$314 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

Fairmont Copley Plaza

5 stars
View map of 138 St. James Avenue, Boston, MA 02116

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Fairmont Copley Plaza

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
73 out of 73
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fairmont Copley Plaza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nation Wide 2013
Business
Seattle
Mar 10, 2013

Luxury is in the details

From the moment you enter until the moment you leave the fairmont experience is all about you. The staff is attentive and personable. The rooms are impeccably kept and stocked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots to do in the area for any type of traveler. Particularly lots of gay bars and clubs near by.

Review of Fairmont Copley Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Georgl
Business
Austin, TX, USA
Aug 2, 2012

Great Location, ordinary room

Older hotel, could not close the bathroom door, but the location was great -- easy to walk anywhere in Boston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont Copley Plaza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Randy.B
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 30, 2012

Amazingly Grand Property

My wife and I stayed just one night but wished we had more time. Everything about the property was great from the spacious room to the beautifully restored public areas. We especially liked meeting Catie Copley the resident black labrador retriever. She lives at the hotel and has a place of honor right by the front desk complete with crystal water bowl. Will stay here again next time we are in town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

drinks or snacks on top of the Prudential! Well worth the walk!

Review of Fairmont Copley Plaza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Meg from Larchmont
Business
Larchmont, NY, USA
Sep 5, 2011

Beautiful hotel, lovely staff!

Was only there overnight, but it was wonderful! The staff was lovely, professional and helpful. I would definitely stay again the next time I'm in Boston! I love all the Fairmont Hotels!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont Copley Plaza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LAH CT
Business
Connecticut, USA
Aug 17, 2011

Just a classic.

I told my 17-year-old daughter that we'd be staying at a "nice" hotel in Boston, and had the great fun of seeing her jaw drop when we walked into the lobby at the Copley Plaza. It is just a beautifully restored historical gem, and the bar and restaurant are not to be missed if for nothing more than the setting. You will not find a more elegant place to eat, and the service is absolutely impeccable. The dining room has a classic "don't tell your cardiologist" steak house menu, and is first rate. The bar has excellent small bites if you don't want a big meal. Our room was lovely, with traditional heavy drapes, fluffy robes, a glowing brass chandelier, and marble-tiled bath with a roomy tub. My only quibble is that we were charged $14 for internet access. Really, for what the room costs and in this day and age that seems quite silly. Other than that, though, just a complete treat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Valet parking for one night cost $42 plus tip; you might want to take the train in and catch a cab hotel if you're not flying in. Boston is a small town, and a car is more trouble than it's worth.

Review of Fairmont Copley Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington DC
Jul 26, 2011

Fairmont Copley Plaza - Good

We were visiting Boston last weekend. It is a very nice city where you can enjoy simply walking through it and some streets have very charm. The location and service of the hotel is very good although there are rooms that are not renovated and they look a bit old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is an italian restaurant, Sorelina, that is two minutes walking from the hotel and it is outstanding. And 4 blocks away from the hotel Parish cafe has nice sandwiches and they serve until late night.

Review of Fairmont Copley Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hartford, Ct
Jul 20, 2011

Beautiful old world elegance

Great shopping & dining nearby!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont Copley Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washinngton, DC
Jun 29, 2011

Nice place

It's a nice old-style hotel. The staff are very well-informed and friendly. I ended up with a handicapped-accessible room (not unusual booking through a clearinghouse), which generally is not my first choice, but the room was large (especially for an older hotel) and very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont Copley Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR
May 11, 2011

Great centralized location & great price

Loved the hotel & location. We were so centralized that it made it very easy to take the 'T" to the TD Center for the Boston Celtic/Miami playoff game. We were able to walk to most of our planned activities or quickly catch a cab. Newberry Street was wonderful with lots of shops and restaurants. The 32nd floor of the Prudential building was a great spot for a late night snack and to catch a wonderful view of the city. The hotel itself had great service and was exceptional. Our one hitch was our room where we were suppose to have a double to accommodate my daughter and myself. We ended up getting a roll away bed! We do plan on visiting Boston again in the near future and will definitely plan on staying at the Fairmont Copley Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont Copley Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Boston Marathon guy
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Apr 20, 2011

My prepaid reservation gone bad

We booked this hotel close to the finish of the Boston Marathon and paid for it all back in October of 2010. We received a call from [...]in March saying our reservation had been cancelled due to a system problem and we needed to book somewhere else. [...]booked one night at the Westin across the street and one night at the Fairmont. We had to transfer hotels on race day and the Fairmont gave us grief when we tried to get in the hotel because we were not on their List. You can imagine that after running 26.2 miles I was not happy to deal with this

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont Copley Plaza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sweets781
Business
fallriver, ma.
Apr 11, 2011

Comfortable

I had planned a birthday weekend in Boston for my boyfriend that was turning thirty. Booking at the fairmont was a nice addition to the weekend although I regret only booking one nights stay. But our overall experience was great inviting and comfortable. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Toro restaurant on Washington street. Great atmosphre, amazing food. Although there is a bit of a wait it's worth it. And you can go across the street and enjoy some wine and sushi before gorging yourselves on incredible tapas!!! The price range is very affordable..

Back to menu Return to top