$229 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 30, 2015 Check-out: Jul 31, 2015

Hotel 140

3 stars
View map of 140 Clarendon St, Boston, MA 2116

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel 140

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
82 out of 82
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MargieM
South Africa
Apr 10, 2012

Incredible value in perfect location

Staff were amazingly friendly and helpful, especially with luggage, which we were allowed to offload early in the morning, before officially checking in. We were offered a free room upgrade on arrival, and could opt for a King or a Twin (2 large beds). I'd have preferred a firmer mattress, but that is absolutely the only fault I could find! The room had heating/aircon and plenty of desk space. Bathroom was huge, with a great shower and tons of hot water; quality toiletries and plenty of towels too. The location was even better than I'd realised - just over the road from the Back Bay subway, and very close to the John Hancock Tower, which is a useful landmark. Apparently the building was once a YWCA, now renovated and upgraded - which may partly explain the superb value. Oh, and it houses an intimate theatre, which gave us a very good performance the night we were there. I'd recommend this hotel unreservedly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The in-house theatre, which allows groups to present plays in an intimate setting. There is also a beautiful old library, for meetings or functions.

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
egunz
Business
Charlotte, NC
Nov 25, 2013

Great location

Very convenient to everything and had everything we needed. Small but comfortable rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr. Bee
Business
Northern CA
Sep 27, 2013

Great for a short stay

Very clean room, no bath, but perfectly adequate shower, small and quiet except for flushing toilets. Location was convenient for Copley Station to the museum and Symphone. Helpful and friendly staff. Would definitely stay at 140 again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mistral's very good and Legal Seafoods a fine fish place.

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CES from FL
Business
Florida
Sep 19, 2013

Great Location

Its a mixed of hotel & local residents. Each have their own elevators (hotel are the upper floors). Great location (near Pru Center). Its a converted YMCA that offers a great price for the Boston Area. My only issue were the beds which are only full size (not queen) which is very small by today's standards. You can upgrade to two beds like we did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to a lot of fast food places as well as very nice places to eat.

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GBailey
Business
Portland, Oregon
Jun 2, 2013

Delightful stay

I was warmly greeted upon arrival and assigned a delightful room that was very charming and fun style. While the room was smaller than other places I've stayed in, it had everything I could need and was a fun space to relax in. It was close to the T so I could get to functions via public transportation or walk and go shopping just a block or two away. When going to Boston next time, I'd consider staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Don Pedro de las Cuevas
Business
Houston, TX
May 9, 2013

Perfect Location

Location, location, location. OK so there was no pool nor a restaurant. There was no huge lobby with chrystal chandeliers. But I failed to notice those things until we arrived home. They did have a business center, of sorts, so I could print my boarding passes. They could get you a cab out front in record time and the Hotel 140 is located right in between two subway stops each just a short walk from the front door. It is also located a block from Copley Square, and two blocks from Copley Center. The hotel is two blocks from Boyington Street and three blocks from Newbury Street. Both of these streets are loaded with Restaurants, Bars, etc. This was important because we literally ate our way though Boston while we were there. It seemd like we were always planning our next meal while enjoying the meal were were eating. Did I mension that the place has a great location. We walked and road the subway everywhere. The rooms are kinda small with tiny bathrooms, but it is a boutique hotel crammed into the old historic YWCA building. The only true complaint I have is the showers are arranged oddly. The shower heads point directly at the shower door so that you must either enter the shower to turn it on while waiting for the water to heat up or stand outside the door and get soaked when you turn it on. Really bizzar. The hotel staff were available, helpful, and polite. The value was evident when you compared room prices with the other mainstream hotels in the area which were at least twice the price. I can live without a little luxury and a few amenities when I can stay in the middle of all the action, in a nice clean room, at a fraction of the cost of the big box hotels. Highly recommended. I would have given it five stars if it were'nt for that funky shower arrangement.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Any thing you may want from fine dining to an egg on bagel breakfast sandwich are just a short walk from the hotel.

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Danni26
Business
New York, NY
Mar 18, 2013

Great location, acceptable hotel

The room was a bit smaller than I expected but the staff was extremely nice and helpful. The location was perfect though, right next to the Prudential center. A good place for a weekend stay if you don't have a car and don't need anything too fancy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jencool
Business
Milton, MA
Mar 14, 2013

Disappointed!

My boyfriend and I were really looking forward to a night in Boston in the Back Bay. While the entrance was promising and the staff was incredibly nice, the room was a true disappointment. I guess $200 in Back Bay Boston gets one a "not so good" hotel room. The room was incredibly small, had only three channels on the television, and the bathroom was the caliber of a Motel 8 at Back Bay prices! Will never stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Greg Mayer
Business
Lubbock, TX
Feb 26, 2013

Great hotel in the Back Bay!

Staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the room was clean. Great old building in a perfect location in the back bay. Lots of nearby restaurants, shopping, etc. and close to Fenway!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mark the Card Shark
Business
Cheshire, CT
Jan 2, 2013

Great hotel for a short stay

Small but clean rooms, great location next to Back Bay station. Reasonably priced, great place to sleep and that's about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel 140

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Annemarie
Business
Boston
Sep 21, 2012

Suited my short stay.

Ordinary. Good location But otherwise just average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good value and good service

Back to menu Return to top