$189 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Hotel 140

3 stars
View map of 140 Clarendon St, Boston, MA 2116

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel 140

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
79 out of 79
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Don Pedro de las Cuevas
Family
Houston, TX
May 9, 2013

Perfect Location

Location, location, location. OK so there was no pool nor a restaurant. There was no huge lobby with chrystal chandeliers. But I failed to notice those things until we arrived home. They did have a business center, of sorts, so I could print my boarding passes. They could get you a cab out front in record time and the Hotel 140 is located right in between two subway stops each just a short walk from the front door. It is also located a block from Copley Square, and two blocks from Copley Center. The hotel is two blocks from Boyington Street and three blocks from Newbury Street. Both of these streets are loaded with Restaurants, Bars, etc. This was important because we literally ate our way though Boston while we were there. It seemd like we were always planning our next meal while enjoying the meal were were eating. Did I mension that the place has a great location. We walked and road the subway everywhere. The rooms are kinda small with tiny bathrooms, but it is a boutique hotel crammed into the old historic YWCA building. The only true complaint I have is the showers are arranged oddly. The shower heads point directly at the shower door so that you must either enter the shower to turn it on while waiting for the water to heat up or stand outside the door and get soaked when you turn it on. Really bizzar. The hotel staff were available, helpful, and polite. The value was evident when you compared room prices with the other mainstream hotels in the area which were at least twice the price. I can live without a little luxury and a few amenities when I can stay in the middle of all the action, in a nice clean room, at a fraction of the cost of the big box hotels. Highly recommended. I would have given it five stars if it were'nt for that funky shower arrangement.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Any thing you may want from fine dining to an egg on bagel breakfast sandwich are just a short walk from the hotel.

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CES from FL
Couples
Florida
Sep 19, 2013

Great Location

Its a mixed of hotel & local residents. Each have their own elevators (hotel are the upper floors). Great location (near Pru Center). Its a converted YMCA that offers a great price for the Boston Area. My only issue were the beds which are only full size (not queen) which is very small by today's standards. You can upgrade to two beds like we did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to a lot of fast food places as well as very nice places to eat.

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr. Bee
Couples
Northern CA
Sep 27, 2013

Great for a short stay

Very clean room, no bath, but perfectly adequate shower, small and quiet except for flushing toilets. Location was convenient for Copley Station to the museum and Symphone. Helpful and friendly staff. Would definitely stay at 140 again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mistral's very good and Legal Seafoods a fine fish place.

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
egunz
Business
Charlotte, NC
Nov 25, 2013

Great location

Very convenient to everything and had everything we needed. Small but comfortable rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis
Jul 20, 2009

A great place to stay

Great affordable place to stay with easy access (one block away) to Copley business and shopping area. Staff was very pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Head over the the Prudential Shopping plaza. Many, Many great restaurants and stores to shop at.

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Mar 3, 2009

Very interesing

I read reviews about the hotel before I booked and was not quiet sure what to expect, but was very pleasantly surprised. I totally got what they were going for with the style. The rooms are in a historic YWCA. The floors are linoleum, and the room was very minimalist. It was as if you were renting a room at the Y, but in Japan. Updated features, like a very asian sink, and small shower, with wonderful green tea soaps, as well as photos of exercise classes from the 30's and 40's completed the atmosphere. It is definietly not for someone looking for an over-the-top plush room, but, if you can get into the "I'm staying at a historic YWCA and they are trying to give me a little of that flavor", it is great. The location was fantastic! A block from Coply square and the subway, and minutes from upscale shops made it a very enjoyable stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NORMLBOB
Friends
Washington D.C.
Sep 15, 2009

Very Personal

In town for two Red Sox Games. The staff knew immediatley our purpose in town. They voluteered transportation tips B4 we even asked. Site at one time was exclusively a YWCA. It still retains a certain level of its roots. We were two extroverted men. After one evening the staff had adopted us as the two fish out of water. If you want to be ignored and anonymous do not stay here. If you enjoy a staff who really adapts to your personality over the course of 2-3 days this is the place.....real small, few rooms....they really do know and evaluate all of their guests needs every day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Central location. Closest T-station...Block and a 1/2(St. James St.)...Next door to Hancock Building...1 block from Copley Sq. and 10 minutes From south side of Commons.

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joe McFlow
Couples
Lafayette, IN
Jul 13, 2009

Great location, decent price

The lobby was better than I thought it would be. The rooms were very clean and nice, but quite small. No frills. Hotel is located is right next to the T and in the heart of activity; excellent location! Got a great price, so really, no compaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dutch lady
Business
New York
Nov 16, 2009

great location and price

I only stayed 1 night at the hotel. Arrived late and had to leave for a meeting early in the morning. The staff was very friendly and helpfull,the room was clean, quiet and comfortable. If I have to go to Boston again I would definitly come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Craigster
Couples
Pittsburgh, PA
Mar 19, 2010

Good Night

Everything was great once I was in the Hotel. The only thing I feel that would have bettered my experience is if you received some warning of where to park. They have you park in a garage next to the hotel and you dont have the slightest Idea of where to park. Also there was nothing that stated your hotel was here other than the address.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

It is right next to the train station that goes right to TD bank North Garden for a fair rate.

Back to menu Return to top