$179 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2014 Check-out: Aug 30, 2014

Hotel 140

3 stars
140 Clarendon St, Boston, MA 2116
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
126 reviews
Delightful stay

I was warmly greeted upon arrival and assigned a delightful room that was very charming and fun... See full review

  • GBailey
  • Jun 2, 2013
Great hotel in the Back Bay!

Staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the room was clean. Great old building in a perfect... See full review

  • Greg Mayer
  • Feb 26, 2013
Refreshingly simple- modern accommodations just steps from copley square. Nestled between downtown bostons back bay and south end neighborhoods- hotel140 is surrounded by great shopping- dining- arts- history- and other attractions. Our location is fun and convenient- with easy access to mbta- amtrak- and i-90 -mass pike. All guestrooms at hotel 140 feature flat-screen tvs with cable- phones with voice mail- and complimentary high-speed internet access. Hotel 140 is home of lyric stage theatre and boasts world class dining as neighbors. Many museum tickets and boston sports club passes are available for purchase. This smoke-free hotel is within 3 blocks of boston common- and upscale shopping at copley place mall and newbury street. Short city block from back bay train station. Come discover the convenience and quality that we offer at a price you wouldnt expect in bostons back bay.

Hotel Map

42.3485 -71.0742
Nearby airports
General Edward Lawrence Logan Intl Airport, (BOS), 5.00, MI, W; Manchester Airport, (MHT), 54.00, MI, N;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel 140 also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel 140 Rooms

Deluxe
Two full - Two full - this room features two -2- pillow top beds complimentary high speed internet. Refrigerator. Cable TV. Iron and ironing board hair dryer cable television complimentary local calls and voice mail.
Standard
Description not provided
Standard
Full - One full bed - one full size bed with a pillow top mattress. Complimentary high speed internet. Refrigerator. Cable TV. Iron and ironing board hair dryer cable television complimentary local calls and voice mail.
Superior
Queen - One queen-features one -1- queen pillow top bed. Complimentary high speed internet. Refrigerator. Cable TV. Iron and ironing board hair dryer cable television complimentary local calls and voice mail.
Superior
King - King rooms feature one -1- king Size pillow top bed complimentary high speed internet. Refrigerator. Cable TV. Iron and ironing board hair dryer cable television complimentary local calls and voice mail.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Free local telephone calls
24 hour security
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Copy service
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Trinity Church: 0.1 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Copley Square: 0.2 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.6 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.7 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 0.8 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.8 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.9 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 1.1 mi
  • Fenway Park: 1.2 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 1.2 mi
  • Trinity Church: 0.1 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Copley Square: 0.2 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.6 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.7 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 0.8 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.8 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.9 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 1.1 mi
  • Fenway Park: 1.2 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 1.2 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • Boston Children's Museum: 1.3 mi
  • TD Garden: 1.4 mi
  • TD Banknorth Garden: 1.4 mi
  • Convention and Exhibition Center: 1.5 mi
  • The Paul Revere House: 1.5 mi
  • Old North Church: 1.6 mi
  • USS Constitution Museum: 2 mi
  • Bunker Hill Monument: 2 mi
  • Cruiseport Boston: 2.1 mi
  • Charlestown Navy Yard: 2.2 mi
  • Agganis Arena: 2.3 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum: 3 mi
  • Castle Island: 3.3 mi
  • Arnold Arboretum: 4.3 mi

Dining

Viga Italian Eatery- Opening Spring 2014
When we began in February of 1999- our goal was simply to provide a quality product at a reasonable price with superior customer service. Fourteen years later we remain dedicated to our original goal. At Viga- a passion for perfection is our driving force
Post 390
Post 390 puts a contemporary twist on the traditional tavern experience- with seasonally inspired dishes that reflect Chef Eric Brennans passion for fresh ingredients and unforgettable flavors. On the first floor is the Tavern - a casual but sophisticated
Stephanies On Newbury
Since its opening in 1994- Stephanies has been an institution in the heart of Bostons Back Bay. The upscale Newbury Street location offers shoppers- tourists- business travelers and locals a hearty meal in a cozy banquette or street-side with a perfect vi
28 Degrees
28 Degrees is a offsite lounge and bar. Type of food served is American. 28 Degrees is a blend of extraordinary food superb cocktails soul stirring music and innovative design in the ultimate lounge setting. The menu is meant to compliment the social sett
29 Newbury
29 Newbury is a offsite Lounge or Bar. Type of food served is Contemporary American Continental. 29 Newbury is a trendy Cafe and sophisticated restaurant. The inventive upscale cuisine offers many options at moderate prices. 29 Newbury is definitely a rom

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (126)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel 140

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
126 out of 126
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Maine
Feb 18, 2010

Odd duck out of water

Newly renovated former YWCA. Great location. Nice and clean. Plain and small room. No facial tissues. Second elevator usually out of service. Very friendly staff. Complained 3 times about ridiculously low water pressure in the shower, but no change; took twice as long to shower as usual, and never sure if I got all the soap off with the tiny water flow. High speed Internet was by cable connection (provided) but available for only one computer at a time. If the shower worked, I would have been happy, as I like odd hotels that are quiet and comfortable; but this odd duck was out of water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get the 7-day pass on the "T" and enjoy Boston's great public transit system, including the boat to the USS Constitution.

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Jun 21, 2009

Not recommended

The hotel gave us a room that was absurdly noisy from the A/C unit when most of the hotel was completely and utterly empty. Not recommended in the least. We've had far better rooms for far cheaper in fancier towns.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Dec 4, 2009

Hotel 140 - small, but clean

The hotel staff was pleasant, but management had just discontinued the complimentary breakfast as of Dec. 1. Location was within walking distance of some sites, conference center and nice restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Spokane, WA
Dec 5, 2009

good location but ...

Small rooms. Tiny bathroom. Overall:below average

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Maine
Jul 31, 2009

location

I booked my room with Orbitz, and was very dissappointed when I checked in to find that there was only one bed. I had been charged for a room with 2 beds, I showed this to the person at the front desk, and she was unwilling to change my room because they were booked. She said that I had a commonwealth room, which is one bed with a rollaway, and she said it was orbitz fault that was the way they reserved for me.If I had of gotten what I had paid for, I would have been fine, and it seems like I had no choice but to stay there as the city was booked.Im not sure who is at fault, but Im sure I will never book with Orbitz again, and I will never stay at hotel 140 it was a rip off

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The prudential center is close by, also newbury street

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vermont
Feb 9, 2010

Not again....

[...] I didn't think there was a need to get hostile with the guests. The so-called restaurant is a badly run, depressing cafeteria, youth-hostel style. The room was fine and exactly what I needed and the location is great (once I found the place). But, I will not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Apr 21, 2008

TOO SMALL!

It was clean. The best part of this stay was the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

great location to shopping and restaurants.

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Apr 21, 2008

TOO SMALL!

It was clean. The best part of this stay was the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

great location to shopping and restaurants.

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vermont
Feb 9, 2010

Not again....

[...] I didn't think there was a need to get hostile with the guests. The so-called restaurant is a badly run, depressing cafeteria, youth-hostel style. The room was fine and exactly what I needed and the location is great (once I found the place). But, I will not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Spokane, WA
Dec 5, 2009

good location but ...

Small rooms. Tiny bathroom. Overall:below average

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top