$199 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

Hotel 140

3 stars
View map of 140 Clarendon St, Boston, MA 2116

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel 140

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
79 out of 79
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Dec 4, 2009

Hotel 140 - small, but clean

The hotel staff was pleasant, but management had just discontinued the complimentary breakfast as of Dec. 1. Location was within walking distance of some sites, conference center and nice restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RDJ
Business
Detroit
Nov 1, 2009

By the book

I was disappointed that I was not able to check in early. I was not able to check in till exactly 3pm at which point I had to get my own bags from the clerk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Apr 21, 2008

TOO SMALL!

It was clean. The best part of this stay was the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

great location to shopping and restaurants.

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Someguy
Single
N/A
Jan 21, 2015

One night stay

Hotel was average to below average. Decor was bad, hallways were dirty - looked like they hadnt been vacuumed in a while. Gave me doubts about the room. Room was fine, smoke detector kept flashing (brightly) all night. Glad I was only there for ~6hrs before my flight. There are many better choices in Boston for the same or a little more money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Someguy
Single
N/A
Mar 10, 2015

Night before early flight

The hotel was fine, but there are better places to stay in Boston. Location is good, but hotel and rooms are outdated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lonely Traveler1
Business
N/A
Apr 22, 2015

Friendly get together

Tried to have a few friends over for a get together yet the room wax so small. The smallest I have ever seen it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Theresa reese
Couples
South Plainfield , New Jersey
Jan 2, 2014

Good Deal

I stayed here on New Years Eve. It was one of the cheapest hotels I could find in the location I wanted. The room was extremely small, as well as the stand up shower. The room was very clean otherwise. The staff was also very pleasant and helpful. I would definitely consider staying here again if I need a hotel in that area. It is also about a 5 minute walk from the train station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Flyrod
Business
West Springfield, MA, USA
Jan 30, 2012

Great location

This place was a great value with an excellent location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Red Lantern sushi restaurant wasn't listed anywhere I looked and it is almost right across the street!

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Soph
Single
Surrey, England
Jun 22, 2012

Reasonable value

For the location and price you can't go wrong. The rooms are small but clean. The shower was a bit weak but it worked. The staff were friendly and helpful. I would use again for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Annemarie
Single
Boston
Sep 21, 2012

Suited my short stay.

Ordinary. Good location But otherwise just average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good value and good service

Back to menu Return to top