$79 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 25, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

Hotel 140

3 stars
140 Clarendon St, Boston, MA 2116
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
76 reviews
Excellent Location - Good Value

Rooms were small - not too many perks - but adequate for a short business trip. See full review

  • MIKENYC
  • Oct 8, 2014
Hotel 140

Great location. Staff was friendly and the room was clean. No complaints at all. See full review

  • Traveling on business11
  • Sep 18, 2014
Affordable accommodations in a historic building near Copley Square
Located in the heart of the Back Bay, this discount boutique hotel offers European-style accommodations in a historic building that used to house the nation's first YMCA. Hotel 140 has easy access to the trendy South End, Hynes Convention Center and Copley Square. Complimentary wireless Internet access is available throughout the hotel. The hotel is home to the Lyric Stage Company theater and Stuart Street Grill. Groups find modest meeting facilities and guests have access to an adequate fitness center.
Highlights
  • Building is on the National Register of Historic Places
  • Stuart Street Grill serves inexpensive, fresh breakfast and lunch
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel
  • The Lyric Stage Company theater located onsite
Rooms

Following a full renovation in 2005, Hotel 140 features bright European-style accommodations with decorative fireplaces. Comfortable rooms feature mostly double beds, but some feature king and queen beds. Some suites can sleep up to eight guests and come with full kitchens. Private bathrooms have Neutrogena products and hair dryers.

Features
Housed in the nation's first YMCA building, Hotel 140 has received a spot on the National Register of Historic Places. This convenient location offers great value in the Back Bay. The grand entrance opens onto two spacious lobbies adorned with marble flooring, natural light and a sweeping staircase. The Kumba Library plays host to functions and meetings, while a modest on-site workout facility lets guests stay fit. The Stuart Street Grill offers breakfast and lunch and an on-site flower shop is an added perk.
Transportation
  • Hynes Convention Center (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Logan International Airport (3.5 mi/5.7 km)
Attractions
  • Public Garden & swan boats (.3 mi/.6 km)
  • Newberry Street (.4 mi/.7 km)
  • Beacon Hill (.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Harvard Square (1.7 mi/2.8 km)
Business
  • Kumba Library offers approximately 1,350 square feet
  • 3 separate meeting spaces
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi throughout hotel

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel 140 also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel 140 Rooms

Deluxe
Two full - Two full - this room features two -2- pillow top beds complimentary high speed internet. Refrigerator. Cable TV. Iron and ironing board hair dryer cable television complimentary local calls and voice mail.
Standard
Description not provided
Standard
Full - One full bed - one full size bed with a pillow top mattress. Complimentary high speed internet. Refrigerator. Cable TV. Iron and ironing board hair dryer cable television complimentary local calls and voice mail.
Superior
Queen - One queen-features one -1- queen pillow top bed. Complimentary high speed internet. Refrigerator. Cable TV. Iron and ironing board hair dryer cable television complimentary local calls and voice mail.
Superior
King - King rooms feature one -1- king Size pillow top bed complimentary high speed internet. Refrigerator. Cable TV. Iron and ironing board hair dryer cable television complimentary local calls and voice mail.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Free local telephone calls
24 hour security
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Copy service
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Trinity Church: 0.1 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Copley Square: 0.2 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.6 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.7 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 0.8 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.8 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.9 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 1.1 mi
  • Fenway Park: 1.2 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 1.2 mi
  • Trinity Church: 0.1 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Copley Square: 0.2 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.6 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.7 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 0.8 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.8 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.9 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 1.1 mi
  • Fenway Park: 1.2 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 1.2 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • Boston Children's Museum: 1.3 mi
  • TD Garden: 1.4 mi
  • TD Banknorth Garden: 1.4 mi
  • Convention and Exhibition Center: 1.5 mi
  • The Paul Revere House: 1.5 mi
  • Old North Church: 1.6 mi
  • USS Constitution Museum: 2 mi
  • Bunker Hill Monument: 2 mi
  • Cruiseport Boston: 2.1 mi
  • Charlestown Navy Yard: 2.2 mi
  • Agganis Arena: 2.3 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum: 3 mi
  • Castle Island: 3.3 mi
  • Arnold Arboretum: 4.3 mi

Dining

Viga Italian Eatery- Opening Spring 2014
When we began in February of 1999- our goal was simply to provide a quality product at a reasonable price with superior customer service. Fourteen years later we remain dedicated to our original goal. At Viga- a passion for perfection is our driving force
Post 390
Post 390 puts a contemporary twist on the traditional tavern experience- with seasonally inspired dishes that reflect Chef Eric Brennans passion for fresh ingredients and unforgettable flavors. On the first floor is the Tavern - a casual but sophisticated
Stephanies On Newbury
Since its opening in 1994- Stephanies has been an institution in the heart of Bostons Back Bay. The upscale Newbury Street location offers shoppers- tourists- business travelers and locals a hearty meal in a cozy banquette or street-side with a perfect vi
28 Degrees
28 Degrees is a offsite lounge and bar. Type of food served is American. 28 Degrees is a blend of extraordinary food superb cocktails soul stirring music and innovative design in the ultimate lounge setting. The menu is meant to compliment the social sett
29 Newbury
29 Newbury is a offsite Lounge or Bar. Type of food served is Contemporary American Continental. 29 Newbury is a trendy Cafe and sophisticated restaurant. The inventive upscale cuisine offers many options at moderate prices. 29 Newbury is definitely a rom

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (76)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel 140

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
76 out of 76
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ange traveling for fun
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Jun 23, 2011

Hotel 140

Perfect location for downtown. Easy walking distance to freedom trail, fenway park, boston common, and all shopping. Room was very clean and modern. Also very safe you need you room key to get in the elevators. Will store your bags after check out if you aren't leaving until later.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Very close to a lot of cafes. There is a dunkin donuts next door, but if you walk on Tremont Street by Boston Common there is a fantastic coffee shop with all kinds of pastries called the Thinkind Cup. About a ten min walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milford, CT
Jun 21, 2011

Great location

Went to a show. Bathroom needs shelf or table to put toiletries.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Theater district & train station

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Paul, MN
May 9, 2011

Alright Hotel.

Location was great but hotel didn't have a lot to offer. We reserved the queen room and the bed wasn't a queen; it was a double. We called the front desk to tell them they made a mistake and that they put us in the wrong room but they claimed it was a queens size bed. We measured the bed and it was NOT a queen. The queen room was very small but it was clean. The cost of the room was a lot for the very little they had to offer. We were not totally disappointed but we will look for other hotels the next time we go back to Boston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NOYB
Jan 10, 2011

A basic hotel in a fantastic location

I was a little wary at first because so many reviews were bad but I really liked it. It is true that it is not a luxury hotel and it does indeed have a dorm feel to it but the room was clean and everything was in working order. I really didn't need anything more than that. It was great to be a block and half off of Copley Square. Every place I need to go was in walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jbmom
Business
boston
Jun 9, 2010

the hotel was a dump... misrepresented

hotel was a dump.. a former ywca that still had the signage. the rooms were like cells with wires on the window.I checked out and went emmediately to the westin where I had a great stay..[...].just an awful hotel...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Apr 15, 2010

Good location and value

Great location 1 block from a T station. Felt like I was staying in a clean, basic dorm room (with a bathroom in the room), rather than in a full-service hotel. Still, it was an excellent value for a Boston hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
One More Child To Go
Business
NJ
Apr 2, 2010

Downhill dip from last year

I loved staying in this hotel last year for college visits - it was very clean, ideally located and cheap. This year was not as good - they staff didn't clean the shower above 5' - soap scum, hairs and something that might have been mildew. To add insult to injury, when I mentioned it to the hotel clerk on the 2nd morning, nothing happened. When I checked out I mentioned it again & apparently caught the person responsible for supervising the cleaning staff. She did say they'd switched cleaning services. I hope they change back quickly. Note this hotel really doesn't have amenities other than a TV, iron in room and alledgedly a fitness room (we never used it). It aggravated my daughter that it didn't have a full-length mirror but the price is the really nice thing here. Beds are firm & comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Krzz83
Business
Buffalo, NY
Mar 25, 2010

Convenient and affordable in Boston

I was disappointed only in the fact that I called ahead and was told that the rooms had mini fridges in them, only to arrive and see that I did not have one in my room. [...] Finally, on the day I checked out, my key card stopped working before the official check out time and I had to get it reactivated at the front desk, which was inconvenient as I was leaving.Other than those problems, I found the hotel location to be convenient and the price very reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Feeling Ripped Off Guy
Business
New York
Mar 23, 2010

Smelt Like a Hospital and Was Ugly

The place smelled like a nursing home, and the wide corridors by the elevators made me think it might have been. Room furniture was almost disposable in quality. An enormous wobbly headboard/shelf hung over us. The windows did not open, but blackened my hands when I touched them. Bad. Also, since my girlfriend JUST got out of the hospital, she had a panic attack and wanted to leave. Of course, it tired her out and then she fell asleep. We checked in at midnight, left at 7:00 and oh yeah, someone kicked off her rear view mirror where we parked on the street. Icing on the cake...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is close to a CVS where we bought tape to fix her broken car mirror.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Craigster
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Mar 19, 2010

Good Night

Everything was great once I was in the Hotel. The only thing I feel that would have bettered my experience is if you received some warning of where to park. They have you park in a garage next to the hotel and you dont have the slightest Idea of where to park. Also there was nothing that stated your hotel was here other than the address.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

It is right next to the train station that goes right to TD bank North Garden for a fair rate.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top