$224 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

Fairmont Copley Plaza

5 stars
138 St. James Avenue, Boston, MA 02116
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
68 reviews
Fairmont Copley

It is a great, beautiful old hotel centrally located It has been largely renovated, but old doors,... See full review

  • abbab
  • Mar 27, 2014
Very nice

Great hotel, great location, friendly and helpful staff See full review

  • Benji12
  • Dec 16, 2013
Opulent, grand historic property in the heart of Boston's Back Bay

Since opening in 1912, the Fairmont Copley Plaza has welcomed guests to enjoy elegance and upscale comfort in the heart of the city. The hotel grants access to the best of Boston, much within walking distance. The hotel's 383 guest rooms and suites feature residential-like décor inspired by the neighboring classic townhomes. Dine at OAK Long Bar + Kitchen, Back Bay's hottest drinking destination. Stay healthy with an on-site fitness center featuring various cardio and weight-training equipment.

Highlights
  • Century-old historic property in the Back Bay
  • OAK Long Bar + Kitchen, popular dining spot for locals and visitors alike
  • New 3,000 square-foot rooftop fitness center
  • On-site valet parking
  • Pets welcome
Rooms
The Fairmont Copley Plaza's 383 refined guest rooms, including 17 elegant suites, gain inspiration from neighboring Back Bay townhouses. Comprising rich fabrics, custom furnishings and marble bathrooms, guest rooms immediately welcome visitors. Some rooms feature decorative fireplaces while others overlook Copley Square. All rooms feature a 32-inch flat-screen LCD TV with OnDemand movies, iHome docking station and digital safe. Guests can sink into the pillow-top mattress and enjoy fresh air from widows that actually open while staying connected via high-speed Internet (fees apply). Rollaway beds are available for $25.00 per night plus tax.
Features

The Fairmont Copley Plaza boasts a grand property with a prime location, but that's not all. Guests have access to one of Boston's top-rated restaurants, the Oak Room, named best steakhouse by Boston magazine. The adjacent Oak Bar features classic cocktails and delightful martinis. With so much to do around Boston guests can enlist the hotel's babysitting services. An on-site fitness center keeps health top of mind and for more rigorous exercise, the hotel has relationships with neighboring health clubs.

Transportation
  • Nearest Subway: Green Line Copley Station (1 block)
  • Hynes Convention Center (3 blocks)
  • Logan International Airport (3.6 mi/5.8 km)
Attractions
  • Newberry Street (1 block)
  • Beacon Hill (.7mi/1.2 km)
  • Freedom Trail (.8 mi/1.3 km) 
  • Faneuil Hall/Quincy Market (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
Business
  • 23,000 square-feet of Renaissance-inspired meeting space
  • 13 meeting rooms with a grand ballroom able to accommodate 1,100 guests

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Fairmont Copley Plaza also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Fairmont Copley Plaza Rooms

Fairmont Room
Our traditional guest rooms were designed with today's chic, sophisticated traveler in mind. A soothing color scheme of blues and grays paired with sleek, elegant furnishings offer a modern feel with classic touches. Each room features high-speed Internet access and an expansive desk.
Deluxe Room
Deluxe guest rooms feature the same classic design as our Fairmont Rooms while offering additional space and furnishings, including a sumptuous club chair that's perfect for curling up with a good book or the morning paper. Each Deluxe Room has been elegantly appointed with custom furnishings and full marble bathrooms.
Signature Room
These spacious rooms overlook Copley Square and the park's architectural landmarks, Trinity Church and the Boston Public Library. Admire the view from a cozy sitting area, or take advantage of all of the business amenities included. From the full marble bathroom to the rich fabrics and crisp white bedding, these rooms are designed with high-end style in mind.
Fairmont Gold Room
Fairmont Gold rooms offer complimentary High Speed Internet Access and feature all of the amenities and conveniences of Fairmont Gold. Each room has been elegantly decorated in a rich classic design with custom-made furnishings.
Moderate Room
Our Moderate guest rooms are cozy, yet elegantly furnished rooms recommended for a single traveler or sightseeing couple. A design of soft textiles and sleek, custom furnishings blend comfort with quiet sophistication. Each room features the same luxurious amenities as the Fairmont Room, but at an economical price.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Nearby points of interest

  • Trinity Church: 0 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 0.1 mi
  • Copley Square: 0.4 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.6 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.7 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 0.7 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.8 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.9 mi
  • Fenway Park: 1.1 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Trinity Church: 0 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 0.1 mi
  • Copley Square: 0.4 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.6 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.7 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 0.7 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.8 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.9 mi
  • Fenway Park: 1.1 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 1.2 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 1.2 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • TD Garden: 1.3 mi
  • Boston Children's Museum: 1.3 mi
  • TD Banknorth Garden: 1.4 mi
  • The Paul Revere House: 1.5 mi
  • Convention and Exhibition Center: 1.6 mi
  • Old North Church: 1.6 mi
  • USS Constitution Museum: 2 mi
  • Bunker Hill Monument: 2 mi
  • Agganis Arena: 2.2 mi
  • Cruiseport Boston: 2.2 mi
  • Charlestown Navy Yard: 2.2 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Castle Island: 3.4 mi
  • Arnold Arboretum: 4.3 mi

Dining

OAK Long Bar + Kitchen
OAK Long Bar + Kitchen is a new, American brasserie style restaurant in the heart of Boston's Back Bay. Sip a hand crafted cocktail, sample a farm to table American menu featuring local ingredients and purveyors, and savor the dramatic results of an extensive restoration, full of thoughtfully curated details.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (68)

Ratings and reviews for Fairmont Copley Plaza

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
68 out of 68
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.9
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fairmont Copley Plaza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Revived by the get-away
Business
Bangor, Maine
Nov 23, 2010

Wonderful weekend in Boston

Easy walking distance to the symphony and the art museums. Don't miss touring Trinity Church right across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont Copley Plaza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Oct 22, 2010

Boston Hotel

Although the doorman werent that helpful with the basic function of opening a door, the hotel itself was stunning, in a great area just steps from Newbury St. Great value!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Eastern Standard was a great hotel!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont Copley Plaza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pennsylvania
Oct 18, 2010

Elegance of a bygone era!

We stayed at the Fairmont Copley when we were in Boston to attend a wedding at the Boston Public Library. The hotel provided every element of charm in appearance, combining the elegance of a bygone era with the updated conveniences. The complete restoration is exquisite! The staff was completely professional, very attentative to details and willing to solve small problems promptly. I only wish our stay could have been longer, so we could have enjoyed more time at the hotel. Also, the location was perfect - directly across the street from the wedding and reception.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check with the consierge desk at the Hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont Copley Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maine
Oct 16, 2010

Boston Trip

Location and ambiance were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Hotel bar charges $21.40 for a Kettle 1 martini!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont Copley Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Squidd
Business
HConcord, Nh
Oct 14, 2010

Fine as expected

Great location, great service as expected from Fairmont.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont Copley Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia Beach VA
Aug 2, 2010

July 28 to Aug 1 in Boston

The staff of the hotel was incredible (except for the Oak Room wait staff). They were friendly, helpful and courteous; I would go back just for that reason. Staff at the Oak Room was inattentive. The bar tender served me a beer that was spilling all over the place, never apologized or cleaned it up. When we went back in the evening for coffee and dessert in the lounge we considered getting up and leaving because the service was so poor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont Copley Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Jul 6, 2010

Pretty good deal!

The hotel is very central and has great old world charm. There is also an adorable lab who hangs out in the lobby during the day. Because we got a good deal on the room, I can't complain too much about the size of it, but it was SMALL. The hotel is super close to two T stops which makes Boston travel very easy. We also had a perfect veiw of the 4th of July fireworks both from the hotel bar and just outside the main doors. Only negatives were that things in the hotel were super expensive. Drinks at the bar ranged from $15-$20 and to use the internet in the lobby, not only was it not free, but it was $10 for 5 minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are two malls within steps of the hotel. It is also very close to one of the Boston Duck tour locations.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont Copley Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Holy Coconuts
Business
Warren County, PA
Jun 18, 2010

I was forced to put this title here

We stayed, watched a Red Sox game & then we left.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont Copley Plaza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Monterrey, Mexico
May 31, 2010

Fairmont Copley Plaza

The Fairmont has a geat location. We really enjoy being walking distance from many interesting places. My room was small,but confortable and quiet. I didn´t like the view of my room (a dirty ceiling).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You can shop and get good food at Prudential Center, just a short walk away from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont Copley Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
asian student
Business
Palo Alto, CA
May 18, 2010

Excellent location but rude service

We only stayed for 3 nights but the hotel staff made our trip especially inconvenient. The way the hotel staff treated us were very rude. We made a reservation for a king size bed and 400 sq. ft. room but the concierge gave us a queen size bed in a 150 sq. ft. room. After complaining, they agreed to give us the room we want. However after one night, after we come back from touring the city, all our luggages were moved to a half size smaller room without our notice and some of our stuffs were forgotten in the previous room. In the end, they explained that it was because of my request and eventually of miscommunication. They gave us a 2 breakfast voucher but overall the trip was a very bad impression about the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Copley Square and Prudential Center are great shopping centers. L'espalier restaurant is a very fine French restaurant and one of the best of Boston.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top