$199 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 29, 2015 Check-out: Jul 2, 2015

Hotel 140

3 stars
View map of 140 Clarendon St, Boston, MA 2116

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel 140

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
82 out of 82
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MargieM
South Africa
Apr 10, 2012

Incredible value in perfect location

Staff were amazingly friendly and helpful, especially with luggage, which we were allowed to offload early in the morning, before officially checking in. We were offered a free room upgrade on arrival, and could opt for a King or a Twin (2 large beds). I'd have preferred a firmer mattress, but that is absolutely the only fault I could find! The room had heating/aircon and plenty of desk space. Bathroom was huge, with a great shower and tons of hot water; quality toiletries and plenty of towels too. The location was even better than I'd realised - just over the road from the Back Bay subway, and very close to the John Hancock Tower, which is a useful landmark. Apparently the building was once a YWCA, now renovated and upgraded - which may partly explain the superb value. Oh, and it houses an intimate theatre, which gave us a very good performance the night we were there. I'd recommend this hotel unreservedly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The in-house theatre, which allows groups to present plays in an intimate setting. There is also a beautiful old library, for meetings or functions.

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nutley
Dec 17, 2008

Value Priced

Hotel 140 is priced attractively if you are looking for a no frills room for a short stay. The room was clean but on the small side. The bed could use a firmer mattress but all in all very satisfactory for a one night stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ben_jams
Business
New York, NY
Jul 9, 2009

Great value in a fantastic area

I found the hotel by mistake but I was really impressed. The Back Bay is a perfect place to stay in Boston and because of that the hotel rooms are all really expensive. Hotel 140 was very reasonable, had a personal charm to it and really shined regardless of cost. I will definitely be staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alexandria, VA
Dec 13, 2009

Very good hotel.

It was a very good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 27, 2008

It was just okay.

The Hotel 140 reminded me of home when there were 10 kids. The floors were linoleum tile and nothing fancy. A no'easter came in and we were out of the room from 8 to 12 noon with the please make up room sign on the door, but they didn't. We were then gone from 4 to 6 PM and they still didn't redo the room. Can't say that I left the maid a tip. Everything seemed very clean however. Since I was paying for the room it really was a great value for the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to shopping and eating (Legal Seafoods) at the Prudential Center. Also all the shopping on Newberry Street. Mostly it was close to my meeting at the Fairmont Copley Square Hotel and a lot more reasonable.

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Casey D, Lover of Convenience
Business
Bristol, CT
Feb 6, 2010

Perfect location and the perfect room

We had dinner reservations and tickets to a comdey show at Nicks Comedy house. We found the location of Hotel 140 to be perfect. It was only a 10 minute walk from where we were going for the evening so we parked our car in the garage next door. We even got a reduced rate for parking from the hotel. The hotel was very friendly and presentable. The young women working the front desk was very curteous and helpful. She gave us walking directions to our desitation for the evening. The room was clean and modern. The window din't have much of a view but it brightened up the room and made it seem not so small. There was a computer room and small gym on the floor we were staying and a fridge and tv in the room. There was a restaurant attached to the hotel that servered a wide variety of breakfast lunch and dinner items. Kind of a diner feel. The hotel felt secure, you had to use your room key to use the elevator to your floor. The only thing we didn't like is the room did not have an interior lock on the door. That being said, we will probably stay here on our next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh
May 11, 2009

DC

It was a quick stay but the service was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arlington, TX
May 12, 2009

Comfortable, clean, convenient

This is a no-frills hotel that had everything I needed for a business trip. It was clean, comfortable, and conveniently located about 2 blocks from the conference hotel where I would have paid twice the price. A map of where things were located in the hotel would have been helpful and an explanation of the elevator key system. I really liked being able to open the window in my room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss the Skywalk at Prudential Tower. It's a great place to start your tour of Boston if you've never been there before.

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milford, CT
Jun 21, 2011

Great location

Went to a show. Bathroom needs shelf or table to put toiletries.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Theater district & train station

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NOYB
Jan 10, 2011

A basic hotel in a fantastic location

I was a little wary at first because so many reviews were bad but I really liked it. It is true that it is not a luxury hotel and it does indeed have a dorm feel to it but the room was clean and everything was in working order. I really didn't need anything more than that. It was great to be a block and half off of Copley Square. Every place I need to go was in walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oakville, CT
May 26, 2009

Great location for price.

Great stay for the price paid. Very execptional stay at this hotel. Deff would do it again and most likely will. Great location on the strip and in the middle of Boston which makes easy walk to ANYWHERE. I really enjoyed this stay and cannot wait to come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Prudential Center. Everything is on the strip and EVERYTHING is within walking distance.

Back to menu Return to top