$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 3, 2015 Check-out: May 4, 2015

Hotel 140

3 stars
View map of 140 Clarendon St, Boston, MA 2116

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel 140

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
80 out of 80
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Annemarie
Business
Boston
Sep 21, 2012

Suited my short stay.

Ordinary. Good location But otherwise just average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good value and good service

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Danni26
Business
New York, NY
Mar 18, 2013

Great location, acceptable hotel

The room was a bit smaller than I expected but the staff was extremely nice and helpful. The location was perfect though, right next to the Prudential center. A good place for a weekend stay if you don't have a car and don't need anything too fancy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte
Feb 10, 2010

Good Enough....

This hotel was fine. But that's it. Just fine. If you're traveling alone, know you're not going to spend much time in the room, and want to stay in a great part of the city cheaply, then this is your place. if you want amenities, spacious rooms, and quiet (the noise from the street below was a bit much at times), then this isn't your place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
(Not a) Bostonian
Business
Miami, FL
Aug 18, 2009

Hostel-like Hotel

This hotel, only 4 years old (as a hotel), is a converted office building dating back to 1929 and is the original "Young Women's Christian Academy (YWCA)". Because the building is historic, the hotel is not able to advertise itself on the exterior of the building, which made it difficult for me to locate it. This led me to circle the block 2x before calling to find out why I could not locate the hotel, even though I was at the right address. The second problem is related to the first. Because this is a historic building, the hotel has not been able to create an entrance drive. The only way to arrive by vehicle is to park in the adjacent parking garage and walk with your luggage down the sidewalk to the non-descript entrance. The lobby is small, but nice, with friendly staff. However, once you go up to your floor, you are again reminded that this is not originally a hotel. The hallway is much like that of an office building, with a cold, business feel. The rooms are small, hostel-like accomodations, remniscent of dorm rooms. I found a pack of gum and a half full cup in my room, probably left there by the hospitality staff. Otherwise, the room was reasonably clean. Location is great. Price is great. So great, in fact, was the price, that I could overlook the other dissatisfying facets of the place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
One More Child To Go
Business
NJ
Apr 2, 2010

Downhill dip from last year

I loved staying in this hotel last year for college visits - it was very clean, ideally located and cheap. This year was not as good - they staff didn't clean the shower above 5' - soap scum, hairs and something that might have been mildew. To add insult to injury, when I mentioned it to the hotel clerk on the 2nd morning, nothing happened. When I checked out I mentioned it again & apparently caught the person responsible for supervising the cleaning staff. She did say they'd switched cleaning services. I hope they change back quickly. Note this hotel really doesn't have amenities other than a TV, iron in room and alledgedly a fitness room (we never used it). It aggravated my daughter that it didn't have a full-length mirror but the price is the really nice thing here. Beds are firm & comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
noyb
Jan 3, 2010

hard to find

The Hotel 140 is the YWCA at Copley square in Boston.. Not one sign to tell you your at this hotel until you are in the lobby. With that said, nice room comfortable bed. [...] failed to notify the hotel of my reservation spent 30 min on hold with them at check in to confirm the reservation, the hotel 140 would have given me the same rate as a walk in. [...] really dropped the ball. Overall a nice room at a great rate in the center of Boston, just try finding it.. YWCA at base of John Hancock tower.. NO SIGN..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Back Bay T stop

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Aurora, IL
Aug 5, 2009

Price and location are the two pros.

I got what I expected. The room was the size of a college dorm room, except with upgraded Ikea-esque fixtures and basic furnishings. Was only in town for one night so didn't need much. Bed was fine, pillows could have been better. Not much construction work being done across the street that night so was not disturbed by any sounds. Free (wired) internet worked great. Hotel 140 validates parking in the parking garage next door (100 Clarendon).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of bars and restaurants to choose from on Boylston St. and Columbus Ave. East end of Columbus is the Theater District. Short walk to the Prudential Center which has a bunch of shops as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lezardo
Business
France
Aug 31, 2009

Good location, very bad breakfast

The location is good : 20min walk from Boston Public Garden and the Historic District. The room are quite small (it's a former YWCA) and noisy. Any sound in the corridor will wake you up. The worst experience in this hotel is the breakfast. On weekends, it consists in a box of Dunkin Donuts laid on a table so that everyone helps himself. During weekdays, the café on premises is open but if you take the breakfast-included package you can only order a muffin and a coffee. It's better (and cheaper) to go to a nearby coffee shop (there is a Dunkin Donuts next door and a Finagles Bagels 5min away). We also experienced problems with the elevator (the door would not close and therefore the second elevator door would not open since one was already at the floor). There were some conference organized so that all staff attention was focused on participants leaving us helpless. A decent hotel where to go if no better available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hope1tae
Business
GA
Nov 17, 2009

moderate size room

I think the location is really wonderful. Actually, the Hotel 140 is near Back Bay station. If you walk, it takes just a few minutes. In addition, you can get most of sightseeing places easily through MBTA. The room is small, but it was clean. Most of staffs were kind. The unigue drawback is the noisy because our room was near the road. One more thing: This hotel has free Internet connections each room. But, it was hard to find the cable connection as it is located behind bed. In sum, I am satisfied with Hotel 140.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
madison wi
Dec 9, 2009

good location/price

Overall positive. Room small but OK. Free internet a plus. Poor shower

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top