$319 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 29, 2014 Check-out: Sep 30, 2014

Hotel 140

3 stars
140 Clarendon St, Boston, MA 2116
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
74 reviews
Delightful stay

I was warmly greeted upon arrival and assigned a delightful room that was very charming and fun... See full review

  • GBailey
  • Jun 2, 2013
Good find in a great part of Boston!

Our room was quiet, very clean and fit our purpose. It was small, but we weren't there that much... See full review

  • Mrs. Woo
  • Sep 8, 2014
Affordable accommodations in a historic building near Copley Square
Located in the heart of the Back Bay, this discount boutique hotel offers European-style accommodations in a historic building that used to house the nation's first YMCA. Hotel 140 has easy access to the trendy South End, Hynes Convention Center and Copley Square. Complimentary wireless Internet access is available throughout the hotel. The hotel is home to the Lyric Stage Company theater and Stuart Street Grill. Groups find modest meeting facilities and guests have access to an adequate fitness center.
Highlights
  • Building is on the National Register of Historic Places
  • Stuart Street Grill serves inexpensive, fresh breakfast and lunch
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel
  • The Lyric Stage Company theater located onsite
Rooms

Following a full renovation in 2005, Hotel 140 features bright European-style accommodations with decorative fireplaces. Comfortable rooms feature mostly double beds, but some feature king and queen beds. Some suites can sleep up to eight guests and come with full kitchens. Private bathrooms have Neutrogena products and hair dryers.

Features
Housed in the nation's first YMCA building, Hotel 140 has received a spot on the National Register of Historic Places. This convenient location offers great value in the Back Bay. The grand entrance opens onto two spacious lobbies adorned with marble flooring, natural light and a sweeping staircase. The Kumba Library plays host to functions and meetings, while a modest on-site workout facility lets guests stay fit. The Stuart Street Grill offers breakfast and lunch and an on-site flower shop is an added perk.
Transportation
  • Hynes Convention Center (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Logan International Airport (3.5 mi/5.7 km)
Attractions
  • Public Garden & swan boats (.3 mi/.6 km)
  • Newberry Street (.4 mi/.7 km)
  • Beacon Hill (.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Harvard Square (1.7 mi/2.8 km)
Business
  • Kumba Library offers approximately 1,350 square feet
  • 3 separate meeting spaces
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi throughout hotel

Hotel Map

42.3485 -71.0742
Nearby airports
General Edward Lawrence Logan Intl Airport, (BOS), 5.00, MI, W; Manchester Airport, (MHT), 54.00, MI, N;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel 140 also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel 140 Rooms

Deluxe
Two full - Two full - this room features two -2- pillow top beds complimentary high speed internet. Refrigerator. Cable TV. Iron and ironing board hair dryer cable television complimentary local calls and voice mail.
Standard
Description not provided
Standard
Full - One full bed - one full size bed with a pillow top mattress. Complimentary high speed internet. Refrigerator. Cable TV. Iron and ironing board hair dryer cable television complimentary local calls and voice mail.
Superior
Queen - One queen-features one -1- queen pillow top bed. Complimentary high speed internet. Refrigerator. Cable TV. Iron and ironing board hair dryer cable television complimentary local calls and voice mail.
Superior
King - King rooms feature one -1- king Size pillow top bed complimentary high speed internet. Refrigerator. Cable TV. Iron and ironing board hair dryer cable television complimentary local calls and voice mail.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Free local telephone calls
24 hour security
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Copy service
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Trinity Church: 0.1 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Copley Square: 0.2 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.6 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.7 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 0.8 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.8 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.9 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 1.1 mi
  • Fenway Park: 1.2 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 1.2 mi
  • Trinity Church: 0.1 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Copley Square: 0.2 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.6 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.7 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 0.8 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.8 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.9 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 1.1 mi
  • Fenway Park: 1.2 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 1.2 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • Boston Children's Museum: 1.3 mi
  • TD Garden: 1.4 mi
  • TD Banknorth Garden: 1.4 mi
  • Convention and Exhibition Center: 1.5 mi
  • The Paul Revere House: 1.5 mi
  • Old North Church: 1.6 mi
  • USS Constitution Museum: 2 mi
  • Bunker Hill Monument: 2 mi
  • Cruiseport Boston: 2.1 mi
  • Charlestown Navy Yard: 2.2 mi
  • Agganis Arena: 2.3 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum: 3 mi
  • Castle Island: 3.3 mi
  • Arnold Arboretum: 4.3 mi

Dining

Viga Italian Eatery- Opening Spring 2014
When we began in February of 1999- our goal was simply to provide a quality product at a reasonable price with superior customer service. Fourteen years later we remain dedicated to our original goal. At Viga- a passion for perfection is our driving force
Post 390
Post 390 puts a contemporary twist on the traditional tavern experience- with seasonally inspired dishes that reflect Chef Eric Brennans passion for fresh ingredients and unforgettable flavors. On the first floor is the Tavern - a casual but sophisticated
Stephanies On Newbury
Since its opening in 1994- Stephanies has been an institution in the heart of Bostons Back Bay. The upscale Newbury Street location offers shoppers- tourists- business travelers and locals a hearty meal in a cozy banquette or street-side with a perfect vi
28 Degrees
28 Degrees is a offsite lounge and bar. Type of food served is American. 28 Degrees is a blend of extraordinary food superb cocktails soul stirring music and innovative design in the ultimate lounge setting. The menu is meant to compliment the social sett
29 Newbury
29 Newbury is a offsite Lounge or Bar. Type of food served is Contemporary American Continental. 29 Newbury is a trendy Cafe and sophisticated restaurant. The inventive upscale cuisine offers many options at moderate prices. 29 Newbury is definitely a rom

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (74)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel 140

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
27 out of 74
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pleasant Hill
Aug 12, 2008

Great for a single person

Hotel 140 was in a great location (a block or so from Boston's Copley Square), it was clean, modern, hotel staff was professional and helpful--what more did I want for one night? I don't know if it would be comfortable for a long stay as the room was kind of smallish and there was no closet to hang things full-length. But I would definately go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Boutiques on Newbury Street and major department stores very close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fitchburg
Dec 18, 2008

Immaculate and Convenient

We were pleasantly surprised that the Hotel 140 was completely renovated and immaculately clean. The location was excellent - right across from Copley Plaza. The offering for breakfast was meager but adequate. It would have been nice to have access to coffee or tea during our stay. We will definitely go back and share the good news with family and friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

moderate walk to Boston Common and Gardens

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Greg Mayer
Business
Lubbock, TX
Feb 26, 2013

Great hotel in the Back Bay!

Staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the room was clean. Great old building in a perfect location in the back bay. Lots of nearby restaurants, shopping, etc. and close to Fenway!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NOYB
Jan 10, 2011

A basic hotel in a fantastic location

I was a little wary at first because so many reviews were bad but I really liked it. It is true that it is not a luxury hotel and it does indeed have a dorm feel to it but the room was clean and everything was in working order. I really didn't need anything more than that. It was great to be a block and half off of Copley Square. Every place I need to go was in walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
East Coast
Sep 9, 2009

Nice Hotel!

Great location. Right downtown. Parking is validated. Good size room. Nice amenities for the location and price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 27, 2008

It was just okay.

The Hotel 140 reminded me of home when there were 10 kids. The floors were linoleum tile and nothing fancy. A no'easter came in and we were out of the room from 8 to 12 noon with the please make up room sign on the door, but they didn't. We were then gone from 4 to 6 PM and they still didn't redo the room. Can't say that I left the maid a tip. Everything seemed very clean however. Since I was paying for the room it really was a great value for the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to shopping and eating (Legal Seafoods) at the Prudential Center. Also all the shopping on Newberry Street. Mostly it was close to my meeting at the Fairmont Copley Square Hotel and a lot more reasonable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis
Jul 20, 2009

A great place to stay

Great affordable place to stay with easy access (one block away) to Copley business and shopping area. Staff was very pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Head over the the Prudential Shopping plaza. Many, Many great restaurants and stores to shop at.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Larry the Traveller
Business
Washington, D.C.
Apr 6, 2009

Just right.

Exactly what one needs for a business trip to Boston. Right in Copley Square...easy to hail a cab and T-accessable. Very nice and knowledgable staff. Room was quite small (not much bigger than the bed) but it was very clean and tidy (I had a great view of the Hancock building). Several dinner and cocktail options nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just walk North, South or West (not much to the East).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Mar 3, 2009

Very interesing

I read reviews about the hotel before I booked and was not quiet sure what to expect, but was very pleasantly surprised. I totally got what they were going for with the style. The rooms are in a historic YWCA. The floors are linoleum, and the room was very minimalist. It was as if you were renting a room at the Y, but in Japan. Updated features, like a very asian sink, and small shower, with wonderful green tea soaps, as well as photos of exercise classes from the 30's and 40's completed the atmosphere. It is definietly not for someone looking for an over-the-top plush room, but, if you can get into the "I'm staying at a historic YWCA and they are trying to give me a little of that flavor", it is great. The location was fantastic! A block from Coply square and the subway, and minutes from upscale shops made it a very enjoyable stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh
May 11, 2009

DC

It was a quick stay but the service was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search