$179 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Hotel 140

3 stars
View map of 140 Clarendon St, Boston, MA 2116

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel 140

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
82 out of 82
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maine
Jul 31, 2009

location

I booked my room with Orbitz, and was very dissappointed when I checked in to find that there was only one bed. I had been charged for a room with 2 beds, I showed this to the person at the front desk, and she was unwilling to change my room because they were booked. She said that I had a commonwealth room, which is one bed with a rollaway, and she said it was orbitz fault that was the way they reserved for me.If I had of gotten what I had paid for, I would have been fine, and it seems like I had no choice but to stay there as the city was booked.Im not sure who is at fault, but Im sure I will never book with Orbitz again, and I will never stay at hotel 140 it was a rip off

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The prudential center is close by, also newbury street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Spokane, WA
Dec 5, 2009

good location but ...

Small rooms. Tiny bathroom. Overall:below average

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Dec 4, 2009

Hotel 140 - small, but clean

The hotel staff was pleasant, but management had just discontinued the complimentary breakfast as of Dec. 1. Location was within walking distance of some sites, conference center and nice restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RDJ
Business
Detroit
Nov 1, 2009

By the book

I was disappointed that I was not able to check in early. I was not able to check in till exactly 3pm at which point I had to get my own bags from the clerk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Apr 21, 2008

TOO SMALL!

It was clean. The best part of this stay was the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

great location to shopping and restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Someguy
Business
N/A
Jan 21, 2015

One night stay

Hotel was average to below average. Decor was bad, hallways were dirty - looked like they hadnt been vacuumed in a while. Gave me doubts about the room. Room was fine, smoke detector kept flashing (brightly) all night. Glad I was only there for ~6hrs before my flight. There are many better choices in Boston for the same or a little more money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Someguy
Business
N/A
Mar 10, 2015

Night before early flight

The hotel was fine, but there are better places to stay in Boston. Location is good, but hotel and rooms are outdated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lonely Traveler1
Business
N/A
Apr 22, 2015

Friendly get together

Tried to have a few friends over for a get together yet the room wax so small. The smallest I have ever seen it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Theresa reese
Business
South Plainfield , New Jersey
Jan 2, 2014

Good Deal

I stayed here on New Years Eve. It was one of the cheapest hotels I could find in the location I wanted. The room was extremely small, as well as the stand up shower. The room was very clean otherwise. The staff was also very pleasant and helpful. I would definitely consider staying here again if I need a hotel in that area. It is also about a 5 minute walk from the train station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Flyrod
Business
West Springfield, MA, USA
Jan 30, 2012

Great location

This place was a great value with an excellent location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Red Lantern sushi restaurant wasn't listed anywhere I looked and it is almost right across the street!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top