$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 3, 2015 Check-out: May 4, 2015

Hotel 140

3 stars
View map of 140 Clarendon St, Boston, MA 2116

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel 140

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
80 out of 80
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MIKENYC
Business
NYC
Oct 8, 2014

Excellent Location - Good Value

Rooms were small - not too many perks - but adequate for a short business trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Flour Bakery & Café - great place - try the chia pudding. Coda Bar & Kitchen - good place for a late bite.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wendy W.
Business
Midlothian
Jan 16, 2015

Unique hotel

Very comfortable though the lack of a real lobby was a little different.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Theresa reese
Business
South Plainfield , New Jersey
Jan 2, 2014

Good Deal

I stayed here on New Years Eve. It was one of the cheapest hotels I could find in the location I wanted. The room was extremely small, as well as the stand up shower. The room was very clean otherwise. The staff was also very pleasant and helpful. I would definitely consider staying here again if I need a hotel in that area. It is also about a 5 minute walk from the train station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Flyrod
Business
West Springfield, MA, USA
Jan 30, 2012

Great location

This place was a great value with an excellent location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Red Lantern sushi restaurant wasn't listed anywhere I looked and it is almost right across the street!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Soph
Business
Surrey, England
Jun 22, 2012

Reasonable value

For the location and price you can't go wrong. The rooms are small but clean. The shower was a bit weak but it worked. The staff were friendly and helpful. I would use again for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Annemarie
Business
Boston
Sep 21, 2012

Suited my short stay.

Ordinary. Good location But otherwise just average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good value and good service

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Danni26
Business
New York, NY
Mar 18, 2013

Great location, acceptable hotel

The room was a bit smaller than I expected but the staff was extremely nice and helpful. The location was perfect though, right next to the Prudential center. A good place for a weekend stay if you don't have a car and don't need anything too fancy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte
Feb 10, 2010

Good Enough....

This hotel was fine. But that's it. Just fine. If you're traveling alone, know you're not going to spend much time in the room, and want to stay in a great part of the city cheaply, then this is your place. if you want amenities, spacious rooms, and quiet (the noise from the street below was a bit much at times), then this isn't your place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
(Not a) Bostonian
Business
Miami, FL
Aug 18, 2009

Hostel-like Hotel

This hotel, only 4 years old (as a hotel), is a converted office building dating back to 1929 and is the original "Young Women's Christian Academy (YWCA)". Because the building is historic, the hotel is not able to advertise itself on the exterior of the building, which made it difficult for me to locate it. This led me to circle the block 2x before calling to find out why I could not locate the hotel, even though I was at the right address. The second problem is related to the first. Because this is a historic building, the hotel has not been able to create an entrance drive. The only way to arrive by vehicle is to park in the adjacent parking garage and walk with your luggage down the sidewalk to the non-descript entrance. The lobby is small, but nice, with friendly staff. However, once you go up to your floor, you are again reminded that this is not originally a hotel. The hallway is much like that of an office building, with a cold, business feel. The rooms are small, hostel-like accomodations, remniscent of dorm rooms. I found a pack of gum and a half full cup in my room, probably left there by the hospitality staff. Otherwise, the room was reasonably clean. Location is great. Price is great. So great, in fact, was the price, that I could overlook the other dissatisfying facets of the place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
One More Child To Go
Business
NJ
Apr 2, 2010

Downhill dip from last year

I loved staying in this hotel last year for college visits - it was very clean, ideally located and cheap. This year was not as good - they staff didn't clean the shower above 5' - soap scum, hairs and something that might have been mildew. To add insult to injury, when I mentioned it to the hotel clerk on the 2nd morning, nothing happened. When I checked out I mentioned it again & apparently caught the person responsible for supervising the cleaning staff. She did say they'd switched cleaning services. I hope they change back quickly. Note this hotel really doesn't have amenities other than a TV, iron in room and alledgedly a fitness room (we never used it). It aggravated my daughter that it didn't have a full-length mirror but the price is the really nice thing here. Beds are firm & comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top