$269 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 29, 2014 Check-out: Sep 30, 2014

Hotel 140

3 stars
140 Clarendon St, Boston, MA 2116
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
74 reviews
Delightful stay

I was warmly greeted upon arrival and assigned a delightful room that was very charming and fun... See full review

  • GBailey
  • Jun 2, 2013
Good find in a great part of Boston!

Our room was quiet, very clean and fit our purpose. It was small, but we weren't there that much... See full review

  • Mrs. Woo
  • Sep 8, 2014
Affordable accommodations in a historic building near Copley Square
Located in the heart of the Back Bay, this discount boutique hotel offers European-style accommodations in a historic building that used to house the nation's first YMCA. Hotel 140 has easy access to the trendy South End, Hynes Convention Center and Copley Square. Complimentary wireless Internet access is available throughout the hotel. The hotel is home to the Lyric Stage Company theater and Stuart Street Grill. Groups find modest meeting facilities and guests have access to an adequate fitness center.
Highlights
  • Building is on the National Register of Historic Places
  • Stuart Street Grill serves inexpensive, fresh breakfast and lunch
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel
  • The Lyric Stage Company theater located onsite
Rooms

Following a full renovation in 2005, Hotel 140 features bright European-style accommodations with decorative fireplaces. Comfortable rooms feature mostly double beds, but some feature king and queen beds. Some suites can sleep up to eight guests and come with full kitchens. Private bathrooms have Neutrogena products and hair dryers.

Features
Housed in the nation's first YMCA building, Hotel 140 has received a spot on the National Register of Historic Places. This convenient location offers great value in the Back Bay. The grand entrance opens onto two spacious lobbies adorned with marble flooring, natural light and a sweeping staircase. The Kumba Library plays host to functions and meetings, while a modest on-site workout facility lets guests stay fit. The Stuart Street Grill offers breakfast and lunch and an on-site flower shop is an added perk.
Transportation
  • Hynes Convention Center (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Logan International Airport (3.5 mi/5.7 km)
Attractions
  • Public Garden & swan boats (.3 mi/.6 km)
  • Newberry Street (.4 mi/.7 km)
  • Beacon Hill (.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Harvard Square (1.7 mi/2.8 km)
Business
  • Kumba Library offers approximately 1,350 square feet
  • 3 separate meeting spaces
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi throughout hotel

Hotel Map

42.3485 -71.0742
Nearby airports
General Edward Lawrence Logan Intl Airport, (BOS), 5.00, MI, W; Manchester Airport, (MHT), 54.00, MI, N;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel 140 also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel 140 Rooms

Deluxe
Two full - Two full - this room features two -2- pillow top beds complimentary high speed internet. Refrigerator. Cable TV. Iron and ironing board hair dryer cable television complimentary local calls and voice mail.
Standard
Description not provided
Standard
Full - One full bed - one full size bed with a pillow top mattress. Complimentary high speed internet. Refrigerator. Cable TV. Iron and ironing board hair dryer cable television complimentary local calls and voice mail.
Superior
Queen - One queen-features one -1- queen pillow top bed. Complimentary high speed internet. Refrigerator. Cable TV. Iron and ironing board hair dryer cable television complimentary local calls and voice mail.
Superior
King - King rooms feature one -1- king Size pillow top bed complimentary high speed internet. Refrigerator. Cable TV. Iron and ironing board hair dryer cable television complimentary local calls and voice mail.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Free local telephone calls
24 hour security
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Copy service
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Trinity Church: 0.1 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Copley Square: 0.2 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.6 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.7 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 0.8 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.8 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.9 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 1.1 mi
  • Fenway Park: 1.2 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 1.2 mi
  • Trinity Church: 0.1 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Copley Square: 0.2 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.6 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.7 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 0.8 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.8 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.9 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 1.1 mi
  • Fenway Park: 1.2 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 1.2 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • Boston Children's Museum: 1.3 mi
  • TD Garden: 1.4 mi
  • TD Banknorth Garden: 1.4 mi
  • Convention and Exhibition Center: 1.5 mi
  • The Paul Revere House: 1.5 mi
  • Old North Church: 1.6 mi
  • USS Constitution Museum: 2 mi
  • Bunker Hill Monument: 2 mi
  • Cruiseport Boston: 2.1 mi
  • Charlestown Navy Yard: 2.2 mi
  • Agganis Arena: 2.3 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum: 3 mi
  • Castle Island: 3.3 mi
  • Arnold Arboretum: 4.3 mi

Dining

Viga Italian Eatery- Opening Spring 2014
When we began in February of 1999- our goal was simply to provide a quality product at a reasonable price with superior customer service. Fourteen years later we remain dedicated to our original goal. At Viga- a passion for perfection is our driving force
Post 390
Post 390 puts a contemporary twist on the traditional tavern experience- with seasonally inspired dishes that reflect Chef Eric Brennans passion for fresh ingredients and unforgettable flavors. On the first floor is the Tavern - a casual but sophisticated
Stephanies On Newbury
Since its opening in 1994- Stephanies has been an institution in the heart of Bostons Back Bay. The upscale Newbury Street location offers shoppers- tourists- business travelers and locals a hearty meal in a cozy banquette or street-side with a perfect vi
28 Degrees
28 Degrees is a offsite lounge and bar. Type of food served is American. 28 Degrees is a blend of extraordinary food superb cocktails soul stirring music and innovative design in the ultimate lounge setting. The menu is meant to compliment the social sett
29 Newbury
29 Newbury is a offsite Lounge or Bar. Type of food served is Contemporary American Continental. 29 Newbury is a trendy Cafe and sophisticated restaurant. The inventive upscale cuisine offers many options at moderate prices. 29 Newbury is definitely a rom

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (74)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel 140

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
74 out of 74
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
One More Child To Go
NJ
Apr 2, 2010

Downhill dip from last year

I loved staying in this hotel last year for college visits - it was very clean, ideally located and cheap. This year was not as good - they staff didn't clean the shower above 5' - soap scum, hairs and something that might have been mildew. To add insult to injury, when I mentioned it to the hotel clerk on the 2nd morning, nothing happened. When I checked out I mentioned it again & apparently caught the person responsible for supervising the cleaning staff. She did say they'd switched cleaning services. I hope they change back quickly. Note this hotel really doesn't have amenities other than a TV, iron in room and alledgedly a fitness room (we never used it). It aggravated my daughter that it didn't have a full-length mirror but the price is the really nice thing here. Beds are firm & comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Hollywood
Nov 22, 2008

If you are young...

... it is a step above a youth hostel. I do not recommend this place for parents visiting their children in one of the numerous close by schools or out of town older tourists. When I got off the elevator to go to my room I was transported back to college. Even the smell; this place even used the same cleaning products as the staff of my old dormitory. The floors are cold and tiled and just boxy. The shower is so small that you either have to get inside, shut the door and freeze or burn until the water temperature gets set OR you deal with water going all over the floor as you wait for comfortable water. I wasn't expecting much and I wasn't disappointed. I was there purely for location and used the room as a place to lay my hat only. It served its purpose. (Although I was a little upset they had the nerve to equate bare and sterile as modern and Classic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Copley Square, Boylston Street, The Westin Hotel (which has a great indoor, upscale shopping mall)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lezardo
France
Aug 31, 2009

Good location, very bad breakfast

The location is good : 20min walk from Boston Public Garden and the Historic District. The room are quite small (it's a former YWCA) and noisy. Any sound in the corridor will wake you up. The worst experience in this hotel is the breakfast. On weekends, it consists in a box of Dunkin Donuts laid on a table so that everyone helps himself. During weekdays, the café on premises is open but if you take the breakfast-included package you can only order a muffin and a coffee. It's better (and cheaper) to go to a nearby coffee shop (there is a Dunkin Donuts next door and a Finagles Bagels 5min away). We also experienced problems with the elevator (the door would not close and therefore the second elevator door would not open since one was already at the floor). There were some conference organized so that all staff attention was focused on participants leaving us helpless. A decent hotel where to go if no better available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Soph
Surrey, England
Jun 22, 2012

Reasonable value

For the location and price you can't go wrong. The rooms are small but clean. The shower was a bit weak but it worked. The staff were friendly and helpful. I would use again for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Apr 15, 2010

Good location and value

Great location 1 block from a T station. Felt like I was staying in a clean, basic dorm room (with a bathroom in the room), rather than in a full-service hotel. Still, it was an excellent value for a Boston hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Annemarie
Boston
Sep 21, 2012

Suited my short stay.

Ordinary. Good location But otherwise just average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good value and good service

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
madison wi
Dec 9, 2009

good location/price

Overall positive. Room small but OK. Free internet a plus. Poor shower

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Aurora, IL
Aug 5, 2009

Price and location are the two pros.

I got what I expected. The room was the size of a college dorm room, except with upgraded Ikea-esque fixtures and basic furnishings. Was only in town for one night so didn't need much. Bed was fine, pillows could have been better. Not much construction work being done across the street that night so was not disturbed by any sounds. Free (wired) internet worked great. Hotel 140 validates parking in the parking garage next door (100 Clarendon).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of bars and restaurants to choose from on Boylston St. and Columbus Ave. East end of Columbus is the Theater District. Short walk to the Prudential Center which has a bunch of shops as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
renegado
new york city
Apr 22, 2009

my stay at hotel 140

This is a good place to rest. They have good dormitories: nice bed and neat bedroom and bathroom. the only thing that was missing to make this a great experience was a better breakfast service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

everything is really close in boston. Is not such a big city as such everything is a walk away from the station.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
(Not a) Bostonian
Miami, FL
Aug 18, 2009

Hostel-like Hotel

This hotel, only 4 years old (as a hotel), is a converted office building dating back to 1929 and is the original "Young Women's Christian Academy (YWCA)". Because the building is historic, the hotel is not able to advertise itself on the exterior of the building, which made it difficult for me to locate it. This led me to circle the block 2x before calling to find out why I could not locate the hotel, even though I was at the right address. The second problem is related to the first. Because this is a historic building, the hotel has not been able to create an entrance drive. The only way to arrive by vehicle is to park in the adjacent parking garage and walk with your luggage down the sidewalk to the non-descript entrance. The lobby is small, but nice, with friendly staff. However, once you go up to your floor, you are again reminded that this is not originally a hotel. The hallway is much like that of an office building, with a cold, business feel. The rooms are small, hostel-like accomodations, remniscent of dorm rooms. I found a pack of gum and a half full cup in my room, probably left there by the hospitality staff. Otherwise, the room was reasonably clean. Location is great. Price is great. So great, in fact, was the price, that I could overlook the other dissatisfying facets of the place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search