$341 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 3, 2014 Check-out: Oct 4, 2014

Fairmont Copley Plaza

5 stars
138 St. James Avenue, Boston, MA 02116
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
67 reviews
Fairmont Copley

It is a great, beautiful old hotel centrally located It has been largely renovated, but old doors,... See full review

  • abbab
  • Mar 27, 2014
Very nice

Great hotel, great location, friendly and helpful staff See full review

  • Benji12
  • Dec 16, 2013
Opulent, grand historic property in the heart of Boston's Back Bay

Since opening in 1912, the Fairmont Copley Plaza has welcomed guests to enjoy elegance and upscale comfort in the heart of the city. The hotel grants access to the best of Boston, much within walking distance. The hotel's 383 guest rooms and suites feature residential-like décor inspired by the neighboring classic townhomes. Dine at OAK Long Bar + Kitchen, Back Bay's hottest drinking destination. Stay healthy with an on-site fitness center featuring various cardio and weight-training equipment.

Highlights
  • Century-old historic property in the Back Bay
  • OAK Long Bar + Kitchen, popular dining spot for locals and visitors alike
  • New 3,000 square-foot rooftop fitness center
  • On-site valet parking
  • Pets welcome
Rooms
The Fairmont Copley Plaza's 383 refined guest rooms, including 17 elegant suites, gain inspiration from neighboring Back Bay townhouses. Comprising rich fabrics, custom furnishings and marble bathrooms, guest rooms immediately welcome visitors. Some rooms feature decorative fireplaces while others overlook Copley Square. All rooms feature a 32-inch flat-screen LCD TV with OnDemand movies, iHome docking station and digital safe. Guests can sink into the pillow-top mattress and enjoy fresh air from widows that actually open while staying connected via high-speed Internet (fees apply). Rollaway beds are available for $25.00 per night plus tax.
Features

The Fairmont Copley Plaza boasts a grand property with a prime location, but that's not all. Guests have access to one of Boston's top-rated restaurants, the Oak Room, named best steakhouse by Boston magazine. The adjacent Oak Bar features classic cocktails and delightful martinis. With so much to do around Boston guests can enlist the hotel's babysitting services. An on-site fitness center keeps health top of mind and for more rigorous exercise, the hotel has relationships with neighboring health clubs.

Transportation
  • Nearest Subway: Green Line Copley Station (1 block)
  • Hynes Convention Center (3 blocks)
  • Logan International Airport (3.6 mi/5.8 km)
Attractions
  • Newberry Street (1 block)
  • Beacon Hill (.7mi/1.2 km)
  • Freedom Trail (.8 mi/1.3 km) 
  • Faneuil Hall/Quincy Market (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
Business
  • 23,000 square-feet of Renaissance-inspired meeting space
  • 13 meeting rooms with a grand ballroom able to accommodate 1,100 guests

Hotel Map

42.3496 -71.076
Area served
Boston
Nearby airports
Boston Logan International Airport - 3 Miles; T.F.Green International Airport - 60 Miles; Manchester - Boston Regional Airport - 50 Miles
Area description
Located in Boston's historic Back Bay, this architectural landmark stands alongside the Boston Public Library, Trinity Church, and Hancock Tower in Copley Square.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Fairmont Copley Plaza also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Fairmont Copley Plaza Rooms

Fairmont Room
Our traditional guest rooms were designed with today's chic, sophisticated traveler in mind. A soothing color scheme of blues and grays paired with sleek, elegant furnishings offer a modern feel with classic touches. Each room features high-speed Internet access and an expansive desk.
Deluxe Room
Deluxe guest rooms feature the same classic design as our Fairmont Rooms while offering additional space and furnishings, including a sumptuous club chair that's perfect for curling up with a good book or the morning paper. Each Deluxe Room has been elegantly appointed with custom furnishings and full marble bathrooms.
Signature Room
These spacious rooms overlook Copley Square and the park's architectural landmarks, Trinity Church and the Boston Public Library. Admire the view from a cozy sitting area, or take advantage of all of the business amenities included. From the full marble bathroom to the rich fabrics and crisp white bedding, these rooms are designed with high-end style in mind.
Fairmont Gold Room
Fairmont Gold rooms offer complimentary High Speed Internet Access and feature all of the amenities and conveniences of Fairmont Gold. Each room has been elegantly decorated in a rich classic design with custom-made furnishings.
Moderate Room
Our Moderate guest rooms are cozy, yet elegantly furnished rooms recommended for a single traveler or sightseeing couple. A design of soft textiles and sleek, custom furnishings blend comfort with quiet sophistication. Each room features the same luxurious amenities as the Fairmont Room, but at an economical price.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Nearby points of interest

  • Trinity Church: 0 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 0.1 mi
  • Copley Square: 0.4 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.6 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.7 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 0.7 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.8 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.9 mi
  • Fenway Park: 1.1 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Trinity Church: 0 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 0.1 mi
  • Copley Square: 0.4 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.6 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.7 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 0.7 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.8 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.9 mi
  • Fenway Park: 1.1 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 1.2 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 1.2 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • TD Garden: 1.3 mi
  • Boston Children's Museum: 1.3 mi
  • TD Banknorth Garden: 1.4 mi
  • The Paul Revere House: 1.5 mi
  • Convention and Exhibition Center: 1.6 mi
  • Old North Church: 1.6 mi
  • USS Constitution Museum: 2 mi
  • Bunker Hill Monument: 2 mi
  • Agganis Arena: 2.2 mi
  • Cruiseport Boston: 2.2 mi
  • Charlestown Navy Yard: 2.2 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Castle Island: 3.4 mi
  • Arnold Arboretum: 4.3 mi

Dining

OAK Long Bar + Kitchen
OAK Long Bar + Kitchen is a new, American brasserie style restaurant in the heart of Boston's Back Bay. Sip a hand crafted cocktail, sample a farm to table American menu featuring local ingredients and purveyors, and savor the dramatic results of an extensive restoration, full of thoughtfully curated details.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (67)

Ratings and reviews for Fairmont Copley Plaza

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
67 out of 67
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.9
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fairmont Copley Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washinngton, DC
Jun 29, 2011

Nice place

It's a nice old-style hotel. The staff are very well-informed and friendly. I ended up with a handicapped-accessible room (not unusual booking through a clearinghouse), which generally is not my first choice, but the room was large (especially for an older hotel) and very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont Copley Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portland, OR
May 11, 2011

Great centralized location & great price

Loved the hotel & location. We were so centralized that it made it very easy to take the 'T" to the TD Center for the Boston Celtic/Miami playoff game. We were able to walk to most of our planned activities or quickly catch a cab. Newberry Street was wonderful with lots of shops and restaurants. The 32nd floor of the Prudential building was a great spot for a late night snack and to catch a wonderful view of the city. The hotel itself had great service and was exceptional. Our one hitch was our room where we were suppose to have a double to accommodate my daughter and myself. We ended up getting a roll away bed! We do plan on visiting Boston again in the near future and will definitely plan on staying at the Fairmont Copley Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont Copley Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Boston Marathon guy
Cincinnati, OH
Apr 20, 2011

My prepaid reservation gone bad

We booked this hotel close to the finish of the Boston Marathon and paid for it all back in October of 2010. We received a call from [...]in March saying our reservation had been cancelled due to a system problem and we needed to book somewhere else. [...]booked one night at the Westin across the street and one night at the Fairmont. We had to transfer hotels on race day and the Fairmont gave us grief when we tried to get in the hotel because we were not on their List. You can imagine that after running 26.2 miles I was not happy to deal with this

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont Copley Plaza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sweets781
fallriver, ma.
Apr 11, 2011

Comfortable

I had planned a birthday weekend in Boston for my boyfriend that was turning thirty. Booking at the fairmont was a nice addition to the weekend although I regret only booking one nights stay. But our overall experience was great inviting and comfortable. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Toro restaurant on Washington street. Great atmosphre, amazing food. Although there is a bit of a wait it's worth it. And you can go across the street and enjoy some wine and sushi before gorging yourselves on incredible tapas!!! The price range is very affordable..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont Copley Plaza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
boston ma
Mar 7, 2011

Romantic getaway

relax ate at oak bar sight seeing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

go to the Oak Bar in the hotel great drinks food and jazz

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont Copley Plaza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Jan 1, 2011

Great Hotel

Great hotel. Location. Location. Location. We have stayed there a few times visiting friends in Boston and it is our favorite. Have breakfast in the Oak Room in the morning; stop there for a drink at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Newbury Street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont Copley Plaza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
North Hampton, NH
Dec 30, 2010

I will be back!

Excellent,engaging staff, location central to the heart of Boston, old world elegance in a modern diverse cultural city with high end shopping without the glitz.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dine at Via Matta...better than the North End...behind the 4 Seasons..$5 taxi ride

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont Copley Plaza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
virginia
Dec 7, 2010

An elegant, old style setting

The old style elegance is a wonderful change from the all too modern boutique hotels and the run of the mill large chains. If you are looking for ambiance, this is the place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

...to many fine restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont Copley Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alexandria, VA
Nov 28, 2010

mixed experience

My experience at the Fairmont Copy Plaza was mixed. The hotel staff members were unusually gracious, friendly, and helpful, and I really appreciated the pet-friendly environment. (I only stay at pet-friendly hotels.) My Maltese enjoyed the attention she received and she enjoyed meeting Catie, the hotel's pet ambassador (an adorable Black Lab). The hotel is directly across the street from Copley Plaza, so dog walking was particularly convenient. For these experiences, I rate the hotel five stars. On the flip side.... I was promised a queen size bed, but was booked into a room with a double bed; the room was neat and clean, but the hotel was experiencing mechanical problems, and there was no heat in any of the rooms, so a maintenance staff member brought me a portable heater (which didn't help much); the television set was on the fritz, so I couldn't get any cable stations (which limited me to a few standard broadcast networks -- ugh!!); and overnight valet parking was an unreasonable $42 per night (not including the tips). These experiences warranted a rating of two.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Copley Plaza (immediately across the street from the hotel) provides a variety of food and beverage vendors with delectable eats, so I recommend touring the fresh fruit/pastry/coffee vendors for an inexpensive and pleasant breakfast or snack.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont Copley Plaza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Revived by the get-away
Bangor, Maine
Nov 23, 2010

Wonderful weekend in Boston

Easy walking distance to the symphony and the art museums. Don't miss touring Trinity Church right across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search