$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

Hotel 140

3 stars
140 Clarendon St, Boston, MA 2116
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
126 reviews
Delightful stay

I was warmly greeted upon arrival and assigned a delightful room that was very charming and fun... See full review

  • GBailey
  • Jun 2, 2013
Great hotel in the Back Bay!

Staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the room was clean. Great old building in a perfect... See full review

  • Greg Mayer
  • Feb 26, 2013
Affordable accommodations in a historic building near Copley Square
Located in the heart of the Back Bay, this discount boutique hotel offers European-style accommodations in a historic building that used to house the nation's first YMCA. Hotel 140 has easy access to the trendy South End, Hynes Convention Center and Copley Square. Complimentary wireless Internet access is available throughout the hotel. The hotel is home to the Lyric Stage Company theater and Stuart Street Grill. Groups find modest meeting facilities and guests have access to an adequate fitness center.
Highlights
  • Building is on the National Register of Historic Places
  • Stuart Street Grill serves inexpensive, fresh breakfast and lunch
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel
  • The Lyric Stage Company theater located onsite
Rooms

Following a full renovation in 2005, Hotel 140 features bright European-style accommodations with decorative fireplaces. Comfortable rooms feature mostly double beds, but some feature king and queen beds. Some suites can sleep up to eight guests and come with full kitchens. Private bathrooms have Neutrogena products and hair dryers.

Features
Housed in the nation's first YMCA building, Hotel 140 has received a spot on the National Register of Historic Places. This convenient location offers great value in the Back Bay. The grand entrance opens onto two spacious lobbies adorned with marble flooring, natural light and a sweeping staircase. The Kumba Library plays host to functions and meetings, while a modest on-site workout facility lets guests stay fit. The Stuart Street Grill offers breakfast and lunch and an on-site flower shop is an added perk.
Transportation
  • Hynes Convention Center (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Logan International Airport (3.5 mi/5.7 km)
Attractions
  • Public Garden & swan boats (.3 mi/.6 km)
  • Newberry Street (.4 mi/.7 km)
  • Beacon Hill (.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Harvard Square (1.7 mi/2.8 km)
Business
  • Kumba Library offers approximately 1,350 square feet
  • 3 separate meeting spaces
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi throughout hotel

Hotel Map

42.3485 -71.0742
Nearby airports
General Edward Lawrence Logan Intl Airport, (BOS), 5.00, MI, W; Manchester Airport, (MHT), 54.00, MI, N;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel 140 also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel 140 Rooms

Deluxe
Two full - Two full - this room features two -2- pillow top beds complimentary high speed internet. Refrigerator. Cable TV. Iron and ironing board hair dryer cable television complimentary local calls and voice mail.
Standard
Description not provided
Standard
Full - One full bed - one full size bed with a pillow top mattress. Complimentary high speed internet. Refrigerator. Cable TV. Iron and ironing board hair dryer cable television complimentary local calls and voice mail.
Superior
Queen - One queen-features one -1- queen pillow top bed. Complimentary high speed internet. Refrigerator. Cable TV. Iron and ironing board hair dryer cable television complimentary local calls and voice mail.
Superior
King - King rooms feature one -1- king Size pillow top bed complimentary high speed internet. Refrigerator. Cable TV. Iron and ironing board hair dryer cable television complimentary local calls and voice mail.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Free local telephone calls
24 hour security
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Copy service
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Dining

Viga Italian Eatery- Opening Spring 2014
When we began in February of 1999- our goal was simply to provide a quality product at a reasonable price with superior customer service. Fourteen years later we remain dedicated to our original goal. At Viga- a passion for perfection is our driving force
Post 390
Post 390 puts a contemporary twist on the traditional tavern experience- with seasonally inspired dishes that reflect Chef Eric Brennans passion for fresh ingredients and unforgettable flavors. On the first floor is the Tavern - a casual but sophisticated
Stephanies On Newbury
Since its opening in 1994- Stephanies has been an institution in the heart of Bostons Back Bay. The upscale Newbury Street location offers shoppers- tourists- business travelers and locals a hearty meal in a cozy banquette or street-side with a perfect vi
28 Degrees
28 Degrees is a offsite lounge and bar. Type of food served is American. 28 Degrees is a blend of extraordinary food superb cocktails soul stirring music and innovative design in the ultimate lounge setting. The menu is meant to compliment the social sett
29 Newbury
29 Newbury is a offsite Lounge or Bar. Type of food served is Contemporary American Continental. 29 Newbury is a trendy Cafe and sophisticated restaurant. The inventive upscale cuisine offers many options at moderate prices. 29 Newbury is definitely a rom

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (126)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel 140

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
126 out of 126
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Doyle Collection convert
Business
New York, NY
Oct 26, 2009

not what I bargained for

Beats sleeping in the car, but only by degrees! On arrival, my reservation couldn't be located in the hotel system. Ultimately it was found, but indicated that my stay was for January 2010, not October 2009. It took 1/2 hour to unravel that mystery. The guest room, while outwardly clean, had an unpleasant odor. Most annoying, the only available "closet" measured about 3 ft high by 2 ft wide, barely space enough for hanging clothes. The shower stall was so compact that I, a slim person, couldn't raise my arms without bumping open the door or dislodging the shower caddy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Saved by proximity to great shopping along Newbury Street.

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Feeling Ripped Off Guy
New York
Mar 23, 2010

Smelt Like a Hospital and Was Ugly

The place smelled like a nursing home, and the wide corridors by the elevators made me think it might have been. Room furniture was almost disposable in quality. An enormous wobbly headboard/shelf hung over us. The windows did not open, but blackened my hands when I touched them. Bad. Also, since my girlfriend JUST got out of the hospital, she had a panic attack and wanted to leave. Of course, it tired her out and then she fell asleep. We checked in at midnight, left at 7:00 and oh yeah, someone kicked off her rear view mirror where we parked on the street. Icing on the cake...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is close to a CVS where we bought tape to fix her broken car mirror.

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jbmom
Business
boston
Jun 9, 2010

the hotel was a dump... misrepresented

hotel was a dump.. a former ywca that still had the signage. the rooms were like cells with wires on the window.I checked out and went emmediately to the westin where I had a great stay..[...].just an awful hotel...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Feeling Ripped Off Guy
New York
Mar 23, 2010

Smelt Like a Hospital and Was Ugly

The place smelled like a nursing home, and the wide corridors by the elevators made me think it might have been. Room furniture was almost disposable in quality. An enormous wobbly headboard/shelf hung over us. The windows did not open, but blackened my hands when I touched them. Bad. Also, since my girlfriend JUST got out of the hospital, she had a panic attack and wanted to leave. Of course, it tired her out and then she fell asleep. We checked in at midnight, left at 7:00 and oh yeah, someone kicked off her rear view mirror where we parked on the street. Icing on the cake...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is close to a CVS where we bought tape to fix her broken car mirror.

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Doyle Collection convert
Business
New York, NY
Oct 26, 2009

not what I bargained for

Beats sleeping in the car, but only by degrees! On arrival, my reservation couldn't be located in the hotel system. Ultimately it was found, but indicated that my stay was for January 2010, not October 2009. It took 1/2 hour to unravel that mystery. The guest room, while outwardly clean, had an unpleasant odor. Most annoying, the only available "closet" measured about 3 ft high by 2 ft wide, barely space enough for hanging clothes. The shower stall was so compact that I, a slim person, couldn't raise my arms without bumping open the door or dislodging the shower caddy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Saved by proximity to great shopping along Newbury Street.

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jbmom
Business
boston
Jun 9, 2010

the hotel was a dump... misrepresented

hotel was a dump.. a former ywca that still had the signage. the rooms were like cells with wires on the window.I checked out and went emmediately to the westin where I had a great stay..[...].just an awful hotel...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Jun 21, 2009

Not recommended

The hotel gave us a room that was absurdly noisy from the A/C unit when most of the hotel was completely and utterly empty. Not recommended in the least. We've had far better rooms for far cheaper in fancier towns.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York City, NY
Mar 10, 2010

Disrespectful.

They were rude, talked down to me, and pretended like this was the only hotel that I could book in Boston. The only good thing about it was the location. I did not feel welcome and I would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Ice Skating in the Boston Common was a LOT of fun! $12 per person (including skate rentals!)

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York City, NY
Mar 10, 2010

Disrespectful.

They were rude, talked down to me, and pretended like this was the only hotel that I could book in Boston. The only good thing about it was the location. I did not feel welcome and I would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Ice Skating in the Boston Common was a LOT of fun! $12 per person (including skate rentals!)

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jencool
Milton, MA
Mar 14, 2013

Disappointed!

My boyfriend and I were really looking forward to a night in Boston in the Back Bay. While the entrance was promising and the staff was incredibly nice, the room was a true disappointment. I guess $200 in Back Bay Boston gets one a "not so good" hotel room. The room was incredibly small, had only three channels on the television, and the bathroom was the caliber of a Motel 8 at Back Bay prices! Will never stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top