$189 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Hotel 140

3 stars
View map of 140 Clarendon St, Boston, MA 2116

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel 140

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
79 out of 79
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
new years in Boston
Couples
New Hampshire
Jan 3, 2010

Hotel 140

The hotel is located in a great area of Boston and was within a walking, or short cab ride, distance from anywhere you need to go in the city. The employees at the hotel were always friendly and helpful. The room was perfect size for a couple, and it was very clean. I would definitely go back to this hotel in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Krzz83
Business
Buffalo, NY
Mar 25, 2010

Convenient and affordable in Boston

I was disappointed only in the fact that I called ahead and was told that the rooms had mini fridges in them, only to arrive and see that I did not have one in my room. [...] Finally, on the day I checked out, my key card stopped working before the official check out time and I had to get it reactivated at the front desk, which was inconvenient as I was leaving.Other than those problems, I found the hotel location to be convenient and the price very reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
USA
Dec 28, 2008

a value hotel

It was a great price for the location, but the trade-off is obvious when you walk into a dormitory-like room(except very clean, tidy, and odorless). The parking was about $14 for 24 hours and was just a little bit down the street from the hotel on the same side (right-hand) as the hotel. You won't find a hotel sign; instead, look for the YWCA sign and it's in the same building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Trinity Church

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Larry the Traveller
Business
Washington, D.C.
Apr 6, 2009

Just right.

Exactly what one needs for a business trip to Boston. Right in Copley Square...easy to hail a cab and T-accessable. Very nice and knowledgable staff. Room was quite small (not much bigger than the bed) but it was very clean and tidy (I had a great view of the Hancock building). Several dinner and cocktail options nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just walk North, South or West (not much to the East).

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Derry , NH
Jul 19, 2009

Anniversity nite

Nacy went out of her way to make sure we had the best experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sage's Mordern Italian Rest . on Washington St.

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
San German, PR
Jul 19, 2009

Some good things, some bad things

Great location, close to T subway and restaurants on Boylston St. 10 min. walk to Boston common and Newbury St. I didn't like that for breakfast you only get to choose two items, and the selection menu is wayyy limited. In the positive side, security is great, and the rooms are very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Boylston St. restaurants

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
East Coast
Sep 9, 2009

Nice Hotel!

Great location. Right downtown. Parking is validated. Good size room. Nice amenities for the location and price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nutley
Dec 17, 2008

Value Priced

Hotel 140 is priced attractively if you are looking for a no frills room for a short stay. The room was clean but on the small side. The bed could use a firmer mattress but all in all very satisfactory for a one night stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ben_jams
Single
New York, NY
Jul 9, 2009

Great value in a fantastic area

I found the hotel by mistake but I was really impressed. The Back Bay is a perfect place to stay in Boston and because of that the hotel rooms are all really expensive. Hotel 140 was very reasonable, had a personal charm to it and really shined regardless of cost. I will definitely be staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Alexandria, VA
Dec 13, 2009

Very good hotel.

It was a very good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top