$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

Hotel 140

3 stars
View map of 140 Clarendon St, Boston, MA 2116

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel 140

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
79 out of 79
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
noyb
Jan 3, 2010

hard to find

The Hotel 140 is the YWCA at Copley square in Boston.. Not one sign to tell you your at this hotel until you are in the lobby. With that said, nice room comfortable bed. [...] failed to notify the hotel of my reservation spent 30 min on hold with them at check in to confirm the reservation, the hotel 140 would have given me the same rate as a walk in. [...] really dropped the ball. Overall a nice room at a great rate in the center of Boston, just try finding it.. YWCA at base of John Hancock tower.. NO SIGN..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Back Bay T stop

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Aurora, IL
Aug 5, 2009

Price and location are the two pros.

I got what I expected. The room was the size of a college dorm room, except with upgraded Ikea-esque fixtures and basic furnishings. Was only in town for one night so didn't need much. Bed was fine, pillows could have been better. Not much construction work being done across the street that night so was not disturbed by any sounds. Free (wired) internet worked great. Hotel 140 validates parking in the parking garage next door (100 Clarendon).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of bars and restaurants to choose from on Boylston St. and Columbus Ave. East end of Columbus is the Theater District. Short walk to the Prudential Center which has a bunch of shops as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lezardo
Business
France
Aug 31, 2009

Good location, very bad breakfast

The location is good : 20min walk from Boston Public Garden and the Historic District. The room are quite small (it's a former YWCA) and noisy. Any sound in the corridor will wake you up. The worst experience in this hotel is the breakfast. On weekends, it consists in a box of Dunkin Donuts laid on a table so that everyone helps himself. During weekdays, the café on premises is open but if you take the breakfast-included package you can only order a muffin and a coffee. It's better (and cheaper) to go to a nearby coffee shop (there is a Dunkin Donuts next door and a Finagles Bagels 5min away). We also experienced problems with the elevator (the door would not close and therefore the second elevator door would not open since one was already at the floor). There were some conference organized so that all staff attention was focused on participants leaving us helpless. A decent hotel where to go if no better available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hope1tae
Business
GA
Nov 17, 2009

moderate size room

I think the location is really wonderful. Actually, the Hotel 140 is near Back Bay station. If you walk, it takes just a few minutes. In addition, you can get most of sightseeing places easily through MBTA. The room is small, but it was clean. Most of staffs were kind. The unigue drawback is the noisy because our room was near the road. One more thing: This hotel has free Internet connections each room. But, it was hard to find the cable connection as it is located behind bed. In sum, I am satisfied with Hotel 140.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
madison wi
Dec 9, 2009

good location/price

Overall positive. Room small but OK. Free internet a plus. Poor shower

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Apr 15, 2010

Good location and value

Great location 1 block from a T station. Felt like I was staying in a clean, basic dorm room (with a bathroom in the room), rather than in a full-service hotel. Still, it was an excellent value for a Boston hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Hollywood
Nov 22, 2008

If you are young...

... it is a step above a youth hostel. I do not recommend this place for parents visiting their children in one of the numerous close by schools or out of town older tourists. When I got off the elevator to go to my room I was transported back to college. Even the smell; this place even used the same cleaning products as the staff of my old dormitory. The floors are cold and tiled and just boxy. The shower is so small that you either have to get inside, shut the door and freeze or burn until the water temperature gets set OR you deal with water going all over the floor as you wait for comfortable water. I wasn't expecting much and I wasn't disappointed. I was there purely for location and used the room as a place to lay my hat only. It served its purpose. (Although I was a little upset they had the nerve to equate bare and sterile as modern and Classic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Copley Square, Boylston Street, The Westin Hotel (which has a great indoor, upscale shopping mall)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego CA
Oct 30, 2009

no-frills value

The price was right. The location was good. But it is a converted "Y" so rather spartan, yet clean and good service. Continental breakfast was sub-standard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 21, 2008

My review of Hotel 140

very clean hotel & room, courteous staff but small beds and extremly small shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

right in middle of town plenty of shopping

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
renegado
Business
new york city
Apr 22, 2009

my stay at hotel 140

This is a good place to rest. They have good dormitories: nice bed and neat bedroom and bathroom. the only thing that was missing to make this a great experience was a better breakfast service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

everything is really close in boston. Is not such a big city as such everything is a walk away from the station.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top