$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

Hotel 140

3 stars
View map of 140 Clarendon St, Boston, MA 2116

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel 140

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
82 out of 82
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maine
Jul 31, 2009

location

I booked my room with Orbitz, and was very dissappointed when I checked in to find that there was only one bed. I had been charged for a room with 2 beds, I showed this to the person at the front desk, and she was unwilling to change my room because they were booked. She said that I had a commonwealth room, which is one bed with a rollaway, and she said it was orbitz fault that was the way they reserved for me.If I had of gotten what I had paid for, I would have been fine, and it seems like I had no choice but to stay there as the city was booked.Im not sure who is at fault, but Im sure I will never book with Orbitz again, and I will never stay at hotel 140 it was a rip off

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The prudential center is close by, also newbury street

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis
Jul 20, 2009

A great place to stay

Great affordable place to stay with easy access (one block away) to Copley business and shopping area. Staff was very pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Head over the the Prudential Shopping plaza. Many, Many great restaurants and stores to shop at.

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Derry , NH
Jul 19, 2009

Anniversity nite

Nacy went out of her way to make sure we had the best experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sage's Mordern Italian Rest . on Washington St.

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San German, PR
Jul 19, 2009

Some good things, some bad things

Great location, close to T subway and restaurants on Boylston St. 10 min. walk to Boston common and Newbury St. I didn't like that for breakfast you only get to choose two items, and the selection menu is wayyy limited. In the positive side, security is great, and the rooms are very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Boylston St. restaurants

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joe McFlow
Business
Lafayette, IN
Jul 13, 2009

Great location, decent price

The lobby was better than I thought it would be. The rooms were very clean and nice, but quite small. No frills. Hotel is located is right next to the T and in the heart of activity; excellent location! Got a great price, so really, no compaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ben_jams
Business
New York, NY
Jul 9, 2009

Great value in a fantastic area

I found the hotel by mistake but I was really impressed. The Back Bay is a perfect place to stay in Boston and because of that the hotel rooms are all really expensive. Hotel 140 was very reasonable, had a personal charm to it and really shined regardless of cost. I will definitely be staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jun 21, 2009

Not recommended

The hotel gave us a room that was absurdly noisy from the A/C unit when most of the hotel was completely and utterly empty. Not recommended in the least. We've had far better rooms for far cheaper in fancier towns.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oakville, CT
May 26, 2009

Great location for price.

Great stay for the price paid. Very execptional stay at this hotel. Deff would do it again and most likely will. Great location on the strip and in the middle of Boston which makes easy walk to ANYWHERE. I really enjoyed this stay and cannot wait to come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Prudential Center. Everything is on the strip and EVERYTHING is within walking distance.

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arlington, TX
May 12, 2009

Comfortable, clean, convenient

This is a no-frills hotel that had everything I needed for a business trip. It was clean, comfortable, and conveniently located about 2 blocks from the conference hotel where I would have paid twice the price. A map of where things were located in the hotel would have been helpful and an explanation of the elevator key system. I really liked being able to open the window in my room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss the Skywalk at Prudential Tower. It's a great place to start your tour of Boston if you've never been there before.

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Paul the tour guide
Business
Waterville ME
May 11, 2009

The Large and Small of It

This hotel is nice, but not overly so. The rooms are small and the city view they bragged about was the side of two buildings. The location was great and the staff was friendly, and we would definitely stay there again but there are other hotels in Boston that we prefer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the ten minute walk to the public garden and ride in the swan boats. Maybe a little corny but they are the only ones like it in the world.

Back to menu Return to top