$314 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 3, 2015

Fairmont Copley Plaza

5 stars
View map of 138 St. James Avenue, Boston, MA 02116

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
73 reviews
Great hotel in Boston!

Hotel was right in the heart of Boston. Very convenient. Breakfast at the hotel was fantastic! See full review

  • William K.
  • May 19, 2015
Lovely stay

Enjoyed my stay. Lovely hotel, excellent location. See full review

  • Laurel W.
  • Jan 7, 2015

Since opening in 1912, the Fairmont Copley Plaza has welcomed guests to enjoy elegance and upscale comfort in the heart of the city. The hotel grants access to the best of Boston, much within walking distance. The hotel's 383 guest rooms and suites feature residential-like décor inspired by the neighboring classic townhomes. Dine at OAK Long Bar + Kitchen, Back Bay's hottest drinking destination. Stay healthy with an on-site fitness center featuring various cardio and weight-training equipment.

Rooms
The Fairmont Copley Plaza's 383 refined guest rooms, including 17 elegant suites, gain inspiration from neighboring Back Bay townhouses. Comprising rich fabrics, custom furnishings and marble bathrooms, guest rooms immediately welcome visitors. Some rooms feature decorative fireplaces while others overlook Copley Square. All rooms feature a 32-inch flat-screen LCD TV with OnDemand movies, iHome docking station and digital safe. Guests can sink into the pillow-top mattress and enjoy fresh air from widows that actually open while staying connected via high-speed Internet (fees apply). Rollaway beds are available for $25.00 per night plus tax.
Property features

The Fairmont Copley Plaza boasts a grand property with a prime location, but that's not all. Guests have access to one of Boston's top-rated restaurants, the Oak Room, named best steakhouse by Boston magazine. The adjacent Oak Bar features classic cocktails and delightful martinis. With so much to do around Boston guests can enlist the hotel's babysitting services. An on-site fitness center keeps health top of mind and for more rigorous exercise, the hotel has relationships with neighboring health clubs.

Highlights
  • Century-old historic property in the Back Bay
  • OAK Long Bar + Kitchen, popular dining spot for locals and visitors alike
  • New 3,000 square-foot rooftop fitness center
  • On-site valet parking
  • Pets welcome
Nearby attractions
  • Newberry Street (1 block)
  • Beacon Hill (.7mi/1.2 km)
  • Freedom Trail (.8 mi/1.3 km) 
  • Faneuil Hall/Quincy Market (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
Business
  • 23,000 square-feet of Renaissance-inspired meeting space
  • 13 meeting rooms with a grand ballroom able to accommodate 1,100 guests
Transportation
  • Nearest Subway: Green Line Copley Station (1 block)
  • Hynes Convention Center (3 blocks)
  • Logan International Airport (3.6 mi/5.8 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Fairmont Copley Plaza also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Fairmont Copley Plaza Rooms

Fairmont Room
Our traditional guest rooms were designed with today's chic, sophisticated traveler in mind. A soothing color scheme of blues and grays paired with sleek, elegant furnishings offer a modern feel with classic touches. Each room features high-speed Internet access and an expansive desk.
Deluxe Room
Deluxe guest rooms feature the same classic design as our Fairmont Rooms while offering additional space and furnishings, including a sumptuous club chair that's perfect for curling up with a good book or the morning paper. Each Deluxe Room has been elegantly appointed with custom furnishings and full marble bathrooms.
Signature Room
These spacious rooms overlook Copley Square and the park's architectural landmarks, Trinity Church and the Boston Public Library. Admire the view from a cozy sitting area, or take advantage of all of the business amenities included. From the full marble bathroom to the rich fabrics and crisp white bedding, these rooms are designed with high-end style in mind.
Fairmont Gold Room
Fairmont Gold rooms offer complimentary High Speed Internet Access and feature all of the amenities and conveniences of Fairmont Gold. Each room has been elegantly decorated in a rich classic design with custom-made furnishings.
Moderate Room
Our Moderate guest rooms are cozy, yet elegantly furnished rooms recommended for a single traveler or sightseeing couple. A design of soft textiles and sleek, custom furnishings blend comfort with quiet sophistication. Each room features the same luxurious amenities as the Fairmont Room, but at an economical price.
Junior Suit
Designed to be the perfect retreat in the quiet inner courtyard of the hotel, our spacious junior suites feature a comfortable sitting area and full marble bathroom with separate tub and stand up shower. Plush textiles and custom furnishings make this an elegant, classic space to relax and unwind. Quiet interior courtyard view. L-shaped, with sitting area and expanded bathroom

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Nearby points of interest

  • Trinity Church: 0 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 0.1 mi
  • Copley Square: 0.4 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.6 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.7 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 0.7 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.8 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.9 mi
  • Fenway Park: 1.1 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Trinity Church: 0 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 0.1 mi
  • Copley Square: 0.4 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.6 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.7 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 0.7 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.8 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.9 mi
  • Fenway Park: 1.1 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 1.2 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 1.2 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • TD Garden: 1.3 mi
  • Boston Children's Museum: 1.3 mi
  • TD Banknorth Garden: 1.4 mi
  • The Paul Revere House: 1.5 mi
  • Convention and Exhibition Center: 1.6 mi
  • Old North Church: 1.6 mi
  • USS Constitution Museum: 2 mi
  • Bunker Hill Monument: 2 mi
  • Agganis Arena: 2.2 mi
  • Cruiseport Boston: 2.2 mi
  • Charlestown Navy Yard: 2.2 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Castle Island: 3.4 mi
  • Arnold Arboretum: 4.3 mi

Dining

OAK Long Bar + Kitchen
OAK Long Bar + Kitchen is a new, American brasserie style restaurant in the heart of Boston's Back Bay. Sip a hand crafted cocktail, sample a farm to table American menu featuring local ingredients and purveyors, and savor the dramatic results of an extensive restoration, full of thoughtfully curated details.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 AM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Fairmont Copley Plaza

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
38 out of 73
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.9
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fairmont Copley Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
istalion20
Business
NYC
Oct 6, 2014

Fairmont Copley Boston

Great hotel and location. Pricey but you get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Barking Crab

Review of Fairmont Copley Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Welovetravel
Business
Danvers, MA
Sep 1, 2014

Staycation

My husband and I stayed at the Fairmont for a quick overnight to enjoy the city. We we pleased with the staff, room and location. Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Oak long bar brunch....amazing. Must have monkey bread!

Review of Fairmont Copley Plaza

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Comeon
Business
Houston
Aug 24, 2014

Fairmont Copley leaves you wanting

Expensive hotel, great location, not something I'd do again. I stay at a lot of nice hotels and this is simply an expensive hotel. Internet service was an extra charge and the service was slow, error prone and hopelessly out of date. You'd think when you can get internet FREE at Motel 6 that if they are going to charge you $10 a day, they'd at least have something better than two tin cans connected by strings. Said to be one of Obama's favorite destinations in the B city - you can see why - doesn't work well, is expensive and not what it represents itself to be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Legal Seafood place around the corner is excellent for seafood.

Review of Fairmont Copley Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Georgian007
Business
Georgia
Jul 10, 2014

Don't get much of anything for what you pay for !!

Except for your Bed and Bathroom in the Room, you pay extra for everything.... Internet, B/F, etc. etc. That is on top of $200+ room rate !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont Copley Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BTinHernando
Business
Hernando, MS
Jul 8, 2014

Great atmosphere; small rooms

Beautiful hotel with fantastic staff. The only negative is the size of our queen size room. Very small room. However, the friendly staff and location to everything around Boston more than made up for the room size!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont Copley Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CAdd
Business
Boston
Mar 2, 2014

boston trip

surprised at the hefty parking fee- ouch! my receipt showed added fees and taxes... guess what the parking fee must not be one of those fees! You should list what those fees are and please let us know ahead of time if there is a parking fee!! Snow removal on the streets prevented us from getting any sleep!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont Copley Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Caroline A Girlfriend
Business
Boston, MA
Feb 3, 2014

Romantic Night

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Fairmont Copley Plaza Hotel for one night for a romantic birthday celebration. The hotel was fantastic, however, our room had not been fully cleaned when we arrived. There were shopping bags and a half drank water bottle left from the previous guests, though the room otherwise appeared to have been cleaning by housekeeping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The Gaslight Restaurant, located in the Southend, not far at all from the Fairmont Copley Plaza. It is either a short taxi ride away or a decent length walk.

Review of Fairmont Copley Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Harpy McGee
Business
Boston
Jan 2, 2014

New Years Eve at Fairmont Copley

First and foremost, for the most part - this is a gorgeous hotel. My feedback is predominantly focused on the experience I had while staying with my wife over new years eve. I must have seen 20 different couples with dogs in the hotel which I thought to be very strange. Our room was very small with a tiny bathroom and a very temperamental heating/cooling system - I expected a larger room for the money. The hallways were littered with empty wine glasses, ice buckets and dinner plates the entire time we were there (not just in the mornings which I expect to see). On new years eve, there was a group of security guards/bouncers positioned outside the oak room that were very aggressive and asked me a bunch of questions on my way to use the bathroom and when we eventually went to our room. Overall, I was not impressed with my stay at the hotel. I'll take my business elsewhere next time we stay in Boston. Eric.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont Copley Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joanie 16
Business
Winchester, MA
Jan 2, 2014

New Year's Eve retreat

Overall, we enjoyed the experience very much. We have been to the hotel many times for functions, dinner, etc. but had never stayed there. The room was nice but small and well maintained. The one negative we had was that we did not know that all the hotel was "pet friendly" not just a few rooms and we could not believe the number of dogs that were there and the idea that one could have been staying in our room the night before did not thrill us--and we are pet lovers. The overall hygiene factor bothered us--I don't care how well they say they "cleaned" it. I think it would be more appropriate if certain rooms were set aside for dogs and that they notified you of this when checking in or booking a room. They certainly do it for smoking rooms and this seems far more significant. The location is perfect and you have to expect crowds in the restaurant, bars, etc. on New Year's Eve. Part of all the fun! I certainly would consider staying there another time but of course would try different hotels in the area as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont Copley Plaza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Benji12
Business
Hingham
Dec 16, 2013

Very nice

Great hotel, great location, friendly and helpful staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top