$189 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Hotel 140

3 stars
View map of 140 Clarendon St, Boston, MA 2116

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
79 reviews
bussiness trip

good hotel. its location is good too. it is clean. See full review

  • Zhixiang W.
  • Jul 14, 2015
Unique hotel

Very comfortable though the lack of a real lobby was a little different. See full review

  • Wendy W.
  • Jan 16, 2015
Located in the heart of the Back Bay, this discount boutique hotel offers European-style accommodations in a historic building that used to house the nation's first YMCA. Hotel 140 has easy access to the trendy South End, Hynes Convention Center and Copley Square. Complimentary wireless Internet access is available throughout the hotel. The hotel is home to the Lyric Stage Company theater and Stuart Street Grill. Groups find modest meeting facilities and guests have access to an adequate fitness center.
Rooms

Following a full renovation in 2005, Hotel 140 features bright European-style accommodations with decorative fireplaces. Comfortable rooms feature mostly double beds, but some feature king and queen beds. Some suites can sleep up to eight guests and come with full kitchens. Private bathrooms have Neutrogena products and hair dryers.

Property features
Housed in the nation's first YMCA building, Hotel 140 has received a spot on the National Register of Historic Places. This convenient location offers great value in the Back Bay. The grand entrance opens onto two spacious lobbies adorned with marble flooring, natural light and a sweeping staircase. The Kumba Library plays host to functions and meetings, while a modest on-site workout facility lets guests stay fit. The Stuart Street Grill offers breakfast and lunch and an on-site flower shop is an added perk.
Highlights
  • Building is on the National Register of Historic Places
  • Stuart Street Grill serves inexpensive, fresh breakfast and lunch
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel
  • The Lyric Stage Company theater located onsite
Nearby attractions
  • Public Garden & swan boats (.3 mi/.6 km)
  • Newberry Street (.4 mi/.7 km)
  • Beacon Hill (.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Harvard Square (1.7 mi/2.8 km)
Business
  • Kumba Library offers approximately 1,350 square feet
  • 3 separate meeting spaces
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi throughout hotel
Transportation
  • Hynes Convention Center (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Logan International Airport (3.5 mi/5.7 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel 140 also booked these hotels.

★★★
$170
3.3 / 5 64 reviews
★★
$159
3.3 / 5 150 reviews
★★★★
$267
4.1 / 5 71 reviews
★★★★
$263
4.2 / 5 112 reviews
★★★
$196
4.1 / 5 170 reviews
★★★★
$245
4.2 / 5 169 reviews
★★★★
$302
4.6 / 5 229 reviews
★★★★
$224
4.3 / 5 117 reviews
★★★
$223
4.0 / 5 28 reviews

Hotel 140 Rooms

Deluxe
Two full - Two full - this room features two -2- pillow top beds complimentary high speed internet. Refrigerator. Cable TV. Iron and ironing board hair dryer cable television complimentary local calls and voice mail.
Standard
Full - One full bed - one full size bed with a pillow top mattress. Complimentary high speed internet. Refrigerator. Cable TV. Iron and ironing board hair dryer cable television complimentary local calls and voice mail.
Standard
Description not provided
Standard
Twin - Twin-features two -2- twin pillow top bed. Complimentary High speed internet. Refrigerator. Cable tv. Iron and ironing board hair dryer cable television complimentary local calls and voice mail.
Superior
Queen - One queen-features one -1- queen pillow top bed. Complimentary high speed internet. Refrigerator. Cable TV. Iron and ironing board hair dryer cable television complimentary local calls and voice mail.
Superior
King - King rooms feature one -1- king Size pillow top bed complimentary high speed internet. Refrigerator. Cable TV. Iron and ironing board hair dryer cable television complimentary local calls and voice mail.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Free local telephone calls
24 hour security
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Copy service
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Trinity Church: 0.1 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Copley Square: 0.2 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.6 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.7 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 0.8 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.8 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.9 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 1.1 mi
  • Fenway Park: 1.2 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 1.2 mi
  • Trinity Church: 0.1 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Copley Square: 0.2 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.6 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.7 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 0.8 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.8 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.9 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 1.1 mi
  • Fenway Park: 1.2 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 1.2 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • Boston Children's Museum: 1.3 mi
  • TD Garden: 1.4 mi
  • TD Banknorth Garden: 1.4 mi
  • Convention and Exhibition Center: 1.5 mi
  • The Paul Revere House: 1.5 mi
  • Old North Church: 1.6 mi
  • USS Constitution Museum: 2 mi
  • Bunker Hill Monument: 2 mi
  • Cruiseport Boston: 2.1 mi
  • Charlestown Navy Yard: 2.2 mi
  • Agganis Arena: 2.3 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum: 3 mi
  • Castle Island: 3.3 mi
  • Arnold Arboretum: 4.3 mi

Dining

Viga Italian Eatery
When we began in February of 1999- our goal was simply to provide a quality product at a reasonable price with superior customer service. Fourteen years later we remain dedicated to our original goal. At Viga- a passion for perfection is our driving force. Our menu is designed to provide you with a varie
Stephanies On Newbury
Since its opening in 1994- Stephanies has been an institution in the heart of Bostons Back Bay. The upscale Newbury Street location offers shoppers- tourists- business travelers and locals a hearty meal in a cozy banquette or street-side with a perfect view for people-watching. Owner Stephanie Sokolove s
28 Degrees
28 Degrees is a offsite lounge and bar. Type of food served is American. 28 Degrees is a blend of extraordinary food superb cocktails soul stirring music and innovative design in the ultimate lounge setting. The menu is meant to compliment the social setting of the space. Hours of operation Sunday to Th
29 Newbury
29 Newbury is a offsite Lounge or Bar. Type of food served is Contemporary American Continental. 29 Newbury is a trendy Cafe and sophisticated restaurant. The inventive upscale cuisine offers many options at moderate prices. 29 Newbury is definitely a romantic spot for a quiet dinner. Hours of operation

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Hotel 140

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 79
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Greg Mayer
Business
Lubbock, TX
Feb 26, 2013

Great hotel in the Back Bay!

Staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the room was clean. Great old building in a perfect location in the back bay. Lots of nearby restaurants, shopping, etc. and close to Fenway!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fitchburg
Dec 18, 2008

Immaculate and Convenient

We were pleasantly surprised that the Hotel 140 was completely renovated and immaculately clean. The location was excellent - right across from Copley Plaza. The offering for breakfast was meager but adequate. It would have been nice to have access to coffee or tea during our stay. We will definitely go back and share the good news with family and friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

moderate walk to Boston Common and Gardens

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pleasant Hill
Aug 12, 2008

Great for a single person

Hotel 140 was in a great location (a block or so from Boston's Copley Square), it was clean, modern, hotel staff was professional and helpful--what more did I want for one night? I don't know if it would be comfortable for a long stay as the room was kind of smallish and there was no closet to hang things full-length. But I would definately go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Boutiques on Newbury Street and major department stores very close by.

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
egunz
Business
Charlotte, NC
Nov 25, 2013

Great location

Very convenient to everything and had everything we needed. Small but comfortable rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis
Jul 20, 2009

A great place to stay

Great affordable place to stay with easy access (one block away) to Copley business and shopping area. Staff was very pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Head over the the Prudential Shopping plaza. Many, Many great restaurants and stores to shop at.

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Mar 3, 2009

Very interesing

I read reviews about the hotel before I booked and was not quiet sure what to expect, but was very pleasantly surprised. I totally got what they were going for with the style. The rooms are in a historic YWCA. The floors are linoleum, and the room was very minimalist. It was as if you were renting a room at the Y, but in Japan. Updated features, like a very asian sink, and small shower, with wonderful green tea soaps, as well as photos of exercise classes from the 30's and 40's completed the atmosphere. It is definietly not for someone looking for an over-the-top plush room, but, if you can get into the "I'm staying at a historic YWCA and they are trying to give me a little of that flavor", it is great. The location was fantastic! A block from Coply square and the subway, and minutes from upscale shops made it a very enjoyable stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dutch lady
Business
New York
Nov 16, 2009

great location and price

I only stayed 1 night at the hotel. Arrived late and had to leave for a meeting early in the morning. The staff was very friendly and helpfull,the room was clean, quiet and comfortable. If I have to go to Boston again I would definitly come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Krzz83
Business
Buffalo, NY
Mar 25, 2010

Convenient and affordable in Boston

I was disappointed only in the fact that I called ahead and was told that the rooms had mini fridges in them, only to arrive and see that I did not have one in my room. [...] Finally, on the day I checked out, my key card stopped working before the official check out time and I had to get it reactivated at the front desk, which was inconvenient as I was leaving.Other than those problems, I found the hotel location to be convenient and the price very reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Larry the Traveller
Business
Washington, D.C.
Apr 6, 2009

Just right.

Exactly what one needs for a business trip to Boston. Right in Copley Square...easy to hail a cab and T-accessable. Very nice and knowledgable staff. Room was quite small (not much bigger than the bed) but it was very clean and tidy (I had a great view of the Hancock building). Several dinner and cocktail options nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just walk North, South or West (not much to the East).

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
East Coast
Sep 9, 2009

Nice Hotel!

Great location. Right downtown. Parking is validated. Good size room. Nice amenities for the location and price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top