from the Back Bay subway, and very close to the John Hancock Tower, which is a useful landmark. Apparently the building was once a YWCA, now renovated and upgraded - which may partly explain the superb value. Oh, and it houses an intimate theatre, which gave us a very good performance the night we were there. I'd recommend this hotel unreservedly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The in-house theatre, which allows groups to present plays in an intimate setting. There is also a beautiful old library, for meetings or functions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top